Jan 25,2017

I wish to quote words former president, Bharrat Jagdeo uttered days ago; “And I made it clear that the PPP is open to people. It was set up as a working-class party. It was not set up as a party based on race, but class based. We are working class, but we support the Private Sector. And we support people of every race, and every religion would find a home in the PPP.”
Even the Working People’s Alliance, when it transformed from a pressure group to a political party in 1976, did not have the working class credentials as the PPP and the PNC had. Both parties were founded by two men – Jagan and Burnham – who at the time of their praxis had middle class professions but the PPP and PNC had serious and formidable working class credentials.
Because of the nature of colonial society and because political parties needed the strategic labyrinth of trade unions, the PPP and PNC reached out to untold numbers of poor class activists who worked their way up the ladder and became prominent figures on the national landscape.
When Desmond Hoyte became president and leader of the PNC, his lifestyle was amazingly ordinary. Hoyte lived in his lower middle class house on North Road during all the years of his presidency – 1985-1992. It is absolutely stupid to compare Hoyte’s home with Jagdeo’s luxurious mansion in Pradoville 2. Any scholar who attempts to do so got his university training from an abandoned cake-shop.
Of the two working class parties that are still in the dominant role in Guyanese politics, the PNC remains far less an ostentatious organisation than the PPP. It is the opinion of this researcher that as president, Jagdeo not only embourgeoisified the leadership of the PPP but he destroyed its original working class physiology.
Researching the death of the working class nature of the PPP under Jagdeo, one would encounter materials that can fill a dozen books. In 2011, when he was being questioned on the stand by Jagdeo’s lawyer, Anil Nandlall, in Jagdeo’s libel case against me and this newspaper, in response to a question, Roger Luncheon said he knew Jagdeo after the PPP came to power in 1992.
Jagdeo hails from Unity, Mahaica and went to a Russian university, Patrice Lumumba University, where tuition was more ideological than academic. When he became Finance Minister, he lived in a government flat in Echilibar Villas in Campbellville.
After he became president in 1999 but moreso after 2001, Jagdeo and the PPP leadership landed on a gold mine that would make Omai’s collection look like biscuit crumbs. In a Cabinet session to discuss business concessions to Bobby Ramroop, President Jagdeo excused himself saying he was a personal friend of Ramroop, one of the richest men in the country.
By the time, his presidency was up, Jagdeo chalked up a record of being the close friend of some of Guyana’s wealthiest citizens. He currently lives in a two acre mansion with swimming pool.
For a man who says that the party he leads is working class, then we should take neo-Nazis seriously when they say Hitler was an angelic leader. As President, Mr. Jagdeo invited the then President of the Caribbean Development Bank, Dr. Compton Bourne, to buy an acre of state land in Pradoville 2 for a mere couple million dollars.
For a working class leader of a working class party, Mr. Jagdeo suffered a bout of amnesia. He forgot that there were literally hundreds of working class soldiers, police officials, teachers, sugar workers, state employees who served their country faithfully and deserved that plot more than Dr. Bourne whose salary at the time was millions of times more than a working class income.
Interesting to note, the forensic audit of Pradoville 2 revealed that Priya Manickchand, when as minister, got a plot, built a house, and sold it for a million American dollars to businessman, David Narine. Interesting to note, Clement Rohee, when as minister, celebrated his annual birthday at Georgetown Club.
In his book, “Sweetening Bitter Sugar,” Clem Seecharan said that the Booker CEO, Sir Jock Campbell was a Fabian socialist who refused to eat at Georgetown Club (see page 51 for Campbell’s contempt for the bourgeois culture of Georgetown Club.) It seems like the Booker Baron was more working class in his orientation than the boys from the working class party, the PPP.
Finally, it is also interesting to know that the sugar union, GAWU, the PPP’s sidekick, bought its head office in a high priced real estate area – Kingston and is reputed to be the richest trade union in the English-speaking Caribbean.

Maybe one day Freddie Kissoon and a few others will get over the fact that it's ok to get an education, work hard, and live in a nice house.  What they don't take into consideration is the sacrifice that these people make to achieve what they did.

Well said!!!  Lots of GNI members are examples of working hard owning businesses and houses ... they should give equal consideration for these politicians .

Lots of these parties hosted in the name of government officials are paid for by private citizens / business owners . 

I think some of the S**T that was thrown at  Freddy went through this mouth to his brain.

Well said!!!  Lots of GNI members are examples of working hard owning businesses and houses ... they should give equal consideration for these politicians .

Dave,

There is a huge difference between Private Citizens and Politicians hard work, accumulating material wealth.

Most Politicians are crooks and thieves,lots of them are roaming the homeland.

Yuh right, Freddy is just jealous that his Canadian education is not up to par with the Jagabaat Russian education. He lose out on the part that teach you how to thief and transfer state properties for a string of beads. I hear Harmon is getting private lessons from the Jagabaat to learn to thief, cause they cant figure out how not to get caught...

Dave,

There is a huge difference between Private Citizens and Politicians hard work, accumulating material wealth.

Many politicians are also savvy investors and business owners.  They have to be, as Gov't salaries are low and many of those jobs have term limits. Investing in a financial safety net is not a bad thing.

sachin_05 posted:

Yuh right, Freddy is just jealous that his Canadian education is not up to par with the Jagabaat Russian education. He lose out on the part that teach you how to thief and transfer state properties for a string of beads. I hear Harmon is getting private lessons from the Jagabaat to learn to thief, cause they cant figure out how not to get caught...

You better start showing some loyalty or you will be left out in the cold again.  My humble advice to you is to call SOCU and get on the case.  The Guyanese taxpayers who paid millions for those forensic audits will thank you.

Dave,

Many politicians are also savvy investors and business owners.  They have to be, as Gov't salaries are low and many of those jobs have term limits. Investing in a financial safety net is not a bad thing.

How many are business owners Politicians,in the current crop roaming the homeland.

You are correct the non business owners Politicians are savvy investing their crooked ways to accumulate to wealth.Some are never see-come fuh see.

Dave,

Yes and No . 

Lets not forget the great USA President is the biggest crook . The biggest crooks are in North American .

Private Citizens :

what would you call him/ her for bribing the bank manager to get the loans 

sachin_05 posted:

You better start showing some loyalty or you will be left out in the cold again.  My humble advice to you is to call SOCU and get on the case.  The Guyanese taxpayers who paid millions for those forensic audits will thank you.

I could deal with the cold again but you better ready to deal with being lock out them bedroom after two weeks again

Private Citizens :

Where bhai,N.A or GY.

Both countries .

common DJ you know what I am speaking of. 

Private Citizens :

Where bhai,N.A or GY.

Both countries .

Bhai,

in my neck of the woods,that's serious trouble.I stay far from those kind of folks.

Have no time to waste my $$ on lawyers.

Private Citizens :

Where bhai,N.A or GY.

Both countries .

Bhai,

in my neck of the woods,that's serious trouble.I stay far from those kind of folks.

Have no time to waste my $$ on lawyers.

Djanjo Djanjo . I leave this discussion here 😂

Lots of these parties hosted in the name of government officials are paid for by private citizens / business owners . 

I think some of the S**T that was thrown at  Freddy went through this mouth to his brain.

After what you experienced in life, I am surprised that you would say something like this about another human being.  I know you are better than that and can rise above it.

It  written "By grace you have been saved thru faith. This was not by your own doing, but a gift from God. "

Last edited by Mitwah

After what you experienced in life, I am surprised that you would say something like this about another human being.  I know you are better than that and can rise above it.

It  written "By grace you have been saved thru faith. This was not by your own doing, but a gift from God. "

Please leave my personal well being out of this... I was warned by posters about you and in less than a month you confirm who you are . 

This is a public forum where we share our thoughts and discuss subject issues . 

Did’nt know you are a spokes person of Freddie Kissoon ...I have no apology of what I said,  the man is a bloody idiot .

you are the last person to quote scriptures to any one . If you had any respect for those words, you will never be so  vulgar and nasty with other posters . You were suspended many times on this forum for your vulgarity. 

I don’t go to peoples home pretending  I am holy signing  bajans  when I am using the same mouth to utter disgusting vulgar  mean words at others. 

Please leave my personal well being out of this... I was warned by posters about you and in less than a month you confirm who you are . 

Did’nt know you are a spokes person of Freddie Kissoon ...I have no apology of what I said,  the man is a bloody idiot .

you are the last person to quote scriptures to any one . If you had any respect for those words, you will never be so  vulgar and nasty with other posters . You were suspended many times on this forum for your vulgarity. 

I don’t go to peoples home pretending  I am holy signing  bajans  when I am using the same mouth to utter disgusting vulgar  mean words at others. 

Fool,  you are the one who came on GNI and started your personal attacks. 

It  is written "By grace you have been saved thru faith. This was not by your own doing, but a gift from God. "

Last edited by Mitwah

Freddie "Shit" Kissoon is forming a Cult and Django is recruited as leader. From the little I know of Freddie ,he is a fake a mediocre reporter. One of the reason his teaching contract was not renewed because he fudged his credentials. He is a wanna be Blackman, he plays to the piper.

There are other reliable and factual articles to be posted, Django stop polluting the board with nonsense.

Mits and Dave,

What's the fight about Freddie and his

Embourgeoisification.

Chill guys.

Dave ran from Guyana like a dog with his tail between his legs. Fred went back to serve and  walk his dog. 

Mits and Dave,

Embourgeoisification.

Chill guys.

Dave ran from Guyana like a dog with his tail between his legs. Fred went back to serve and  walk his dog. 

Freddie is a DOG.

Mits and Dave,

Embourgeoisification.

Chill guys.

Mits and Dave,

Embourgeoisification.

Chill guys.

Nope, the state is not capable of protecting my family . I still have businesses in Guyana and go back often.

Mits and Dave,

Embourgeoisification.

Chill guys.

Nope , I took my families out because the state is not capable of protecting them . I still have businesses in Guyana and goes back often.

Freddy Kissoon stole books in Canada . ( he is a shoplifter ) and is deported from Canada ... that’s what I was told .

Fool,  you are the one who came on GNI and started your personal attacks. 

It  is written "By grace you have been saved thru faith. This was not by your own doing, but a gift from God. "

Are you Freddy ... then you need more shit . 

Freddie is a DOG.

He thinks you are a fire hydrant with that red outfit. 

You need therapy again, going coo ,coo.

He needs more than therapy .

he surprise me. I am so disappointed. 

Good luck Mit .

Wonderful article by Freddie. Freddie' gives heck to every man Jack regardless of which party they belong. Wonderful enlightening article by Da'man. While we may all agree at some point that both governments did do their share of f-ups while in office, yet when someone like Freddie comes along explaining to their readers how scampishness occured, some people dem take offence.

oi Dave I believe it was you who said'" you heard something about how Freddie tief books..well hear story nuh. Iman..no wait ...we have all heard PPP bigboys an gurls did nuff fruckerussity an dem tief nuff nuff. Wuh fo do?

Letter: The Morbid One is Freddie: not the PPP, PPP/C nor Jagdeo the Transformer
January 24, 2018 

Let me acknowledge publicly that I read the “FreddieKissoon Column” whenever it is at hand (so too – “Peeping Tom”, “Ian on Sunday”, “Future Notes”, “So it Go”, and others) not as a Freddie fan, far from being a fan, but respectful as I should be of the opinion of any fellow Guyanese, and aware that Freddie’s view would be informed by some scholarship, although in my view too often forced, selective, distorted, all to be critical of the PPP and the PPP/C.
Freddie’s article on Jagdeo in KN of Tuesday, January 23, is true to form – morbidity would be a more apt descriptor of Freddie than of the PPP, PPP/C or Former President andcurrently, Leader of the Opposition (LOP),Jagdeo, who provided the great opportunities for the transformation of Guyanese and Guyana for the better.

Going to Freddie’s Column, paragraphs 2,3,4 and 5,as well as the fourth from the end are quotes from a recent press-conference of the LOP in which he reiterates forcefully what has been the aspiration of the PPP (and the PPP/C) from their conception: a party that in its leadership reflects Guyana, so that us Guyanese thrown together so recently, historically speaking, may see in the leadership of the party, – whatever our race, religion, or region of Guyana from which we come, – fellow citizens looking like ourselves who could empathize with us.

No doubt there have been any number of instances when any number of PPP and PPP/C persons may have fallen below our high ideals of seeing and treating with each other primarily as Guyanese, but whoever questions the earnestness and persistence of the PPP in this regardshould look to historical facts: the four founding members in 1943, composing the PAC (Political Affairs Committee) – Cheddi, Janet, Jocelyn Hubbard, Ashton Chase; the grabbing of the recently returned young lawyer, L F S Burnham, to be Chairman of the newly founded (in 1950) PPP; the formation in 1990 of the PPP/C when it appeared that there might be a return to fair and free elections, adding and combining new non-PPP persons (patriotic and not anti-PPP) with those who had stuck with Cheddi and the PPP during the years after 1964.

I want to reiterate that whilst in office, we PPP/C including President Jagdeo, sought to do in the context of the time and resources available, what was good for developing Guyanese and Guyanaholistically: I can’t recall ever going through a list – thisprogramme is for Indians, this for Africans, this for Amerindians and so on. As I have recalled on previous occasions, in 1994 we put aside the commitment of the then outgoing PNC to close the bauxite operations forthwith, if profitability could not be found by the International Manager. We read in the newspapers today about all our Coalition Government has to face in reforming our sugar sector. Well, we PPP/C and Jagdeo, faced all the same issues (about paying severance pay promptly and reconciling and making good the workers’ saving scheme, statutory remittances to GRA and NIS, and so on). We did what we had to do without any fuss,as we were Government for all Guyanese and Guyana.

Concerning the four specific examples given by Freddie of actions taken by the PPP/C under Jagdeo to seemingly alienate Afro-Guyanese, one who is not morbidwould see them aspossibly mistakes though well intended and well-intended they were: (i) whatever was in Roger Luncheon’s mind when he told the court “that no African Guyanese at the time was qualified to be a diplomat”, there must have been subsequent review because soon thereafter without notice and fanfare, a number of African Guyanese were appointed diplomats(ii) the then Chairman of the ERC recalls endeavouring to gather data from many agencies of government and private institutions to give an ethnic breakdown of their interactions with the public – the universal response was that there was not the practice of determining and recording the ethnicity of clients – it was thus indicated that a bigger project was necessary to obtain the useful information desired; (iii)siting of the 1823 monument at the seawall was appropriate as the design evoked the uprising and struggle, and it could bereadily erected at the seawall site – siting at Parade Ground should and probably would have attracted considerations of other designs appropriate for that site, perhaps designs evoking the “torture, mutilations and executions” perpetrated at that site; (iv) I went to the trouble to obtain and read a copy of the letter referred to by Freddie and it could only be considered “venomous” in the pain of its truth. Some persons see similar sentiments and concerns expressed by Freddie himself in his series entitled “VodooPollitical theory”. I,like Jagdeo and Ramotar, sense no case for sanctioning that lady.

We PPP/C cannot hold out that we set out to do anything specifically, exclusivelydirected and intended for Afro-Guyanese but we will hold out that Afro-Guyanese shared equitability in the growth and development that all of us Guyanese engaged ourselves in during the years of the PPP/C in Office.We are not reluctant to acknowledge the actions of Former President DesmondHoytewhich (re)opened roads to growth and development.I am not reluctant to argue that, subsequently, we have to largely thank Jagdeo as an exceedingly competent and practical economist and politician, as Finance Minister and then as President. It so happened that in the same issue of KN in an article entitled, “Getting Help”, Peeping Tom remarks on how skillfully and successfully Bharat Jagdeo managed the effects of the world financial crisis of 2008. It would be informative and good to have listings for our citizens who were able to acquire their first vehicles and/or their first homes during 1992 to 2015, with the PPP/C and Jagdeo in Office, to enter their names, and I would be ready to wager a big jill that it would be found that Afro-Guyanese have enjoyed a reasonably proportional improvement when compared to what Afro-Guyanese and all Guyanese had before 1992.

Turning to the “poor Sam Hinds” in the last two paragraphs of the column, Freddie seemingly forgets the circumstances, the foregoing of the PPP and the unwritten covenants under which Cheddi and the PPP formed the Civic Component.Recall that when it looked like the anticipated 1990 election might be fair and free, not rigged, CheddiJagan recognizing the estrangement and isolation that would have grown between our peoples post 1964, and sensing the need once more to pull our Guyanese people together, formed the PPP/C seeking to bring into an extended leadership (and support base) any Guyanese who at that time was not hostile to and was ready to work with the historical PPP to rebuild and restore and take forward Guyana. It was obvious that once again Afro-Guyanese wereparticularly sought after by Cheddi and the PPP even when they may have been at the heart of the PNC earlier.Jagdeo is carrying on along the long-held aspirations of the PPP and PPP/C.

It was known at the time that Cheddi was seeking an Afro-Guyanese Civic to be his running mate and Prime Ministerial candidate. Again, as was widely known, the then well-known economist, Dr Clive Thomas headed his list which was said to includeother then known persons, Gordon Todd, Aubrey Armstrong, Maurice Odle, all known to and respected by Cheddi. It was when these (and perhaps others) could not accept for various reasons that the name of then unknown but lucky Sam Hinds came on the table, and he has not been poorrf for it. Sam Hinds was a novice to politics who had no expectations of becoming President, and his stepping aside was him being true to the unwritten PPP/C covenant. A document presented by President Jagdeo about 2005, entitled “Building Trust” points to what we, all Guyanese (including Freddie), should be working towards.
Samuel A. A. Hinds
Former President and Former Prime Minister

Oh skites Sam Hinds to the rescue telling F.K. to stop the eye pass.

Sam Hinds is a man of integrity.  FK is a raging lunatic looking for any attention he can get. Trump would call him a schitthead in a schitthole country.

A wonderful article, it took a blackman to set matters straight and to defend the PPP. It doesn't matter what was said the GNI PNC clan will criticize. 

Bhai, you one sided tarass,What does the PPP clan do all day ? Blackman dunce,can't manage nothing ... etc..etc..

you are funny too funny you actually believe the shit u post 

warrior posted:

you are funny too funny you actually believe the shit u post 

No I don't believe any of it.  I just write stuff on here to piss you off.  Look like it's working.