The passage of amendments to Guyana’s Anti-Money Laundering and Countering the Financing of Terrorism Bill was plunged into uncertainty, after the opposition political parties, voted against consideration of a report on the amendments in a special select committee of the National Assembly, the Government Information Agency reported.

GINA quoted  Finance Minister Dr. Ashni Singh as describing  as “unconscionable”, the move by the Parliamentary Opposition to delay passage of the amendments for the Anti-Money Laundering and Countering the Financing of Terrorism Act required as a result of the Caribbean Financial Action Task Force (CFATF) review process.

The passage of amendments to Guyana’s Anti-Money Laundering and Countering the Financing of Terrorism Bill was plunged into uncertainty, after the opposition political parties, voted against consideration of a report on the amendments in a special select committee of the National Assembly, the Government Information Agency reported.

GINA quoted  Finance Minister Dr. Ashni Singh as describing  as “unconscionable”, the move by the Parliamentary Opposition to delay passage of the amendments for the Anti-Money Laundering and Countering the Financing of Terrorism Act required as a result of the Caribbean Financial Action Task Force (CFATF) review process.

The bill is horribly flawed. It has no proper legal enforcement strategy. It also gives the finance minister the right to label any one he pleases a launderer and maintain a hit list. This is not to be allowed in a free society. No minister should be awarded the ability to ruin the life of another by his authority alone. There has to be built in legal due process.

Other holes exist as to who are launderers. Note, Guyana has a parallel underground economy that is almost equal to the real one interacts with the real one on a cash basis daily. This is tightly interwoven into the business culture so practically every businessman is a launderer of cash.

Further, NICIL is the biggest money laundering entity and we have no accountability here. What bill are they talking about? That bill is no more but an appeasement bill to satisfy foreign banks. The PPP has no intention to enforce it. Not one money laundering case has ever been brought before our courts and we have a person in charge here. Obviously, it is not a priority for the PPP.

Kajol, 

The people hate the PPP but the have no choice since the opposition is totally incompetent and the PPP is the best of the worst.

In an environment where there is no loyalty to the PPP, you would be shocked how many confidential documents are passed on to me from public servants.

As Adam Harris who give him the Muri document to bust Rawabert the GOLD tief bag?

Kajol, 

The people hate the PPP but the have no choice since the opposition is totally incompetent and the PPP is the best of the worst.

In an environment where there is no loyalty to the PPP, you would be shocked how many confidential documents are passed on to me from public servants.

As Adam Harris who give him the Muri document to bust Rawabert the GOLD tief bag?

Well, KishanB on top for sure!

What exactly are the solutions for a failing guyana? where are these new good leaders? i don't see any around. You talk about TK and Gerhard. TK is blown around by the wind and Gerhard hides out expect when there is some sentimental issue to talk about. They are not the ones to rely on. So how about you? For you to be getting all those "confidential" documents, there must be a lot of persons who feel you are that future leader to take guyanese to the virtual promised land

Originally Posted by kajol:

Kajol, 

Well, KishanB on top for sure!

What exactly are the solutions for a failing guyana? where are these new good leaders? i don't see any around. You talk about TK and Gerhard. TK is blown around by the wind and Gerhard hides out expect when there is some sentimental issue to talk about. They are not the ones to rely on. So how about you? For you to be getting all those "confidential" documents, there must be a lot of persons who feel you are that future leader to take guyanese to the virtual promised land

Ow Kajol, leave me alone nuh, left them boys in GT to run the ship into the ground. The we will see what happens.  

Politics is a nasty game and me nah looking fuh get meh skin nasty.

I have a lot of hopes in Gerhard.  But I did not know he was hiding.  Where you got that from?