US$21M in medicines donated to MOPH

Share on Facebook
Tweet on Twitter
In picture, Sharir Chan, GMRs COO, in pink plaid shirt hands over to staff of the Materials Management Unit (MMU) of the  MOPH a previous shipment of medicines destined for Suddie Hospital. Also in picture are members of the Humanitarian Assistance Program of the U.S. Embassy, Georgetown

THE GUYANA Medical Relief (GMR) Inc  of Los Angeles, California, has sourced and  has supplied  US$20,861,594 in value  of  medical supplies to the Ministry of Health.
Chief Operations Officer of Guyana Medical Relief, Sharir Chan last week disclosed that the medicines requested by the Ministry arrived in Guyana by air on April 20 last.
He said: “Guyana Medical Relief has made this consignment to the Ministry of Health in the light of shortages being experienced locally. The Ministry will distribute to the various Administrative Regions as needed.”

Chan explained that the GMR Inc. was a 32-year-old Non- Governmental Organization (NGO) that is dedicated to assisting the health sector in Guyana.
GMR Inc.has over the past 32 years donated  medicines to Guyana  as needed and as supplies are available.
“This time, thanks to our partner, Direct Relief, we were able to quickly source these requested medicines for Guyana. We are delighted to be able to serve our people and to assist as we can. Guyana Medical Relief looks forward to sending more shipments of pharmaceuticals if requested,” he said.

Chan disclosed that in addition to supplying medications and medical supplies over the years, GMR has built Visualization in Acetic Acid (VIA) clinics  at Mahaicony, Bartica and Charity Hospitals to combat the spread of cervical cancer among Guyana’s women.
VIA is a relatively inexpensive way to detect the presence of lesions that can lead to cervical cancer. If positive signs are indicated during such tests, treatment is provided to the patient on the spot.

In 2015 Guyana Medical Relief completely refurbished the Accident and Emergency Unit at the Port Mourant Hospital in Region 6 (East Berbice/Corentyne) , thus providing the community with a modern unit. This organization has also donated ultrasound machines to the Port Mourant Hospital to health care facilities at Baramita in Region 1 (Barima/Waini)  and Mahaicony Hospital in Region  5 (Mahaica/Berbice)  respectively.
GMR has also to date provided  250,000 pairs of shoes to children  in communities throughout Guyana, especially in the hinterland communities focusing on Regions 7 (Cuyuni/Mazaruni) ,Region  8  (Potaro/Siparuni) and Region 9 (Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo).

“We also recognize the need for collaboration amongst like-minded NGO’s and as such we have partnered with outreach missions, such as The Canada-Guyana Outreach Mission (CanGo), based in Toronto, which is doing work in the Region 1 and  Region 2 (Pomeroon/Supenaam), and the mission led by Dr. Cort of Fyrish, in Region 6, to bring professional assistance to Guyana’s rural population,” Chan disclosed.

US$21M in medicines donated to MOPH

Share on Facebook
Tweet on Twitter
In picture, Sharir Chan, GMRs COO, in pink plaid shirt hands over to staff of the Materials Management Unit (MMU) of the  MOPH a previous shipment of medicines destined for Suddie Hospital. Also in picture are members of the Humanitarian Assistance Program of the U.S. Embassy, Georgetown

THE GUYANA Medical Relief (GMR) Inc  of Los Angeles, California, has sourced and  has supplied  US$20,861,594 in value  of  medical supplies to the Ministry of Health.
Chief Operations Officer of Guyana Medical Relief, Sharir Chan last week disclosed that the medicines requested by the Ministry arrived in Guyana by air on April 20 last.
He said: “Guyana Medical Relief has made this consignment to the Ministry of Health in the light of shortages being experienced locally. The Ministry will distribute to the various Administrative Regions as needed.”

Chan explained that the GMR Inc. was a 32-year-old Non- Governmental Organization (NGO) that is dedicated to assisting the health sector in Guyana.
GMR Inc.has over the past 32 years donated  medicines to Guyana  as needed and as supplies are available.
“This time, thanks to our partner, Direct Relief, we were able to quickly source these requested medicines for Guyana. We are delighted to be able to serve our people and to assist as we can. Guyana Medical Relief looks forward to sending more shipments of pharmaceuticals if requested,” he said.

Chan disclosed that in addition to supplying medications and medical supplies over the years, GMR has built Visualization in Acetic Acid (VIA) clinics  at Mahaicony, Bartica and Charity Hospitals to combat the spread of cervical cancer among Guyana’s women.
VIA is a relatively inexpensive way to detect the presence of lesions that can lead to cervical cancer. If positive signs are indicated during such tests, treatment is provided to the patient on the spot.

In 2015 Guyana Medical Relief completely refurbished the Accident and Emergency Unit at the Port Mourant Hospital in Region 6 (East Berbice/Corentyne) , thus providing the community with a modern unit. This organization has also donated ultrasound machines to the Port Mourant Hospital to health care facilities at Baramita in Region 1 (Barima/Waini)  and Mahaicony Hospital in Region  5 (Mahaica/Berbice)  respectively.
GMR has also to date provided  250,000 pairs of shoes to children  in communities throughout Guyana, especially in the hinterland communities focusing on Regions 7 (Cuyuni/Mazaruni) ,Region  8  (Potaro/Siparuni) and Region 9 (Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo).

“We also recognize the need for collaboration amongst like-minded NGO’s and as such we have partnered with outreach missions, such as The Canada-Guyana Outreach Mission (CanGo), based in Toronto, which is doing work in the Region 1 and  Region 2 (Pomeroon/Supenaam), and the mission led by Dr. Cort of Fyrish, in Region 6, to bring professional assistance to Guyana’s rural population,” Chan disclosed.

Well done.

Chief, it is heart warming to see what your friend Sharir and others are doing in Guyana.

It is  sad to see so much negative talk on GNI when someone try to help, instead of providing positive support.

I often see the Canadian High Commissioner in Georgetown and I once asked how does Canada Fund and CIDA measure their success.

His answer was ' We win some and we lose some, but generally we win more'.   There is no guarantee that we will be successful, until we try.

Some of  our GNIers need to assist the poor in Guyana rather than talking shit here all day.

Top of the list Carib J , Nehru, Cobra, .

How can one give what one does not have and when shit is their only wealth.  

ball

Some of  our GNIers need to assist the poor in Guyana rather than talking shit here all day.

Top of the list Carib J , Nehru, Cobra, .

Great to see people helping.  With the PNC rolling disaster, help will have to increase 10 fold just to stay put!  But good for you friend!

Little does Sharir know that his efforts will bring a windfall for the PNC as they will profit handsomely from these donations, giving away to friends and family. If 15% reaches the hospital they will be lucky.

I thought it's going thru an NGO!  Am I wrong?

You really think so Lord Numbnuts? This aint being run by your PPP buddy Brazzy, you forgot that SOB flew the coop soon as PPP LOST where he could spend his loot in peace.

ba$eman posted:

I thought it's going thru an NGO!  Am I wrong?

Not true, the donating organization is an NGO, the recipients will be the government who will dictate the supply and delivery chain and this is where the thiefing will occur as pnc operatives fill their pockets. 

You really think so Lord Numbnuts? This aint being run by your PPP buddy Brazzy, you forgot that SOB flew the coop soon as PPP LOST where he could spend his loot in peace.

Like yuh backside don't read the news out of Guyana? Notice the massive drug shortages as pnc mismanage the sector and steal the taxpayers dollars for sporting and wine down instead of attending to the sick and dying.  PNC/AFC thiefman are salivating at the windfall coming from this donation. Its a shame that they return the country to the begging bowl, having to depend on donations from NGO, after inheriting flush coffers from the PPP a mere 2 year ago.