My 12, 2021

Ganesh Mahipaul

A Partnership for National Unity + Alliance For Change (APNU+AFC) Member of Parliament, Ganesh Mahipaul, on Wednesday, objected to the demands made by the Ministry of Local Government and Regional Development for the submission of monthly reports by country’s municipalities.

In a letter to the municipal organs, the Local Government Ministry instructed that it be provided with a monthly status report on all projects within the municipalities, a monthly financial report, monthly minutes of statutory and special meetings and accountability framework reports.

Mahipaul, in a statement, said the new reporting requiring borders on interference and is another attempt by the Minister of Local Government, Nigel Dharamlall to micromanage the affairs of his ministry. “The Ministry is already guilty of interfering in the spending of subvention monies approved by the National Assembly,” MP Mahipaul said.

He explained that “the Ministry used Local Democratic Organs subvention in 2020 and purchased 28 street lights at a whopping cost of $35 000 per light. The lights are a mere 80 wattage in terms of brightness and the procurement procedure of these lights is completely unknown to the Local Democratic Organs.”

The Opposition MP said already for 2021, Ministry is refusing to facilitate the subvention programme approved by the elected councils. He said it is now instructing the councils on projects they should undertake with the finances.
“This is a full blown PPP control freakism and dictatorship. It has no place in a democracy. Local government is an important pillar in the governance architecture and the national development matrix. Article 12 of the Constitution firmly entrenches the system of local government as an integral part of the democratic organisation of the State,” MP Mahipaul said.

He is therefore calling on the Minister of Local Government to respect the Constitution of the Co-operative Republic of Guyana and more-so the will of the electorate.

“The Ministry needs to facilitate the subvention programmes of the Local Democratic Organs and provide guidance where necessary in the accounting procedures. I believe strongly, should Ministers Dharamlall and Anand Persaud focus on policies rather than micromanagement and being dictators, our system would improve. Permanent Secretary Prema Roopnarine should also focus on managing the Ministry and stop getting involved in the politics,” he opined.

@Ramakant-P posted:

This one is for you Django. Why shouldn't the Ministry ask for progress reports from the municipalities when they took money from the central Government to function properly?

In a letter to the municipal organs, the Local Government Ministry instructed that it be provided with a monthly status report on all projects within the municipalities, a monthly financial report, monthly minutes of statutory and special meetings and accountability framework reports.

I have no problem with accountability . What the above looks like ?

Subventions aren't charity from the Central Government ,it's the peoples money.

Ganesh Mahipaul is right. Such reporting, as it stands, opens the door to interference by the government into the affairs of those municipalities controlled by the opposition and may even be used as a means to embarrass the opposition. It is the opposition-controlled municipalities that will have to do all the reporting while the government affiliated ones go scot-free. The only way this could have some semblance of fairness is for the progress reports of all the municipalities to be published for all to see

@Spugum posted:

Ganesh Mahipaul is right. Such reporting, as it stands, opens the door to interference by the government into the affairs of those municipalities controlled by the opposition and may even be used as a means to embarrass the opposition. It is the opposition-controlled municipalities that will have to do all the reporting while the government affiliated ones go scot-free. The only way this could have some semblance of fairness is for the progress reports of all the municipalities to be published for all to see

All Municipalities will have to hand in their progress reports.  The Municipalities controlled by the Opposition will have to abide by the laws or they will find it difficult to co-exist alongside those controlled by the Government. The law is for everybody, not a chosen few.

When rain falls it doesn't wet half the nation, it wets everbody.

@Ramakant-P posted:

And you boasted how you were a teacher. First off, your statement is false.

When it rains it does not necessarily wet everyone. What is "everbody"? Try looking up "when rain falls" versus "when it rains".

@Ramakant-P posted:

All Municipalities will have to hand in their progress reports.  The Municipalities controlled by the Opposition will have to abide by the laws or they will find it difficult to co-exist alongside those controlled by the Government. The law is for everybody, not a chosen few.

Dharamlall trying to pull a fast one. You don't know what you're talking about! What is "co-exist alongside" anyway? You went to the University of Uitvlugt by chance?

Last edited by Spugum
@Spugum posted:

Dharamlall is trying to pull a fast one. You don't know what you're talking about! What is "co-exist alongside" anyway? You went to the University of Uitvlugt by chance?

Yeh, he went deh fo' pick up somebody. You talking deh to a professor yeh, so watch it, he know stuff...so 'e say.

@Spugum posted:

Dharamlall trying to pull a fast one. You don't know what you're talking about! What is "co-exist alongside" anyway? You went to the University of Uitvlugt by chance?

You can use the verb coexist to simply mean "exist together," or it can mean something more specific — to live peacefully or tolerantly in the same place. Two countries might have to work to find a way to coexist despite years of conflict, for example.

@Ramakant-P posted:

You can use the verb coexist to simply mean "exist together," or it can mean something more specific — to live peacefully or tolerantly in the same place. Two countries might have to work to find a way to coexist despite years of conflict, for example.

So professor, what do you understand from the quote above and your earlier use of "co-exist alongside" if by co-exist you meant exist together?