Where did you read that in the article?

This I got from it.

β€œOur rice going to Trinidad, going to Jamaica and they mix it and send it back right here and we buy it and we eat it and we say it taste good. Why can’t we do the same here?,” he said. He estimates that with a 50-50 flour mix, Guyana could save foreign exchange on wheaten flour purchases and find a ready market for at least 400,000 bags of paddy or 25,000 tons of rice.

The farmer’s reference to politics appeared to refer to the period in the 1980s when late President Forbes Burnham’s People’s National Congress (PNC)-led government had banned wheaten flour and promoted initiatives for the use of rice and cassava flours.

Newly-appointed Chairman of the Guyana Rice Development Board (GRDB), Claude Housty told the conference that rice flour is more nutritious because it has a higher digestable protein content, low calories and high fiber. The biggest drawback, he said, is the low gluten content that makes the flour difficult to bind and the products hard. β€œIf you get health conscious go to rice flour, don’t worry with wheat,” he said. Housty noted that rice flour has been used to make pastries, bread, hot dog rolls, ice cream and Swiss rolls.

There is nothing wrong with mixing wheat and rice...however it should not be the only choice. 

On another note the rice farmers and the previous government have no one to blame but themselves because after the the production rise year after year they made no effort to look at value added products made of rice. That was very inept, I guess innovation was a foreign thing to them. 

Way back in 1961 when he was Premier, Dr Cheddi Jagan urged rice millers to produce rice flour. It was reported in the PPP newspaper THUNDER, the forerunner of the MIRROR.

Dr Jagan had repeated the call to farmers at the Burma Rice Milling Complex which is somewhere in the Mahaicony area.

But politics is politics. When the PNC regime advocated rice flour, the PPP went on the attack.

The problem with the Burnham approach was that he gave consumers minimal choice through restricting wheat flour importation.

The coalition government is taking a practical and workable approach. Mixing rice flour and wheat flour 50-50 will increase local demand for rice, which is good news to farmers.

And, indeed, if you take time to read the relevant dietary and nutritional literature, you will discover big health benefits from rice flour.

We have been saying that history will repeat itself under the PNC regime, and it's happening within the first 100 days in office. This what the PNC coolies wanted. 28 years wasn't enough.

Next, power rationing.

And lining up to buy gas and a return of the broken down ship to cross the Berbice river.

Way back in 1961 when he was Premier, Dr Cheddi Jagan urged rice millers to produce rice flour. It was reported in the PPP newspaper THUNDER, the forerunner of the MIRROR.

Dr Jagan had repeated the call to farmers at the Burma Rice Milling Complex which is somewhere in the Mahaicony area.

But politics is politics. When the PNC regime advocated rice flour, the PPP went on the attack.

The problem with the Burnham approach was that he gave consumers minimal choice through restricting wheat flour importation.

The coalition government is taking a practical and workable approach. Mixing rice flour and wheat flour 50-50 will increase local demand for rice, which is good news to farmers.

And, indeed, if you take time to read the relevant dietary and nutritional literature, you will discover big health benefits from rice flour.

Spin Gil Spin since APNU is doing squat.

APNU's next smart idea will be to fix bridges with coconut tree trunks.

Welcome to change !

Unknown

Perhaps, mostly with plantain and banana suckers; the PNC's specialized way.

That will happen after 100 days when these clueless chaps nothing else to offer Guyanese.

what clues to ingenious government did the PPP leave except a corrupt drug culture?

Laad Ah Mercy!! Breadftuit Curry instead of Aloo, Jug Jug Lamp, no Letric Lite,Blackout for the Environment sustainability, Party Cards for effective Security, Donkey Cart for Cars( Help with Carbon emission:

CHANGE, PNC STYLE CHANGE OF BACK TO THE FUTURE!!!!!!!!!

Laad Ah Mercy!! Breadftuit Curry instead of Aloo, Jug Jug Lamp, no Letric Lite,Blackout for the Environment sustainability, Party Cards for effective Security, Donkey Cart for Cars( Help with Carbon emission:

CHANGE, PNC STYLE CHANGE OF BACK TO THE FUTURE!!!!!!!!!

Yes Bhaya,

Bring out the Donkey Carts and eat up the Rice flour roti like PNC lot times.

Look at this nasty lil, racist antiman lie! Granger and the Coalition are trying to save the rice industry after your INDIAN government fcked it up. Rice flour is used the world over and your hero Jagan recommended it for Guyana.

Your racist lil skont shitting in yuh pants now because Granger and the coalition about to strip the PPP of its support among rice farmers. You don't live in Guyana and have nothing to do with rice farming, but being the nasty lil fck you are you hoping for failure of the rice industry. That your scorched earth policy hurts your fellow indians is of little concern to your nasty lil, fcked up mind.

APNU's next smart idea will be to fix bridges with coconut tree trunks.

Welcome to change !

Unknown

Perhaps, mostly with plantain and banana suckers; the PNC's specialized way.

That will happen after 100 days when these clueless chaps nothing else to offer Guyanese.

Going around in circles with the blind ones leading the other blind ones.

Originally Posted by Itaname:

Look at this nasty lil, racist antiman lie! Granger and the Coalition are trying to save the rice industry after your INDIAN government fcked it up. Rice flour is used the world over and your hero Jagan recommended it for Guyana.

Your racist lil skont shitting in yuh pants now because Granger and the coalition about to strip the PPP of its support among rice farmers. You don't live in Guyana and have nothing to do with rice farming, but being the nasty lil fck you are you hoping for failure of the rice industry. That your scorched earth policy hurts your fellow indians is of little concern to your nasty lil, fcked up mind.

WHATTAXXXX!!!!

Go easy on me budday yuji. Politics is politics. I don't expect yuji to express my opinion. De Demerara river gon dry up if da happen.

Don't get carried away, the PPP had developed some lucrative markets for rice which the PNC destroyed in short order.  The PPP was working on down-stream rice product but the "Coup d'etat" brought an end to that.  The PPP was about "long game", the PNC is shot-gun.

baseman ignar, ignorant comedy tour scratching around fuh material

i suggest your drugs cash (flush) paymaster(s) employ yuji as a full-time writer . . . he's eminently qualified

lol

Before five years up, rationing of food stuff and party card preference.

u actually getting paid to post this unimaginative stuff?

smh

They architect of those days are back in power, much older, but still there, same people, same philosophy, same ideas = same outcome.

Before five years up, rationing of food stuff and party card preference.

u actually getting paid to post this unimaginative stuff?

smh

They architect of those days are back in power, much older, but still there, same people, same philosophy, same ideas = same outcome.

this is no improvement . . . u, nehru, yugee and cobra dipping alyuh calabash in the same vomit-smelling, illiterate feeding trough

Like Yugi get you going crazy. You are so angry you need to check your blood pressure.

Originally Posted by Dondadda:

Like Yugi get you going crazy. You are so angry you need to check your blood pressure.

Less than 100 days and the pressure mekking dem bais pop a vessel.  NOTHING going as planned, security is a disaster, the economy is in a tail spin, people are losing confidence, business is very apprehensive, the big "bone in the throat" Mad-uno give big-time sore throat.  Tough tough days.  But BJ still flying fuss class while HE Prez, Gordon and the lot in fuss row "tourist class".  This shyte can't be for real. Guyana Civilization.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C1RwL27Sozk

Originally Posted by Pointblank:

BTW it is the rice farmers who traditionally are PPP supporters are calling for this.

One would think, given the current difficulties, folks would be more innovative in developing alternate markets.

Guyana is a high cost producer.  We lucked out when major producers had production issues, but apparently they are back on stream.  Why will any one buy Guyana rice if comparable quality can be bought more cheaply.

There has to be a focus on reducing production costs, improving payment mechanisms, improving access to credit, finding new markets, including new value added products, and branding a higher quality rice product, which can then command higher prices.

But baseman and company will prefer to whine and scream and wail as "black man in power". It will be better if constructive suggestions are offered, commitments extracted from the gov't to assist the industry, and then the gov't is held to account.

But again these are problems which DID NOT emerge after May 11, though the Indo KKK will pretend that this is the case.

Originally Posted by Pointblank:

BTW it is the rice farmers who traditionally are PPP supporters are calling for this.

One would think, given the current difficulties, folks would be more innovative in developing alternate markets.

Guyana is a high cost producer.  We lucked out when major producers had production issues, but apparently they are back on stream.  Why will any one buy Guyana rice if comparable quality can be bought more cheaply.

There has to be a focus on reducing production costs, improving payment mechanisms, improving access to credit, finding new markets, including new value added products, and branding a higher quality rice product, which can then command higher prices.

But baseman and company will prefer to whine and scream and wail as "black man in power". It will be better if constructive suggestions are offered, commitments extracted from the gov't to assist the industry, and then the gov't is held to account.

But again these are problems which DID NOT emerge after May 11, though the Indo KKK will pretend that this is the case.

What you think is driving the high production costs in Guyana?  Who should take the lead in opening up new markets?

I would think that the rice industry will be the MAIN part of a process of reducing their production costs, and finding new markets.  They can solicit the assistance of the government in doing this. 

You scream about the ills of the pld PNC days, but seem to wish a PNC party hack to run the industry, as they did in that era.  Last I recall that didn't end up so good.

What markets did the PPP find? If they found good markets, then why the screams?  Did you really think that it was a good idea for an industry to depend on an enemy to sustain itself.  Because that is what Venezuela is. AN ENEMY!