There are no records existing to show that the newly appointed Chairman of the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) was ever appointed the Chief Justice of Grenada as is stated on his Curriculum Vitae (CV).

Patterson states on his CV that he was Chief Justice of Grenada in 1987. He has no start or end date to this position.

There are news articles which quote Patterson serving as a Judge in Grenada and there are references to him serving as the acting Chief Justice, but there are no records of him receiving the substantive appointment.

The News Room attempted to reach Justice Patterson all day Friday, October 20, 2017, and today, October 23, 2017. His secretary said she was not in possession of his CV and that the Chairman has instructed that “when he is ready” he will engage the media.

When contacted by the News Room, neither the Supreme Court of Grenada nor the Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court could find any record of Justice Patterson being appointed Chief Justice. The News Room also checked with law firms in Grenada and prominent attorneys, but no one could verify Patterson as Chief Justice of Grenada.

The Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court (ECSC) is the superior court of record for the Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS), including Grenada and five other independent island states.

Following a coup in Grenada in March 1979, the Grenada constitution was suspended by the People’s Revolutionary Government and a new court system was established, comprising the Grenada High Court and the Court of Appeal, which remained in place until 1991 when Grenada returned to the Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court.

Justice Patterson would have served as acting Chief Justice under the unconstitutional court in Grenada in 1987, as far as records go. To resolve the constitutional crisis, judges relied on the doctrine of necessity to clothe the court with validity and competence.

Justice Patterson was sworn in minus pomp and ceremony on Thursday last by President David Granger at State House. The only other person in attendance was Minister of State Joseph Harmon.

The new GECOM Chairman assumed duties the next morning and was in a meeting all day with staff. Today, he met with senior staff of the Commission. At news time, the Chairman had not called a meeting with GECOM’s Commissioners. Meetings are usually held on Tuesday.

Bibi Shadick, one of three Commissioners for the opposition People’s Progressive Party (PPP) said she will be attending meetings whenever these are held.

“I will be attending meetings of the Commission, which I suppose the gentleman will chair,” Shadick said when contacted by the News Room.

The PPP has vowed non-cooperation with the government over President Granger’s unilateral appointment of Justice Patterson.

Similar to all designations and work related instances, Acting in a position and being the substantive appointee are quite different.

Regardless of the service time, one who is Acting has her/his substantive position while performing simply in a temporary/acting role.

Individuals must be quite careful in their resumes to state clearly their respective functions in various positions.

GN_V15_No10_Jul_11_1987_Page_01GN_V15_No10_Jul_11_1987_Page_01

http://ufdc.ufl.edu/AA00000053/00346

Click on link

I posted this a couple times,Patterson was Acting Chief Justice in Grenada,the year 1987.

In that clipping under the subhead "Kangaroo Court" are these words:

"... Mr Ramsay's charge that his constitutional rights have been violated by Acting Chief Justice James Patterson. Judge Patterson, Mr Ramsay says, denied him the right to have Legal Counsel of his choice."

So, Django, this Acting Judge James Patterson ran a kangaroo court in Grenada. He denied the man his right to choose his attorney. No wonder Patterson was not confirmed as Chief Justice.

This report is revealing and damning to pensioner Patty. He will turn GECOM into a kangaroo court and deny people their right to choose PPP. Patterson will violate voters' constitional rights as he did to poor Ramsay.

Rigging in the making.

Click on link

I posted this a couple times,Patterson was Acting Chief Justice in Grenada,the year 1987.

"... Mr Ramsay's charge that his constitutional rights have been violated by Acting Chief Justice James Patterson. Judge Patterson, Mr Ramsay says, denied him the right to have Legal Counsel of his choice."

So, Django, this Acting Judge James Patterson ran a kangaroo court in Grenada. He denied the man his right to choose his attorney. No wonder Patterson was not confirmed as Chief Justice.

This report is revealing and damning to pensioner Patty. He will turn GECOM into a kangaroo court and deny people their right to choose PPP. Patterson will violate voters' constitional rights as he did to poor Ramsay.

Bhai you got right,Patterson is exposed.

Click on link

Rigging in the making.

Thanks for your honest assessment. The devil Granger chose a puppet who will execute his evil plan.

Click on link

Yuh rass cut and paste to defend de man's judgeship blindly but yuh just do Anil one big favor.

Click on link

Yuh rass cut and paste to defend de man's judgeship blindly but yuh just do Anil one big favor.

I post it on Anil FB page. if he uses the info,hopefully he remembers who post it,we are lil jine family,my brother and  his mamoo.

Not much of defending, was seeking the truth.

Click on link

Django, you got it WRONG!! you are exposed.

Click on link

Django, you got it WRONG!! you are exposed.

Ok bhai KP,as you seh suh.

Click on link

Rigging in the making.

He denied the man his right to choose his attorney.

He has the qualities Granger was looking for...dictatorial tendencies just like Forbes and Hoyte. Thanks for pointing this out Dawg!!! Peace Bro.

Click on link

Rigging in the making.

That was an accusation made by a defendant in a court case trying to save his skin from going to jail. Do you know all the facts of the case, including Patterson's rebuttal, or how the case was finally settled? Yet, you jumped to convict Patterson without having all the evidence presented in the case. I propose that your court is more of a Kangaroo Court.

At least you are consistent in fetching pnc slop can. Django flip flopping from day to day depending on the time of the month. 

Goadie Wallah, stay away from lifting heavy stuff at the church yard. You have to save your energy for hicein up the piss pot on the road to 2020.

Same skvunt nothing of substance,all day you thinking about blacman c....k,and thinking others like you,i mention many time keep your fantasies to your self and enjoy your lifestyle,don't worry about others.Stick to the topic.

Don't worry with drugb. At this time he should be offering solid polemics but he stuck on one track.

Will heed,

some thing wrong with that banna.