Interestingly, the AFC has promised Moses the post as "a Vice-President" if it wins the elections. This means that under an AFC government, there will be at least two Vice Presidents since the Prime Minister, according to Article 102(2)of the Constitution, is also a Vice President and will have precedence over any other Vice President.

The Constitution does not specify how many Vice Presidents the President "may appoint". But under Burnham, there were four Vice Presidents and the PPP was vehement in its opposition to so many of them being appointed. The PPP had pointed out that the Prime Minister was a Vice President and there was no need to appoint three more. Significantly, Moses when he was a leading light in the PPP during that time was of the same opinion. Has he now changed his stance since he expects to be at least a second Vice President in an AFC government?

Here is the relevant section of the Constitution about "Vice Presidents":

102. (1) The President may appoint Vice Presidents for the purpose of assisting him in the discharge of his functions.
(2) If he is not otherwise the holder of an office of Vice President, the person holding the office of Prime Minister shall, by virtue of holding that office, be a Vice President, and he shall have precedence over any other Vice President.

103. (1) The Prime Minister and every other Vice President shall be a Minister of the Government of Guyana. . .

personally I believe it was a political blunder on the part of Mr. Nagamottoo to seek any inducement/ reward and a bigger blunder on the part of the AFC to acquiesce to such demand by anyone to mount their platform. For one, you are unnecessarily giving your opponents additional ammunition to attack you that your motive is a self serving one . In my opinion the AFC has again committed a big blunder as they have done earlier with the Gaumattie Singh affairs . If the AFC are committed to do things differently, political plums should not be the prerogative of neither Ramjattan nor Trotman nor anyone else to promise or hand out at ther whims and fancy.
Originally posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:
Unfortunately, the reality of our politics does allow us to venture far from camp. The wolves are every where and we must stick together if we want survive. Moses exodus from the party cannot successfully take us across the desert at this time for the desert is infested with APNUites waiting to devour you like Crocs in river Nile.

man...say what's on your mind...geez!
Buxtonians are the real PESTS you speak of.
Originally posted by Spice Girl:
Mara, I agree, but this was an exceptional case. The AFC needed Moses to help oust or weaken PPP/C to halt the decline of our country. The PPPc has grown to become a rotten bunch of pests on the Guyanese nation and must be stopped at all costs.
Originally posted by Nehru:
Mara, I agree, but this was an exceptional case. The AFC needed Moses to help oust or weaken PPP/C to halt the decline of our country. The PPPc has grown to become a rotten bunch of pests on the Guyanese nation and must be stopped at all costs.

Nehru stop being a racist! Buxtonians are our Guyanese brothers and sisters too~!

Nehru, why are you calling yourself a pest? Wink
Originally posted by raymond:
Originally posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:
Unfortunately, the reality of our politics does allow us to venture far from camp. The wolves are every where panmanand we must stick together if we want survive. Moses exodus from the party cannot successfully take us across the desert at this time for the desert is infested with APNUites waiting to devour you like Crocs in river Nile.

man...say what's on your mind...geez!
what make you think he have one
W
Arite Gal, Yuh gat meh dem. Sanko lick he lover pun dem Dam and deh Gal ah Halla Murder.

Wan Day meh bin am Bamboo Dam partybanana partybanana

Nehru, why are you calling yourself a pest? Wink
Originally posted by Daren David:
Interestingly, the AFC has promised Moses the post as "a Vice-President" if it wins the elections. This means that under an AFC government, there will be at least two Vice Presidents since the Prime Minister, according to Article 102(2)of the Constitution, is also a Vice President and will have precedence over any other Vice President.

The Constitution does not specify how many Vice Presidents the President "may appoint". But under Burnham, there were four Vice Presidents and the PPP was vehement in its opposition to so many of them being appointed. The PPP had pointed out that the Prime Minister was a Vice President and there was no need to appoint three more. Significantly, Moses when he was a leading light in the PPP during that time was of the same opinion. Has he now changed his stance since he expects to be at least a second Vice President in an AFC government?

102. (1) The President may appoint Vice Presidents for the purpose of assisting him in the discharge of his functions.
(2) If he is not otherwise the holder of an office of Vice President, the person holding the office of Prime Minister shall, by virtue of holding that office, be a Vice President, and he shall have precedence over any other Vice President.

103. (1) The Prime Minister and every other Vice President shall be a Minister of the Government of Guyana. . .
This is inconsequential since the lines of succession is not followed as process in the PPP. You and I argued this point with you taking the PPP position with their gerrymandering the lines of succession in event the president died or one resigns due to illness.

It is not only the AFC that needed Moses, but the Nation needed Moses in these momentous time and the truly exceptional would do exceptional things to remain extraordinarily exceptional. I hope what Churchy stated above is accurate ie. "Nagamootoo did not ask for any special favours to switch political affliations....."

When one's action is guided by moral principles, sincerity and a clear conscience, they would most often take the right course and make good decisions and on the few occasions where history and/ or hind-sight may prove them wrong, those mistakes are easily forgiven. Jimmy Carter, Bill Clinton and of course Cheddi Jagan are all prime examples.
How can a nation rely on a man who goes to the bars after his law practice, moaning and groaning about how hurt he is?

He does not have emotional intelligence to be in politics... never did. Not all PPP supports see themselve as desperately wanting to be the leader. But Mos has a very big EGO.

Who financed his legal education? Check dat out.
C
Originally posted by D2:

This is inconsequential since the lines of succession is not followed as process in the PPP. You and I argued this point with you taking the PPP position with their gerrymandering the lines of succession in event the president died or one resigns due to illness.

The AFC only did this to get some mileage out of Moses. After all, he will be speaking a lot on their behalf, while Ramjattan will be in the background (even though he is running for President!!). It is Moses' voice they are relying on. So, the Vice President title is to keep Moses happy and to show the people he is getting some position.

Moses is stupid, but then he is in a revengeful zone. This Vice-Presidency role is only smoke screen.
C
Originally posted by Catherine:
How can a nation rely on a man who goes to the bars after his law practice, moaning and groaning about how hurt he is?

He does not have emotional intelligence to be in politics... never did. Not all PPP supports see themselve as desperately wanting to be the leader. But Mos has a very big EGO.

Who financed his legal education? Check dat out.
Who do you want to lie to? DO you think the PPP did not care about succession when they concocted that letter in Walter Reid suggesting the brain dead Cheddi knew he was dying and decreed JJ succeed him? Do you think they cared about the constitutional imperative about succession or power more in this instance? Note they gerrymandered the succession here to avoid the constitution's direction.

Then there is the case of the selection of Jagdeo. A little more jiggling of the constitution plus JJ was playing charades when as she engineered a neophyte into office merely to control the events as it pleases her. And now this grotesque creature with a peanut sized brain! Do you think there are not more long served (if that is the criteria since brains was not a premium) members who are more deserving than him? This is a consequence of a power hungry Jagdeo needs for a toady no less than he was to be a toady to JJ ( and of course he stabbed her in the back for her troubles!)

The pursuit of power is not a bad thing. It is bad when it is solely for self serving reasons since power is not merely the ability to get one's way but to do so such that it is what meets the best needs of what the environment in which it acts deserves. None of the PPP leaders since CBJ deserved to be there.
Originally posted by D2:

The AFC only did this to get some mileage out of Moses. After all, he will be speaking a lot on their behalf, while Ramjattan will be in the background (even though he is running for President!!). It is Moses' voice they are relying on. So, the Vice President title is to keep Moses happy and to show the people he is getting some position.

Moses is stupid, but then he is in a revengeful zone. This Vice-Presidency role is only smoke screen.
Again a matter of the pot calling the kettle black. The PPP gerrymandered the constitution to allow their deal with civic. You cannot complain if others create a non constitutional title for their man as it suits them Try to complain when they try to use the title holder in an official role but then you would have to ask yourself if you can given the long standing extra constitutional arrangement between the PPP and Civic.
The PPP established its Civic alliance before the appointments. It was a well-crafted and visionary approach when Jagan succeed at the Presidency in 1992.

Whereas, the AFC is stumbling across rocks and thorns as they desperately begged Moses to join them. They do not even have a Civic alliance nor do we know what is the scope of their Constitution regarding membership, Congress when it comes to Moses. They have suddenly appointed him VP for mileage?
C

Whereas, the AFC is stumbling across rocks and thorns as they desperately begged Moses to join them.

They do not even have a Civic alliance nor do we know what is the scope of their Constitution regarding membership, Congress when it comes to Moses.

They have suddenly appointed him VP for mileage?

One of the glaring unfortunate actions.

One of the major issues will be the determination of who would be the elected Member of Parliament after the 2011 elections.
The PPP established its Civic alliance before the appointments. It was a well-crafted and visionary approach when Jagan succeed at the Presidency in 1992.

Whereas, the AFC is stumbling across rocks and thorns as they desperately begged Moses to join them. They do not even have a Civic alliance nor do we know what is the scope of their Constitution regarding membership, Congress when it comes to Moses. They have suddenly appointed him VP for mileage?
The constitution is not to be ignored by appealing to arrangements. It is the law and should be the rule not the exception.

Whatever is your characterization of what the AFC did pales in comparison to what the PPP did. They broke no law.

The PPP ignored the constitutional imperative twice and they did so by gaming the system. This is one area that has to be made iron clad to avoid similar arrangements as political lures to alliance making.
YUh mean a TWO SEAT Party will have no place for Brother Moses. I have warned the brother here on many occasions. MOSES IT IS NOT TOO LATE TO STOP EMBARASSING YOURSELF. I beg of you Bhai. You are too SMART than that. Dont let anger and frustration take you down the Path of destruction and SHAME!!!
Originally posted by Demerara_Guy:

Whereas, the AFC is stumbling across rocks and thorns as they desperately begged Moses to join them.

They do not even have a Civic alliance nor do we know what is the scope of their Constitution regarding membership, Congress when it comes to Moses.

One of the major issues will be the determination of who would be the elected Member of Parliament after the 2011 elections.

You are such a bloody knuckle head. On what account it is "glaring" escept as to highlight your idiocy in making it more than it is.

I is nothing but nomenclature at the moment. It is not a violation of any law or an insidious attempt to circumvent any legal principle. You have to look to the Civic/PPP arrangement for that.

YUh mean a TWO SEAT Party will have no place for Brother Moses. I have warned the brother here on many occasions.

MOSES IT IS NOT TOO LATE TO STOP EMBARASSING YOURSELF. I beg of you Bhai. You are too SMART than that. Dont let anger and frustration take you down the Path of destruction and SHAME!!!

I do appreciate Moses Nagamootoo and wish him the best at his new "political residence".
Originally posted by Churchill:
Nagamootoo did not ask for any special favours to switch political affliations.....

Perhaps he remembers the 2006 promises which were made to him by the champion.....

Wasn't Ranji Chandisingh a former PPP member made a VP when he crossed the floor ?

Churchill, Chandisingh crossed the floor in 1975. Burnham was Prime Minister; he couldn't have made Chandisingh a vice-president. It took five years after Chandisingh left the PPP for Burnham to change the constitution, make himself president and Chandisingh a vice-president. Your question suggests that the vice-presidency was a lure for Chandisingh to desert the PPP. Not so.
B
I respect the man but it is painful to see him make such a careless and embarassing decision. Usually, when someone leaves a job, they would go for a BETTER one. It is that Simple. Why Moses why???

An opportunity to make a difference in the life of Guyanese is very noble...it's obvious the PPP seems only out to fill thier pockets, so instead of staying with teh PPP thieves and get rich, Brother Moses chose to take a much nobler path.

In your greedy eyes, it may seem like a WORSE job, but you are forgiven for thinking this way, after all, you DO support a party which only looks out for themselves instead of the people of Guyana.
Originally posted by Bookman:
Originally posted by Churchill:
Nagamootoo did not ask for any special favours to switch political affliations.....

Perhaps he remembers the 2006 promises which were made to him by the champion.....

Wasn't Ranji Chandisingh a former PPP member made a VP when he crossed the floor ?

Churchill, Chandisingh crossed the floor in 1975. Burnham was Prime Minister; he couldn't have made Chandisingh a vice-president. It took five years after Chandisingh left the PPP for Burnham to change the constitution, make himself president and Chandisingh a vice-president. Your question suggests that the vice-presidency was a lure for Chandisingh to desert the PPP. Not so.

Uncle Book all of us have lures and reasons why we do things in politics.

Some of us are fed by our in laws involvement in rice and all sorts of other things like myself that is why I used to be loyal to the PPP.

If we were not loyal to the PPP our rice business would be dead, there are a lot of people in this rice business whose loyalties are bought for and paid for in their associations with the PPP.
J
Moses has a wealth of political experience and should there be an AFC government after Nov. 28, he should be appointed to a senior ministerial post - e.g., Home Affairs or Foreign Affairs. In the event that the AFC is not successful, the elected President should seriously consider setting up a broad-based cabinet which should include him in a senior capacity.

Yes Darren Moses has a lot of talent but was bypassed by the ruling clique who themselves are insecure intellectually etc.....

No matter who wins the elections Guyana could do well with a broad based national govt to move the country forward....

Are we ready for such a move ?
Originally posted by Mara:
personally I believe it was a political blunder on the part of Mr. Nagamottoo to seek any inducement/ reward and a bigger blunder on the part of the AFC to acquiesce to such demand by anyone to mount their platform. For one, you are unnecessarily giving your opponents additional ammunition to attack you that your motive is a self serving one . In my opinion the AFC has again committed a big blunder as they have done earlier with the Gaumattie Singh affairs . If the AFC are committed to do things differently, political plums should not be the prerogative of neither Ramjattan nor Trotman nor anyone else to promise or hand out at ther whims and fancy.