Mouth open, eye shut

May 31, 2020 Dem Boys Seh, Features / Columnists , Kaieteur News Online - https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...mouth-open-eye-shut/

Dem boys seh..

De more things change, the more it remain de same in Guyana.
Dem boys can’t understand how a guvment gotta wait 7 weeks before dem enforce dem own lockdown. Instead de country opening up, it now gun lockdown more.

Is de same thing with some people mouth. Is like if dem put crazy glue pun dem lips.

Dem nah talk all along when de Bingo happening, starting at de Ashmin’s place.

But Gun-Raj talk and dem suddenly open dem mouth. But when is time fuh open dem mouth, dem open something else.

People does get trouble over hay fuh opening dem mouth.

De Giftland man talk he mind and de next ting yuh know de May-Yar seh de man owe de Council money. Dem trying fuh shame de man.

Was de same ting with the bossman from de Waterfalls paper.

When he used to criticize de PPPC, dem seh how he owe rates and taxes.

De more things change, the more it remain de same.

Bruce de Goldfish open he mouth too and seh how he never see a more transparent attempt to rig an election.

No sooner he open he mouth, dem HAP-New +Hay-Eff-See people open dem mouth and start attack dem observers.

Dem even ban de Carter Centre from coming back just like dem ban flour and seh it restricted.

Now de Bingo virus spread.

St. Kitts and Nevis decide dem nah wan no observer from the OAS fuh dem elections. The more things change, de more it remain de same.

Talk half and hope Claw-dette open she eye before she open she mouth.

Giftland denies owing City Hall more than $100M in taxes

…believes Mayor’s statement politically motivated

May 31, 2020 News 0   , Source - Kaieteur News Online - https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...-than-100m-in-taxes/

Proprietor of the Giftland Mall, Roy Beepat has debunked statements by City Mayor, Ubraj Narine, that his mall establishment owes the council millions of dollars in taxes.

In fact, Beepat believes the sentiments expressed by the Mayor may be politically motivated.

https://www.kaieteurnewsonline.com/images/2020/05/BEEPAT.jpgProprietor of the Giftland Mall, Roy Beepat

According to Beepat, it appears that in the last three months, both the Giftland Mall and himself have moved from being entrepreneur extraordinaire to a delinquent puppet of the Opposition, a greedy and corrupt entity and a bankrupt and tax delinquent company.

β€œWhat has happened in the last three months is that we have taken a stand, along with the OAS, APC, ABC&E, Commonwealth, CARICOM plus other International , local organizations and individuals, in calling for a transparent and free elections and proper counting of the votes, that my friends is the only thing that has changed,” he said in a statement.
The mayor claimed, a report carried in the Guyana Chronicle, that the Giftland Mall which Beepat owns owes the city over $103M in rates and taxes.

Narine, an open supporter of the incumbent Coalition, was quoted as saying: β€œWhat I want to point out to the public is this lawlessness that business owners want to continue with. And I saw many posts and articles from Mr. Beepat. What I want to say to him is when you speak; you must speak from a point of view where you’re clean. You cannot speak when you have dirt on yourself. All the sublets in malls in the city have to come to the council to get their licence [sic] to operate. Giftland Mall breached all of that,” Ubraj said.

https://www.kaieteurnewsonline.com/images/2020/05/ubraj-narine.jpgMayor Ubraj Narine

However, Beepat insisted that Giftland had made every effort to be compliant with its taxes and have been actively pursuing City Hall for the last five years to address the matter.

According to Beepat, in an effort to have this amicable settled, several letters have been sent with no response on the discussions held.

β€œWe have been led down the garden path by Royston King (former Town Clerk) who had negotiated a settlement but in three years despite our many attempts to have this drawn into a binding written contract, this was never done by the city side. The Mayor has conveniently neglected to point this out.

We sat with the Mayor, this year in our offices and made agreements to have this resolved, after weeks of prompting, to our surprise we eventually received a written correspondence not in line with our discussions… against the agreement made to keep this year current taxes paid were applied against the illegally imposed interest figures,” he said.

According to the businessman, the Mayor was intent on receiving interest at 21% which is unlawful, with a penalty of approximately $43 Million dollars.

He said that this is despite being told that the Mall had paid close to $500 million on public works, which included the public access road to the mall, street lighting, bus shed and public transportation, walkways and irrigation.

https://www.kaieteurnewsonline.com/images/2020/05/giftland.jpg

β€œThis Mayor was also told that up to the time of writing, the mall had not received the benefit of one day of service from the city services… we have installed our own sewerage treatment plant and we clean the roads and public areas. We have laid in our own piping for water supplies, and many other duties which taxes are paid for, but which has been borne by us. I repeat… the city has not provided… not one day of service… whatsoever… has no consideration for the hundreds of millions which has been spent on their behalf… they have refused to provide even basic garbage collection for taxes which they are demanding…”

@Prashad posted:

Totaram uses the same words as that koolie with specks of white blood which may be making him feel superior to the rest of us koolies. Ben Chopsticks.

I am more of an Indian than you could imagine. However, beyond being an Indian I am a human being dedicated to a fighting for a just world.  I don't know what you mean by specks of white blood etc. but we are all equal and the sooner you and those who subscribe to your views acknowledge this the better.  Think about a world , my friend, in which we recognize each other as equal and you will be liberated.  There will be no need for a separate country for IndoGuyanese.  We'll all be able to live in peace and harmony as equals, just as our maker intended. 

@Totaram posted:

I am more of an Indian than you could imagine. However, beyond being an Indian I am a human being dedicated to a fighting for a just world.  I don't know what you mean by specks of white blood etc. but we are all equal and the sooner you and those who subscribe to your views acknowledge this the better.  Think about a world , my friend, in which we recognize each other as equal and you will be liberated.  There will be no need for a separate country for IndoGuyanese.  We'll all be able to live in peace and harmony as equals, just as our maker intended. 

Listen hear Totaram I got about three times more black in me than you have. Our people are inferiors in their own homeland.  So keep ducking your head in a sand pit and pretending Lord Canary was right because if he was right and all of us were one family then those sleeping East Indian children who were brutally massacred in their beds with AK 45 rifles would still be alive today.  

@Prashad posted:

Listen hear Totaram I got about three times more black in me than you have. Our people are inferiors in their own homeland.  So keep ducking your head in a sand pit and pretending Lord Canary was right because if he was right and all of us were one family then those sleeping East Indian children who were brutally massacred in their beds with AK 45 rifles would still be alive today.  

Hear vs Here.

AK45 is a drainage valve. 

LOL!

@Mitwah posted:

Hear vs Here.

AK45 is a drainage valve. 

LOL!

I don't know the difference between an AK47 and an AK45 and I don't care who is more black or white.  Indeed , we are family and if we all recognize that children sleeping in their beds would not have to die and there would be no need for violence.  I really can't see what Prashad is talking about.  It is a simple proposition Prashad ,my friend:  we are all equal and therefore there is no need for conflict. 

Mouth open, eye shut

May 31, 2020 Dem Boys Seh, Features / Columnists , Kaieteur News Online - https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...mouth-open-eye-shut/

Dem boys seh..

De more things change, the more it remain de same in Guyana.
Dem boys can’t understand how a guvment gotta wait 7 weeks before dem enforce dem own lockdown. Instead de country opening up, it now gun lockdown more.

Is de same thing with some people mouth. Is like if dem put crazy glue pun dem lips.

Dem nah talk all along when de Bingo happening, starting at de Ashmin’s place.

But Gun-Raj talk and dem suddenly open dem mouth. But when is time fuh open dem mouth, dem open something else.

People does get trouble over hay fuh opening dem mouth.

De Giftland man talk he mind and de next ting yuh know de May-Yar seh de man owe de Council money. Dem trying fuh shame de man.

Was de same ting with the bossman from de Waterfalls paper.

When he used to criticize de PPPC, dem seh how he owe rates and taxes.

De more things change, the more it remain de same.

Bruce de Goldfish open he mouth too and seh how he never see a more transparent attempt to rig an election.

No sooner he open he mouth, dem HAP-New +Hay-Eff-See people open dem mouth and start attack dem observers.

Dem even ban de Carter Centre from coming back just like dem ban flour and seh it restricted.

Now de Bingo virus spread.

St. Kitts and Nevis decide dem nah wan no observer from the OAS fuh dem elections. The more things change, de more it remain de same.

Talk half and hope Claw-dette open she eye before she open she mouth.

This is FANTASTIC.