Oil money must fund free education, countrywide improved healthcare; no-confidence motion must be passed by at least 44 parliamentarians- GTUC General Secretary

A section of the workers marching through the streets of Georgetown for May Day, 2019.

General Secretary of the Guyana Trades Union Congress (GTUC), Lincoln Lewis on Wednesday- May Day 2019- vowed that his labour confederation would resist the scrapping of the 1980 constitution, but called for it be amended for a no-confidence motion to be passed by at least 44 of the 65 parliamentarians.

Lewis also called for some of the expected oil wealth to be used to fund provide the 10 administrative regions with main referral hospitals, modern diagnostic and treatment capability facilities, free dialysis services and the provision of free education in keeping with Guyana’s constitution. “A healthy nation is a productive nation. We call for the provision of free education from nursery to university as enshrined in the Constitution and if the government and the opposition believe in respecting this constitution, then respect this one,” he said.

Turning his attention to Minister of Labour, Amna Ally , he said she and Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo “are beneficiaries of Burnham free education so why these people can’t get”.

Addressing a Workers’ Day Rally at the National Park, the veteran trade unionist said it was insufficient for a resolution as important as a no-confidence motion to be passed by a slim absolute majority. The Guyana Court of Appeal has invalidated the December 21, 2018 no-confidence motion on the grounds that 34 votes instead of 33 were required for its passage.”We of the Guyana Trades Union Congress call for immediate amendment to Article 146 (6) of the Guyana Constitution to allow for at least two-thirds or a 66 percent vote of all members of the National Assembly for a no-confidence motion to be passed.This is important to circumvent the risk of one vote in the National Assembly swaying the will of the people,” he said after a march by at least 2,000 workers from Parade Ground, Middle Street, Georgetown to the National Park.

The GTUC boss said his labour organisation wants legislation and guidelines for how government and Parliament would function after a no-confidence motion is passed. The Guyana Court of Appeal said after a no-confidence motion is approved, the President and government would merely act as caretakers while general elections are held within the prescribed 90 days.

With the Caribbean Court of Appeal, Guyana’s highest court, is expected to hear oral arguments this month  before delivering what is expected to be a landmark decision, Attorney General, Basil Williams, who addressed the rally on behalf of the governing coalition, sounded a note of cautious optimism that government would again win the case at the Trinidad-based regional court. “The horse in front is likely to be the winner,” he said.

Attorney General Basil Williams, President of the Guyana Trades Union Congress (GTUC) Coretta Mc Donald, GTUC General Secretary Lincoln Lewis and Minister of Labour Amna Ally.

The GTUC General Secretary said his segment of Guyana’s labour movement would not support any move to  abolish that supreme law that dates back to 1980. “Let me tell you something. All of them, who talk about the 1980 constitution, let them understand today- I’m sending a message out to them that I’ll crusade up against them that they will not scrap it. That’s the people’s constitution and those who are talking about it, some of them never read it,” Lewis said.

He also recommended that the number of votes required for the passage of certain laws in the National Assembly be changed to allow for greater collaboration between the government and opposition as well electing the regional members of parliament through direct balloting “which would bring about greater representation and accountability to the communities they are elected to serve”.

Critics say the 1980 Constitution was the product of a rigged referendum and reforms later reflected in the 2001 version.

Meanwhile, veteran trade unionist Norris Witter stopped short of openly endorsing the incumbent David Granger-led coalition administration at general elections likely to be held before May 1, 2020. In his “few words of caution,” he said “much is at stake” at those polls. “It will decide whether we continue to progress as a nation or whether we go backwards. It will define for us whether we have reached that stage of maturity and responsibility to ensure whatever we do before, during and after those elections do not disturb the stability of this nation. All can be lost- there is a lot of talk about the oil out there and other resources- we stand to lose everything through immature and irresponsible behaviour,” he said.

The Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) has asked government for GYD$3.5 billion to conduct general and regional administrative elections by November 2019 after  house-to-house registration is completed.

Look at the PNC clown Lewis, de man look like fowl shyte with his 44 math.

Dem rass prefer white mouth and back tea but they will still vote PNC !

Look at the PNC clown Lewis, de man look like fowl shyte with his 44 math.

Dem rass prefer white mouth and back tea but they will still vote PNC !

Where was Lewis mouth when PNC Boycott PPP government and cause PPP term to reduce with riots in GT. 

This crab dag has no shame.. time ketching up with his skont.

SOB. 

I always said that that chap is a shameless SOB. Imagine that the clown is saying that Parliament needs 44 votes for a NCV motion ahead of a CCJ PNC loss.

He is preparing his people for slow fiah.

General Secretary of the Guyana Trades Union Congress (GTUC), Lincoln Lewis on Wednesday- May Day 2019- vowed that his labour confederation would resist the scrapping of the 1980 constitution, but called for it be amended for a no-confidence motion to be passed by at least 44 of the 65 parliamentarians.

Too much yapping causes poor comprehension.Colored for alyuh to read.

I always said that that chap is a shameless SOB. Imagine that the clown is saying that Parliament needs 44 votes for a NCV motion ahead of a CCJ PNC loss.

He is preparing his people for slow fiah.

The above what Lewis said !!! having problems to read ?? it's underlined for you.

Django I’m telling you again.  You missed your calling to be a comedian.  You are one of a kind.   Stupittt seh till.

Django is a bold political prostitute.

Banna don't be jokey !!! ammend it, for that matter Guyana need a new Constitution, seems like ayuh love that illegal Document.

Django I’m telling you again.  You missed your calling to be a comedian.  You are one of a kind.   Stupittt seh till.

Speak to the compadres, they didn't get what Lewis said.

DJ is our resident PNC slop can comedian.

No parliament based on the Westminster system requires a 2/3 Majority for NC vote. 

More comedy from DJ.

Amended my behind. The law is the law !

He is asking for an amendment, what's wrong with that ?

if you see nothing wrong with that, you are totally drunk on PNC Milk

DJ is our resident PNC slop can comedian.

No parliament based on the Westminster system requires a 2/3 Majority for NC vote. 

More comedy from DJ.

Seems like ayuh liked that illegal document.

From 33  to  34  now  44  Absolute, absolute Majority, Charrandas Really Mess up them head.

Dem this people nah down hay dunce.  

Dem rass attended August month school in Guyana. DJ was teaching classes. 

The PNC probably think that Absolute meant Absolute Vodka 

Amended my behind. The law is the law !

He is asking for an amendment, what's wrong with that ?

if you see nothing wrong with that, you are totally drunk on PNC Milk

That piece of legislation full of holes, not properly crafted.

It is known that it requires as a minimum, two-thirds of ALL of the elected members in parliament to make the noted amendment.

PNCR/APNU/AFC has 33 members in parliament.

When the current constitution was initially created, Forbes Burnham "miraculously obtained" more than two-thirds of the MPs.

That’s all well and fine for tomorrow’s discussion. Who cares right now. They need to respect the current law. Go through the normal amendment process afterwards. 

I wonder if the PPP wins with one or two seats if they will sing  the same tune!

This is a well planned PNC statement using one of their stooges. There is no doubt about the PNC losing the CCJ case with regards to what constitutes a majority.

PNC keeps shifting the goal post by now using the word amendment. Most of their supporters will just see this as one of their leaders demanding 44 Votes while not fully comprehending what constitutes an amendment. 

I predict PNC violence in the streets with the PNC refusing to vacate office and stalling even after losing the CCJ appeal. This exactly where this is heading, looks like the Corbins of the word will attempt to derail the election and put Guyana in a situation worse than Venezuela.

Carib has been hinting at violence since they don’t want to give up power.

The only major mistake is that the PNC honoured a convicted terrorist and they appear to have taken a pro communist position.

Interesting times ahead.

Note: Shuma has been dead silent on all of these issues and it appears as if his party died. Shuman has no ball*.