Three Guyanese to participate in US young leaders programme

Share on Facebook

Tweet on Twitter

Christine Profitt, founder of The Scrubs Hub

THE U.S. Embassy is proud to announce the Guyana cohort of the 2017 Young Leaders of the Americas Initiative (YLAI) Professional Fellows Programme.

The five-week programme, sponsored by the U.S. Department of State, will bring 250 young leaders from 36 countries in the Caribbean and Latin America to the United States to augment their business or social venture plans, learn from U.S. counterparts, and share best practices, the US Embassy here said.

Founder of Ecab, Charles Hutson

According to the embassy the YLAI programme supports the United States’ commitment to increase trade and investment in the region and, in the words of Vice-President, Mike Pence, “bring even more of our business culture of entrepreneurship and innovation all across [the Caribbean] so that your prosperity and our prosperity will continue to expand together.”

Out of well over 3,000 applications submitted from the region, three young Guyanese leaders have been accepted to the Programme: Suzanne Hamilton, Founder of Sosh Solutions in Linden, which offers globally recognised professional qualification courses for local entrepreneurs and addresses the unavailability of professional and youth development opportunities in the fields of accounting, business, and finance.

Charles Hutson founded Ecab, a mobile app for calling taxis that allows cab-seekers to electronically hail the closest available cab, while allowing drivers to earn more by saving on gasoline and time. Christine Profitt is the founder of The Scrubs Hub, an organisation that provides quality medical garments and personal protective gear for medical professionals across Guyana at an affordable cost. As part of her social responsibility commitment, Christine has committed a percentage of the organisation’s income towards the “I CAN” project for disadvantaged youth, single parents, and other young adults in Agricola.

Suzanne Hamilton is the Founder of Sosh Solutions in Linden

The YLAI Professional Fellows Programme kicks off in Atlanta, Georgia. The young leaders will then participate in a four-week fellowship in cities throughout the United States, where the host-businesses will mentor and guide the fellows through an entrepreneurship curriculum.

The program concludes with a closing summit in Washington, D.C., which will focus on leadership and skills development training. Fellows would then return to their ventures with new skills, resources, on-going support from U.S. counterparts, and an improved network, strengthening business ties between the United States and Guyana.

What is evident is that the Black Guyanese knows how to successfully apply for grants, welfare aid etc. But in practicality they lag far behind the IndoG's when it comes to actual accomplishment in business sector.  Most of the successful Black Guyanese I know in the US are in govt services, army, navy, police etc.  

What does this have to do with the Guyana Government and unity? This is a program run by the US State Department. Applications are made directly to the program not the Guyana Government. There is a selection panel in The US specifically for this program. They receive applications from several countries and they choose the winners. We went over this last year but I guess some people "head a bit hard" and they don't learn too fast.

https://ylai.state.gov/fellowship/

What does this have to do with the Guyana Government and unity? This is a program run by the US State Department. Applications are made directly to the program not the Guyana Government. There is a selection panel in The US specifically for this program. They receive applications from several countries and they choose the winners. We went over this last year but I guess some people "head a bit hard" and they don't learn too fast.

why waste time pointing out the obvious to those unwilling to read and understand....

The GOG is not to blame, true enough, however why is it that Guyanese Blacks get these awards ahead of IndoGs due to entitlement,  but come back only to perform poorly in the business arena?  You see them ending up selling fry fish and plantain, while the IndoGs who were denied the opportunity far outshine their Afro counterparts. 

RiffRaff posted:

why waste time pointing out the obvious to those unwilling to read and understand....

The problem is a lot bigger than that. These idiots are reading and can't understand.

RiffRaff posted:

So true. Anything logical and intelligent posted here is knocked down by some. This racism shit will kill us all.

The GOG is not to blame, true enough, however why is it that Guyanese Blacks get these awards ahead of IndoGs due to entitlement,  but come back only to perform poorly in the business arena?  You see them ending up selling fry fish and plantain, while the IndoGs who were denied the opportunity far outshine their Afro counterparts. 

Who is eligible to apply?

Candidates will be considered without respect to race, color, religion, sex, gender, sexuality, national origin, disability or any other protected characteristic as established by U.S. law. Applicants with disabilities are eligible and encouraged to apply for the YLAI Professional Fellows Program.

.  but come back only to perform poorly in the business arena?  .

You cannot have it both ways.  

1. I very much doubt that the vendors are beneficiaries of any training.

2. Your screams that 100% of Indians are all expert business people and that blacks are all incompetent will suggest that blacks should get preference in accessing training.

3. Maybe Indians think that they are all business experts so don't apply.

Its the US government that makes the selection so clearly the candidates who are selected more fit the profile of people who the USA wants to train. Maybe you need to readjust your racism.

This may seem like I'm picking on you but I have this affliction that when I see shit, I am compelled to flush. Did you miss the part where this is a program run by the UNITED STATES STATE DEPARTMENT???? They are the ones selecting the recipients.

Blacks make up only 28 Percent of the population. Unity Granger/Burnham style. Attendees must be thinking that Guyana is an African country.

Blacks and mixed make up 49% of the population.  Mixed people operate within the same cultural contexts as do blacks.  Trotman says that he is mixed as does Benschop.  You will consider them to be black.  Therefore it is easy to see 6that the number is higher than 19%.

Indians are 39% and yet over 80% of those heading state corporations and ambassadorial slots were Indians and very few of the remainder were black.

I see that "ahbe pan tap, black man time done" screams that you uttered during the PPP era make you look quite stupid now.

.  You see them ending up selling fry fish and plantain, while the IndoGs who were denied the opportunity far outshine their Afro counterparts. 

None of the candidates selected were of the street vendor variety.  Of course they are blacks and so you think the worst of them. 

THAT is what Jagdeo wished people in Linden to do when he tossed 80% of the bauxite workers on the breadline and didn't try to stimulate other economic activity in that town.

I hope I don't get banned for calling them congenital racist. I was accused that I am indirectly attacking their parents who raised them like this. 

They are slaves to their racist mentality and they see everything thru their racist lenses.

Last edited by Mitwah

I hope I don't get banned for calling them congenital racist. I was accused that I am indirectly attacking their parents who raised them like this. 

They are slaves to their racist mentality and they see everything thru their racist lenses.

Why should you be banned ???

,they are "Racist"

This may seem like I'm picking on you but I have this affliction that when I see shit, I am compelled to flush. Did you miss the part where this is a program run by the UNITED STATES STATE DEPARTMENT???? They are the ones selecting the recipients.

Apparently you did not take the time to read my comments. Entitlements are a way of life for Blacks, it is no different in these awards where the US set aside quotas for Blacks and send Indos to the back. You see nothing wrong with this picture, 3 blacks picked when indos make up a significant size of the Guyanese population? 

In addition, why is it that they get all these training only to return home to under perform in the real world. 

.  You see them ending up selling fry fish and plantain, while the IndoGs who were denied the opportunity far outshine their Afro counterparts. 

None of the candidates selected were of the street vendor variety.  Of course they are blacks and so you think the worst of them. 

THAT is what Jagdeo wished people in Linden to do when he tossed 80% of the bauxite workers on the breadline and didn't try to stimulate other economic activity in that town.

It was a figure of speech.  These folks will return only to under perform.  Meanwhile the Indos back home will start out with a chicken coup and within 5 years employ these same candidates as clerks in their thriving businesses. 

2. Your screams that 100% of Indians are all expert business people and that blacks are all incompetent will suggest that blacks should get preference in accessing training.

Its the US government that makes the selection so clearly the candidates who are selected more fit the profile of people who the USA wants to train. Maybe you need to readjust your racism.

It is an issue that needs to be raised, a country with a significant Indian population but yet 3 blacks chosen. Clearly even an afrocentrist like yourself can see how this can be viewed as a slap in the face by IndoGs. 

FC posted:

Druggie and his ilk are consumed by racism.  Think what it must be like getting up each day and only seeing collie or black. 

You see nothing wrong with this picture? From a diverse nation like Guyana, and 3 blacks chosen for fellowship?

FC posted:

Druggie and his ilk are consumed by racism.  Think what it must be like getting up each day and only seeing collie or black. 

You see nothing wrong with this picture? From a diverse nation like Guyana, and 3 blacks chosen for fellowship?

maybe you can tell us how many Indos applied instead of blaming blacks

It was a figure of speech.  These folks will return only to under perform.  Meanwhile the Indos back home will start out with a chicken coup and within 5 years employ these same candidates as clerks in their thriving businesses. 

How different are you when you are employed and treated like a black? Do you think your employer see you as white? Ask yourself why you are not being promoted? What business venture have you started on your own and which Board do you sit as a Director? 

FC posted:

No, I don't. Unless you can demonstrate that the selection process was rigged. You are pissing in the wind and as many have said above you are a congenital racist.  You and your ilk see everything though your racist lens.

GTAngler posted: These ... are reading and can't understand.

I think they are understanding what they can't read. 

That sounds logical for some here.

Me asked one the time, they said ' 20 minute pas half past four, but ee look like me watch stap'.

RiffRaff posted:
FC posted:

Now you claiming that no Indo's applied?  My sources tell me that 25 Indos applied and 5 Blacks applied. 3 Blacks was chosen, clearly something is wrong with the process. 

FC posted:
FC posted:

No, I don't. Unless you can demonstrate that the selection process was rigged. You are pissing in the wind and as many have said above you are a congenital racist.  You and your ilk see everything though your racist lens.

What is racist about questioning a clear disparity of the race of those who were chosen? 3 Blacks, zero Indos or buckman.  You should get your head examined, this is the same excuse that the Whites used when they deny Blacks employment or promotions in the US. 

RiffRaff posted:
FC posted:

Now you claiming that no Indo's applied?  My sources tell me that 25 Indos applied and 5 Blacks applied. 3 Blacks was chosen, clearly something is wrong with the process. 

My blood boils at the blatant racism shown in Guyana. Indos need not apply for anything. It will not be too long before we see the PNC card being shown before a job is given to an Indo.

Guyana is headed towards another dark period in its history.

RiffRaff posted:
FC posted:

My blood boils at the blatant racism shown in Guyana. Indos need not apply for anything. It will not be too long before we see the PNC card being shown before a job is given to an Indo.

This is why you see gilly, cain, django, lilmohan,warrior, toal, gt, fc and the rest of the slop can crew being embolden to still remain on GNI to defend these jackasses in power. They have the power of the PNC card on their side. 

RiffRaff posted:
FC posted:

This is why you see gilly, cain, django, lilmohan,warrior, toal, gt, fc and the rest of the slop can crew being embolden to still remain on GNI to defend these jackasses in power. They have the power of the PNC card on their side. 

I remember Gilly wiping the dust off his PNC card during the last election campaign. The rest of them probably lick their PNC card every morning before posting on GNI.

Lilmohan sings a few Bhajan honouring his PNC card and his award for his support and contribution to the PNC before starting his day.

Lilmohan Mitwah sings: "Aawww PNC, Aawwww Granger, Aawww Moses, give me another lil raise and award year end and don't forget my bonus, AAwww, Aawww."

Gil cusses the AFC for mishandling his election donation and refusing to produce audited financial statement for the massive amounts of funds collected during the campaign. 

Moses and Ramjattan refuse to declare their assets and income. I wonder why ?

RiffRaff posted:
FC posted:

Your sources are probably just like you...liar.

Bai Drugb, why are you following Gilly like a seagull following a fishing boat out of the Demerara River? Why don't you cast your eyes on other more appealing floating objects next to your shadow?

When last have you seen Gilly defending "these jackasses in power"? Ow bai, cleanse your brain of such clutter, nuh.

I remember Gilly wiping the dust off his PNC card during the last election campaign. The rest of them probably lick their PNC card every morning before posting on GNI.

Lilmohan sings a few Bhajan honouring his PNC card and his award for his support and contribution to the PNC before starting his day.

Lilmohan Mitwah sings: "Aawww PNC, Aawwww Granger, Aawww Moses, give me another lil raise and award year end and don't forget my bonus, AAwww, Aawww."

Gil cusses the AFC for mishandling his election donation and refusing to produce audited financial statement for the massive amounts of funds collected during the campaign. 

Moses and Ramjattan refuse to declare their assets and income. I wonder why ?

Tell him deh, yuji22. But I suspect Drugb gon seh: To believe, or not to believe yuji? Is suh all dem Saint Stanislaus old boys stubborn? And, Drugb considers himself an intellectual having the right to revile poor Django. 

. Entitlements are a way of life for Blacks, 

And there you go. Screaming that getting scholarships is a way of life for blacks.

So why your yelps when few Indians get them?

What is racist about questioning a clear disparity of the race of those who were chosen? 3 Blacks, zero Indos or buckman. 

You didn't when it was mainly Indians being selected. And in true druggie style you accuse blacks of an entitlement mentality because they win scholarships.

Druggie the British and the Americans selected these people so go scream, howl, wail and cry "white man a skill ahbe!"

.  but come back only to perform poorly in the business arena?  .

On #3, Indians are less talking and more doing. While many races of ppl put alot of thinking into sucessfully making money, Indians on the other hand, roll up their sleeves and get down to making money. Now, they may not be successful at the first trial, but they employ their commonsense and review and implement new strategies. Pragmatic I would say.