August 3 ,2020

General Secretary of the People’s National Congress Reform (PNCR)-led A Partnership for National Unity (APNU), Joseph Harmon has said that new and energetic young people have emerged to take over the helm of the coalition to engage in “aggressive politics” against the People’s Progressive Party (PPP)-led administration.

“During the past campaign that we had, we have discovered , new leadership has emerged in our party and in our coalition; young bright people who would not sit down and accept nonsense,’ he said on a coalition social media page.

Mr. Harmon said he was satisfied that the coalition has been mobilised Guyanese that can deal with a range of issues including Guyana’s territorial integrity and sovereignty, fact-based news and security issues.

“I empathise with that anger. I am satisfied also that coming out of all of this is a new breed of Guyanese, Guyanese that will not just accept nonsense, people who would not just accept fraud, who would not just accept fake news, people who would not just accept promises and believe and they would accept that. They will be in your face and that is the kind of leadership I see going forward,” Mr. Harmon said.

As reported here two years ago, many young members of the PNCR have in recent years felt sidelined from key decision-making fora after general elections.

Harmon, once regarded as a close confidante of then President David Granger, said the coalition would press for the creation of a new voters’ list for the next general and regional elections expected to be held in 2025. “We would have to demand and work to ensure a proper census for voters to produce an authentic voters’ list before the next elections and I trust that this election petition, which the President (David Granger) spoke about will be able to bring about an election much quicker because the evidence is there and, therefore, this should not be a five-year term,” he said.

The APNU+AFC coalition had repeatedly said the voters’ list that was eventually used in the 2020 general and regional elections was padded with the names of migrants and deceased. The coalition and its allied Election Commissioners- Vincent Alexander, Charles Corbin and Desmond Trotman- had maintained those claims, citing evidence from the Police Force Immigration Department and the Registry of Births, Deaths and Marriages that there was voter impersonation in the March 2, 2020 polls. The coalition has said the absence of statutory documents to reconcile with votes cast has called into question thousands of votes in  a PPP stronghold in Region Four (Demerara-Mahaica).

The High Court, Guyana Court of Appeal and the Caribbean Court of Justice had ruled in separate cases that the data from the national vote recount must be used to declare the election results and any grievances can be filed in an election petition to the High Court. Then President David Granger has promised to challenge the results peacefully and lawfully.

Mr. Harmon reiterated the need for unity and multi-ethnic government and to dispel fears of people losing their jobs. Among APNU+AFC’s priorities, he said, include respect for territorial integrity rather than the use of Guyana as a staging ground to destabilise any neighbouring State. Mr. Granger had confirmed that the United States had wanted to use Guyana’s assigned medium wave frequencies to beam Voice of America radio programmes to Venezuela.

The PNC created that list under Forbes Burnham. As far as I see there are lots of threats in that article. They will be using the coalition to fight for black power, to have the freedom to march and protest.  Harmon is bitter that the PNC boys in GECOM did not succeed in hijacking the election. He wants blood.  He claims that the PPP rig the election when in fact they are the ones who did.  There are dead black people and black migrants on the electoral list who voted in the election om March 02.

Harmon is a lunatic who can't accept defeat gracefully. He wants to run the country but he did not want to do the job. He is hell-bent on making this country ungovernable. There are no young leaders in the Coalition who can command the respect of the masses.  I dare them to choose a non-black person as their Presidential Contender.

I will happy with the Coalition  just filing those elections petitions. I don't know what is keeping them from doing so already. Williams told the CCJ that evidence of massive fraud was committed to they must have more legal support for this case than they had for any of the cases they filed since they lost the NCM.

harmon talking fite talk. the pnc always fighting even in bareface. sorry for harmon he lost the opportunity of being president. he stear granger wrong.

He failed to correct the man even though he had his ears. Imagine, Granger knows, alone he cannot form a government and yet he abused the few ppl outside of his base that made him President. When he should have guarded them, jealously.

He have eyes to see but he could not notice. He have ears to hear but would not listen. Green was a terrible mentor to Granger.

PNC young people, hope deh is bright ppl.

Harmon

Excerpts: Guyanese will not just accept nonsense, people who would not just accept fraud, who would not just accept fake news, people who would not just accept promises and believe and they would accept that. They will be in your face and that is the kind of leadership I see going forward,” Mr. Harmon said.

I consider this to be a very poor restart for any new and young generation of politicians. Harmon is still angry and he should file his election petition and unseat the PPP.