Move No-Confidence Motion against Ramjattan

Public Security Minister Khemraj Ramjattan

… political analyst urges PPP

The People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) is being called upon to use its position in the National Assembly to declare “no confidence” in Public Security Minister Khemraj Ramjattan and have him replaced by a more capable minister in the crucial area of national security.

The call was made by Associate Professor of Political Science at Nassau Community College, Dr Baytoram Ramharack, in his latest column in the Guyana Times. The New York University trained political scientist was involved in Guyanese politics for several decades and was one of the founding members of the Jaguar Committee for Democracy and the ROAR political party.

Dr Ramharack said the crime situation in Guyana, particularly in Berbice, has risen to unacceptable heights and believed that a change in management of the security sector may see a change for the better. Dr Ramharack hails from Berbice.

Using the statistics provided recently by the Guyana Police Force, Dr Ramharack showed a 10 per cent increase in criminal activities by the end of July compared to the same period last year. Murders, he said, increased from 80 to almost 100 within a year.

“It’s reported that 35 murders were committed in Georgetown/East Bank Demerara (A Division), 17 in East Coast Demerara (C Division)and 16 in Berbice(B Division), 12 in the Interior(F Division), and four each in West Bank Demerara/East Bank Essequibo(D Division) and Linden/Kwakwani(E Division), while six were recorded in Essequibo Coast/Islands(G Division). Given our geographical population distribution, these figures indicate that murder is a national problem that occurs throughout Guyana,” Dr Ramharack said.

According to him, there has also been an increase of 68 per cent in the number of rape cases, with 243 cases being reported at the end of July compared to 145 for the same period last year. This, he said, did not speak well for the Minister, or Government for that matter.

Fourth highest

murder rate in Hemisphere

Dr Ramharack said that while some believed that it may be too soon to critique the Government in this regard, having only being in office for just over three months, there was one inescapable conclusion: the coalition has failed Guyanese in the area of security and crime control.

According to him, the United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime lists Guyana’s homicide rate at about 17 per 100,000 people, the fourth highest murder rate in the South Hemisphere, three times higher than that of the United States.

“While wanton crime and murder rates are a symptom of the moral decay of society, no single issue is more germane to our physical existence and survival. Crime alters our behaviour, it creates a psychological fear in our minds, and it keeps away tourists and investors who are desperately needed to wax our international image and boost our flailing economy. The violent crime wave has taken a deadly toll as fear keeps Guyanese behind bolted doors. Guyanese abroad are unwilling to visit their loved ones at home. And even the US State Department Bureau of Diplomatic Security has issued clear warnings on its website about “what to do” to citizens travelling to Guyana,” Dr Ramharack said in a statement.

He said criminal behaviour dates back to “choke and rob” crimes during the Forbes Burnham era and “kick-down-the-door” banditry under Desmond Hoyte.

“The crime wave took on a more ominous nature with the rise of the drug trade, an increasingly corrupt Police Force, coupled with the rise of “death squads” that can be linked to the Mash Day 2002 jailbreak during the PPP regime. Criminal acts became more bestial and brutal,” he noted.

Even with this, Dr Ramharack said, one of President David Granger’s first executive acts following his election, without any assessment of its impact on society, was to release 60 criminals from prison.

“One can ask what message Granger was sending based on this ill-conceived action in a society already riddled with crime.”

This move by President Granger had been widely criticised in Guyana and the jury is still out as to what would be the outcome of such an action on Guyana’s crime rate.

Crime prevention plan

Added to that, Dr Ramharack said, there is no lack of suggestions from various interest groups in Guyana as to what a comprehensive crime prevention plan may constitute.

“This Government had promised to keep crime under control if elected to office, as every “Tom, Dick and Harmon” will tell you in Guyana. Minister of Public Security Khemraj Ramjattan’s latest announcement was to promote a gun amnesty, whereby criminals with illegal guns are financially compensated in exchange for turning in their weapons. Whether criminals would want to surrender their weapons remains to be seen. We hear of a SWAT team recently sent to Berbice, but, according to Berbicians, it’s nowhere in sight. And President Granger has indicated that army personnel will not engage in crime prevention patrols with the Police,” he said

The professor said Guyana represented a sounding board for criminologists interested in studies on the root causes of criminal behaviour, while sociologists argue that criminal behaviour was generally associated with people coming from broken homes, a bad gene pool, delinquency or drug use.

“Be that as it may, there is one inescapable fact that is being avoided in the public domain when it comes to a discussion on crime and punishment. There is no question that the majority of victims of the current violent crime wave are Indians. Indians are stereotypically perceived as hoarders of wealth and are less likely to put up a resistance. Ironically, either Khemraj Ramjattan or Prime Minister Nagamootoo have seen it fit to acknowledge the fact that the majority of the crime victims are Indians.

quote "Ironically, either Khemraj Ramjattan or Prime Minister Nagamootoo have seen it fit to acknowledge the fact that the majority of the crime victims are Indians."unquote

Originally Posted by asj:

quote "Ironically, either Khemraj Ramjattan or Prime Minister Nagamootoo have seen it fit to acknowledge the fact that the majority of the crime victims are Indians."unquote

Where is   Harmon the Donald Trump of the PNC, he needs to fire Rumjaatan, if you are incompetent , then you must go. Under Rumjaatan's watch crime has drastically increased.

pseudo-learned hackery from an unreconstructed bigot doing a lil race baiting, doing a little horing

the ravi dev crew of nasty ole men reconstituting at the Sanata complex

i see the usual suspect GNI sheeple are impressed and feel honored to join the festivities in the invitation-only PPP vomitarium

So far what i gather from media outlets,major steps are

taken to tackle the crime situation,Swat team is currently

in Region 6,Ramjattan is just over 100 days  heading

the Ministry of Public Security.The Dr.B.R and Guyana

Times have the typical mentality of crabs.

For some people only Indian lives matter the rest

are lesser mortals so their lives are insignificant.

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

Better than him in past PNC administrations were powerless to do anything for their people.

You  cannot move a  motion of no confidence against only  one member of the cabinet.  This is absurd. 

Cobra have been saying all along about a no-confidence against Ramjattan and replaced him with someone who have big balls. People are listening, folks.

Seems like the AFC is dying a slow death as a political entity. Many thought that they would have seen some sort of real representation especially from Ramjhattan and Moses Nagamootoo, looks like the PNC have them quiet as ever..........not a squeak from either one.

Cobra have been saying all along about a no-confidence against Ramjattan and replaced him with someone who have big balls. People are listening, folks.

Seems like the AFC is dying a slow death as a political entity. Many thought that they would have seen some sort of real representation especially from Ramjhattan and Moses Nagamootoo, looks like the PNC have them quiet as ever..........not a squeak from either one.

You were their biggest supporter. You got you wanted, so don't complain.

If you do nothing then you can't screw up.

pseudo-learned hackery from an unreconstructed bigot doing a lil race baiting, doing a little horing

i see the usual suspect GNI sheeple are impressed and feel honored to join the festivities in the invitation-only PPP vomitarium

I see you are quick to indict the "ravi dev crew" when they call a spade a spade. You are quick to condemn those who speak out for their rights. Your language is quite a mouthful...says a lot about what is lurking in your mind about Indian. How are these "Indian racists" different from the ideas put forward by David Hinds and ACDA? Please explain this to me. And, we have not even heard from the Amerindians as yet. Even ACDA's Eric Phillips seem to find common ground with Ravi Dev's ideas (see his letter today), But OH NO, not you. The likes of you see every submissive Indian who dare speak out as a racist. Double standard!!! This is why Guyana will never be at peace, you always want to have the upper hand. Its the "slave complex" I have been reading about, you cant seem to get over the anger and the legacy of slavery. You need to stop with the adhominems and stop seeing every intelligent Indian as a threat.  

Incidentally, I dont think the man should be censured or fired, but surely you can agree that crime is out of control. 

Last edited by VishMahabir

You were their biggest supporter. You got you wanted, so don't complain.

If you do nothing then you can't screw up.

Yes I supported them, and I have no complaint for anyone, does it mean because I supported them before that now I should still support them,

now look don't make yourself become a shithead, or better yet a skonthole,

so shut yuh patacake and stay quiet if you have nothing to say then take a hint.

Russia is latest country to offer support to the security sector.

GINA said that among several issues discussed were training and capacity building for the officers in the Guyana Police Force (GPF). Ramjattan said he was brought up-to-date with the bilateral relations shared between the two countries at the level of the ministry.

A general framework agreement is being fine-tuned and the final draft is to be taken to Cabinet to be signed off. Ramjattan said that the agreement will see “the specifics that we are going to be entering into; for example, if there is need for an extradition treaty, control of drugs, illicit drugs, or mutual assistance in crime, what agreements and specific assistance we will get will arise out of that general agreement.” He said that he was also made aware of several training opportunities that are available and open to Guyana in Russia, through the Russian Federation.

Public Security Minister, Khemraj Ramjattan [right) greets Nikolay Smirnov, Russian Ambassador to Guyana. (GINA photo)Public Security Minister, Khemraj Ramjattan (right) greets Nikolay Smirnov, Russian Ambassador to Guyana. (GINA photo)

Smirnov added that in 2013, five policemen benefited from training in Russia and four others have been selected for the 2015 training session.

This training is expected to last for a maximum of three months. These officers were already identified under the previous administration. When asked if the names will be reviewed, Ramjattan said that he does not have any objection to them.

In February 2012, a bilateral agreement between Guyana and Russia was signed, addressing cooperation against narcotics. The Ambassador pointed out that there is need for improvement, thus this was also a part of the discussions held.

On Monday, Indian High Commissioner to Guyana Venkatachalam Mahalingam, also paid a courtesy call on Ramjattan and offered assistance to the security sector.

Ramjattan told GINA following that meeting “It is quite a long list,” noting things like scholarships for the training of policemen and capacity support for the Forensic Laboratory.

“He had indicated that they have some good quality labs in India… the training from those and also the materials that we can acquire,” the Minister said, were discussed in relation to the Forensic Lab.

Minister of Public Security Khemraj Ramjattan [right), and Indian High Commissioner to Guyana, Venkatachalam Mahalingam (GINA photo)Minister of Public Security Khemraj Ramjattan (right), and Indian High Commissioner to Guyana, Venkatachalam Mahalingam (GINA photo)

Also discussed was collaboration with regard to the provision of instructors for classes in crime scene management.

Ramjattan also said he had indicated Guyana’s interest in programmes and policies related to mending community/policing relationships, and that the High Commissioner had expressed his willingness to network with the Minister on some of the case studies that India had done on this.

When outgoing Canadian High Commissioner to Guyana Dr Nicole Giles paid a courtesy call on Ramjattan on Monday, security was also on the agenda.

According to the Minister, among several issues discussed were training and capacity building for Guyana Police Force officers, “Better training from the Royal (Canadian) Mounted Branch, also the police college out of Canada, it has to do with mentoring our policemen and women”.

This, he said would be done in five areas: gender violence, women in police leadership, human rights, crime scene management and public corruption.

Giles pointed out that funds would be available through a grant of CDN$750,000 for the justice system in Guyana.

GINA said that the money is part of a project with the Justice Education Society of British Columbia, a Canadian Non-Governmental Organisation, which aims at strengthening the justice system.

http://www.stabroeknews.com/20...-to-security-sector/

Originally Posted by VishMahabir:

I see you are quick to indict the "ravi dev crew" when they call a spade a spade. You are quick to condemn those who speak out for their rights. Your language is quite a mouthful...says a lot about what is lurking in your mind about Indian. How are these "Indian racists" different from the ideas put forward by David Hinds and ACDA? Please explain this to me. And, we have not even heard from the Amerindians as yet. Even ACDA's Eric Phillips seem to find common ground with Ravi Dev's ideas (see his letter today), But OH NO, not you. The likes of you see every submissive Indian who dare speak out as a racist. Double standard!!! This is why Guyana will never be at peace, you always want to have the upper hand. Its the "slave complex" I have been reading about, you cant seem to get over the anger and the legacy of slavery. You need to stop with the adhominems and stop seeing every intelligent Indian as a threat.  

Incidentally, I dont think the man should be censured or fired, but surely you can agree that crime is out of control. 

banna, please  . . . when u quote me, quote me correctly and don't make shit up just because it sounds punchy and nice

now, what does David Hinds/Eric Phillips/ACDA have to do with me? . . . dem bais were ahead of me at QC and i don't know where u get the idea that we know each other or share ideas or 'ideology' of any sort

quite telling that u don't know anything about redux yet feel privileged to speak to my "slave complex" . . . lol

more importantly though, i am a little puzzled but somewhat intrigued that u view Baytoram Ramharack as being a "submissive Indian"

no cure for the confused ignorant bai . . . yuh prappa stupid

A general framework agreement is being fine-tuned and the final draft is to be taken to Cabinet to be signed off. Ramjattan said that the agreement will see “the specifics that we are going to be entering into; for example, if there is need for an extradition treaty, control of drugs, illicit drugs, or mutual assistance in crime, what agreements and specific assistance we will get will arise out of that general agreement.” He said that he was also made aware of several training opportunities that are available and open to Guyana in Russia, through the Russian Federation.

Public Security Minister, Khemraj Ramjattan [right) greets Nikolay Smirnov, Russian Ambassador to Guyana. [GINA photo)

Public Security Minister, Khemraj Ramjattan (right) greets Nikolay Smirnov, Russian Ambassador to Guyana. (GINA photo)

Smirnov added that in 2013, five policemen benefited from training in Russia and four others have been selected for the 2015 training session.

On Monday, Indian High Commissioner to Guyana Venkatachalam Mahalingam, also paid a courtesy call on Ramjattan and offered assistance to the security sector.

Ramjattan told GINA following that meeting “It is quite a long list,” noting things like scholarships for the training of policemen and capacity support for the Forensic Laboratory.

“He had indicated that they have some good quality labs in India… the training from those and also the materials that we can acquire,” the Minister said, were discussed in relation to the Forensic Lab.

Minister of Public Security Khemraj Ramjattan [right), and Indian High Commissioner to Guyana, Venkatachalam Mahalingam [GINA photo)

Minister of Public Security Khemraj Ramjattan (right), and Indian High Commissioner to Guyana, Venkatachalam Mahalingam (GINA photo)

Also discussed was collaboration with regard to the provision of instructors for classes in crime scene management.

Ramjattan also said he had indicated Guyana’s interest in programmes and policies related to mending community/policing relationships, and that the High Commissioner had expressed his willingness to network with the Minister on some of the case studies that India had done on this.