December 31 2018

by James Mc Allister

-The Will of the People Must Never be Treated Lightly

The APNU-AFC Government has a duty to the Guyanese people, and to our democracy to reject calls for its resignation, and continue in office. Let those who feel strongly about the no confidence motion take it up in court.

To contemplate that the will of the people could possibly be bought and sold for “thirty pieces of silver.” To think that a few men in a smoke- filled backroom could wager on our democracy; to note the many who are now prepared to turn a blind eye, it is to conclude that our democracy faces its greatest test and it is the duty of the government to stand as its protector.

A few days after the vote, Charrandass Persaud, in addressing speculations that there were corrupt inducements that determined his vote, asked the question, “What’s wrong with that?” Even in the face of Charrandass’ brazen question there is a curious case of lack of curiosity among those who have donned the cloak of pillars of society in Guyana. The Bar Association, the Trade Union Congress, and a former speaker are among those who have lost their curiosity. They are all seemingly unconcerned about the possibility of eating the fruit of the poisonous tree. They are apparently apathetic about how this precedent could corrupt our democracy beyond redemption.

Guyana is on the threshold of an oil economy. Financial titans, from foreign lands, will soon be walking among us. Imagine if we set a precedent whereby there are unaddressed speculations that parliamentarians can, or are being induced by money to decide on consequential national issues. Our democracy will no longer be in the hands of the electorate; it will be in the hands of foreign financial titans.

The government has a duty to protect us from this scenario.

Recently, many who are now speaking loudly questioned the right and authority of the president to unilaterally appoint the chairman of GECOM after the rejection of three lists submitted by Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo. On that occasion, the Constitution was as clear as day on the authority of the President, and yet they questioned his actions. Listening to them then gave us the impression that the most egregious and undemocratic acts were being perpetuated. The opposition took the issue to court and lost. They then lost their voices; not a single retraction of all the hurtful things they said.

These are the same people who are now calling on the government to demit office based on provisions which are far more vague. Is it 33 or 34 votes? Was he properly seated given his dual citizenship? Was his vote in itself disqualifying given the provisions of article 156 of the Constitution? Does the government have the right to bring a motion of confidence given that it has restored its majority and is in a position to govern effectively? These are all questions that must be answered and can only be properly answered by the courts. If the government resigns, what remedy would it have if the court subsequently rules in its favor? The only reasonable and practical course of action is for the government to continue pending determination by the courts.

The right of the people to elect their government is sacred and should never be treated lightly. In this matter, we must err on the side of caution, and caution lies with the people who voted to put this government in office. We cannot have a situation where a government loses its right to govern, even though the court determines that it has that right, because of a premature resignation.

WIll of people?...please...they barely got enough votes to be in power...and as the recent LGE has shown, they might lose big time in an election.

Wonder how much pieces of silver Nagas got

Don't hurry, the will of the people are foremost.

The Political Mafia who wants to grab some of the oil wealth from the people will loose.The backers of such move will have years to wipe their tears.

Guess APNU/AFC not interested in oil money ( roll eyes)....boy, you have bought into these crooks... hook, line and sinker

No boy, they are being watched.

Django, why do you speak like the Coalition government has more rights to the oil? I am biased. You say you aren’t. Correct me where you see me wrong in thinking you are also.

Ramjattan made a strong argument yesterday. I am curious to see if Scotland buys it on Thursday. I am also curious to see how each side react after Scotland’s pronouncement. 

Nobody is telling the Coalition to shut up shop and go home. Jagdeo was very clear that they can continue to operate in a caretaker role but they cannot pass any initiatives or make any new disbursements. The Coalition government is behaving like bullies. Politicians are allowed to lie. Actually they would be in malpractice if they didn’t. How can someone post an op-Ed making unsubstantiated claims?

Django, why do you speak like the Coalition government has more rights to the oil? I am biased. You say you aren’t. Correct me where you see me wrong in thinking you are also.

Ramjattan made a strong argument yesterday. I am curious to see if Scotland buys it on Thursday. I am also curious to see how each side react after Scotland’s pronouncement. 

He speaks as though the oil wealth is going to the people. Since the discovery of oil, the PNC has made NO plan to share the wealth. To start the $18M bonus went hiding until they were caught. Django is a PNC in AFC clothing, they are paying his Stabroek News subscription.

OP-Ed: It is APNU+AFC govt’s duty to protect Guyana’s democracy

December 31 2018, Source, by James Mc Allister

The APNU-AFC Government has a duty to the Guyanese people, and to our democracy to reject calls for its resignation, and continue in office. Let those who feel strongly about the no confidence motion take it up in court.

Recently, many who are now speaking loudly questioned the right and authority of the president to unilaterally appoint the chairman of GECOM after the rejection of three lists submitted by Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo. On that occasion, the Constitution was as clear as day on the authority of the President, and yet they questioned his actions. Listening to them then gave us the impression that the most egregious and undemocratic acts were being perpetuated. The opposition took the issue to court and lost. They then lost their voices; not a single retraction of all the hurtful things they said.

The president disregarded the essence of the constitution on this matter and UNILATERALLY appointed the Chairman.

Succinct issues ...

1. Jagdeo submitted on three separate occasions, as required by the laws of Guyana, to the president for consideration.

2. As long as a list is submitted, the president can approve a chairman or reject the entire list and request another list from the Opposition Leader.

3. When Jagdeo submitted the third list, Granger rejected the list, did not request a new list from Jagdeo BUT unilaterally appointed a chairman.

The APNU-AFC Government has a duty to the Guyanese people, and to our democracy to reject calls for its resignation, and continue in office.

Let those who feel strongly about the no confidence motion take it up in court.

Perhaps, this individual does not know a very simple issue ..

33 is GREATER than 32.

The no-confidence vote was approved and the next step is for the government to tender its resignation; and as per the laws of Guyana; remain as a care-taker government withthe specific task to habe an election within three months.

For a moment I thought you were talking about Scotland Yard.

The president disregarded the essence of the constitution on this matter and UNILATERALLY appointed the Chairman.

Succinct issues ...

1. Jagdeo submitted on three separate occasions, as required by the laws of Guyana, to the president for consideration.

2. As long as a list is submitted, the president can approve a chairman or reject the entire list and request another list from the Opposition Leader.

3. When Jagdeo submitted the third list, Granger rejected the list, did not request a new list from Jagdeo BUT unilaterally appointed a chairman.

The courts ruled on this issue and they found that the president acted in accordance with the constitution. Take your essence and go make some custard.

Django is a PNC in AFC clothing, they are paying his Stabroek News subscription.

Well bhai KP, say what you want, SN subscription comes out from my pocket, you want to see the billing ?

He is DUMB and ILLITERATE and try real hard to please his Masters, Or he was born brain dead, there is no other explanation. Is that libelous Mits??  Talk about being born with a Pea brain

Last day of the year so i am going to let loose,YOU ARE FOUCKING SHEEPLE AND A FOLLOWER.Any time bumped in to you it will be war, the fittest shall survive.YOU SKONT REALLY DON'T KNOW DJANGO.

AHOLE like you dont scare me. The TRUTH HURTS, I have described you perfectly. Others here know this but maybe Ballsless!! You know Uncle Charlie, go play with him!!!

TRUTH,  do you know the meaning ?  DUMB KUNT, SHAKABATTY., can't string a proper sentence. That does happen when spending too much time in dirty drains on Liberty Ave.

Might be libelous if coming from someone with at the very least mediocre intelligence but for you, nahhhhhh.

@Django

How much wood would a woodchuck chuck if a woodchuck could chuck wood?

How many wars could a Django win if a Django could fight war?

Last day of 2018 yuh rass threatening peace-loving Nehru wid war? Yuh remind me of dem bad & dunce schoolboys who wait for the last day of the term to share licks pon dem "enemy". 

I hope you wake up on New Year marning sober and remorseful and resolved to thicken your skin.

Because of my born again attitude where I don't give a shit what anyone on social media says or thinks, I am able to find it amusing how others say things like I fight back when I am attacked or other matters of fighting on the internet. It is sad if people really thinking that 'gaining feathers in one's cap' on social media is noteworthy. Not worth busting a blood vessel over. 

Meanwhile I notice we padnah Conscience has reemerged to fight the good fight. 

Really brother Djangy? There are at times we need to use the F-bomb to make our statement more effective. Brother, yesterday was not the day. Again, you take this board too seriously. Is it really worth it?

If the PPP needed 34 votes to win the NCM, isn't the APNU+AFC also needed 34 to defeat it? 

Don't they (the PNC/AFC)also need 34 seats to be in power? Wha de rass hole kind ah game dem bais wan fuh play? So they were in power illegally? Where are the (SMFH) head shakers?

If the PPP needed 34 votes to win the NCM, isn't the APNU+AFC also needed 34 to defeat it? 

I don’t think so. The burden was on the PPP who brought the motion. I still think the 33 votes have satisfied the threshold but we will have to see what Scotland says on Thursday.

@Django

How much wood would a woodchuck chuck if a woodchuck could chuck wood?

How many wars could a Django win if a Django could fight war?

Last day of 2018 yuh rass threatening peace-loving Nehru wid war? Yuh remind me of dem bad & dunce schoolboys who wait for the last day of the term to share licks pon dem "enemy". 

I hope you wake up on New Year marning sober and remorseful and resolved to thicken your skin.

He is DUMB and ILLITERATE and try real hard to please his Masters, Or he was born brain dead, there is no other explanation.

Thank you, for supporting the fella with your profound memory, a weakling behind a keyboard. A man who disparage others on GNI. This fella doesn't deserve the name of his nick and the picture of his avatar, two great men revered by the people of India and the land of our ancestors,not even the river that people considered holy.

Yep i have awoken and don't  have to worry about sober, haven't sipped a single drop of liquor, although went the liquor store got a bottle of Goosling Black Seal Rum and a bottle of wine for the kids.Today i have a few shots of the Rum.

I wish you all the best in 2019.

Really brother Djangy? There are at times we need to use the F-bomb to make our statement more effective. Brother, yesterday was not the day. Again, you take this board too seriously. Is it really worth it?

Had to put that fella to his place, he seems to think he can say what he wants covering under the umbrella of free speech.Their types are weaklings, cyberspace or not, sometimes things have to be taken seriously.

Don't they (the PNC/AFC)also need 34 seats to be in power?

Wha de rass hole kind ah game dem bais wan fuh play? So they were in power illegally? Where are the (SMFH) head shakers?

No the winner of majority seats  in the voting count governs. The count of voting by Legislators are problematic when their are odd members, how majority, two thirds and quorum are defined,some say round up others say round down.

The recent NCV in Guyana is a test for democracy, let us wait and see what will be the results.

Don't they (the PNC/AFC)also need 34 seats to be in power?

Wha de rass hole kind ah game dem bais wan fuh play? So they were in power illegally? Where are the (SMFH) head shakers?

No the winner of majority seats  in the voting count governs. The count of voting is problematic when their are odd members, how majority, two thirds and quorum are defined,some say round up others say round down.

The recent NCV in Guyana is a test for democracy, let us wait and see what will be the results.

So a majority is a majority. Why is the 33 NCV not considered a majority? I must have been in grade 1 at Skeldon C of S School where I was told 33 is more than 32. Only in the PNC schools, they teach a Bully Neanderthal type of counting and who got more with less?