Originally Posted by Stinger:
Nice thread Rev Post some Korean dishes, my fave Kalbi; http://www.foodnetwork.com/rec...bs-recipe/index.html

Sting:

The Singapore culture is an amazing blend of Chinese, Indian, Malay, etc, etc---the Koreans are also there---and what's amazing is how well all these different cultures have amalgamated in Singapore.

Have you ever visited Singapore Stinger ? If you have not---take a visit some day.

AND CHECK OUT THIS DISH:

Singapore Soup Tulang---mutton in red sauce--100% delicious.

Originally Posted by Rev Al:

Chili crab is another one of Singapore's national dishes. The crab is doused in  a spicy chili-tomato gravy. Eating it is a messy affair β€” the best way to eat it  is to crack the shell with your hands and slurp out the meat. Then mop up the  gravy with doughy buns.

This looks like something I would love..I am a seafood lover.   My husband went to Singapore once for business,  he loved it there...it's definitely somewhere I would visit.  nice thread Rev.

Laksa is another signature Singaporean dish. The Katong Laksa is a Peranakan (a  Singaporean ethnic group) fish soup that's made with rice vermicelli noodles in  a rich and spicy coconut broth. The soup is filled with seafood like shrimp,  squid, and fishcake.

This one looks yummy too!  Rev you ever had a good GY metagee soup with fried fish.

Originally Posted by alena06:
This one looks yummy too!  Rev you ever had a good GY metagee soup with fried fish.

Lena:

Just in case you forgot--the Rev may have lived in America for 33 years---but he will always be Guyanese.

RE: METAGEE

alena, you have to try Metagee with salt fish not fried fish.

Now yuk mek me hungry Lena.

And you have me longing for metagee---the first lady can't cook that---will have to check in with Mom---haven't had metagee in years.

Originally Posted by Miraver:

There is a lovely Singapore restaurant in Richmond Hill with delicious foods and excellent service. Richmond Hill, Canada.

I didn't know there was a Richmond Hill in Canada----there is a Richmond Hill in Queens New York----tens of thousand of Guyanese live there.

CLICK ON LINK---NY Times article titled "LIVING IN RICHMOND HILL QUEENS----Nehru bhai lives in Richmond Hill I believe.

http://www.nytimes.com/slidesh...130113-LIVING.html#1

Originally Posted by Sunil:

Main shopping district in Singapore is Orchard Rd

which I suggest you avoid as all the Western luxury labels are there,instead head for Chinatown or the Mustafa centre in Little India.

Sunil bhai:

Is that where you bought your lovely Rolex or is it the Patek Phillipe---Chinatown in Singapore ?hahaha

Originally Posted by Sunil:

==========
Quiet man you want expose my secret or what. I got some good silk ties there and some blazers made of bamboo fibers.

ha ha ha ha

Listen! The stuff you pay hundreds or thousand of dollars for on Orchard Rd---you get them dirt cheap down in China town---and by the way---did you know many of the so-called fakes in Chinatown are made by the same factories in China that manufacture the real stuff----they have secret shifts---at those factories----the secret shifts manufacture the stuff you buy in China town.

ha ha ha ha

Listen! The stuff you pay hundreds or thousand of dollars for on Orchard Rd---you get them dirt cheap down in China town---and by the way---did you know many of the so-called fakes in Chinatown are made by the same factories in China that manufacture the real stuff----they have secret shifts---at those factories----the secret shifts manufacture the stuff you buy in China town.

Yes I am aware of that, we call them 2nd shift in the UK. The goods can be sold legally once they are unbranded. The vendors just put "Like Gucci" "Like Versace" etc. More 2nd shift Nike and Adidas are sold than the branded stuff.

Sunil
Originally Posted by Miraver:

There is a lovely Singapore restaurant in Richmond Hill with delicious foods and excellent service. Richmond Hill, Canada.

Posted by Rev: I didn't know there was a Richmond Hill in Canada----there is a Richmond Hill in Queens New York----tens of thousand of Guyanese live there.

XXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Yes, there is a Richmond Hill in Canada. Lovely neighborhood. Lots of Asians, a few Guyanese, Indians, Iranians etc. I like the Persian bakeries too.