Murders up by 12%, armed robberies down by 8%

– 50 illegal guns found

The Guyana Police Force on Friday disclosed that it has recorded a 10 per cent increase in serious crimes at the end of May when compared to the same period in 2014.

Among the serious crimes monitored by the Force are murder, robbery under arms, robbery with violence, robbery with aggravation, larceny from the person, break and enter and larceny, burglary, rape, and kidnapping.

Chandroutie Persaud

Alissa McPherson

However, the Police in the recent statistics revealed that a total of 66 murders were recorded at the end of May, in comparison to 59 murders at the end of May 2014 which saw a 12 per cent increase.

Unto the eleventh day of June, eight murders have been recorded compared to six for the same period in June 2014. Also, the Police stated that at the end of May 2015, robbery under arms overall has decreased by eight per cent, in comparison to the same period in 2014.

The statistics released by the Police also indicated a decrease of nine per cent in the number of armed robberies involving the use of firearms; and a six per cent decrease in armed robberies where instruments other than firearms were used by the perpetrators.

Unto the end of May this year, a total of 50 illegal firearms have been recovered by the Police comprising 31 pistols, 10 revolvers, three shotguns, five rifles and one pen-gun.

The Police are however urging members of the public to be vigilant and to report any suspicious person(s) who they may observe lurking in their neighbourhood.

Meanwhile, the Police also highlighted that they are continuing investigations in a number of murders that occurred during a period of time.

So far, there has been no arrest into the murder of Alicia McPherson, 17, who was fatally stabbed at B Field, Sophia, Greater Georgetown, on April 19 during a confrontation with her boyfriend. The suspect has since been on the run and the Police have issued a wanted bulletin for his arrest.

Also, there has been no arrest for the murder of Shawn Anys of Turkeyen, East Coast Demerara, who was shot and killed during an armed robbery at his home on May 1. Police had questioned several persons but they were subsequently released.

Shawn Anys

Shawn Anys

In addition, the Police are continuing their investigation into the murder of Sherwin Barrow, 19, of East Ruimveldt, Georgetown. He was shot and killed during an argument with two men at Warlock, East Ruimveldt on May 6. A man was arrested but later released after questioning.

Further, the Force added that investigations are ongoing with respect to the murder of Indian national Amendria Singh which occurred at his home at D’Aguiar Park, East Bank Demerara, on May 26. The suspect in this matter is hospitalised and under Police guard.

Finally, the Police stated that five men have been arrested and questioned for the murdered of Chandroutie Persaud of Mahaica, East Coast Demerara whose body was found in her home on May 23 with her mouth gagged and hands tied.

Share Button

Originally Posted by Freaky:
yuh brainless ignorant man, aunty Alena doan eat sardines
Yuh pass de bar yet

I busy peelin plantain early dis day

I juss peel aloos bai. I haven't graduated to peelin plaintains.

Yuh tink Aunty Alena is one of them fuss generation out of the canefields type a coolie? I suspect she is. I juss always enjoy listening to them talk. Fuss generation to wuk without a cutlass

a doan even tink she rale name is Alena, mussbee Pullmattie or Parbattie if a had tuh guess. She geh wan fancy Merican name fuh impress chaps like Rev and dem

Ah yes. One a dem lowlife coolies who come to leff Jagan Airport as Parbattie and land at JFK as Patty.

How did we overlook dis Coolie Nationalist whose nic is "Alena"

Staunch "pure" Indian I tell ya

Originally Posted by alena06:
yuh brainless ignorant man, aunty Alena doan eat sardines
Yuh pass de bar yet

I busy peelin plantain early dis day

Promised to ignore you too -  Freaky you are older than me and I know I look younger than you black skin friend.

Ow meh gaad. Wan uppa class white brahamin gyal call me "black skin"

How will I live now that somebody call me "black" the worst of all deh colors dem 

God, I really really like you gyal. You are incredibly funny.

Just an FYI....all my ahem ahem important parts are "Black" too