PPP, APNU+AFC at loggerheads over invitation to form Gov’t

May 20, 2015 1:19 pm Category: Politics A+ / A-

By Jomo Paul

Prime Minister elect, Moses Nagamootoo

[www.inewsguyana.com] – The People’s Progressive Party Civic (PPP/C) says it has not received any invitation from recently elected President David Granger to be part and parcel of an inclusive government, but Prime Minister elect Moses Nagamootoo has refuted the Party’s claim.

The PPP is contending that President Granger’s call for a government of National Unity is a merely a “political gimmick” labelling it as deceptive.

“The People’s Progressive Party (PPP) wishes to label as deceptive the pronouncements made in the press by Leader of the APNU-AFC Coalition David Granger that he has invited the PPP/C to join “a national unity movement”…. to date, we have received no formal or informal invitation from the APNU/AFC on this issue.         

The pronouncement, therefore of Granger, is a political gimmick and nothing else,” a statement from the Party noted.

But according to Nagamootoo, the PPP is still trying to adapt to its position of being in Opposition, noting that the Party clearly lacks focus.

Former President Donald Ramotar.

He said that although the President would have publicly made the offer, any hopes of a Unity government are being castigated by the PPP.

“When President Granger was sworn in he said it very clearly; we extend an olive branch to the Opposition….I think the branch was broken before it fell on the ground because we hear the opposition talking about not accepting the results…so they are in a dilemma,” Nagamootoo said in an interview.

“I extend the arm of friendship to former president, Donald Ramotar, and the members of the PPP to join this great movement of national unity,” President Granger said on Saturday May 17 moments after he took the oath of office.

The Head of State also stated “We the Guyanese people have chosen to inaugurate a ‘government of national unity’ and to promote our multi-party, inclusionary partnership. We are convinced that this is the best way to overcome our historic divisions.”

The PPP is making a HUGE mistake here with consequences that will ripple for years to come.

Washington decreed that Granger must offer the PPP the opportunity to join a Government of National Unity. The PNC is desperately hoping the PPP says no and proceeds to filing their delusional election petition and sit on the Opposition benches.

APNU wants to be exclusively in charge of the new wealthy oil producing state that Guyana is about to become. The PPP is helping APNU achieve this objective.

So when the PPP refuses to join, they will then be blamed for lack of unity.  Granger bowled a ball knowing how stupid the PPP is.

Why the fuss, make a TV public offer.  No need to argue he seh she seh.

The PPP is making a HUGE mistake here with consequences that will ripple for years to come.

Washington decreed that Granger must offer the PPP the opportunity to join a Government of National Unity. The PNC is desperately hoping the PPP says no and proceeds to filing their delusional election petition and sit on the Opposition benches.

APNU wants to be exclusively in charge of the new wealthy oil producing state that Guyana is about to become. The PPP is helping APNU achieve this objective.

Correct...this one time.

So when the PPP refuses to join, they will then be blamed for lack of unity.  Granger bowled a ball knowing how stupid the PPP is.

Do you understand what is going on here? The United States Government has forced Granger to offer the PPP a chance to snatch a little victory from the jaws of defeat because it wants a balance to the PNC as oil revenues begin to flow and further solidify the PNC's hold on power.

The PPP of course being their delusional selves are still playing last week's match which they already lost instead of adjusting to the new game afoot. A game for which they are thoroughly out of their element.

It looks like the PPP is waiting for some Maar at Granger's office, before they will accept an invitation to participate in National Unity.

If they are interested, do they know how to contact Granger at OP ? 

Maybe dem already forget the address.

Do you understand what is going on here? The United States Government has forced Granger to offer the PPP a chance to snatch a little victory from the jaws of defeat because it wants a balance to the PNC as oil revenues begin to flow and further solidify the PNC's hold on power.

The PPP of course being their delusional selves are still playing last week's match which they already lost instead of adjusting to the new game afoot. A game for which they are thoroughly out of their element.

I have been briefed of something of the sort to that effect.  Baseman, the Guyanese nationalist I am, have connections in both the PPP and PNC.

When Dr Cheddi Jagan was entertaining Dr Walter Rodney at Freedom house he was also exchanging letters at the same time with Mr. Burnham to merge the PPP and PNC parties. If those two leaders can be in talks at that time then I cannot see why leaders of today cannot sit down.  Although the PPP party has to put its house in order first. 

Wally
Originally Posted by Tola:

It looks like the PPP is waiting for some Maar at Granger's office, before they will accept an invitation to participate in National Unity.

If they are interested, do they know how to contact Granger at OP ? 

Maybe dem already forget the address.

Granger should have em meet at the Pegasus, like Carter pulled on them.

Given the demographics, an inclusive government would be better for Guyana. Just look at this board, we spend time bashing each other rather than discussing something constructive that would benefit the country. There seems to be some smart and well informed posters on this board who can make a real positive contribution to the homeland.  

In a national Government you cannot leave out the 9 mushroom parties which also  had their names on the ballot.  

The objective of the PNC is to form a one party state and call it a National Government.     Those bastards think that Indians are stupid and I am not basing my arguments on those 5 intellectual Indians who wee instrumental in getting rid of the PPP.

In a national Government you cannot leave out the 9 mushroom parties which also  had their names on the ballot.  

The objective of the PNC is to form a one party state and call it a National Government.     Those bastards think that Indians are stupid and I am not basing my arguments on those 5 intellectual Indians who wee instrumental in getting rid of the PPP.

Ayuh hard eaze baad chap. Quit demonizing dem 5 intellectual Indians and try to win them over. Them 5 intellectual Indians are part of the path back to Government.

Don't be alienating any more intelligent important people bai. The PPP is already hated by everyone. Don't mek am moh baad.

If we are going to have 'an Inclusive Government", then both the PPP and PNC/APNU must go and be replaced by two or more Inclusive parties. That is why the AFC has the potential to be detrimental to both of them. The question is, can the Black and Indian people switch their historical and cultural links and affinity to the PNC/APNU and PPP, and embrace parties that reflect the aspirations of both (Indian and Black people). It is a tough sell. Even America that boasts that is the "world's oldest democracy", has not been able to fully demonstrate total inclusivity. What we can do in the mean time while we are pondering this, is to develop a civil society.

This can only happen by forcing a National Government and a compulsory  National Service.

Ayuh rass ah still fight Burnham of the 1970s in 2015. No wonder ayuh get kick out.

Now ayuh guh larn sense or ayuh guh stay kicked out. Your choice.

This can only happen by forcing a National Government and a compulsory  National Service.

The PPP ship is sinking. Those with high IQ have abandoned it already. You claimed that the exodus of Indos will accelerate hyperbolically. So who will be there to vote for your PPP next time around?

Ayuh rass ah still fight Burnham of the 1970s in 2015. No wonder ayuh get kick out.

Now ayuh guh larn sense or ayuh guh stay kicked out. Your choice.

Most PPPites are afflicted by Burhamites...fat boy did serious damage to them

The PPP ship is sinking. Those with high IQ have abandoned it already. You claimed that the exodus of Indos will accelerate hyperbolically. So who will be there to vote for your PPP next time around?

Those are my sentiments.  This is what I want..  My question is 'are you going back'?

For Free, but not permanently. Naga can use your expertise in the Info Tech field.  I can hook you up.

Info tech? Wasn't Rama a security guard at Nortel?

You think anybody wants to work with that Judas?   The PNC has enough technicians  in their fold.  Moses can hang out with them. They are his people.

Bhaiji,  the Honourable, Moses Nagamootoo has perseverance. The road has been long, narrow and lined with plentiful  thorns for him. It has now borne fruit for him. The victory of the Coalition today is simply due to him and backed by Ramjattan.

Look at how you are pelting him with bricks and sticks? When you were a younster, you wouldn't waste time to pelt a mango tree not laden with fruit and nothing to offer?

Originally Posted by Itaname:

He is an expert on Data Recovery. He can be an asset in the forensics.

Originally Posted by Itaname:

He is an expert on Data Recovery. He can be an asset in the forensics.

I'm surprised. He sounds more like someone IN recovery, alcoholic that is.