National Assembly agrees to change Sectoral Committee representation to reflect new majority Government

Written by , Published in News, Georgetown, GINA, July 30, 2015

The National Assembly this evening passed a motion to have the representation on the Sectoral Committees be calculated in accordance with the seat allocation to the Political Parties in Parliament.

Minister of Social Cohesion Alma Ally who moved the motion to amended Standing Order 86-2 explained that Standing Order does not represent the new majority reality of the 11th Parliament.

Standing Order 86 (2) provides that each Sectoral Committee shall consist of seven (7) members; three (3) representing the Government and four (4) the Opposition, respectively.

Wherein in this 11th Parliament, the Government is in the majority and the Opposition in the minority, the Standing Order has now been amended to read that each committee shall consist of seven (7) members; however four (4) will be representing the Government and three (3) the Opposition.

Further the Government and Opposition will be entitled to elect one alternative Member for each Selectoral Committee.

Supporting the motion was Minister of Governance Raphael Trotman who pointed out that the motion comes at a time when the reality, is that a Government with a clear majority, must be recognised. 

Look out for a PPP press conference or statement tomorrow.

"The People's Progressive Party condemns the de facto Granger administration for railroading its way in the National Assembly Thursday by appropriating one position in each sectoral committee that rightfully belongs to the parliamentary opposition......."

Are you a born DICTATOR or is the soup that got to you SHAMELESS one???

Keep going after me, master. You have a great career.

Meanwhile, look out for the PPP response to parliament's decision on the sectoral committees.

This military junta headed Guyana right back to LFSB days.

Headed by LFSB's military man, David Granger.

Baseboy be careful what you saying about Kabaka,

Odo Choose.... whoever Coolie Backside he love....

and give them PNC Card & Wuk fuh life.

Remember...De Hydro Engineer...

feel he was closer to Burnham than Joey...

and Forbes recruit & Grab him the first time they meet. 

Total control of Boards, Committees, Ministries, Police, Army, any so-called Journalist want to tell me what that is.

Hey you so-called educationist or whatever, show me one post where I supported "Total control of Boards, Committees, Ministries, Police, Army."

In my original post about a hypothetical PPP statement, I placed a icon to indicate that I'm sure the PPP would reject that parliamentary action on sectoral committees yesterday. It does not suggest in any way, shape or form that I support "total control." In any case, since when 7 government members in a 13-member committee is classified as "total control?"

Mark you, I respond to you only when you comment on my posts. Other than that, I don't comment on your posts because they are not worth my time. Feel free to spend your time responding to my posts.