DEMERARA WAVES --- Former Chairman of the Alliance For Change and a Director of the Guyana Oil and Gas Association (GOGA) has warned that oil companies could fund election campaigns in exercising leverage over the country’s political landscape.

Attorney-at-Law, Nigel Hughes, who was a panelist at a session on the oil and gas sector at the just concluded 5th conference of the pro-Afro-Guyanese Cuffy250 Movement, argued that oil companies’ sole priority is to ensure that governments could help them extract crude oil to reap huge profits.

Noting that an election campaign in Guyana costs less than US$8 million and might possibly increase to US$10 million by 2020 to fund advertisements, flyers, concerts, he said that would be an easy investment for an oil company.

“If I am sitting down and I am a billionaire in the world and I want to control the oil that’s coming out of Guyana because the resources they have found here are the largest they have ever found in the last 20 years, it would take me nothing to take 15 million (US) dollars, create a political party or back a political party and I will then own the natural resources of the country so you can be bought, ladies and gentlemen, or your leaders can be bought for as little as 10 million US dollars,” said Hughes, a prominent Attorney-at-Law who has been paying very keen interest in the oil and gas sector.

Hughes warned the gathering of more than 50 persons in that session not to become gullible and instead be on their guard for concerts and games. “All of this is going to be very cheap for the oil company and it will guarantee that it has government under its control,” he said.

Demerara Waves Online News has been told that top officials of one of the prominent parties in the governing coalition are concerned about the possibility of oil company financing of the 2020 elections campaign to ensure that a preferred candidate emerges and wins the presidency.

ExxonMobil, which is expected to begin commercial oil production in 2020, has not hidden the fact that it funds political activities in the United States and Canada but has added that it does so under strict guidelines in those countries.

ExxonMobil has already denied funding the 2015 general election campaign in Guyana  which does not have campaign finance legislation.

The GOGA Executive Member reasoned that the only defence that countries like Guyana have is greater transparency to allow Guyanese to openly reject agreements signed by government.

The Guyana government has said it has been advised that it would not be wise to make public the agreements between ExxonMobil and Guyana at this time due to the unresolved border controversy with neighbouring Venezuela.

Minister of Public Infrastructure, David Patterson said last week that the Petroleum Act, which includes a secrecy clause, is being reviewed and  tabled in the National Assembly before year-end so that it would mirror laws in other petroleum producing countries. “I am sure the final product on the table will be more reflective of petroleum producing countries,” he said.

ExxonMobil continues to discover hundreds of millions of barrels of oil offshore Guyana from where it would start commercial pumping from the Liza 1 well which has almost 500 million barrels of light sweet crude.

Interesting times ahead. They owe the PPP a lot for giving out oil exploration licences for which they ended up hitting the jackpot.

AFC Management Committee member Dominic Gaskin told Guyanese AFC leaders are not "bribable". 

Former AFC Chairman Nigel Hughes tells Guyanese "your leaders can be bought for as little as 10 million US dollars."

AFC Executive Cathy Hughes told reporters "too much of a bad light is being shed on ExxonMobil."

Hmmmm.........

AFC Management Committee member Dominic Gaskin told Guyanese AFC leaders are not "bribable". 

Former AFC Chairman Nigel Hughes tells Guyanese "your leaders can be bought for as little as 10 million US dollars."

AFC Executive Cathy Hughes told reporters "too much of a bad light is being shed on ExxonMobil."

Hmmmm.........

Yuji did say that Money talks and Bullshit walks.   Hmmmm......

Hmmmm.........

Yuji did say that Money talks and Bullshit walks.   Hmmmm......

Yugi's shoe soles must quite wornout.

This oil find comes about 25 years too late.

50 years too late. You and I might not have emigrated from Guyana.

Guyana could have been another Singapore.

A regional officer did say he will make Berbice another Singapore, de people  still waiting ?

Tola posted:

A regional officer did say he will make Berbice another Singapore, de people  still waiting ?

Please explain to us how Guyana could have been another Singapore.

Tola posted:

Ask Jagdeo. He seems  good at many things.

Tola posted:

Asinine question,use your noodle.

Tola posted:

Don't ask these fools intelligent question, the answer you get will surprise the lil ABC kid. Look and see.

Tola posted:

Don't ask these fools intelligent question, the answer you get will surprise the lil ABC kid. Look and see.

Nonsense,you doan have to be a rocket scientist to determine why Guyana could have been one of the top Countries in the Caribbean.

For starters blame Nationalization and the Commies who hated Capitalism.

If you care to be truthful,add the rest that caused Guyana to be just above Haiti.

Tola posted:

Nonsense,you doan have to be a rocket scientist to determine why Guyana could have been one of the top Countries in the Caribbean.

If you care to be truthful,add the rest that caused Guyana to be just above Haiti.

So how come the PNC govt hasn't made Guyana into Singapore as yet.  It's been over two years since y'all in power.  And Stanley Ming has been preaching it on the PNC bandwagon for umpteen years.

Tola posted:

So how come thePNC govt hasn't made Guyana into Singapore as yetIt's been over two years since y'all in power.  And Stanley Ming has been preaching it on the PNC bandwagon for umpteen years.

One of the reasons i does tell yuh to go play with lil children.

Tola posted:

So how come the PNC govt hasn't made Guyana into Singapore as yet.  It's been over two years since y'all in power.  And Stanley Ming has been preaching it on the PNC bandwagon for umpteen years.

You rass mad.  Jagdeo already trained Mutt and Jeff fa mek Berbice annada Singapore. Their first assignment was to get people to stop Peeing Pan  Public   and crapping behind bushes, but dem rass fail after doing de same thing.

Maduro will fall before 2020 and replace by a pro-American government which will quickly work with American oil companies in reviving the Venezuelan oil industry.  Guyana's oil industry might take a much longer time than 2020 to start producing oil.  Guyanese people should prepare to expect the unexpected. There is no shortage of oil or gas in the world and at the current price levels of these commodities there might be no profits for years especially when Exxon plans to write-off its capital expenditures. Guyana will have to settle for a 2% royalties contracted for at least a decade. Think 2030 when you are thinking of profits from oil buoying the economy.  Warria and others will have to change their minds about making it big in Guyana and start to think about making a serious living in Brooklyn and Queens.

Hmmmm.........

guyana is a colorful place the excitement never stops 

Maduro will fall before 2020 and replace by a pro-American government which will quickly work with American oil companies in reviving the Venezuelan oil industry.  Guyana's oil industry might take a much longer time than 2020 to start producing oil.  Guyanese people should prepare to expect the unexpected. There is no shortage of oil or gas in the world and at the current price levels of these commodities there might be no profits for years especially when Exxon plans to write-off its capital expenditures. Guyana will have to settle for a 2% royalties contracted for at least a decade. Think 2030 when you are thinking of profits from oil buoying the economy.  Warria and others will have to change their minds about making it big in Guyana and start to think about making a serious living in Brooklyn and Queens.

warrior will live in guyana regardless who rule or how much crime they have i can dine with kings or sleep amount thieves 

warrior posted:

warrior will live in guyana regardless who rule or how much crime they have i can dine with kings or sleep amount thieves 

I believe you based on that banaaf you built for that poor Black family in 2015.

warrior posted:

I believe you based on that banaaf you built for that poor Black family in 2015.

that dwelling ass was for a indian family and if i have more money i will certainly build one for a black family charity fool have no color 

warrior posted:

You forgot to mention that you can also build house without foundation and it will last for 1000 years. 

Thanks for reminding us that warria built a house without foundation. There is a picture of this at GNI. That in itself speaks volumes of the mindset of these few clowns who support the AFC.

Then you have the AFC/PNC slop can crew led by Jango.

These chaps can support the AFC 24/7 because they are birds of the same feather with pea size brains.

warrior posted:

that dwelling ass was for a indian family and if i have more money i will certainly build one for a black family charity fool have no color 

Some coolie people  always see Indians  and blacks in Guyana. That is their main problem.

Dem rass do the same with blacks when the PPP was in office, thinking they were god over everyone. An NGO almost took away donated cricket equipment from a school, when Afro students were not included in the team. The Indian students excuse was ....well,  its too degrading to repeat.

Thanks for reminding us that warria built a house without foundation. There is a picture of this at GNI. That in itself speaks volumes of the mindset of these few clowns who support the AFC.

These chaps can support the AFC 24/7 because they are birds of the same feather with pea size brains.

Which crew you belong to ??

alyuh Indocentric will have to bitch a long while.

warrior posted:

You forgot to mention that you can also build house without foundation and it will last for 1000 years. 

a little comfort is worth more than waste words 

warrior posted:

Why worry with the funny fellas,a house built on stilts a few feet above ground is better than living in one that has mud floor.

warrior posted:

Why worry with the funny fellas,a house built on stilts a few feet above ground is better than living in one that has mud floor.

i am good just wish i could build more

Also,  some funny fellas on GNI want to know what others are doing in GY, so they can find fault and knock it down.  All from behind their computer, instead of getting off their asses and come help with the work.

Typical of some,  full of hot air and no action.  

What you wrote here is totally contrary to the teachings of Lord Krishna.

We don't care about Lord Krishna or any other Lord for that matter.  This is not a religious forum.  The topic is what Nigel Hughes said about the oil companies roll in upcoming elections. 

Speaks volumes of how you were dragged up. 

Hmmm. 23 years the PPP didn't do it, even with the fake doctor directing the show for 17 of these years.

Yet you expect the PNC to get this done in 2+years?  Why do you think so little of the PPP that you expect the PNC to accomplish more even though the PPP was in power for 10X the period of time?

Maduro will fall before 2020 and replace by a pro-American government which

Jagdeo will see to it that madBURRO isn't replaced.  They have a special relationship.

Oil ... ExxonMobil ... Bribes ... Politicians ... 2020 Election. Let's put this train back on its track ... The journey started at Station OIL and the destination is Station ELECTION. Arrival time 2020. 

warrior posted:

i am good just wish i could build more

When people claiming to be humanitarians do slap dash work, they could jeopardize lives and negate the good deed. I bring your attention to the homes that toppled in Jawalla village in Cuyuni/Mazaruni area and people died, also the young lady who was crushed when the house collapsed. You should not be allowed to build any more homes, these people would be better off living on the mud and still be alive. 

BREAKING NEWS: Collapsed house crushes 12-year-old - Guyana ...

5 days ago - Twelve year old Amber Richards lost her life Friday afternoon when she was crushed todeath after a wooden house she was in collapsed