Good to see you doing fine Tola.  BTW, what's a "Katareel?"

You rass grow up rich and never had to make your own toys. You know what's a spinning wheel made out of a bottle cap or used Nacet razor blade? You know a kankawa kite?

Oye Base,you know wha wan "Bucktop" ?

Check  here  some toys are mentioned.

I remember taking a banga and making a buck top. Had to dig out some jelly and put it in the ants nest to eat the rest out. I remember taking sand and rubbing the outside to make the banga shine.

What's a banga?

Bai, check between you two legs. It's the awara seed, we poor folks used to make a spinning top.

You rass grow up rich and never had to make your own toys. You know what's a spinning wheel made out of a bottle cap or used Nacet razor blade? You know a kankawa kite?

I remember taking a banga and making a buck top. Had to dig out some jelly and put it in the ants nest to eat the rest out. I remember taking sand and rubbing the outside to make the banga shine.

What's a banga?

Banga is Awara [waraa] seed.

What's a banga?

Bai, check between you two legs. It's the awara seed, we poor folks used to make a spinning top.

LOL

Banga is Awara [waraa] seed,or the the bigger type  of species?

My current next half from Berbice,alyuh got some names different from Demerara folks.

There was Awara seed and Ackree seed. One was big, one was small. Used as marbles in gam. I remember bucktop, don't remember how we made it though. We had competitions, guys spinning and the one whose bucktop spins longer wins.

Parents used to buy toys from JP Santos, Bookers, Fogartys and Bettencourt. Some from an Indian store, Kawall's I think. That was life GT style. Mixture of bought toys and mek some of yuh own.

Never heard of kankawa kite. that's a new one.

My current next half from Berbice,alyuh got some names different from Demerara folks.

There was Awara seed and Ackree seed. One was big, one was small. Used as marbles in gam. I remember bucktop, don't remember how we made it though. We had competitions, guys spinning and the one whose bucktop spins longer wins.

Parents used to buy toys from JP Santos, Bookers, Fogartys and Bettencourt. Some from an Indian store, Kawall's I think. That was life GT style. Mixture of bought toys and mek some of yuh own.

It's a kite that flies without a tail.

What's a fuh banga?

Banga is Awara [waraa] seed.

We use to play three hole with banga after we eat the awara. Teacha use to check we teeth for awara stain and beat we rass. Yes, them teacha think them is we second mumma, daddy fuh beat we.   One day I went in class early and chop up the wild cane and the entire class get licks.   

It's a kite that flies without a tail.

I thought it was that diamond shaped kite, two bones, one horizontal (shorter) and one vertical with a tail. The only kite without a tail I remember was the box kite.

Last edited by GTAngler

Never heard of Acree. I remember Awara and Kuru. The Kuru was bigger and rounder. That was what we used to play gam with.

Store bought toys was for birthdays and Christmas. During the year we made our own. Dragline with old cans, slingshots, pinwheels from Jarvex bottles, boats with motors from old cassette players etc. My mom had an arts and crafts book that we used to make things from. Animals from Oranges, Castles from old mild cartons, periscope from XM box and 2 pieces of mirror. Of all the things we left when we moved here, that book and my dutch bottle collection are the ones I regret the most.

Yes. Jarvex bottles...lol...forgot about that. We used to mek flashlight. 2 Everready batteries on top of each other, a bicycle bulb at the top connected to copper wire. Touch the other end of the copper wire to the base of the battery and light comes on. Cover up the contraption with round cardboard from toilet paper.

I don't know what Skeldon Man is talking about wid this kankawa kite. I know about box kite without tail. I think he mekkin' shit up to fool Mahabir.

Yes. Jarvex bottles...lol...forgot about that. We used to mek flashlight. 2 Everready batteries on top of each other, a bicycle bulb at the top connected to copper wire. Touch the other end of the copper wire to the base of the battery and light comes on. Cover up the contraption with round cardboard from toilet paper.

I don't know what Skeldon Man is talking about wid this kankawa kite. I know about box kite without tail. I think he mekkin' shit up to fool Mahabir.

Had a store named Kharag's on Regent I believe. They used to sell "torchlight" bulbs among other things. I remember this specific one. CK focus lamps. Think 12 in a box. The top of the bulb had a built in magnifier hence the "focus". There is a Kankawa kite. I just can't remember if is the diamond shaped kite, the exercise book page wid 2 piece "broom" threaded through it crosswise or the same exercise book page with a fold at each end and twined tied in the middles. Bringing back pleasant and fond memories.

@GTAngler

There is a Kankawa kite. I just can't remember if is the diamond shaped kite, the exercise book page wid 2 piece "broom" threaded through it crosswise or the same exercise book page with a fold at each end and twined tied in the middles. Bringing back pleasant and fond memories.

I remember that. dunno if it's his kankawa kite. never heard of that before. Maybe when he returns from hunting squirrels and assorted roadkill to mix with his homegrown bigan and wiri wiri for his dinner he'll tell us.