Tola posted:

Sorry I didn't know your father had passed.  And I didn't know he came from Albion either.  So then your father know Allan Ramdin, headmaster at Albion school.  He passed away also.

You really have surprised me. Consider that your one free pass since your sister was in my class. If you ever involve my family again, I'll come at you with wrath on a level you've never experienced. Now that the pleasantries are done with, my father was from Better Hope as am I. He started teaching at 15 in Mahaicony Creek so it's very possible he might have known that person.

Lol.  Free pass.  Look story hey.  Me know you fambly from Better Hope so I was surprised when you said Albion.  I think your parents know Teacher Bern from Better Hope school.  Her husband name Bisnauth.

My father was the greatest human being I ever knew. I didn't say he was  from Albion. I'll have to ask mom. My parents met at Vryheid's Lust School where they were both teachers. We moved to Essequibo in 70. Mom taught at St. John's Anglican at Suddie and dad was a house master at the Correctional Institute at Underneeming. Moved back to Better Hope in 73. Mom taught at St. Paul's Anglican at Plaisance then Chateau Margot in 80. We left in 83.

GT, I am not sure if you lived at Suddie, but I am trying to find  the name of the cinema at Suddie. Its an old building now and  the name is faded.   

I lived at Underneeming just opposite the Boys School. I was just 3 but I remember that cinema can't remember the name though. I saw a Jerry Lewis movie there.  My father was a house master at the Correctional Institute (Boys School). Occasionally they used to take the boys to the cinema. Good memories.

I believe that Boys School at Onderneeming was built around the 1880's. 

Thanks. Shortly before we left Guyana dad and I were in Essequibo and dad went in to visit. Was being run by the National Service. After he introduced himself, the officer said, "oh yes comrade, your name is written in the history here", and we were given a short tour and a couple of drinking glasses with the name of the school. I still have them. I really would like to get more information on where and why dad's name was written in the history there. Anybody has contacts there?

Last edited by GTAngler

Y'all don't read chronologically? First Gilbakka, then Zed, stated that ATLANTIS CINEMA was in Suddie.

Sorry guys and da special  gyal, wha she name again  ...THANKS...but me have a photo shoot today at a school  soccer tournament, for twelve teams.....more later re living in Western Canada, etc.... 

Las time de ball hit me pan de side ah me head, dis time he got a  head gard, but me last me cup protection. Me hope fa no accident....

Thanks guys for the name of the cinema at Suddie : Atlantis.

When  me photographed the building a few years ago, I knew it must have had a rich history, but was surprised how small the building looked.  The front steps were broken and it looked like the building was ready to fall down. My  favourite cinemas in Berbice were Yollanda at Albion Front, Apollo at Rose Hall Town and Roophmal, across the public road from the Port Mourant hospital.  None still exist today . I am  not sure whether an operational cinema exist in Berbice. 

Today for the seventh year,  our camera club members photographed  a twelve school soccer tournament  in our town.

It was pleasing to see girls playing soccer in the same teams or against boys. This was a huge contrast in reference to a co-ed sports program we tried to implement in Berbice. We were told by spiritual leaders 'what is dis stupid-ness you trying to do hea'.  Yet Guyana has a huge domestic violence problem  and boys learning to communicate with girls at an early age, also the other way around,  could surely help  when they are living together.

But today, it was humorous to see some boys at times spreading  both hands in front of them,  as they try to avoid  making physical contact wid a girl, that is just budding. The girl would just smile and kick the ball away. Young man jitters.

How exciting and questionable it was to be young. Why are these  hairs growing here ? Would this now become my head ? I shaved it wid me dad's razor, but de dam thing keep growing back. So many questions, yet so little answers. Now me trying to figure out what to do wid de gray hairs.   

Zed, I thought you were back in GY. Were you in the lower mainland in Western Canada. I was there for the first ten years mainly at school and the last forty, 500 miles north working for the phone company. PM me if you need more details.

Last edited by Tola