I endorse the name change to Burnham/Jagan Intl Airport. Give Burnham what is due to him. Burham's name resonates a million times since I have have been on GNI.    United we stand, divided we fall.

You just do not get it, do you ! Nothing is due to Burnham !! He was a thug, a bully, an election rigger, a thief and above all the primary destroyer of the Guyana economy. With respect to national elections, if you are ignorant of his misdeeds and treachery, I would be glad to provide YouTube links which clearly and undoubtedly demonstrate the lengths he went to in rigging Guyana elections. I posted some of these a while ago but I know some of you are dunce, hard-headed or simply stupid; despite clear and incontrovertible evidence of his dishonesty, electoral fraud and above all his determination to inflict hardships and suffering on the very people who were responsible for much of the economic growth and prosperity of Guyana ! 

Last edited by Keffer

Bullshit with people who grew up with Timehri. Governments do change airport names periodically in countries around the world. Many people were born at the old New Amsterdam hospital. Should we have kept a heap of garbage for their memories? Only coolie people can't adapt to new things under a Black government. When the PPP rename Timehri to CJIA, abee coolie loves it and care less about the Amerindians people. All you maka-chodo, I tell you.  

Stop generalizing and speak for yourself you frigging clown.

Cyar yuh makachodo da side.  I still refer to it as Timehri.   I knew it changed when I was flying and it said the new name. I thought was a new airport at lusignan or something.  

Up your ass, Paul.

The Amerindians don't care the slightest about the name.  They are probably the only Guyanese who don't make much use of it given that relatively few of them migrate to the Caribbean or North America.

How do u know they dont care. Did they tell u this?  Or are u suddenly an expert on Ameridian Affairs. Regardless, Timehri is what it should be.

if they add Burnham name to the airport then I suggest Linden be renamed to Linden - Chedie, Roxanne Burnham Gardens to Roxanne-Nadira gardens, Burnham Park in New Amsterdam to Burnham - Chedie  Park.

These sorry ass  clowns need to to do something constructive with their time at Congress.

There is no need to change the name, DR Jagan deserves that honor.

if they add Burnham name to the airport then I suggest Linden be renamed to Linden - Chedie, Roxanne Burnham Gardens to Roxanne-Nadira gardens, Burnham Park in New Amsterdam to Burnham - Chedie  Park.

These sorry ass  clowns need to to do something constructive with their time at Congress.

Good to see you come around to that reasoning.  I have issue with CBJ but agree with that thought.

I always knew you possess redemptive qualities!

Chief, you must be commended for your wise comments. Many on GNI uses to call you a PNC supporter, and here you made a distinctive remark without prejudice to the renaming of historical landmarks in Guyana. I salute you, my brother.   I hope Nehru take note of this.

Good to see you come around to that reasoning.  I have issue with CBJ but agree with that thought.

Chiefy went to Hajj and was redeemed.  

EID MUBARAK, CHIEF. SALAAM.

Yo, I still think Cheddie was a poke, however, regardless what I think, the man served as President of Guyana and was in the forefront of the struggles.

You remain a clown.

Chief, you must be commended for your wise comments. Many on GNI uses to call you a PNC supporter, and here you made a distinctive remark without prejudice to the renaming of historical landmarks in Guyana. I salute you, my brother.   I hope Nehru take note of this.

Thank you!

We cannot allow this to happen. Eventually, every time their is a change of Government, we will have this vicious cycle.

Do not touch the names that are there, period!

Walaikum Assalam Wa barakatu hu.

Mubarak Eid.

How do u know they dont care. Did they tell u this?  Or are u suddenly an expert on Ameridian Affairs. Regardless, Timehri is what it should be.

Have you heard any Amerindians offer an opinion on this?  No this is a fight between blacks and Indians, both who view them with condescension and contempt.

You with the generalizations too? I happen to highly respect our native peoples and think more should be done for them. As far as I am concerned, when to comes to who deserves what as many here like to argue about, I think they deserve a lot more.

We have yet to hear Amerindians opine of this issue which does involve cooptation of an aspect of Amerindian culture.  This is a discussion being tossed around by non Amerindians.

A leader of a major political party uses an epithet to describe them (a slip of the tongue no doubt that it reveals on how he really thinks).  And others speak on behalf of the Amerindians without soliciting their opinions on this topic.

In fact I can say for a fact that Guyanese who aren't Amerindian have varying degrees of implicit bias against them.  They are seen as "less than" and as a result are by far the most deprived group in the country.

This isn't generalization.  This is a fact. No political party in Guyana has seen Amerindians as anything other then being "Children of the Forest" and these attitudes are almost never condemned by the vast majority of non Amerindian Guyanese.

I bet if a bunch of blacks and Portuguese were discussing cooptation of some aspect of Indian culture without consulting people familiar and involved in this it would be roundly condemned. As in fact it should be.

Mubarak Eid.

Chief, there is no such greeting as 'Mubarak Eid'; when someone says 'Eid Mubarak' to you, your response/reply to that person should be 'Eid Mubarak'. Saying 'Mubarak Eid' is akin to saying 'Morning Good' when someone says 'Good Morning' to you ! In both directions, the correct greeting is Eid Mubarak ! 

Last edited by Keffer

Agree...Like 30,000 square miles of Guyana?

We have yet to hear Amerindians opine of this issue which does involve cooptation of an aspect of Amerindian culture.  This is a discussion being tossed around by non Amerindians.

A leader of a major political party uses an epithet to describe them (a slip of the tongue no doubt that it reveals on how he really thinks).  And others speak on behalf of the Amerindians without soliciting their opinions on this topic.

In fact I can say for a fact that Guyanese who aren't Amerindian have varying degrees of implicit bias against them.  They are seen as "less than" and as a result are by far the most deprived group in the country.

This isn't generalization.  This is a fact. No political party in Guyana has seen Amerindians as anything other then being "Children of the Forest" and these attitudes are almost never condemned by the vast majority of non Amerindian Guyanese.

I bet if a bunch of blacks and Portuguese were discussing cooptation of some aspect of Indian culture without consulting people familiar and involved in this it would be roundly condemned. As in fact it should be.

Carib, I don't disagree with the points you have made. I wasn't addressing the opinions of political parties or other non-Amerindian ethnic groups. I don't hold those same views. I have a very high respect for our native peoples to the degree where I recently bought a book on Indigenous Folk tales, "Guyana Legends" by Odeen Ishmael, to read to my son when he gets old enough. He's just 4 and a half now. I remember having better books back in Guyana.

. I don't hold those same views. I have a very high respect for our native peoples to the degree

And if you hold them with respect you will know that most non Amerindians don't.

In fact the whole discussion of the name of the airport is quite condescending.  If someone wants to call it "Timehri" that is all well and good.  But to imply that this is some favor meted out towards the Amerindians (with the implication that they should be grateful) is my point.

I am not aware that a delegation of Amerindians opined on this topic.  I suspect that a greater focus on reducing their scandalously high poverty rates, as well as the abuse that the more traditional Amerindians (from the deep interior) sometimes encounter from coast landers, might matter more.

If people want to change the name back to "Timehri" to avoid the usual Afro vs. Indo warfare that is fine.  But to speak on behalf of the Amerindian population when most of us don't "know" this people is not.  Many Amerindians have learned to hide their true thoughts from the rest of us, as is typically of deeply marginalized indigenous populations who lack the means to enforce their perspective.

antabanta posted:

I suggest they name the airport after Walter Rodney or one of the other political activist martyrs or someone who died in rebellion against the British.

We are such a tribal people so even this might cause contention, given that an icon of one of the tribes is already in use.

To avoid this some pre independence heroes of the Indian, African and Amerindian populations will have to be selected.  I have a suspicion that is why Piarco airport was never named Eric Williams International.  Unlike the more culturally monolithic Caribbean islands we don't have a singular hero that we all respect. 

Every Antiguan respects VC Bird as the nation's father just as every Bajan respects Grantley Adams, so no fights when their airports carry those names. Jamaica is a political tribal island, but they have two major airports so one is named after a hero of one party (Norman Manley) and the other after the other (Sangster).  In fact even across tribal divides there is respect for both men.

Keffer posted:

Mubarak Eid.

Chief, there is no such greeting as 'Mubarak Eid'; when someone says 'Eid Mubarak' to you, your response/reply to that person should be 'Eid Mubarak'. Saying 'Mubarak Eid' is akin to saying 'Morning Good' when someone says 'Good Morning' to you ! In both directions, the correct greeting is Eid Mubarak ! 

My brother Keff,

Your correction is noted. It is a widespread token response.

However , I will immediately reverse my answer and say Eid Mubarak, I started  that only a few years ago because of the common response by Muslims  from other  countries.

Change the name of the airport to Atkinson Field.

Named after some WWII "hero" I think American.

Correct.  The Americans built that airport.  Atkinson was an American aviator.  

The terminal building now in use wasn't built by the Americans.  Only the runway was, so its not fully accurate to say that they built the airport.  That terminal is (or used to be) on the other side of the runway. 

How about In honour of the swimmer who braved the councie waters of the Demerara river..DaGoads Airport.

A movie can then be made showing our hero DaGoads, as he speeds down the runway on his donkey cart the movie will be aptly called "Chariots of DaGoads"

The terminal building now in use wasn't built by the Americans.  Only the runway was, so its not fully accurate to say that they built the airport.  That terminal is (or used to be) on the other side of the runway. 

The airport has been renovated and rebuilt several times since it was originally built by the Americans.

I agree with you.