My choice for the next president of Guyana
By SRAMSAROOP | DAILY, FEATURES | SATURDAY, SEPTEMBER 10, 2011

I have never made a public declaration on political candidates because I attempt to stay as objective as possible in my role as a columnist. However, in this case, the numbers speak for themselves. Also, I am an advocate for women and, as such, it is my obligation to speak up at times like this when a female voice is necessary.

In the last 12 weeks of this column, I presented one question per week that was posed to Guyana’s major presidential candidates on women’s issues and their answers. At the end of each column, I rated the candidates’ answers with the anticipation that the candidate with the highest score would be the one who most deserved the female vote.

I rated the candidates on a scale of 1-3 with the highest rating going to the best answer, in my opinion. There were also times when the candidates rated a zero. Please keep in mind that the highest possible overall rating is 36 points. (If you would like to read the past 12 columns with the questions and answers, they can all be found at stabroeknews.com/author/sramsaroop/)

Here is the tally of the ratings: APNU candidate David Granger – 20. 5; AFC candidate Khemraj Ramjattan – 26.5; PPP/C Candidate Donald Ramotar – 18.5. The tally shows Ramjattan as the clear winner. That Ramjattan was the strongest on women’s issues was obvious to me as soon as I had finished the interviews. His responses were strong and passionate. He has a good feel for the situation of women in Guyana, probably because he has interacted with so many in his profession as a lawyer.

When I conducted these interviews, I must admit that I was thrown by the fact that the candidate I expected to be the strongest on women’s issues was still very “old school” in thought. Granger started off by making a huge gaffe in saying women should dress less provocatively to deter the attention of creepy old men. Ramotar barely scored at the halfway mark with 18.5 points. This scares me. He was a very nice man and easy to talk with, but most of his answers seemed disingenuous to me. Perhaps he had other things on his mind (like a billboard with his image that had been vandalised that day), but whatever the reason, women’s issues did not seem very important to him at that moment.

Of these candidates, Ramjattan is most certainly the one who should get the votes of Guyana’s women. I have spoken with each of these candidates on important matters concerning women, I have watched their reactions, I listened to their responses and I am convinced that Ramjattan would serve the women of Guyana best as president.

However, let’s face it, even Ramjattan only scored 26.5 out of 36 possible points. That is not a victor’s place. In fact, it is very disheartening to know that the selection of candidates the women of Guyana must choose from rate so low on women’s issues. I long for female candidates in Guyana. I know, I know, there were female candidates and they lost in the primary stages. Did they really though? For example, Gail Teixeira would have made a fantastic president. I am even more convinced of this after reading by way of WikiLeaks of her desire to rid the nation of corruption. The US Embassy is quoted as saying, “Post rates Teixeira highly as an honest, forthright interlocutor.” Too bad she wants to distance herself from such high praise and instead curtsy to the party that has held her back. In any case, party members did not decide the PPP/C candidate and those who had thrown their hats in the ring simply stepped aside for President Jagdeo’s choice – whether it was the best choice or not. Clearly, for the women of Guyana, it was not the best choice.

The PNCR did have an election to decide the party’s candidate, though even to this day I question the outcome of that election. Faith Harding has said numerous times that she felt she was shafted by the party and the media and while many just write her off as being sour, I agree with her position and believe she would have made a far better candidate than the one currently in place. And then there is the never materialising prime ministerial position. Granger promised the women of Guyana a female prime minister, but that has yet to happen and I doubt it will. The same goes for the PPP/C. Though names of females have been tossed about for prime minister – mark my words, it will be another man.

There is also the case with TUF candidate, Valerie Garrido-Lowe, being locked out of the party’s headquarters while attempts were made to unseat her from her lawful elected position as party leader apparently because she felt it necessary to break longstanding ties with the PPP/C. This is such an ugly scene and I could not be more proud of her for fighting back instead of bowing to that nonsense that she should cave for the sake of the party. Women have curtsied to men for long enough. If we ever hope to see a better life for our daughters and their daughters, we have to get up from our perpetual curtsy and take our rightful positions in political, business and religious circles.

While many would like to infer that there has been an infusion of female candidates during this election season, I would counter that there has been also been a lot of strong-arming of these female candidates to keep them out of the political old boys’ club. I have no doubt whatsoever that every single one of the women I have mentioned would have made changes that would have taken Guyana in a more positive direction than their male counterparts.

The sole exception to this whole election charade is Sheila Holder, the prime ministerial candidate for the AFC. There were no strong-arm politics in this case. Holder took her rightful place and the AFC respected her position – and that was that. This is yet one more reason the AFC is the best choice for women. While the rest of the parties just played with female candidates, the AFC made the choice to have one from early on. In fact, I would suggest that the only reason the other parties even toyed with female candidates at all is because of Holder’s position on the AFC ballot. (Editor’s note: Holder has since announced her withdrawal from the race due to illness.)

I know many women will still vote for the PPP/C or the PNCR (APNU) for any number of lesser reasons. But if they do and if one of those parties wins the elections again, then when the situation for women in Guyana has not changed two years from now, the women will have only themselves to blame. They say the definition of insanity is to continue to do the same thing over and over while expecting a different result. I say that if a woman in Guyana votes for the two parties that have governed this nation for decades, you can only expect more of the same treatment that has always been meted out to women.

In other words, if you want more rapes, domestic violence, murders, lower wages than male counterparts in the same job with the same experience and education, sexual harassment by employers, discrimination against expecting mothers, aloof and mocking law enforcement encounters, leaders who do not respect gender equality, creepy old men chasing young girls and leaders who blame the girls instead of the creepy old men, first ladies who are treated like trash and put out of their homes with nothing but the clothes on their backs, leaders who turn a blind eye to a woman being brutalised by her spouse, politicians who could care less about female voters and political strong-arming of female candidates – then by all means, vote for the same political parties that have put Guyana in this condition in the first place.

I have done my best to help Guyana’s women by making it as easy as possible for them to choose the best candidate for women. It is now up to them to help themselves by choosing to vote – and by voting for a party that will best represent their interests.
Email: StellaSays@gmail.com

Listen man...I have been saying this for donkey months now. Mr Khemraj Ramjattan is the best Presidential Candidate we had since 2000. This man is going to make a fine President. Khemraj > Granger > Ramotar = Jagdeo
Ya'll will say I am bias...but I am saying this as an academic and not a politician.
Originally posted by Inqubus:
tell that to them illiterate and die hard PPP coolies

Ramjattan can be bestest man in the whole world, but he doan have the power. That lies with fingers of the indians voters on election day.

Can he move that block of votes?
Snakeoil in Deh Morning, Snakeoil in the Evening, Snakeoil at lunch time. I love my Snakeoil, give me my Snakeoil. A woman with NO Guyanese Tradition or Culture interviews 3 Candidates and came up with some numbers based on her interpretation of the answers and suddenly The Snakeoil Crowd come to a conclusion as to who is the BEST Candidate to Lead Guyana. BRILLANT indeed. You Guys are the greatest thinkers of the 21st Century.
Originally posted by Nehru:
Snakeoil in Deh Morning, Snakeoil in the Evening, Snakeoil at lunch time. I love my Snakeoil, give me my Snakeoil. A woman with NO Guyanese Tradition or Culture interviews 3 Candidates and came up with some numbers based on her interpretation of the answers and suddenly The Snakeoil Crowd come to a conclusion as to who is the BEST Candidate to Lead Guyana. BRILLANT indeed. You Guys are the greatest thinkers of the 21st Century.

Unlike you, she living there
And?/
Originally posted by raymond:

She did an objective interview with the candidates and some conclusions were based on her personal perception. This does not make her invalid nor does it matter Guyanese or no Guyanese. She is not saying how she thinks Guyanese (women) will perceive her poll and how it may influence voting pattern as then you are correct, it requires understanding the people's psyche.

Now, go back and try to engage that 10% grey matter which you seem to be having difficult with for some time, or is that expecting too much.
She did an objective interview with the candidates and some conclusions were based on her personal perception. This does not make her

I know she tld you so and you were her assistant so you were sitting next to her.
Originally posted by asj:
I have done my best to help Guyana’s women

Never heard of her before.......just a non entity crying in the wilderness for attention.

She led several marches in GT along with people like Dianne Madray regarding domestic violence. She has been at this for a few years travelling into the villages. I never met her but read several of her articles on the matter. The GoG knows her well as Priya was a speaker at her last march.
She did an objective interview with the candidates and some conclusions were based on her personal perception. This does not make her

I know she tld you so and you were her assistant so you were sitting next to her.

That was all, didnt she buy you a shatt and poke cutters?
Desperate? YES. yippie yippie yippie partybanana partybanana partybanana WATA WASH SHIT AH BATTY 1 AND A HALF PARTY GAT ME DESPERATE yippie yippie yippie partybanana partybanana partybanana
Originally posted by TK_REDUX:
PAVI,

Yuh sounding desperate bai...we closing in on your poke cuttahs and henny. You will need to learn to live within your community college salary.
And?/

yuh full ah Guyanese tradition...yet yuh living overseas...what does that say about you vs her?
Khemraj > Granger > Ramotar = Jagdeo.

Maybe my math skills may not be where it should be but doesn't this formula show that Jagdeo is greater? Smile
Originally posted by ksazma:

Maybe my math skills may not be where it should be but doesn't this formula show that Jagdeo is greater? Smile

Ooyye, tek you math skill da side nah. How you doing nah bai?

Big Grin You trying to stir up trouble. Ok man...let us invoke the transitivity condition. Wink

Nah tek worries. Like I told Baseman, I just being wutliss. Smile
It says that I cherish and respect my Guyanese Culture and Tradition.
And?/

yuh full ah Guyanese tradition...yet yuh living overseas...what does that say about you vs her?
It says that I cherish and respect my Guyanese Culture and Tradition

ress yuh drunk rass bai Smile

dem guyanese in guyana living that culture and tradition. Smile
UH????
It says that I cherish and respect my Guyanese Culture and Tradition

ress yuh drunk rass bai Smile

dem guyanese in guyana living that culture and tradition. Smile
UH??

Yuh nah think dem Guyanese living de Guyanese culture and tradition? Smile

Yea, backballing and all such lawliss sub-culture and decadent lifestyle some of whom made it to positions of influence and power. This is the sub-culture we now celebrate as Guyana's.
Originally posted by baseman:
UH??

Yea, backballing and all such lawliss sub-culture and decadent lifestyle some of whom made it to positions of influence and power. This is the sub-culture we now celebrate as Guyana's.

but you AFC Part embracing Fagg^%ism in all its glory, This is part of the agenda of white trash imperialism
Originally posted by Streetsmart:
UH??

but you AFC Part embracing Fagg^%ism in all its glory, This is part of the agenda of white trash imperialism

Rick like you need some Rass grease!!! yippie
Originally posted by Mitwah:
UH??

Yea, backballing and all such lawliss sub-culture and decadent lifestyle some of whom made it to positions of influence and power. vocateThis is the sub-culture we now celebrate as Guyana's.

you gah talk to resident AFC Fag$%t advocate, non otha dan de man Purani. Me can't see how he and de buttybaseman does get along
Originally posted by Mitwah:
UH??

Yea, backballing and all such lawliss sub-culture and decadent lifestyle some of whom made it to positions of influence and power. vocateThis is the sub-culture we now celebrate as Guyana's.

you gah talk to resident AFC Fag$%t advocate, non otha dan de man Purani. Me can't see how he and de buttybaseman does get along

According to Dr. Ramsammy, you are a possible high risk HIV carrier.

Never heard of her before.......just a non entity crying in the wilderness for attention.

Man theh AFC is trying all the strokes in the book fu get lil attention....they need to make their case to the voting public not running around the world whining...bytching and babbling like a cry baby..the Guyanese people gat no clue as to what these bunch of rejected politician up to...no wonder the Guyanese people rejected dem ass....licks like peas fu al you rass.
AMEN!! Mannabe Wata Wash Politicians. yippie yippie
Originally posted by SuperMike:

Man theh AFC is trying all the strokes in the book fu get lil attention....they need to make their case to the voting public not running around the world whining...bytching and babbling like a cry baby..the Guyanese people gat no clue as to what these bunch of rejected politician up to...no wonder the Guyanese people rejected dem ass....licks like peas fu al you rass.