Norway forest payments off limits until after polls

Per Pharo
Per Pharo

While Norway has releas-ed all remaining payments from its forest protection accord with Guyana, the current APNU+AFC government cannot access the funds due to its current caretaker status and payments cannot be sanctioned until after the expected March 2nd general elections.

β€œI also believe it was made clear by our minister during the climate summit in NYC that payments will be sanctioned out of the GRIF [Guyana REDD+ Investment Fund] until after the elections have been held and a government with a mandate from that election is in place,” former Director of the Norwegian International Climate and Forest Initiative (NICFI) Per Fredrik Pharo told Sunday Stabroek.

β€œIn other words, the money will not be spent until the current situation is resolved,” Pharo added.

Or

sachin_05 posted:

fair enuf . . . did the Gov't say differently?

we have an election date

Norway doing the right thing

How can that be the right thing? yuh sure? I know dem bais a run outa currency a congress place but I didn't know they running short a dry coconut....

Down by the riverside got plenty of dry coconuts floating. When dem belly swell, dem guh clean up de rivah.