No compensation yet for Enmore sugar worker’s widow
By Stabroek staff.
Monday, September 19,2011.

Almost 4 months have passed since an Enmore Sugar Estate worker died and his wife is yet to be compensated.

Jainarine Singh, who worked with the Guyana Sugar Corporation (GuySuCo) for over 31 years, succumbed to internal injuries on May 23, one week after a factory dryer, which was reportedly defective, exploded.

The Commission of Inquiry (COI) into the accident and death of the sugar worker completed its investigation last month.
Negligence by GuySuCo and its agent Surendra Engineering Corporation Ltd (SECL) contributed to the accident at the corporation’s Enmore factory, which resulted in the death of Singh, the COI set up to investigate the accident had found.

Singh’s wife, Shakuntala, told this newspaper on Thursday that she had heard nothing from the company since then. “They say they want de death certificate so I made a copy and give them about two weeks ago but I still ain’t get no feedback,” the woman said.

The widow stated, however, that this has not really bothered her. “I don’t mind because they got to do they job… whenever they finish is ok with me. Me nah really mind,” she said.

The commission, which began its work on June 14, had found that Singh, described as a dedicated employee, was in no way negligent in the performance of his duties when the accident occurred.

According to the report, during its investigation the commission ascertained that Singh had been an excellent worker, who had been recently transferred from the LBI estate, where he had worked as a boiler operator for 31 years. “He had an unblemished safety record. His peers and supervisors reported that he displayed sound safety practice and complied with safety and health policy of GuySuCo. It was as a result of his experience and the above attributes that he was selected to operate the sugar dryer,” the report said.

MRS. SINGH, IF YOU REALLY WANT TO SEE ANY OF THAT MONEY, BETTA KEEP THE PRESSURE ON, THESE HEARTLESS PEOPLE WITH FIND ANY MEANS NOT TO PAY YOU,THEY WILL DO THE SAME TO THEIR OWN MOTHER.

Originally posted by warrior:
where is ramotar champion of the sugar workers

Been there, done that, on to bigger and better things. Besides there is just not enough money in sugar to tief. The Chinese gon cream them for asset management.
Originally posted by baseman:

Been there, done that, on to bigger and better things. Besides there is just not enough money in sugar to tief. The Chinese gon cream them for asset management.
we get the whiteman out to bring in the chinese will that a first
W

Hey sour puss, Burnham kicked out whites, put in blacks, PPP kicked out blacks, bring in Chinese, so what. We gon happily cut cane, haul punts and be the grease monkeys. We did it well for the past 100 years, so why change the beat.

And all warped credit mus go Jagdeo, Ramotar and the PPP, who could have made better choices for Guyanese, during the past 19 years.

Pretty much sums its up.

Abe Coolies gat the Government we DESERVE. flag

the people who will happily cut cane you have to start looking for them let me give you a hint they not in guyana i know you sound like a monkey but you dumb like a donkey
W
How come the AFC lawyers/crooks did not jump on this one? Now finally here is a case of a woman that needs legal representation against Guysuco and the AFC leadership ignore her plight. Instead they choose to represent those that involved in killings. hahahahahah

the people who will happily cut cane you have to start looking for them let me give you a hint they not in guyana i know you sound like a monkey but you dumb like a donkey

Hey warrior, I was just being sarcastic. but nah mek worries, we gatt nuff weh dem come from.