This is a nice story for a change. All of us as children can attest that we bathe naked in trenches as kids. Fish bite meh lolo for bait many times. How about you?   Even patwah try to hide in meh BT for coconut shell. But bathing naked in trenches is more fun than Christmas for many of us.

Yah man, nice Thursday, nice day. Put on all you lil days cap and be playful for a day.   we didn't grow us as toys-r-us kids. We grow up as Guyanese kids playing in mud and water like pigs.  

Bathing naked as kids in trenches was a regular past time for my siblings and my self,we would be in the waters for hours until become pale.We learn to swim by venturing in to the trenches,we hold on to grass on the embankment while dipping ourselves in the water,from time to time we will let go until we can control our motion to stay afloat in the water.

Mom was away at work so we had our freedom,i was the eldest of the four siblings and was the protector and guidance,i will make sure they are safe at all times.

Iman used to trip on ma lolo so I was forced to use bukta.

Talking bout bucta,my Mom bought a sewing machine in our teenage years,we sewed our clothes down to the buckta.We also used flour bags as clothing material.

Why didn't you wrap it around your waist and tie it with bag twine?

Lol@Bag twine. I gaffa mention that to Druggie.

Lol@Bag twine.

You remember this?

What we now consider as innocent boyhood days are now looked upon as demeaning, sexual or vulgar by some in this new world that we live in.

Entire family sleeping together in one bedroom or brothers and sisters sharing the same bedroom is now consider offensive 

In our days we never looked at our sisters  in a sexual way (maybe we had fantasies of our friends sisters) 

Amral
Amral posted:

What we now consider as innocent boyhood days are now looked upon as demeaning, sexual or vulgar by some in this new world that we live in.

Entire family sleeping together in one bedroom or brothers and sisters sharing the same bedroom is now consider offensive 

In our days we never looked at our sisters  in a sexual way (maybe we had fantasies of our friends sisters) 

Hope your friends are not reading this Amral. Some tribes in Africa wear no type of clothing. There are also some Amerindian tribes in SA that do not wear any type of clothing or cover up.

You rass remember running naked, you lolo swing from side to side and you balls hitting your inside thighs? Looking back it makes you laugh.

Lol@Bag twine.

You remember this?

Yeh.. just loling at "bag" twine. 

The other day I was out fishing and  my son forget his belt,  pants was loose. I grab the two front belt strap and tie it with a pc of twine. 

To hell with what other people think of us. We live poor and make the best of what is available to us. Yes, I bathe in trenches, ride bicycle, fall down, bruise up meh knees, etc. I enjoyed my lil days and still remembers them and share them with my kids. If you ask me, I wouldn't have wanted it any other way. We invent our own toys. Remember? Katareel, wax and rubber band. eh? Bicycle weel with a stick, sardine punt and them thing. Rass man, those days were the best. We have a piece of history we can always brag about. True that, Cain?

As kids and teenagers we were innovative making toys,i can recall i made a telephone with bag twine and two tin cups,i am picking my brain where i got that idea.

That been around long before your time.

This is a nice story for a change. All of us as children can attest that we bathe naked in trenches as kids. Fish bite meh lolo for bait many times. How about you?   Even patwah try to hide in meh BT for coconut shell. But bathing naked in trenches is more fun than Christmas for many of us.

Yah man, nice Thursday, nice day. Put on all you lil days cap and be playful for a day.   we didn't grow us as toys-r-us kids. We grow up as Guyanese kids playing in mud and water like pigs.  

If caught today, you will be charged for buggering the fish.

As kids and teenagers we were innovative making toys,i can recall i made a telephone with bag twine and two tin cups,i am picking my brain where i got that idea.

That been around long before your time.

Thanks,may be i picked up from some one.

To hell with what other people think of us. We live poor and make the best of what is available to us. Yes, I bathe in trenches, ride bicycle, fall down, bruise up meh knees, etc. I enjoyed my lil days and still remembers them and share them with my kids. If you ask me, I wouldn't have wanted it any other way. We invent our own toys. Remember? Katareel, wax and rubber band. eh? Bicycle weel with a stick, sardine punt and them thing. Rass man, those days were the best. We have a piece of history we can always brag about. True that, Cain?

True dat. i also played table soccer with shells or buttons.

The other day I was out fishing and  my son forget his belt,  pants was loose. I grab the two front belt strap and tie it with a pc of twine. 

Is it you who hang round kawartha lakes? I am now heading for a ride to the locks here in fenelon to check the babes and boats.

Version of an accident event in Guyana ...

Statement from a Chinese individual ....

"His lolly cum dis way, meh lolly cum dat way

His lolly hit meh lolly

Hoo lolly moh long ?"

We have some Asian home-stay  students who read GNI for a  paper, they are preparing  for the university.

They were puzzled by the word KATAREEL  and ask for my explanation.

I told them a katareel was used to make a lil tractor that was used to race other katareel tractors. This confused the hell of them.  

Using an empty katareel, I told them,  we would use a razor blade and cut groves on the  edges to provide traction and placing an elastic band thru the middle hole that we would wind and race other Katareel  'tractors'.

They still shaking dem heads afta four glasses of wine, they said 'What the hell is a Katareel' ?

I had to slowly explain  before they hide the bottle of wine, that   if their mother is a seamstress, she would  use a katareel, that is actually  a cotton reel, a spool for thread.

Cain, me hear stories about you bukta issue in Guyana. Keep it tight bro, because you neva  know when the jewels can be more important than the cassette tape deck in your vintage car.

Sorry me gone from net service and Carmen is waiting.    

Tola posted:

We have some Asian home-stay  students who read GNI for a  paper, they are preparing  for the university.

I told them a katareel was used to make a lil tractor that was used to race other katareel tractors. This confused the hell of them.  

Using an empty katareel, I told them,  we would use a razor blade and cut groves on the  edges to provide traction and placing an elastic band thru the middle hole that we would wind and race other Katareel  'tractors'.

They still shaking dem heads afta four glasses of wine, they said 'What the hell is a Katareel' ?

I had to slowly explain  before they hide the bottle of wine, that   if their mother is a seamstress, she would  use a katareel, that is actually  a cotton reel, a spool for thread.

Cain, me hear stories about you bukta issue in Guyana. Keep it tight bro, because you neva  know when the jewels can be more important than the cassette tape deck in your vintage car.

People might have thought Cain was carrying a comoodie in his pants.

Dear Skelly, the word is "camoudi". I don't want you to mix this up the way you mix up a bird and a monkey. A "comoodie" is perhaps a "commode" that those fat white ladies you like take a dump on. rite/

Tola banna good to see you made it back safe. Banna the vintage car is getting some work done to it. My transmission line started leaking..the dealer wanted $450. For the line another 400 for labour. My cous and I worked on it and the dam thing cost me 150. The ole gurl still runs like new.

Skeldonman you must have been speaking to some binnies round my hood to get that camoudie info.

Dear Skelly, the word is "camoudi". I don't want you to mix this up the way you mix up a bird and a monkey. A "comoodie" is perhaps a "commode" that those fat white ladies you like take a dump on. rite/

Thanks Iggy. Is there a reference to this spelling somewhere? Bai, me know me sakawinki and all dem birds from Kiskadee to dem Macaws.

You know this one? DSC_0157

• DSC_0157
Tola posted:

Good to see you doing fine Tola.  BTW, what's a "Katareel?"

Baseman, I think he means "cotton reel" (that's what we called it in GT). It's the spool that thread is wrapped around when you buy it. We used to take that, add a pointer to one end, a piece of candle, a rubber band and make like a little engine that moves when you wind it up.

Thanks Iggy. Is there a reference to this spelling somewhere? Bai, me know me sakawinki and all dem birds from Kiskadee to dem Macaws.

You know this one?

nah, don't know that bird. See below for the Camoudi reference. Didn't know it was linked to Boa Constrictor
https://www.stabroeknews.com/2...lies-boidae-or-boas/

You know this one?

nah, don't know that bird. See below for the Camoudi reference. Didn't know it was linked to Boa Constrictor
https://www.stabroeknews.com/2...lies-boidae-or-boas/

People always refer to any of these snakes(anaconda, Boas) as Camoudi.

Tola posted:

You rass grow up rich and never had to make your own toys. You know what's a spinning wheel made out of a bottle cap or used Nacet razor blade? You know a kankawa kite?

Oye Base,you know wha wan "Bucktop" ?

Check  here  some toys are mentioned.

Tola posted:

Leh me guess, kite datt fly upside down?

I remember taking a banga and making a buck top. Had to dig out some jelly and put it in the ants nest to eat the rest out. I remember taking sand and rubbing the outside to make the banga shine.

Banga is Awara [waraa] seed,or the the bigger type  of species?

My current next half from Berbice,alyuh got some names different from Demerara folks.

It is. The countryside is where you get both an education and a rich and enjoyable experience of Guyana's multicultural life. I see the use of more local slangs in the countryside.

Bhai,Guyanese got class,we speak broken English,then speak and write perfect English in a jiffy.

What's a banga?