The combined opposition of a Partnership for National Unity (APNU)and Alliance for Change (AFC)on Thursday voted against a supplementary budget taken for a second time to the house by the government.

Supplementary Financial paper #7 which was taken to the house on February and a section was passed however APNU’s Carl Greenidge had called on Minister of Finance Dr. Ashni Singh to withdraw the paper and have it resubmitted with more details in keeping with the Financial Management and Accountability Act (FMAA).

The paper was withdrawn and resubmitted on Thursday, however the opposition voted against the paper.

According to government officials, this latest action flies in the face of the combined opposition promise to restore the GY$20.9B cut from the budget by way of supplementary budget.

Only Wednesday president Donald Ramotar said that he will not trust the opposition’s promise.

” They really can’t be serious to say that we can resort to supplementary budget and we can’t even get a meeting with them on the issue and then also today tomorrow we will see the acid test of how serious they are, because we have also put a paper, financial paper seven in parliament to pass and they rejected it, we are bringing it back again now, so this is the acid test to see if they are really really serious about coming with supplementary budget to see how they will deal with paper seven that is going to be there I think tomorrow ( Thursday)” Ramotar said.

It's time we look at this political chapter in a new light. The joint opposition said the Executive government can request a supplement budget which doesn't guarantee approval or denial. The end game is a denial. This decision shows that all members of the joint opposition had to be voted against the supplement budget without anyone's abstaining. This is clearly premeditated if one person cannot see a difference with the request. The executive may be lost again, but it is documented that they made the effort and the people of Guyana is taking note. Every denial against the ruling party is a win for them in the long run. Long time done, short time left.

Originally Posted by albert:

This has always been the argument against the opposition, they cannot be trusted. They want a marriage without courtship

What about the infamous PPP/Jagdeo marriage, which was sanction by the greatest pandit of the land only to be declare null and void after Varshnie got lock out of the bedroom after two weeks? Is  this the  'marriage without courtship'you selling? 

i hope the oppsition hurry up and jail some of these ppp thief they are doing what 51% of the  people vote for.if the ppp think they can win a next election let them call a snap election.they will know where barly a grow

You are talking out of your hat. Waht 51 per cent? Separately the PNC and Afc cant stand. But combined they can try to stop progress in Guyana and that is waht they have been doing.The opposition can't be trusted. Guyanese not stupid. Next elections the PPP will sweep the slate.   

Originally Posted by ABIDHA:

The executive may be lost again, but it is documented that they made the effort and the people of Guyana is taking note.

Every denial against the ruling party is a win for them in the long run.

The crux of the matters as they onfold.

After the 2011 election, it was publicly stated in the media that key members of the AFC are merged with the PNC/APNU to determine their strategies.

If Moses gat any SHAME left he would resign or drink Malation. But I guess he is a natural Politican and look at the Guyanese People with a big grin!!!

If you rass got any shame, you would check dat Malation for he, make sure it does wuk. But I guess you is a natural rass and look at people dem wit a toothless grin.

Originally Posted by martin Carter:

The more the opposition behave like donkeys the less their chances of returning to power. It is called opposition fatigue. 

One day, only if you smart, you'll see the light, things will become clear and you'll wonder how did we ever put up with your incorrect thinking.

The people not silly. They know that the APNU/AFC bad for the country. Come next election they will be bowled out and no more nonsense will happen over the government estimates.

Martin at least you admit about the theifing. But you have not told us yet who owns the Generator that is rented to GPL where the annual income is equivalent to the cost of the equipment.

more the oppisition expose the ppp crime family the deeper in the dog house they go.ramotar is a fool,if he want to make the history books he have to start jailing some of the ppp crime family