Like you rass blind, he ain't building any bridge, he picking up de garbage left by PNC supporters.  At least to his credit, he doing something. Could you imagine Rolston or Chase Green doing the same?  Never in a 1000 year. 

It was reported that this year many Indos were at Mash.

So can you show proof that only blacks littered?

And yes BLACKS on City Council voted for him to be mayor, showing that a non racist Indo can get black support.

Like you rass blind, he ain't building any bridge, he picking up de garbage left by PNC supporters.  At least to his credit, he doing something. Could you imagine Rolston or Chase Green doing the same?  Never in a 1000 year. 

It was reported that this year many Indos were at Mash.

So can you show proof that only blacks littered?

And yes BLACKS on City Council voted for him to be mayor, showing that a non racist Indo can get black support.

Once again you hallucinating, where did I mention race? Mash under PNC is predominately attended by PNC supporters especially since their party in power, hence the blame at their doorstep. Ramjattan, Lilmohan, dj and others were seen dumping their trash along with MARSisa. Pandit puppet even commented on this, how they look at him lakka conumunu and litter in font of he face. The PNC city council ordered their puppet to pick up the trash lakka slave.

So are you now saying that large numbers of Indians are PNC supporters?  If that is the case Jagdeo might as well call off the NCV and sit down in the opposition.

Obscure amounts. Nvc already occurred and has nothing to do with race but rather poor performance by govt and broken promises of a better life for all.

You all are a bunch of stupid people to believe everything you read in the daily newspapers. These politicians would pose for the camera to get a good picture of working hard to help clean up GT. The mayor picked up garbage for less than an hour and then headed out.  Why are you buying in to this BS?  This is just band-aid on the serious wound. GT's sanitation department is messed up with corruption and indolence.  Get to the root of the problem and see how best to solve it.

The best solution is one which requires a non partisan effort in tandem with business leaders in an effort to clean up GT. Guyana is so crewed up that Garbage is now a political issue.

Look at the outpouring of support by volunteers just after APNU won and they quickly disappeared after APNU returned to being the same old PNC and GT became dirty again.

I have never seen a report or a non partisan effort on how to clean up GT. I remembered in the 70’s when GT was a garden city. Today is has become a stinky city. City hall became too corrupt and complacent in dealing with cleaning up the city.

Are taxes in GT too low ?

Gil can chime in here. I would also prefer that Carib chime in but leave out his political bias in addressing this problem. Base might also have some first hand information regarding GT.

Anyone else from GT who wants to chime in with a non biased opinion ?

I am seriously considering retiring in or close to GT when that time comes. 

You all are a bunch of stupid people to believe everything you read in the daily newspapers. These politicians would pose for the camera to get a good picture of working hard to help clean up GT. The mayor picked up garbage for less than an hour and then headed out.  

I said this yesterday. It's basically a photo op with the accompanying article in the Chronicle to make the PNC look like they are doing some work. Elections around the corner.

The best solution is one which requires a non partisan effort in tandem with business leaders in an effort to clean up GT. Guyana is so crewed up that Garbage is now a political issue.

Look at the outpouring of support by volunteers just after APNU won and they quickly disappeared after APNU returned to being the same old PNC and GT became dirty again.

I have never seen a report or a non partisan effort on how to clean up GT. I remembered in the 70’s when GT was a garden city. Today is has become a stinky city. City hall became too corrupt and complacent in dealing with cleaning up the city.

Gil can chime in here. I would also prefer that Carib chime in but leave out his political bias in addressing this problem. Base might also have some first hand information regarding GT.

Real estate taxes in GT are way too low but when the current government tried to increase them the people are crying out that the government is taxing them too much. You can only get services like garbage collection if the city council can afford to pay for them. The problem is that property values and the cost of services have increased over the years but the city council did not do new property value assessments for the longest time. Another problem lies with many homeowners and businesses not paying up their taxes on a regular basis. The city council have managed to increase their collection over the past few years but there are still too many evaders. 

Obscure amounts. Nvc already occurred and has nothing to do with race but rather poor performance by govt and broken promises of a better life for all.

So when you say "PNC" then you do mean black people.  So you are saying that blacks are nasty.

Given your attitude why would I waste time educating you about black history.

Yes taxes are low.  Yes tax collection even for amounts due is low. And yes during the PPP era and maybe now the central gov't didn't pay its fair share of rates. And yes the city council is corrupt and inefficient.

Of course in 1970 Forbes Burnham was the president and yes in 1972 Trinis and Jamaicans and Bajans visiting for Carifesta were very impressed with the state of GT.  It was then seen as a model Caribbean city with its neat tree lined road ways and its gardens and well kept heritage buildings.

The middle class left Guyana because of Burnham.  Folks came in from PPP lands bringing in their trucks and sand pits, and clogging up the drains.  Yes officials at the Ministry of Health used to complain about this. And that was the decline. Competent Guyanese were no longer left to demand decent standards.

Real estate taxes in GT are way too low but when the current government tried to increase them the people are crying out that the government is taxing them too much. You can only get services like garbage collection if the city council can afford to pay for them. The problem is that property values and the cost of services have increased over the years but the city council did not do new property value assessments for the longest time. Another problem lies with many homeowners and businesses not paying up their taxes on a regular basis. The city council have managed to increase their collection over the past few years but there are still too many evaders. 

The new oligarchs paying bribes to prevent property valuations of the new structures which now dot GT.   Guyanese want lots from the gov't but fail to understand that the gov't must have revenues to do so. Local gov't revenues are heavily from property taxes.

I cannot help you as all problems in Guyana are rooted in our PPP/PNC dysfunction.  You wish to pretend that the PPP hasn't played a role in it but sorry this is definitely not the case. 

Yes you scream racial hatred and Indo genocide every time I say negative about the PPP, even when I say exactly the same about the PNC.

Under the PPP it was clear that GT and other municipalities were under stress and their leaderships moribund.  Hammie Greene was elected in 1994 from the GGG party.  Long after the GGG no longer existed they still controlled the city council by default.  All because in 23 years only ONE LGE was held.

Now we have had two and the result is that the previous mayor and town clerk (elected in 2016) no longer function in those capacities.  Clearly they were unfit for those roles.

When Guyanese demand competency from the public sector and they learn to take the initiative when the public sector doesn't/cannot then we will see better.  

A few years ago 10% of the Bajan population went out into the streets demanding better performance from the party in power at the time.  They didn't take heed and so that party was voted out.  In Guyana we have ethnic censuses and a mere 5% floating vote, so no wonder both the PPP and the PNC hold Guyanese in contempt.

@Former Member

Gil chiming in. I think the M&CC has faced some fundamental problems over decades. Rates and taxes revenues are always below expectations. Many households and businesses, and even government agencies, don't pay rates and taxes. 

The M&CC bureaucracy over decades is infested with corrupt officials --- Royston King multiplied X times. Bribes exchanged for free passes. More shortfall in revenue.

M&CC for years squandering $$$ on unproductive mayoral and other bureaucrats' overseas travels. Less money for operating expenses.

No innovative and/or imaginative M&CC revenue-generating projects, like municipal bus service, safe and secure guided tours to historical landmarks within Greater Georgetown for foreign visitors, etc.

And politics, politics, negative disruptive politics.

Well, it looks like this is a problem which will take quite a while to clean up:

PPP did not hold LGE so the corrupt and incompetent City Council was given life to continue with their incompetence.

Taxes are too low.

Citizens and business are not obeying city laws hence contributing to the problem.

City Council was corrupt and lacked vision.

The return to LGE has reinstated a democratic system but they connot fix age long problems overnight.

Man, GT is in serious trouble. 

Can any government provide a comprehensive financial plan to bail out GT ?

So when you say "PNC" then you do mean black people.  So you are saying that blacks are nasty.

All Guyanes people dutty, you go up east coast, mahica, mon repos etc and you see the filth, in fact more so in areas where there are vendors.  It has to be a cultural turnaround, starting at pre school with educating the kids just like they are taught from young in the 1st world countries. 

PPP did not hold LGE so the corrupt and incompetent City Council was given life to continue with their incompetence.

The return to LGE has reinstated a democratic system but they connot fix age long problems overnight.

In other words you admit that the PPP isn't blameless and you are correct.  The GGG won the LGE for GT in 1994 and the party collapsed sometime after.  That should have been a trigger for LGE but the PPP knew that folks like you would blame the PNC.

And yes the Coalition held LGE last year which allowed ineffective people elected into positions in 2016 to be removed.

And yes the dysfunction of the past 40 years cannot be easily erased by this new administration. Note that GT was a very clean city until the late 70s.

All Guyanes people dutty, you go up east coast, mahica, mon repos etc and you see the filth, in fact more so in areas where there are vendors.  It has to be a cultural turnaround, starting at pre school with educating the kids just like they are taught from young in the 1st world countries. 

Charge people for littering, have garbage bins and collect garbage.  In business areas they need to look at a system similar to what we have in NYC where the merchants pay a service to keep areas clean.  The merchants will also include vendors who will pay a lower rate.

Girl, that’s what I said in less words. There is a role for teachers from Helena and all over Guyana to begin to instill good habits in kids which will then leverage throughout the society.  

Guyana needs a total re-education in public health and safety.  Dem too dutty!

In other words you admit that the PPP isn't blameless and you are correct.  The GGG won the LGE for GT in 1994 and the party collapsed sometime after.  That should have been a trigger for LGE but the PPP knew that folks like you would blame the PNC.

And yes the Coalition held LGE last year which allowed ineffective people elected into positions in 2016 to be removed.

And yes the dysfunction of the past 40 years cannot be easily erased by this new administration. Note that GT was a very clean city until the late 70s.

I should frame this one. We finally agree on a nonpartisan matter. There is still hope for Guyana.