Jagdep spreads fear at Albion Rally to win back Berbice

April 20, 2015 | By | Filed Under News 

By Leon Susaran

“When they link up with the Military and come into your homes and start kicking the doors down and when they come after you, who is going to be there…?”
-Bharrat Jagdeo

PPP frontman in the election campaign, Bharrat Jagdeo told yesterday’s Albion rally of the ruling People’s Progressive Party that the opposition alliance with former military personnel is something to be feared.
“When they link up with the Military and come into your homes and start kicking the doors down and when  they come after you, who is going to be there…?” he questioned.
He said that APNU has its entire Executive being dominated by ex-army ranks and officers. “There can be no professionalism as was done in the past.”  He said Berbicians should feel fearful about that thought.
The presence of the former military people who have pledged their support to leader of the opposition coalition is being used to scare voters, APNU retorted.

A section of the Albion crowd

One opposition leader said that people are not fools. If the former military people or today’s soldiers were to kick in people’s doors there is nothing to stop them from doing that today.
Instead, the army had been going after the criminals who have tormented the nation.
He said that Jagdeo is going to be reported to the commission and there is the possibility of criminal charges being laid against him for incitement and for creating tension.
Thousands converged at Albion Estate Road, Corentyne yesterday afternoon for a Grand Rally of the ruling People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C). Much of those who attended were brought into the Ancient County, while others were trucked from far- away places such as Skeldon, East Bank Berbice and West Coast Berbice.
All of the speakers stressed how important it was for the PPP/C to regain the majority of votes in Berbice and pleaded with the electorate to give them back that majority taken by the Alliance For Change (AFC) during the last elections.
That situation in Berbice led Dr. Veerasammy Ramayya of the AFC to win a seat for Berbice in Parliament, leaving the PPP with just two seats from Berbice.

Trucking? Several supporters were reportedly trucked from far and near to attend yesterday’s Albion rally

Motorcades departed Crabwood Creek, East Canje and East and West Berbice in the afternoon hours as supporters waving the party flags and dressed in the party t- shirts, traveled through to Albion.
As usual, the main political figures of the combined Opposition parties, David Granger and Moses Nagamootoo came in for a good tongue lashing.
Minister of Home Affairs, Clement Rohee during his address, surveying the crowd, said that he had a feeling that Guyana has returned to the 1992 era when the PPP was elected to office, while the crowds roared.
“This was the energy that existed in 1992…in 1997 and in 2001, from thereon to ensure that this juggernaut called the PPP can never be stopped!”
He said the PPP is a party of tremendous influence, “and has always stood on the side of the working class people of this country.”
He also told the gathering that the party has always stood by the side of working people especially women and the youths. “That is precisely why the people have always showed us confidence in every election!”
Rohee said that the PPP learnt its lesson after the 2011 elections when it lost the Parliamentary majority, “that we must never be complacent—we must never, ever take anything for granted.”
He said the past three years have been a “bitter experience” and that the party has learnt from the experience of 2011, “and the people—the workers, the farmers supporting the PPP have followed this party over the three years and they have seen and learnt their lessons.”
He cautioned the party faithful of possible opposition plans to not accept the election results and warned supporters to be vigilant. Those plans he said would not succeed. “Already, they are talking about a revolution and calling on their supporters to continue to do certain things, comrades!”
Rohee said that the PPP is prepared for any eventuality, “and we want to warn them not to invade any polling station or to hijack any ballot boxes because we will resist!”
He said that the PPP will not allow votes to be stolen or padded ballot boxes. Should that happen, Rohee said that “big trouble is ahead for them.”
Rohee said that the PPP won approximately 32,000 votes in Berbice in 2011 while the opposition won approximately 22,000 votes. “We have to win back a number of votes on different fronts,” he stressed. Firstly, he said, the party has to maintain the 32,000 votes they won and next, they have to win back the 9,000 votes they lost, “and thirdly we have to win over the 13,000 new votes that have been added to the (Official) List.
The job the party has to do in Berbice to achieve this, he added, is “monumental” to win 54,000 votes or more.
While the opposition is campaigning on ‘change’, Rohee told the crowds that people do not “change clean clothes for dutty clothes!” Change, he claimed, has been ongoing in the country, while he poked fun at the so- called marriage of the AFC and APNU by asking whether Granger or Nagamootoo would be on top (on the bed), as the crowds laughed and laughed.
Bharrat Jagdeo lambasted Granger and Nagamootoo. Granger, he claimed, has denied that elections were ever rigged in Guyana, while Nagamootoo who sits on the same platform, “embraces this man and looks into his eyes with love….”
He accused Nagamootoo of betraying the women and mothers and struggles of many whom he claimed went through Opposition violence.
“Granger rigged his own elections in the PNC twice! His own members complained about it! They (are) going around today bullying businessmen, telling them that if they don’t give them money for their campaign, we will deal with you in the future.”
Then he went to Nagamootoo, whom he described as a megalomaniac, who loves to talk about himself. “Sixty per cent of his speech at Whim was about him—how nice he is; how loving he is…how nice marriage he has with Granger—silly, silly, silly!!”
He urged Berbicians to go to every home in their villages, “and you must become the shock groups of the PPP—you must be more hyped up than Freedom House, because they are already questioning the (Official) List (of Electors)—we are glad that President (Jimmy) Carter is here…..because we have nothing to fear…we don’t rig elections.” He said that if the (PPP) victory is decisive, the Opposition will have to, “go into their corners and accept the results.”
Other speakers at the rally yesterday included President Donald Ramotar; Prime Ministerial Candidate, Mrs. Elisabeth Harper; and Prime Minister Samuel Hinds. The rally was chaired by PPP/C Executive Secretary, Mr. Zulfikar Mustapha.

“When they link up with the Military and come into your homes and start kicking the doors down and when they come after you, who is going to be there…?”

-Bharrat Jagdeo

Hey hey hey...Jagdeo tekkin he advice from Ravi Dev/Vassan aka Rev. Hey hey hey...

RE: “When they link up with the Military and come into your homes and start kicking the doors down and when they come after you, who is going to be there…?”
-Bharrat Jagdeo

Someone shoulda shouted, "Yo Mudda"

Is it fear-mongering? Yes!

Is it cheap? Yes!

Is it based on historical facts of PNC behavior? Yes!

Is it based on historical facts under[of]PNC rule[behavior]? Yes!

Shait's i will agree with the modified statement.

Originally Posted by Django:

Is it cheap? Yes!

Why you are ashamed of FACTS??/

Is it cheap? Yes!

what the hell does that even mean . . . in context?

Is it cheap? Yes!

Where in Berbice did the Military routinely break down doors?

Is it cheap? Yes!

No Sir,i lived thru that period and well aware what

took place,i am not the type who run and hide

under their bed when intimidated.

Is it cheap? Yes!

Those are straight up lies. These are Issues Mara could have addressed were he around. Erroll does not post anymore but he can if he cared attest that this never happened. Police then and now were always rude and crude but even they did not routinely break into houses.

Is it cheap? Yes!

you is a stupid collie man with no pride 

Is it cheap? Yes!

Collecting Canadian Welfare is having Pride????

Is it cheap? Yes!

bull shit when hoyte take over power he hang 13 people in 1 month and stop the kick down the door bandits.there is more crime today than in the pnc days

Is it cheap? Yes!

Ex-military, ex-police, and even serving police used to routinely moonlight as kick-down-the-door bandits in Berbice. Hell, "kick-down-the door" is a military tactic.

Look dude, I don't wanna get into some meandering historical discussion on this.

The fact that ya'll are now in the uncomfortable and unenviable position of denying history means that ya'll haven't grasped the situation fully nor do you know how to properly respond.

Is it cheap? Yes!

bull shit when hoyte take over power he hang 13 people in 1 month and stop the kick down the door bandits.there is more crime today than in the pnc days

Ah yes the great god Desmond Hoyte. The man responsible for reversing the beat/kill nuff coolie policies of the PNC and the starve the nation policies of the PNC.

Thank God a PNC President was there to undo some of the damage of his predecessor PNC President.

Is it cheap? Yes!

Just an FYI, every Canadian family is on some sort of state welfare. Even Yuji there is sending his daughter to school for free. That's a form of state welfare.

Is it cheap? Yes!

Ah yes the great god Desmond Hoyte. The man responsible for reversing the beat/kill nuff coolie policies of the PNC and the starve the nation policies of the PNC.

Thank God a PNC President was there to undo some of the damage of his predecessor PNC President.

no evil last for ever,good always over come evil

Is it cheap? Yes!

Just an FYI, every Canadian family is on some sort of state welfare. Even Yuji there is sending his daughter to school for free. That's a form of state welfare.

Thanks for the Info.

Is it cheap? Yes!

Ex-military, ex-police, and even serving police used to routinely moonlight as kick-down-the-door bandits in Berbice. Hell, "kick-down-the door" is a military tactic.

Look dude, I don't wanna get into some meandering historical discussion on this.

The fact that ya'll are now in the uncomfortable and unenviable position of denying history means that ya'll haven't grasped the situation fully nor do you know how to properly respond.

I thought Jagdeo said it was military people clearly as military people doing t his. I do know there were kick down the door bandits but it was always thought to be crooked cops not military people.

And these things do happen presently. The nation is overwhelmed by gun violence and violence of all sorts. This is definitely a consequence of lax policing as usual. 

In any event, burnham did not send people to kick down doors and rob them no less that the PPP presently sends the murderers out to murder people. Selling that lie on the campaign is racism pure and simple.

Is it cheap? Yes!

I thought Jagdeo said it was military people clearly as military people doing t his. I do know there were kick down the door bandits but it was always thought to be crooked cops not military people.

And these things do happen presently. The nation is overwhelmed by gun violence and violence of all sorts. This is definitely a consequence of lax policing as usual. 

In any event, burnham did not send people to kick down doors and rob them no less that the PPP presently sends the murderers out to murder people. Selling that lie on the campaign is racism pure and simple.

Then there is quite a lot you dont know.

Is it cheap? Yes!

What do you prefer. Military rule within the context of a democracy.

Or the paramilitary rule which we now have in Guyana where any one can hire a thug to go kill some one and be immune from any punishment?  This is what we have in Guyana today.  Threatening phone calls with even the Attorney General making threats of violence.  Has he been punished? NO!!!

So quit pretending as if life is not subject to the whims of very powerful people in today's PPP. Look at Sat sawh, PPP minister killed.  Jagdeo screamed that he knew who ordered the hit, and yet to date no one was punished for doing so.  His family believes that it was Roger Khan behind the hit.

Is it cheap? Yes!

watch it

Are you suggesting that this isnt a regular occurrence in 2015?  I hope not. Some of the most ruthless criminals in Guyana are former police and soldiers.  And there is evidence that his is done with the connivance of the police.

What does Rohee do?  NOTHING< because he and his cronies are protected by paramilitias, some of whom include the SAME folks who kick down doors when they are freelancing on their own.

This is the PPP Guyana!

Is it cheap? Yes!

You are quite wrong on that account. I have relatives who served in the GDF contemporaneously with this kick-down-the-door banditry and they attest to the fact that the GDF provided well trained bandits to the trade.

There are valid reasons for Indos to be fearful of a one sided army and police force.

As for Burnham personally, I don't think he was personally doing anything of the sort but he is ultimately responsible as his policies and sometimes speeches of incitement led to this.

Is it cheap? Yes!

Those are straight up lies. These are Issues Mara could have addressed were he around. Erroll does not post anymore but he can if he cared attest that this never happened. Police then and now were always rude and crude but even they did not routinely break into houses.

There were incidents of kick down the door robbery,

sporadically happening fingers were pointing to some

rouge police and military individuals teaming up with bandits.

Is it cheap? Yes!

Shaitaan knows nothing . . . he learned Guyana 'history' sitting in the lap of his Hindutva godfather Ravi Dev

and the rest is "history" . . . no?

There are valid reasons for Indos to be fearful of a one sided army and police force.

There is evidence that there is a PRESENT day connectionh between criminals and the police and GDF.  So why the pretense as if all is well and it will get worse under APNU AFC.

I some how suspect that Granger will be like Hoyte, and will be quite ruthless towards those people.  It appears to me that if Indians wish safety from criminals then they need to vote for the former GDF officer who will know how to deal with them.  Having campaigned on the basis of reducing crime, and maybe wanting a second term Granger isnt going to want to preside over a crime ridden Guyana.

Shaitaan knows nothing . . . he learned Guyana 'history' sitting in the lap of his Hindutva godfather Ravi Dev

Redux there is evidence that there was a connection between the criminals and the police during the 80s.  I heard of a situation where some one had a home invasion, and when he want to the police station to report it (usual story that they had no cars) he saw one of the bandits there talking to a cop.

Now did this happen on Burnham's orders?  No.  But let us not pretend as if it didnt happen.

The reality is that it is still happening TODAY. Hoyte stopped it and it began again under Jagdeo with his use of paramilitias, many having connections to the armed forces.

The notion that people will vote PPP out of fear of crime is a sick joke, given that there are more gun crimes and more brazen attacks now that at any time in Guyana's history.  When under PNC were teachers robbed IN FRONT OF THEIR STUDENTS?

THAT is the sickness that PPP apologists will need to answer.

There is evidence that there is a PRESENT day connectionh between criminals and the police and GDF.  So why the pretense as if all is well and it will get worse under APNU AFC.

I some how suspect that Granger will be like Hoyte, and will be quite ruthless towards those people.  It appears to me that if Indians wish safety from criminals then they need to vote for the former GDF officer who will know how to deal with them.  Having campaigned on the basis of reducing crime, and maybe wanting a second term Granger isnt going to want to preside over a crime ridden Guyana.

well said.

Redux there is evidence that there was a conection between the criminals and the police.  I heard of a situation where some one had a home invasion, and when he want to the police station to report it (usual story that they had no cars) he saw one of the bandits there talking to a cop.

Now did this happen on Burnham's orders?  No.  But let us not pretend as if it didnt happen.

The reality is that it is still happening TODAY. Hoyte stopped it and it began again under Jagdeo with his use of paramilitias, many having connections to the armed forces.

I don't know why we have to deny history. Now that you've acknowledged what everyone already knows, we can just move on.

Telling Indos about how PNC rule was just fantastic just causes people to tune out the rest of the message.

I suggest the Coalition find better responses than denial.

Is it cheap? Yes!

You are quite wrong on that account. I have relatives who served in the GDF contemporaneously with this kick-down-the-door banditry and they attest to the fact that the GDF provided well trained bandits to the trade.

As for Burnham personally, I don't think he was personally doing anything of the sort but he is ultimately responsible as his policies and sometimes speeches of incitement led to this.

I lived through some of the Burnham's period and I spent almost every summer and Christmas in Guyana from '76 to '86 and never heard of military people kicking down doors. Crime was rampant yes but there was no organized political shake down doing on orchestrated by the military and that is what Jagdeo is fear mongering about. If you believe it was military people doing it then be clear it was not Burnham sending them in because that is what Jagdeo is claiming. I would also like to hear which speech burnham give that sent people out to kick down doors.

Do not get me wrong. I think Burnham was vile but lets not pile on. Jagdeo should be the last one speaking since under his watch we had a drug lord murdering people. The people on the east coast could rightly say that the PPP kicked down their doors and on occasion murdered their kids. I remember they even split the tongue of a kid because he would not give them answers they want.

The point here is Jagdeo was deliberately race baiting and fortifying the narrative that the APNU represent not only the past burnham regime but they were a military organization who will curtail freedom and perpetuate anti Indian brutality. That is patently vile

Shaitaan, you were a little boy under Burnham's rule.  At NO POINT during the 70s did he incite against Indians.  He had NO respect for the PPP and considered Cheddi to be his little poodle, and Janet was still pining for his manliness. 

Burnham incited against the BLACK/mixed  upper middle class when they began to react against his leftward drift and his growing replacement of professional managers/administrators with semi literate partyy hacks.

He incited against those blacks who went to Rodney's rallies.

He incited against any Afro Guyanese bold enough to think that he owed Burnham nothing and had nothing to be grateful to him for.

As far as Burnham was concerned Indians were like serfs.  Too far down the food chain for him to care about. He bought out trhe bright PPP Indians, and ignored the others.  When he visited Guyanese in NYC and London he had great fun with Indian protestors.  Made sarcastic remarks and dismissed them.    This is why rev, yuji and the others are so racist today, because of how powerless and no consequence Burnham made them feel under his regime.

Burnham saw as a threat the growing antipathy towards him from WITHIN the Afro Guyanese community. The WPA, Buxton, Linden, and that segment of the black/mixed upper middle class he didnt cow tow to his soup.  Indians in 1978 were no more a threat to him than are Amerindians are to any political party in Guyana today.

Redux there is evidence that there was a conection between the criminals and the police.  I heard of a situation where some one had a home invasion, and when he want to the police station to report it (usual story that they had no cars) he saw one of the bandits there talking to a cop.

I don't know why we have to deny history. Now that you've acknowledged what everyone already knows, we can just move on.

Telling Indos about how PNC rule was just fantastic just causes people to tune out the rest of the message.

The coalition should call it what it is...a false narraive formulated by a crook to divert from his horrible thieving regime and the legacy of it in Ramotar.

It is scaremongering. It is filling the ready fear of Indians for black people. It is meeting their need for the idea that they are the superior race and black people will simply mess things up.

It is fomenting the denial that the PPP is horrible and building a case that though their lives are miserable the normal Indian is better alive in the reflected glow of success of an Indian elite.

It is bamboozling poor people plain and simple so the PPP friends and family can consolidate their wealth accumulation through a pillaging of the state.

Excerpt from a Burnham speech (delivered either at Kitty or Linden, I doan recall) to Black crowd as recalled by my DEMBA employed and PNC friendly maternal grandfather:

Burnham: Comrades, who mines the gold?

Crowd: WE DO!

Burnham: And who wears the gold?

Crowd: They do!

Burnham: So comrades......................

That's incitement Burnham style. My grandfather does not have a chip on his shoulder about the PNC or Black people.

Where did I say that life was fine fr Indians under Burnham.  He treated them like scum.  Too degraded and lacking in power and lacking any leadership to be a threat to him.  He laughed at Cheddi and even made jokes about Janet needing to find a proper man....this maybe where  the rumors that Janet and Burnham were periodic lovers came from.

Burnham used to be amused by the antics of the PPP, and felt EMPOWERED when silly Jagan congratulated him for nationalizing the economy and therefore increasing his ability to reduce Guyana to his ultimate control.  I am sure he laughed at said what a stupid man Cheddi was as Burnham killed off the old Portuguese business class, and it is only the collapse of the economy in the 80s, when the state could no longer function, that allowed an Indian business class emerge in the late 80s.

Excerpt from a Burnham speech (delivered either at Kitty or Linden, I doan recall) to Black crowd as recalled by my DEMBA employed and PNC friendly maternal grandfather:

That's incitement Burnham style. My grandfather does not have a chip on his shoulder about the PNC or Black people.

I remember that well.  He told them to go get their gold back.

I do not trust snippet of  speeches without context. Who knows what he meant? Is he saying that the transfer of wealth was a matter of the audience not being good business people or that they do not recognize wealth building via the intrinsic value in jewelry? I do not know.....

HEHEHEHE If dis nah Laff Story, nothing can be.

Are you so friggin dishonest or dense that you think such a speech to a mob was anything but an incitement against Indian people who enjoy the display of gold on their persons. Gold most likely mined by Black miners.

My grandfather who was there was kind of appalled. The mob present got the anti-Indian message and only learned about how unfair it was that they mined the gold while dem coolie people ah wear an own am. Apparently, those Indos get free gold and don't pay for it. We just rob Black miners for our gold.