SChooling the DUNCES in the PNC and 2 CLUELESS HOUSE SLAVES

PPP ready to legally challenge new contract for Specialty Hospital

December 2, 2015 12:23 pm Category: latest news A+ / A-

By Fareeza Haniff

Former Attorney General, Anil Nandlall and PPP Parliamentarian, Gail Teixeira. [iNews' Photo]

Former Attorney General, Anil Nandlall and PPP Parliamentarian, Gail Teixeira. [iNews’ Photo]

[www.inewsguyana.com] – Former Attorney General, Anil Nandlall says that the Opposition People’s Progressive Party (PPP) is ready to mount a legal challenge over government’s decision to award the Specialty Hospital contract to Fedders Lloyd.

During a press conference at Freedom House on Wednesday, December 02, 2015, Nandlall said it is no secret that the Company shares a “close relationship” with Vice President, Khemraj Ramjattan.

According to Nandlall, the Procurement Act mandates that the contract for the hospital be retendered, since there is no provision in the act that allows the government to give a contract to the second bidder.

“The company has a close relationship, apparent or real, with Vice President, Khemraj Ramjattan…It is not about the company, it is about the process; it must be transparent, it must be accountable and it must conform to the Procurement Act,” Nandlall said.

He further noted that “If the government insists in proceeding with the project in the manner they have signaled, we reserve the right to challenge the process legally and to bring an abrupt halt to it; the rule of law must prevail.”

Meanwhile, the Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) signed between the government and the Company does not give them the authority to begin work on the hospital, Nandlall said.

“I don’t think that the Indian Exim Bank will release money based upon a Memorandum of Understanding.”

The PPP remains resolute in its position that the manner in which government wants to proceed with this project is “corrupt, wrong and unlawful to handpick Fedders Lloyd.”

sticky fingers patriot.

HIs COnstitutional Actions are NOT ONLY teaching the DUNCES but also saving the Taxpayers money.

when he was minister i could have help him save the tax payers money i will happy breed his wife for free

December 1, 2015 | By | Filed Under Letters 

Dear Editor,
With regards to the selection of a firm for the construction of the (Indian financed) Specialty Hospital (KN Nov 30), all indications are that Fedders Lloyd (was) is a far more competent and experienced company than Surendra Engineering to take the construction of the building to its logical end. It should be awarded the contract if all things are right about the project and there is no corruption. A re-tendering may very well result in Fedders be awarding the contract.

Fedders Lloyd may have bid slightly higher (tender amount in dispute) than Surendra to construct the hospital. But Surendra appears “unqualified” to carry out the huge task. It never constructed or outfitted a hospital; its specialty is “sugar” and even in this area questions were raised about its construction of the packaging facility.  Lloyd claims it has done several hospital projects worldwide. Lloyd is a multi-national company operating in several countries whereas Surendra is not. Fedders’ professionalism is not being questioned whereas Surendra’s was. Surendra’s contract was terminated for failure to carry out the required work and the country lost money.

Fedders should have been given the contract from the outset. Since it was the only other credible company, aside from Surendra, it is only logical that Fedders be given the contract to complete the contract.  The issue the country may face is that it will probably require a lot more than the remaining contract amount (of US $18M) to finish the hospital. Government will have to pay it or seek an increase in the loan from India.

It is hoped that corruption has played no role in awarding the contract to Fedders. The opposition complains that Minister Khemraj Ramjattan was the lawyer for Fedders when it placed its bid for the contract in 2013. The opposition believes that this association led to Fedders being given the contract. This is coincidental. Ramjattan has resigned as lawyer for the company.   Nevertheless, every effort must be made to avoid a conflict of interest – lawyers on record for the government and for Fedders should not have close ties to Ramjattan or the AFC-APNU coalition. Every act must be above board.
Vishnu Bisram

HEHEHE  Mits, I see yuh employ Attorney Vishnu Bisram  Laad Ah Mercy Bhagwan give me faith.

Bhai VB support Fedders Lloyd,the company seems to be

reputable,wondering if India had some influence in choosing

this company.

HEHEHE  Mits, I see yuh employ Attorney Vishnu Bisram  Laad Ah Mercy Bhagwan give me faith.

this company.

I think India is underwriting the loan and three other hospitals are to be recepients of their generosity.

this company.

I think India is underwriting the loan and three other hospitals are to be recepients of their generosity.

EXIM BANK OF INDIA providing the loan.

Nandall said

“I don’t think that the Indian Exim Bank will release money based upon a Memorandum of Understanding.”

A patriot who steals the taxpayers' money to buy sperm because his limp noodle is shooting blanks. 

He didn't think there was anything wrong since he returned the money after he was busted. 

Where is Jalil when you need to him to tell us about his mother in law and her coke in the poke?

this company.

A PPP soup licker supports an APNU/AFC decision.

PPP rats fleeing the sinking ship.  Jagdeo must have called him up and screamed that he is a muddask......

this company.

A loan in got "generosity". I welcome the hospital but it should be transparent.

A patriot who steals the taxpayers' money to buy sperm because his limp noodle is shooting blanks

How do you know this, did you try to get him to shoot you in the mouth?  Maybe he just not into your type?

baseman posted:

A patriot who steals the taxpayers' money to buy sperm because his limp noodle is shooting blanks

How do you know this, did you try to get him to shoot you in the mouth?  Maybe he just not into your type?

yuh mudduh told us. She just can't seem to keep her mouth shut.