Nagamootoo criticises US, West for speaking out against Lowenfield’s fraud

Caretaker Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo has criticised the international community for speaking out against Chief Elections Officer Keith Lowenfield fraudulent election report. Nagamootoo has asserted that the western powers and regional partners are now part of a grand orchestrated scheme to use Guyana as a pawn in a global political game of chess aimed at toppling the Nicolas Maduro Government in neighbouring Venezuela and are not really interested in democratic elections.

https://guyanatimesgy.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/06/Moses-Nagamootoo-1-300x169.jpg

Caretaker PM, Moses Nagamootoo

Nagamootoo has claimed that the international community has somehow been trying to influence the outcome of the elections against A Partnership for National Unity/Alliance for Change (APNU/AFC), which the recount shows that the PPP won by over 15,000 votes.

Nagamootoo’s latest foray against the growing voices in the international community that have called for the results of the recount of the March 2 poll to be used to declare the People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) Administration the winner came as he was speaking during an online broadcast. He was at the time defending the report submitted by Chief Elections Officer (CEO) of the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM), Keith Lowenfield which discards in excess of 115,000 votes from tabulated results to give an APNU/AFC victory at the polls.

The caretaker Prime Minister in adumbrating the coalition’s newest position said he was offended “that you have foreign powers using us as pawn in a geopolitical game.”

Nagamootoo in responding to the growing international voices of condemnation of the APNU/AFC and Lowenfield has evidently initiated a shift to a new narrative to deflect criticisms of his Government’s insistence on refusing to accept the results of both the count and recount of the votes in the March 2 elections, by claiming that the west, especially the US, is not really interested in democracy but in Guyana being used in a plot to overthrow Maduro.

Taking great effort not to name the USA directly, from his accusations there can be no doubt about the object of Nagamootoo’s strident attack. According to Nagamootoo as he danced between the raindrops, “you have foreign powers using us as a pawn in a geo-strategic game that they have mapped out in their own interest.”

Honing in on his allegations against the United States, Nagamootoo was adamant that now “suddenly, you have a change of geostrategic focus by a big power who has an agenda.”

This, he posited to be, “a regime change, in a nearby country with which we have diplomatic relations but we don’t have friendly relations, Venezuela; so, Guyana has been used as collateral damage in an obsession to effect a regime change in a neighbouring country.” It is no secret that several American Administrations, especially the incumbent one under President Donald Trump have insisted that the Maduro Administration must be removed for their domestic democratic violations and their international adventurism.

https://guyanatimesgy.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/06/Sarah-Ann-Lynch--200x300.jpg

US Ambassador to Guyana, Sarah-Ann Lynch

Nagamootoo’s statement comes on the heels of a recent statement by US Ambassador to Guyana, Sarah-Ann Lynch, who in responding to claims of US interference had pointed out that Guyana had joint up with other Lima Group members from the Americas to strive for a democratic resolution to the crisis in Venezuela.

It was noted that along with 12 other countries, Guyana proclaimed in January 2019, “we reiterate that the electoral process that took place in Venezuela on May 20, 2018, lacked legitimacy as it neither included the participation of all political actors in Venezuela, nor did it have the presence of independent international observers, nor did it comply with the necessary guarantees or international standards for a free, fair and transparent election.”

Guyana at the time had signed off saying, “accordingly, we do not recognise the legitimacy of the new presidential term of Nicolas Maduro, or his regime, which commences on January 10, 2019.”

The US Ambassador had noted that such statements are not foreign interference but rather amounts to good diplomacy by members of the hemisphere’s democratic club.

She had at the time noted that “Guyana is certainly not Venezuela; let’s keep it that way.”

Most recently, several US Senators have called directly upon caretaker President Granger to respect the will of the Guyanese people as expressed in the March 2 elections and to allow a transition to democratic governance.

It is to be seen whether Nagamootoo’s “feral blast” will be echoed at the latest US calls for democracy in Guyana.

US Senators call on Granger to concede

…want transition of power to begin
Chairman of the United States’ Senate Foreign Relations Subcommittee on Western Hemisphere, Transnational Crime, Civilian Security, Democracy, Human Rights, and Global Women’s Issues, Marco Rubio, on Friday called on caretaker President, David Granger, to concede an elections defeat.
https://guyanatimesgy.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/06/Marco-Rubio--300x211.jpg
Senator Marco Rubio
The Republican Senator from Florida noted in a joint missive from the Senate Committee on Foreign Relations that “recent reports suggest questionable manoeuvres by interested parties designed to continue forestalling a final declaration of results, which members of the press say indicates a defeat for the incumbent Government.”
As such, the Foreign Relations Committee said, “President Granger should honour the will of the Guyanese people and concede.”
https://guyanatimesgy.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/06/Jim-Risch--300x158.jpg
Senator Jim Risch
The missive noted that it is nearly four months since the national elections were held on March 2, last, and “the Guyanese people are still waiting for an official result following the general and regional elections in their nation. This is unacceptable.”
Rubio, in the joint statement, noted that the US Senators and the Foreign Relations Committee, “share in the frustration expressed by the Caribbean Community (Caricom), the Organisation of American States (OAS), and other international stakeholders, and call on the Guyanese authorities to issue an official election declaration that reflects the results of the March 2nd election, which were confirmed in the official recount by Caricom’s observer mission.”
https://guyanatimesgy.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/06/Ben-Cardin-300x168.jpg
Senator Ben Cardin
The grouping of US Senators has since extended publicly, “our support and solidarity to the people of Guyana, who have borne more than their fair share of patience during this process. For their sake, the future of democracy and the rule of law in our hemisphere, the ongoing uncertainty and gamesmanship must end.”
Rubio was joined in the missive by Senators Jim Risch and Bob Menendez, chairman and ranking member respectively, of the Senate Committee on Foreign Relations; as well as Ben Cardin, in releasing the statement encouraging Guyanese authorities “to begin a democratic transition of power that reflects the results of the March 2nd general and regional elections”
https://guyanatimesgy.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/06/Bob-Menendez-300x200.jpg
Senator Bob Menendez
The US Senate’s Foreign Relations Committee headed by Rubio had last month written to Granger at the beginning of the recount of the ballots by the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) to place on record its support for a fair and transparent recount of the March Presidential election “to allay any concerns among the Guyanese people in the integrity of their democratic institutions, in line with Guyana’s successful democratic electoral transitions of the past three decades.”
https://guyanatimesgy.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/06/David-Granger-8-300x256.jpg
Caretaker President David Granger
Rubio, in addressing Granger at the time, had noted: “Your leadership in this critical moment is crucial to Guyana entering this new era with confidence and hope among all Guyanese for a better future.”

Nagamootoo shouldn't have done that. I think he is going too far with his criticism. Let me explain something. This coalition between APNU/AFC, Granger is not going down alone. I heard Ramjattan conceded defeat, but all negative things are declared under APNU/AFC banner. It means if Ramjattan meant well, his party will sink as well. That's the price to pay when you chose to dance with Granger. Nagamootoo is going down the same path.

Guyana is a sovereign nation with its own rules and laws. Could Guyanese politicians tell ABCE countries how to run their elections or demand candidates concede? I'll wait. 

These ABCE persons are only interested because of geopolitical reasons that involve oil and promises from Jagdeo. Thankfully, Guyana has long gained its independence. Why don't they go after the CARICOM leaders known for pedophilia, drug trafficking and money laundering?

Complete hypocrisy. 

Rochelle

My gut tells me that these ABCE politicians have come out in numbers through the help of the lobbyist Mercury, knowing fully well PPP/C is about to lose the CCJ case. 

PPP/C is hoping to exert pressure for President Granger to concede through these means. This will not happen. 

Rochelle

Could Guyanese politicians tell ABCE countries how to run their elections or demand candidates concede?

ABCE countries do not bully their way to stay in power or rig elections. You cannot compare ABCE countries to PNC bullies and fraudsters. I am surprised as an attorney(maybe) you choose to make this irresponsible statement without thinking of the sarcastic reactions you will entertain. Forget mercury and fraud is fraud. Repeat this: All options are on the table. No oil money.

@Rochelle posted:

My gut tells me that these ABCE politicians have come out in numbers through the help of the lobbyist Mercury, knowing fully well PPP/C is about to lose the CCJ case. 

PPP/C is hoping to exert pressure for President Granger to concede through these means. This will not happen. 

Michelle, if I have to share your sentiments, you have to explain why the foreign observers were celebrated in 2015 and not in 2020 by Granger. Thank you! 

@Rochelle posted:

Guyana is a sovereign nation with its own rules and laws.

Could Guyanese politicians tell ABCE countries how to run their elections or demand candidates concede?

I'll wait.

Guyana indeed has its laws/rules, issues of which can always be appealed for a final/binding decision by the Caribbean Court of Justice - CCJ.

While indeed Guyana is a sovereign country; just like all others; foreign  countries and organizations along with local ones monitor and express their individual views on the election process.

Guyana indeed has its laws/rules, issues of which can always be appealed for a final/binding decision by the Caribbean Court of Justice - CCJ.

While indeed Guyana is a sovereign country; just like all others; foreign  countries and organizations along with local ones monitor and express their individual views on the election process.

Regardless of the nonsense coming out of the APNU cabals, Guyana cannot exist on its own. Without help from foreign countries, Guyana will be like a famine in Africa. Subsisting on oil is an empty dream. There ain't no oil money going to FLAPNU.

@Rochelle posted:

Granger said from inception that he respects GECOM, CARICOM, over the ABCE to oversee the election recount. He should start respecting himself before making public statements like that, madam. Let"s put aside foreigners, how about the citizens who voted? They need closure. too. 

Granger is a Bible carrying imposter. Thee sanctimonious gangster is a pathetic liar, racist, bully, and thug.

ABCE countries do not bully their way to stay in power or rig elections. You cannot compare ABCE countries to PNC bullies and fraudsters. I am surprised as an attorney(maybe) you choose to make this irresponsible statement without thinking of the sarcastic reactions you will entertain. Forget mercury and fraud is fraud. Repeat this: All options are on the table. No oil money.

"Irresponsible statement", you say.

It appears even you don't know your Western Hemisphere history. I implore you to do your research with regards to ABCE countries that faced similar claims of fraud and rigging of their elections:

North America

• 2011 Canadian Federal Election
  • 2000 US Presidential Election
  • 2002 AL Gubernatorial Election
  • 2004 WA Gubernatorial Election
  • 2008 US Senate Election in your very own MN
  • 2018 GA Gubernatorial Election
  • 2016 US Presidential Election

Europe

• 2005 UK General Election
  • 2006 Italian General Election
  • 2016 Austrian Presidential Election
  • 2019 EU Parliament Election

And most recently:

(CNN)A city councilman and a councilman-elect are among the four people charged with voting fraud related to the May 12 municipal election, New Jersey Attorney General Gurbir Grewal announced Thursday.

Paterson City Councilman Michael Jackson, Councilman-Elect Alex Mendez, Shelim Khalique and Abu Razyen have been charged with criminal conduct involving mail-in ballots during the election.

This isn't some alien phenomenon that only Guyana is facing. There is proof against your very own statement, even in your backyard!.

It is up to you whether you choose to continue to ignore or actually do some research for once. 

Goodbye. You are dismissed.
Rochelle

They are not expressing views alone, they are demanding Granger concedes.

This, after the Court of Appeal handed down their ruling. Where were these same politicians then? Why is it, when it favored APNUAFC, these politicians kept silent?

They want to disrespect not only Guyana's sovereignty but also Guyana's own Courts! This is ridiculous, and for any Guyanese to agree with their meddling is disappointing, to say the least.

Rochelle

No country has a perfect election process. The local election is different from the General election. There was no wholesale fraud to deter the legitimate party from assuming office in any general election. This only happens in a dictatorship. You are not who you say you are. Try again and this time think beyond your nose.
Granger is a bully and the devil himself. He needs to burn his bible.

Granger is a Bible carrying imposter. Thee sanctimonious gangster is a pathetic liar, racist, bully, and thug.

Sir, I know that long before he took office. Indians like yourself help to put him in power. Now, they are praying for him to leave. If he doesn't get out I will still eat cassava and dry coconut and watch Indian scramble fuh dhall and rice.

@Rochelle posted:

This, after the Court of Appeal handed down their ruling. Where were these same politicians then? Why is it, when it favored APNUAFC, these politicians kept silent?

They want to disrespect not only Guyana's sovereignty but also Guyana's own Courts! This is ridiculous, and for any Guyanese to agree with their meddling is disappointing, to say the least.

Succinct issues for the caretaker government to resign is explicitly clear.

While the Court of Appeal indeed made its decision, the Caribbean Court of Justice - CCJ - is the final court for a decision on the mater.

Guyana's sovereignty indeed must be protected, however yet again, the CCJ has the final decision on the matter/issues.

Similar to past elections in Guyana; from the 1960's to 2020; countries and organizations were present and expressed their individual reports and views on each election.

No amount of labels going to remove him. The man knows what he is doing, my guess is he ain leaving. It is not a personal issue with him, it is for his ppl. Indians are not part of his plan, this idea of one nation one people and one destiny he doan subscribe to. As far as I can assume, he knows Indians do not consider good governance when they continue to choose Jagdeo and his selections of Presidents. He probably figured, if Indians can allow Jagdeo to get away with mischief then certainly they can tolerate him to be mischievous too.

I may be wrong, reading all that is going on, I would guess all this unfolding according to his plans.

His final action probably resort to being quiet. Saying nothing is a frustrating thing to opponents. So far, he has been lil quiet but not dead quiet.

In a few days the CCJ will decide if it has jurisdiction in the matter before it.  One of the judges has already indicated doubts and chances are the CofA decision will stand.  To observe the rule of law this decision will then have to guide GECOM, i.e., votes will be assessed both qualitatively and quantitatively.  The tainted votes will be discarded.

@Rochelle posted:

The court of appeal is Tainted, Minister Broomes is related to one judge, he should have excused himself. So that ruling is not valid.

@Rochelle posted:

You should ask Nagamootoo why he was campaigning in 1992 for US intervention for FREE & FAIR Election. 

They don’t want America, but spend 40,000 US per month using a American law firm to campaign in Washington on their behalf. Did you forget the Dossier you posted on GNI. Hypocrites. 

You should ask Nagamootoo why he was campaigning in 1992 for US intervention for FREE & FAIR Election. 

They don’t want America, but spend 40,000 US per month using a American law firm to campaign in Washington on their behalf. Did you forget the Dossier you posted on GNI. Hypocrites. 

Prove that they spent $40,000 US per month. 

@kp posted:

The court of appeal is Tainted, Minister Broomes is related to one judge, he should have excused himself. So that ruling is not valid.

Unless the CCJ overturns the decision of the Court of Appeal that ruling is the law.

I have never heard anything so ridiculous as Moses said that the US interferes with the Guyana Election to invade Venezuela. I cannot believe that the PPP tolerated him for 50 years.  Then he had balls to claim that Chedi wants him to be President.

Last edited by Ramakant-P

Sir, I know that long before he took office. Indians like yourself help to put him in power. Now, they are praying for him to leave. If he doesn't get out I will still eat cassava and dry coconut and watch Indian scramble fuh dhall and rice.

You will be eating cassava and dry coconut in New Jersey?