May 7 ,2021

Matters connected to race are the trickiest subjects in the country, and ill-considered remarks, whatever their intention, often have a way of boomeranging back to strike the person who uttered them. The latest politician to discover this is APNU+AFC Parliamentarian Amanza Walton-Desir, who during an appearance on the talk-show ‘Politics 101’ described the PPP/C “base” as being “mentally lazy”.

Unsurprisingly this categorisation produced a torrent of criticism from any number of people, including the PPP/C and the Indian Action Committee, the last named of which has referred her to the Ethnic Relations Commission. They have maintained that her comments were racist in nature, being directed at the Indo-Guyanese community, and that in the context of the nation’s politics there was no ambiguity about this.

The APNU Parliamentarian was not in retraction mode, asserting in a video statement that “Their propaganda machinery has been put into overdrive to paint me as a racist,” and that their interpretation of her words was a deliberate misinterpretation of what she had said in an attempt to vilify her. Turning the tables, she accused the governing party and its “surrogates” of being “content to continue the ruinous racist rhetoric that has plagued Guyana since her independence … and continues to arrest her development.”  She went on to say that “in their crazed frenzy to deliberately twist my words they have forced every Guyanese to ponder [whether] the PPP/C is suggesting that they consider only Indo-Guyanese to be their supporters.”

It is true Ms Walton-Desir did not say that ‘Indians’ or ‘Indian-Guyanese’ or ‘Indo-Guya-nese’ were “mentally lazy” when speaking on the talk-show. But she must be extraordinarily naïve if she thinks that by using the term ‘base’ instead, listeners will not believe she is resorting to a euphemism for the governing party’s Indian supporters. Writers and commentators routinely use the word as a substitute for the ethnic constituencies of both the major parties and this has been the practice for decades. That usage is founded on the simple fact that the core support for both APNU and the PPP has an overriding ethnic component.

There is plenty of material on the politics of this nation in the past which has alluded to the fact that Indians outnumber Africans. This left the PNC with little prospect of winning an election on its own, it was argued, unless it had recourse to fraud. And all elections between 1968 and 1985 were rigged. Since 1992 the political cognoscenti here had to do little more than look at the figures in the censuses to get some general idea of poll outcomes, and they hardly had need of the results of LAPOP surveys indicating that most Indians voted for the PPP and most Africans for the PNC, in one or another of its incarnations.

In addition, Ms Walton-Desir could hardly be surprised about how her remarks have been interpreted, considering the comments which preceded them. The PPP/C had a base, she said, “who prefer if they say this is going to happen – that these men are going to come and rape your daughters and kill your children − they believe that because the burden of sorting things out for themselves is too great … they remain trapped all the while believing they are free …”  ‘These men’ can only be a reference to PNC male supporters and by inference she is talking about African supporters, and not those of any other race. Given her subsequent accusations about the “ruinous racial rhetoric” of the governing party and its “surrogates”, the presumption has to be that she is saying it is the Indian constituents of that party to whom this abusive racial talk is addressed.

That said, it may not be a matter of huge consequence as to whether she was directing her remarks to a specific ethnic group or not. The reality is that both Indian and African numbers have declined significantly over the decades, and while African numbers were never sufficiently robust for them to win an election on their own account, for many years an Indian voter base alone has been insufficient to propel the PPP into office either. The number of Africans voting for that party is small, while the numbers of Portuguese, Chinese and Europeans are so negligible as to make no difference to either side, no matter which way they cast their ballot.

Mixed race voters are far more numerically substantial, but what the figures and their regional dispositions suggest is that they lend the majority of their votes to the PNCR/APNU, which has helped that party to achieve 42% in past elections. For its part nowadays Freedom House needs the Indigenous vote to win a national poll. It must be observed that the Indigenous electorate is not unified, and some segments vote for the current opposition, so one cannot think why Ms Walton-Desir would want to indicate that those who don’t are not thinking for themselves. After all, the art of politics is that of persuasion not denigration, and one cannot believe that the resident of a hinterland village will be induced to change his or her vote after what they have heard the Parliamentarian say.

This is not to suggest that the PPP/C has not been guilty of employing racial rhetoric in a disreputable way in the past, and Vice-President Bharrat Jagdeo’s record in this regard stands out. Most of those who are condemning Ms Walton-Desir now did not condemn him then, and he had more than one instance of such speech to his credit. This in no way justifies what the Shadow Foreign Secretary said; it is a form of stereotyping one ethnic group, if not two, and can only exacerbate our fractured race relations, more especially directed as it is at the ordinary elector and not the political actor.

Some of her views such as her statements about PNCR supporters having a greater appreciation for the democratic process may be a consequence of a distorted vision of recent electoral events. They could too have been a reference to the period when the WPA disturbed the contours of Burnham’s days, but the vast majority of Guyanese were not born in that era. In an interview with this newspaper last December, the Parliamentarian responded in answer to a question about how a professional like herself would seemingly support the attempts to rig the last elections, that anyone who had that opinion was “wilfully deceiving themselves… because the evidence of rigging, the evidence of malfeasance … has been laid bare. The incontrovertible fact is that… [with] regard to the valid votes, the winner is clear.” For someone of her accomplishments this conveys the undoubted impression that ‘wilful deceit’ does not lie with the innumerable witnesses to the attempted fraud, both foreign and local, but closer to home.

While one would hope that racial tensions at the community level, caused as they frequently are by practical disputes, would be addressed by a given community without the interference of politicians, it has to be acknowledged that at the most fundamental level politics and the struggle for power are at the root of most of our problems related to race relations. Solving our political dilemma is not going to be done quickly, and if progress is to be made it will probably have to be tackled piecemeal. In the meantime, one wants some sort of equilibrium so that we can maintain the kind of environment necessary for a measure of meaningful discussion to take place on how we should proceed.

That environment will not be possible if politicians do not refrain from disparaging or offensive language. Many of them on both sides have been guilty of this over the years, not just the PPP as Ms Walton-Desir has claimed.  However, at the present time the governing party has changed the nature of the political game since it seeks to woo away the PNC constituency with the various inducements which it presumes will be made possible by oil revenues. As it is, therefore, there is none of the Vice President’s infamous innuendos and offensive talk; instead we have President Irfaan Ali on May 5th trilling again about “unity”. However, he is still refusing to meet with the opposition, even when that is constitutionally required, thereby stymieing any hope of progress in terms of our political – and by extension ethnic − relations with each other.

What is particularly unacceptable in our current situation is Haji Roshan Khan’s response to Ms Walton-Desir’s comments, where on posts on his Facebook page he said that “Indo-Guyanese” should target her, and that she should be marked. It is one thing to refer someone to the ERC, but it is quite another in our unstable context to express oneself in a way that amounts to possible incitement to violence. She has rightly filed a criminal complaint against him.

And as for Ms Walton-Desir herself, if her grasp of politics is tenuous, her qualifications in the field of maritime law are impressive. The opposition needs someone who can help them develop ideas to place in the public arena in these hydrocarbon times, and who has the capacity to hold the government accountable in this field. What they do not need (and neither does the country) is any more racially insensitive or offensive utterances. In the end, the politicians need to talk to one another across the divide, not debase each other or their constituents. In addition, as a Shadow Foreign Affairs Minister, the acquisition of a little diplomatic speech by Ms Walton-Desir would not come amiss.

Amanza Walton-Desir was right and SN,KN, the PPP et al. could pontificate all they like but she should stick to her line--the base of the PPP is mentally lazy.  Or, as I have said, coolie people prapa chupid.  They vote for Jagdeo and his cronies who live like kings while they continue to live in abject poverty.  If that isn't stupid then what is? 

@Django posted:

Source is for confirmation.

I don't understand! Perhaps because I'm chupid, as chupid as Tota, the one-word genius of insulting! No mental gymnastics required! Oblige my chupidity, please! Venture where wise men fear to tread!

@Totaram posted:

Amanza Walton-Desir was right and SN,KN, the PPP et al. could pontificate all they like but she should stick to her line--the base of the PPP is mentally lazy.  Or, as I have said, coolie people prapa chupid.  They vote for Jagdeo and his cronies who live like kings while they continue to live in abject poverty.  If that isn't stupid then what is?

Tota the chupid 'coolie'!

The poor are always with us!

We all can't live like kings!

But we all can live poor!

No one owes you a living but yourself! Living is a job! Get used to that! Or die and go back to heaven where you no longer have to work to support a body, whether by hook or by crook!

I don't understand! Perhaps because I'm chupid, as chupid as Tota, the one-word genius of insulting! No mental gymnastics required! Oblige my chupidity, please! Venture where wise men fear to tread!

If you put de cursor on source an press you gyne see de source.  No mental gymnastics required.  Oh the mentally lazy!

Tota the chupid 'coolie'!

The poor are always with us!

We all can't live like kings!

But we all can live poor!

No one owes you a living but yourself! Living is a job! Get used to that!

What part of what I wrote don't you understand?  Are you trying to say that dem chupidee coolie right for vote fe people who keep dem poor and chupid?

@Totaram posted:

If you put de cursor on source an press you gyne see de source.  No mental gymnastics required.  Oh the mentally lazy!

No! I'm not! Jus iggerunt, yuh chupid 'coolie'! But tanks, ennyway!

Me thinks jango beleef ah wuz puhprayin sum kine uh trap fuh e! Pore jango!! E Doan trust ennybaddy! E rite, yuh kno!

@Totaram posted:

What part of what I wrote don't you understand?  Are you trying to say that dem chupidee coolie right for vote fe people who keep dem poor and chupid?

Are PNC' supporters any better?

@Django posted:

Source is for confirmation.

I thank the chupid 'coolie', not you, for the enlightenment! And to think I wanted to praise you for your writing! Surely you can do as well, if not better! See? I still hold on to hoping!

No! I'm not! Jus iggerunt, yuh chupid 'coolie'! But tanks, ennyway!

Me thinks jango beleef ah wuz puhprayin sum kine uh trap fuh e! Pore jango!! E Doan trust ennybaddy! E rite, yuh kno!

From young age ,I inquired for answers was very inquisitive ,some elders observed and will have conversations with me. It's not trust ,if somethings are told ,i would verify if it's true by seeking  my self . I am always in a learning mode ,like challenges ,keeps the noodle ticking.

@Totaram posted:

I hold no brief for the PNC but the answer is "yes".  They have stayed closer to their socialist roots than the PPP.

Especially when they March and protest the decisions of the learned ACJ, huh? With a bit of looting and law-breaking thrown in for impressing and/or intimidating others! After all, they were instructed by 'wiser' heads who, probably, orchestrated the murder of the Henry cousins!  For civil disorder, of course! Pardon me, please, and if you will, but, though I can forgive the ignorance of not knowing we never die, I can NEVER forget those poor, terrified children! Their own people, dammit! And FK you! Forgive me, please, jango! I'm really pissed!

@Totaram posted:

I hold no brief for the PNC but the answer is "yes".  They have stayed closer to their socialist roots than the PPP.

Tota ,I don't like full blown Socialism ,preferred when it's combined with Capitalism.

Especially when they March and protest the decisions of the learned ACJ, huh? With a bit of looting and law-breaking thrown in for impressing and/or intimidating others! After all, they were instructed by 'wiser' heads who, probably, orchestrated the murder of the Henry cousins!  For civil disorder, of course! Pardon me, please, and if you will, but, though I can forgive the ignorance of not knowing we never die, I can NEVER forget those poor, terrified children! Their own people, dammit! And FK you!

Forgive me, please, jango! I'm really pissed!

Why you pissed about ? the country of our birth need solutions ,how many years will it follow the same path ,AWD concept may be an opening for more discussions. It's a fact the country is divided ,the young ones need to make the changes. When Bharat Jagdeo was appointed the head of the country thru the back door ,my thoughts was this guy will bring the people together ,fully supported him ,turns out to be the other way ,i think he listened to a set of wrong people. The country is on a verge of prosperity ,planted himself to run things as if he is entitled to run the country for life. Time will tell ,i may be around.

Janglings, I must presume you haven't read or disagree with my suggestion for a compulsive national savings scheme for ALL workers! It seems that the Kant, from his lack of oh-so-ready response, has run to Jagdeo with this idea for bringing everyone together for the good of all, perhaps, claiming it as his own! I don't mind! His incompetency and mediocrity will expose him later, I'm sure!

@Django posted:

Why you pissed about ? the country of our birth need solutions ,how many years will it follow the same path ,AWD concept may be an opening for more discussions. It's a fact the country is divided ,the young ones need to make the changes. When Bharat Jagdeo was appointed the head of the country thru the back door ,my thoughts was this guy will bring the people together ,fully supported him ,turns out to be the other way ,i think he listened to a set of wrong people. The country is on a verge of prosperity ,planted himself to run things as if he is entitled to run the country for life. Time will tell ,i may be around.

I'm still pissed about the murder of those children! All of them, but the Henry children more, because of the horror of their murders!

I read all of it-calmness of Sunday mornings gives me the patience to read each word and not speed read portions of it.

What is written is as old as seven decades. Nothing earth shattering to change the hearts and minds of this generation of Guyanese. Their fathers of the fifties only had an alliance of ideas to dispense of the British.

It was a fragile one.

Race and racism would emerge in verbal outpourings from both sides. One side, brandishing the backwardness of the other, for not being eurocentric enough and the practices of a heathenistic culture. The response, a lazy people whose dwellings reflect their expectations of life. This was all said in the fifties. This notion is still harboured by some Indians. A visit to Backdam will show a series of photographs of the Negro place of living and some of the structures built by the PNC. Dilapidated

It is a vicious circle with no respect for citizens. Citizenship is a belonging to a common purpose to flag and anthem.

Our people are mentally lazy, back then and even today. AWD is not wrong.

My suggestion to AWD, is that she gets hold of the Ryhaan Shah letter and read it, carefully. Words would seldom move people but actions will. 

We need to have pride in our country-clean up the spaces, it will do us alot of good.