Former AG Nandlall arrested over law reports

By
37 mins ago

Former Attorney General Anil Nandlall was earlier today arrested by ranks of the Special Organized Crime Unit (SOCU).

Nandlall is currently at the unit’s Camp Street headquarters.

Stabroek News was told that the arrest is in connection with his obtaining of law books while in office.

Government had previously said that Nandlall would be charged in connection with this matter.

Former President Donald Ramotar, this newspaper was told will be questioned later in the day.

Nandlall earlier this month sued Attorney General Basil Williams over allegations that had been by him against Nandlall in relation to the Commonwealth Law Reports.
Williams had made a variety of allegations against Nandlall over his acquisition of Commonwealth Law Reports while he served as the PPP/C’s Attorney General.

Nandlall had explained the circumstances surrounding the acquisition of the law reports In a May 21, 2016 letter to this newspaper.

The letter follows:

Dear Editor,

I commenced subscribing to Lexis Nexis, (UK), publishers of The Commonwealth Law Reports, approximately twelve years ago. I still do. The arrangement is that individual Law Reports are shipped to me in my name at my law office along with an invoice which is paid by me upon receipt of the reports. In discussions which I had with President Donald Ramotar, immediately prior to my appointment as Attorney-General and Minister of Legal Affairs, I specifically requested, as a condition of my service, that the Government of Guyana take over payment arrangements for these books during my tenure as a Minister. This was agreed upon as a condition of my service as Attorney-General and Minister of Legal Affairs.

Lexis Nexis was accordingly informed and some time during my tenure, the payment arrangement for these books was changed and the ministry began to pay for these books in pursuance of the aforesaid arrangement. When I demitted office, I so informed Lexis Nexis and requested that the payment arrangement which existed hitherto be re-activated. This was done.

I am aware that for decades prior to this, the Government of Guyana, like other governments, through its various agencies, paid for professional and technical publications, journals, periodicals, magazines, etc, for ministers and professional and technical personnel, as a standard operational expenditure. Membership and subscription fees to professional bodies, locally and internationally, are also sometimes paid.

On or about the 20th of May, 2015, when I formally handed over to my successor, I fully briefed him on this matter. I do not recall him raising any objections whatsoever. A few months later, when I read in the press that an investigation was being launched into, inter alia, these very books, I enquired of the Attorney- General the reason for this investigation. I reminded him that I had earlier fully briefed him on this matter. His response was that I should stay out of this matter and that this is a matter between him and the Permanent Secretary.

During the course of the investigation, I was asked by the Auditor-General to furnish a response in respect of the said books. I did so in writing. Former President, Donald Ramotar, wrote a letter confirming the particular condition of my contract for service in respect of these books. In those circumstances, the Auditor-General made no adverse finding against me or the Permanent Secretary. This seemed to have enraged the Attorney-General and he enquired of me why I defended the Permanent Secretary. It became more than obvious that the removal of the Permanent Secretary was his ultimate objective and that my intervention was an obstacle. However, I felt compelled to defend an innocent professional woman who was, obviously, the victim of a political vendetta. For this, I offer no regrets.

You will note that this disclosure by the Attorney-General has come upon the heels of my statement in the press in response to Gecom’s press release on the legal position in respect of the local authority organs where there have been tied seats. In my response, I pointed out that Gecom’s interpretation of the law accords with mine, and indeed, every public commentator who spoke on this issue; that only the Attorney- General and the Minister of Communities laboured under a different interpretation; that even the government’s Commissioners at Gecom disagreed with their interpretation and that the Attorney-General is defending that which is indefensible. My statement was published in the press on the 19th of May, 2016, the very day that the Attorney-General made his disclosures. My response must have, proverbially, broken the camel’s back. However, my silence on matters of public importance can never be purchased, whatever may be the price.

I do not propose to say more on this issue.

Yours faithfully,

Mohabir Anil Nandlall, MP

Hey DG, here's finally one for your PPP jailed for corruption thread. They had to manufacture this case over law books, a far cry from the billions they claimed that were stolen. 

Another persecuted Guyanese East Indian. These anti-koolie got no shame.

A day will come when Indos have to rise up against PNC racism and discrimination.

Prash, your call for a homeland is becoming a reality due to a racist and criminal AFC/PNC organization.

Granger's administration is acting like criminals.

Hey DG, here's finally one for your PPP jailed for corruption thread. They had to manufacture this case over law books, a far cry from the billions they claimed that were stolen. 

The harassment of Indos has started. Granger and his racist administration should be ashamed of themselves. 

Another persecuted Guyanese East Indian. These anti-koolie got no shame.

A day will come when Indos have to rise up against PNC racism and discrimination.

Prash, your call for a homeland is becoming a reality due to a racist and criminal AFC/PNC organization.

Granger's administration is acting like criminals.

Yuji22, you said it before me.  As soon as I read this report Prashad came to mind. It's a grim reminder that the PNC remains the same anti-Indian racist party that it has been from inception.  These are the people who fuel sectarian thinking. 

Since the PPP got turfed out you guys have been asking about who's charged and with what, now this happens you are all crying the blues.

I sincerely hope if Nadalanda is guilty he pays the price and it ain't a dam "witch hunt" hopefully he ain't the only person they have in their net after all the hoopla we heard about illegal dealings by the previous government.

Does anyone know how much the lexisnexis commonwealth law reports cost. I tried looking online but I did not find it.

The set published in 1987 cost 10 thousand pounds.  Free shipping if ordered in the UK.  These law books and database publishers know to make money. The Thompson family is into this type of law publishing. No wonder they are so wealthy.

SOCU questions fmr. Attorney General Nandlall about law books.

April 24, 2017 

http://demerarawaves.com/2017/...all-about-law-books/

Former Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs, Anil Nandlall was Monday detained for questioning in connection with his acquisition of law books purchased by State funds.

Head of the Guyana Police Force’s Special Organised Crime Unit (SOCU), Assistant Commissioner Sydney James said Nandlall was not arrested but he was questioned and subsequently allowed to leave.

For his part, Nandlall said “I was not arrested” and he was questioned in connection with the law books. Asked whether he believed he had committed an offence, Nandlall said “of course,not.”

Former President Donald Ramotar told Demerara Waves Online News that Nandlall was being targeted because he was in the forefront of openly challenging the David Granger-led administration. Ramotar restated that, as President, he had authorised Nandlall’s acqusition of the law books “as part of his package.”

Fmr AG Nandlall cries political persecution over US$2,000 books.

April 24, 2017

http://demerarawaves.com/2017/...n-over-us2000-books/

Former Attorney, General Anil Nandlall was today (April 24, 2017) questioned by ranks of the Special Organized Crime Unit (SOCU) of the Guyana Police Force over 14 Commonwealth Law Report books, he claims are now worth some US$2,000—less than his two cellular phones.
Nandall has since called the actions, a form of retribution on the part of the substantive Attorney General, Basil Williams and is but the latest in the escalating public vendetta between the two.

Following his release by SOCU, Nandlall appeared at a hastily called press conference along with Attorney-at-Law and former Government Minister Priya Manickhand and Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo at the Peoples Progressive Party (PPP) Headquarters at Freedom House on Robb Street.

The trio denounced the ‘politically motivated’ actions on the part of SOCU as nothing but a ‘sideshow.’

Nandlall, today again conceded ownership and possession of the 14 Law report books, but told media operatives the books are currently under lock and key at a premises he is unable to access.
He explained that the person with the keys is overseas and would not return until tomorrow and this was related to the SOCU ranks that were already armed with a warrant to take possession of the books.

Relaying today’s sequence of events Nandlall told reporters that shortly after 09:00hrs this morning when he exited the Vigilance Court, he noticed several missed calls from “Trevor Reid” on the SOCU ranks.

According to Nandlall the rank informed him he was wanted for questioning in relation to the law books.
The former Attorney General told reporters he presented himself and was made to give a statement before he was released.

According to Nandlall, the arrangement involving the law books were made known to Attorney General Williams ever since the two met as part of the continuity process.

He insists, among the things discussed was the arrangement he had with the Donald Ramotar Government prior to his appointment.

That arrangement, according to Nandlall, was confined to existing subscription, the law reports of the commonwealth which is published in London.

He has since dismissed the entire affair as having nothing to do with the subscription for the books he obtained during his tenure in the substantive position as part of his contract.
Nandlall insists the interrogation by SOCU was in fact borne out of the very public feuding between himself and the Attorney General.

He points recent lawsuits brought against the Attorney General Williams along with the now infamous court room ‘outburst’ involving Justice Franklin Holder, actions brought against Indira Anandjeet—the Permanent Secretary appointed under his tenured and accusations of missing computer parts among a host of other investigations.
Nandlall told reporters the SOCU ranks after questioning him, informed him that the investigations would be continued after which he released on his own recognizance.

He is adamant of having been cleared of any financial or other wrongdoing during his stint in the office, as can be attested in the forensic audits that were ordered into the Ministry following its

May 2015 victory.
Pointing to a clear case of political persecution, Nandlall told reporters SOCU has as its mandate targeting financial crimes and that the investigation relation to 14 Law Books did not amount to financial crimes the likes of which warrants SOCU’s intervention.

Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo, also on hand with Nandlall, called the actions on the part of SOCU and the administration and sideshow, “apart from the fact that SOCU now seems to be operating under directions from some ministers of the government.”

Nandlall’s attorney, former Education Minister Priya Manickchand, also joined her colleagues at the press engagement and said it was government’s failure to manage the country which has them led to it resorting to using legitimate arms of the state to target PPP members.

Weighing in directly on the allegations against Nandlall, Opposition Leader Jagdeo told reporters “from what I gather they (books) can be purchased for US$2,000.”

Jagdeo said this, becomes the big acts of corruption that coalition government is targeting, “when they had claimed the PPP stole over $305B.”

The former president repeated his charge that it was the now government which had claimed the PPP members stole and stashed billions overseas but when he called for an international firm, to pursue all government officials, current and past, the administration backpedalled.

He said by arresting Nandlall over law books the administration is looking merely to deflect from its mismanagement of the economy as was evident during the party’s recent outreaches to a number of hinterland areas.

The law books in question were obtained by Nandlall during his tenure in office, in an arrangement where the state paid the subscription fees for his law books—fees which amounted to just about $1.5M.

Fmr AG Nandlall cries political persecution over US$2,000 books.

April 24, 2017

http://demerarawaves.com/2017/...n-over-us2000-books/

Former Attorney, General Anil Nandlall was today (April 24, 2017) questioned by ranks of the Special Organized Crime Unit (SOCU) of the Guyana Police Force over 14 Commonwealth Law Report books, he claims are now worth some US$2,000—less than his two cellular phones.
Nandall has since called the actions, a form of retribution on the part of the substantive Attorney General, Basil Williams and is but the latest in the escalating public vendetta between the two.

Following his release by SOCU, Nandlall appeared at a hastily called press conference along with Attorney-at-Law and former Government Minister Priya Manickhand and Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo at the Peoples Progressive Party (PPP) Headquarters at Freedom House on Robb Street.

The trio denounced the ‘politically motivated’ actions on the part of SOCU as nothing but a ‘sideshow.’

Nandlall, today again conceded ownership and possession of the 14 Law report books, but told media operatives the books are currently under lock and key at a premises he is unable to access.
He explained that the person with the keys is overseas and would not return until tomorrow and this was related to the SOCU ranks that were already armed with a warrant to take possession of the books.

Relaying today’s sequence of events Nandlall told reporters that shortly after 09:00hrs this morning when he exited the Vigilance Court, he noticed several missed calls from “Trevor Reid” on the SOCU ranks.

According to Nandlall the rank informed him he was wanted for questioning in relation to the law books.
The former Attorney General told reporters he presented himself and was made to give a statement before he was released.

According to Nandlall, the arrangement involving the law books were made known to Attorney General Williams ever since the two met as part of the continuity process.

He insists, among the things discussed was the arrangement he had with the Donald Ramotar Government prior to his appointment.

That arrangement, according to Nandlall, was confined to existing subscription, the law reports of the commonwealth which is published in London.

He has since dismissed the entire affair as having nothing to do with the subscription for the books he obtained during his tenure in the substantive position as part of his contract.
Nandlall insists the interrogation by SOCU was in fact borne out of the very public feuding between himself and the Attorney General.

He points recent lawsuits brought against the Attorney General Williams along with the now infamous court room ‘outburst’ involving Justice Franklin Holder, actions brought against Indira Anandjeet—the Permanent Secretary appointed under his tenured and accusations of missing computer parts among a host of other investigations.
Nandlall told reporters the SOCU ranks after questioning him, informed him that the investigations would be continued after which he released on his own recognizance.

He is adamant of having been cleared of any financial or other wrongdoing during his stint in the office, as can be attested in the forensic audits that were ordered into the Ministry following its

May 2015 victory.
Pointing to a clear case of political persecution, Nandlall told reporters SOCU has as its mandate targeting financial crimes and that the investigation relation to 14 Law Books did not amount to financial crimes the likes of which warrants SOCU’s intervention.

Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo, also on hand with Nandlall, called the actions on the part of SOCU and the administration and sideshow, “apart from the fact that SOCU now seems to be operating under directions from some ministers of the government.”

Nandlall’s attorney, former Education Minister Priya Manickchand, also joined her colleagues at the press engagement and said it was government’s failure to manage the country which has them led to it resorting to using legitimate arms of the state to target PPP members.

Weighing in directly on the allegations against Nandlall, Opposition Leader Jagdeo told reporters “from what I gather they (books) can be purchased for US$2,000.”

Jagdeo said this, becomes the big acts of corruption that coalition government is targeting, “when they had claimed the PPP stole over $305B.”

The former president repeated his charge that it was the now government which had claimed the PPP members stole and stashed billions overseas but when he called for an international firm, to pursue all government officials, current and past, the administration backpedalled.

He said by arresting Nandlall over law books the administration is looking merely to deflect from its mismanagement of the economy as was evident during the party’s recent outreaches to a number of hinterland areas.

The law books in question were obtained by Nandlall during his tenure in office, in an arrangement where the state paid the subscription fees for his law books—fees which amounted to just about $1.5M.

Django - with all the screaming and hollering your PNC pals were doing about corruption and jail and putting them away.  Is this the best they can do?  Go after a man for some outdated law books after two years of digging and scratching and wasting millions of dollars on forensic audits.

If it was a negotiated employment agreement it would be no more illegal than the negotiated salary increases. Unless there was a prevailing law against it.

Governments [in third world countries] does anything with taxpayers dollars, after they get in power by the voters,they make laws to cover their pilfering,some of the politicians can never be trusted,they studied some of the people and know how to woo them.

Django - with all the screaming and hollering your PNC pals were doing about corruption and jail and putting them away.  Is this the best they can do?  Go after a man for some outdated law books after two years of digging and scratching and wasting millions of dollars on forensic audits.

What you asking,most of the politicians in the homeland behave like headless chickens.

Dem boys seh PNC Chairman cum Attorney General Basil 'Bungling' Williams masterminded the SOCU questioning of Anil Nandlall. 

Williams relished the thought that he could hit Nandlall in his solar-plexus over the Lexis-Nexis books. Little did Bungling Willie know that Nandlall is ready to hand over the books as soon as The Man With The Key to the Basement Storeroom returns. That Basement Man is currently overseas.

Meanwhile, Nandlall's $125M libel suit is still dangling over Willie.

Ain't the news from Guyana always sensational, folks?

If it was a negotiated employment agreement it would be no more illegal than the negotiated salary increases. Unless there was a prevailing law against it.

Governments [in third world countries] does anything with taxpayers dollars, after they get in power by the voters,they make laws to cover their pilfering,some of the politicians can never be trusted,they studied some of the people and know how to woo them.

I don't disagree that people in government in third world countries make laws that allow them to misuse those countries monies but unless it is illegal to misuse those funds, one cannot be arrested for doing so. If misuse of funds was a crime, then those who went to Mexico regarding those parking meters should also be arrested.

The reality is clear in Guyana. Racism and intimidation of Indos is on the rise under this dirty government.

How came not one single Black Member of the PNC Guyana government has been questioned or arrested despite Hundreds of millions being stolen and misappropriated and spent without legal approval in accordance to Guyana Laws ?

This racism and intimidation must be stopped.

Anil was taking a pay cut when he took that Minister job. It was only right for the government to pay for the law reports.

Taking a pay cut means little. I however do not think the case against him is strong.

Anil was taking a pay cut when he took that Minister job. It was only right for the government to pay for the law reports.

Taking a pay cut means little. I however do not think the case against him is strong.

Putting aside your political hat for a moment, what do you think of a former AG being charged on corruption for the purchase of $2,000 law books?

Dem boys seh PNC Chairman cum Attorney General Basil 'Bungling' Williams masterminded the SOCU questioning of Anil Nandlall. 

Williams relished the thought that he could hit Nandlall in his solar-plexus over the Lexis-Nexis books. Little did Bungling Willie know that Nandlall is ready to hand over the books as soon as The Man With The Key to the Basement Storeroom returns. That Basement Man is currently overseas.

Meanwhile, Nandlall's $125M libel suit is still dangling over Willie.

Ain't the news from Guyana always sensational, folks?

So you are saying the penniless, jobless, dishonest Basement Man has the Keys?  Slick Willie is not so smart after all!

QUOTE: "Nandlall, today again conceded ownership and possession of the 14 Law report books, but told media operatives the books are currently under lock and key at a premises he is unable to access. He explained that the person with the keys is overseas and would not return until tomorrow...."

Gilly presumes the premises has a basement which in Guyana is where some people hiding their stuff now. But dem call it underground storeroom.