Norway forest payments off limits until after polls

Per Pharo
Per Pharo

While Norway has releas-ed all remaining payments from its forest protection accord with Guyana, the current APNU+AFC government cannot access the funds due to its current caretaker status and payments cannot be sanctioned until after the expected March 2nd general elections.

“I also believe it was made clear by our minister during the climate summit in NYC that payments will be sanctioned out of the GRIF [Guyana REDD+ Investment Fund] until after the elections have been held and a government with a mandate from that election is in place,” former Director of the Norwegian International Climate and Forest Initiative (NICFI) Per Fredrik Pharo told Sunday Stabroek.

“In other words, the money will not be spent until the current situation is resolved,” Pharo added.

Or

fair enuf . . . did the Gov't say differently?

we have an election date

Norway doing the right thing

How can that be the right thing? yuh sure? I know dem bais a run outa currency a congress place but I didn't know they running short a dry coconut....

sachin_05 posted:

we have an election date

How can that be the right thing? yuh sure? I know dem bais a run outa currency a congress place but I didn't know they running short a dry coconut....

Their heads are dry coconuts.

sachin_05 posted:

we have an election date

Down by the riverside got plenty of dry coconuts floating. When dem belly swell, dem guh clean up de rivah.