The sub-contract between Godfrey Yearwood and Desmond Murphy, signed by CH&PA staffers.

Hours after Minister of Housing, Valerie Adams-Yearwood released a statement challenging claims of a conflict of interest with her husband at the Central Housing and Planning Authority (CH&PA), there are shocking details emerging that raise even more questions.
The Minister came under public scrutiny two weeks ago after Opposition Leader, Bharrat Jagdeo, reported that contracts were issued to the Minister’s husband, Godfrey Yearwood, by CH&PA – the agency over which she presides.
After days of public pressure, Minister Adams-Yearwood denied any input, claiming that she does not preside over the bidding and awarding process at CH&PA.
The Minister and Godfrey Yearwood married in August 2017 and a few months later, he was awarded contracts to build a number of turn-key homes for CH&PA.

However, the minister claimed, in her statement on Monday, that she learnt of the awards only after he told her.

The Housing Minister and Godfrey Yearwood married in August 2017.

Further, when a 2017 press release from Government surfaced, stating that the Minister “presided” over the awarding of contracts – contrary to the claim by the Minister that she does not – she claimed Monday that her presence at the event was purely ceremonial.
But it isn’t just the Minister who is related to Godfrey Yearwood.
This publication saw documents that suggest that staffers at CH&PA were very familiar with the Minister’s husband.
In fact one of them, Troy Marks, the Clerk of Works at CH&PA, is said to be a nephew of the Minister’s husband.
According to a private contract, Yearwood in January 2018 sub-contracted a number of houses to one Desmond Murphy.
Marks, and Elizabeth Simeon, a Secretary at CH&PA, both signed as witnesses to that January 2018 private contract.
That is a clear no-no as CH&PA is the agency that in the first place issued the contracts to Yearwood.
Chief Executive Officer at the CH&PA, Lelon Saul, had said that if a contractor is the husband of the Minister, there exists a conflict of interest.
It is unclear whether he knew that Marks is related to Yearwood as well.
It is a clear no-no for the two CH&PA staffers to sign as witnesses to a private contract for the husband of the Minister of Housing.
That private contract, dated January 18, 2018, was made for the construction of 11 concrete, single-storey houses at Perseverance, East Bank Demerara, to the tune of $10.5M.
Desmond Murphy, the sub-contractor had accused Godfrey Yearwood of withholding the payment from him after he had completed the works.
It is Murphy’s claim of non-payment from Yearwood that has now opened this can of worms.
In her statement, Minister Valerie Adams-Yearwood said that Murphy, engaged for six weeks, did substandard work, which was rejected by CHPA.
She also said that several materials, which were purchased by Mr. Murphy, could not be accounted for. She said that the “defective works” had to be corrected by Godfrey Yearwood. He consequently retained the finances, and so, Murphy was not paid for his work.

https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...-them-is-his-nephew/

• mceclip0

Granger allows this Shyte to continue under his radar. He is as corrupt as the massive amounts of corruption which is occurring and unaccounted for. 

The buck stops at his desk !

Yuji, this is pale in comparison to what else is going on. It IS THe PNC we talkin bout BUT do not tell that to GNI FILTH HEADS dem gun seh yuh mad MASSA will never do that and dat 32>33. Ask Dj see what he seh

Dumb and Dumber the Movie was made for a purpose

I believe AFC's Ramaya was the first one to come out straight and condemned corruption in the government. The coalition government came into power as a result of convincing thousands of voters that their government would be corruption-free.  This is certainly not the case given that the problem of corruption have become more rampant.

What happened here is what is norm in Guyanese political circles, crony capitalism. The money here is not large, about 70k in one instance and  mere 5 thousand dollars in another. It however, points to what will happen in the future where kith and kin of every minister will queue up at the to turn the nation into their private soup kitchen.

The idea that PPP supporters are rising a stink and seeking the high moral ground on this issue is a laugh. We know of Jagdeo giving his best friend millions in contracts not to mention the entire cadre of PPPites from the GRA where Sataur had seven of his close family member on staff, Priya with her mom among others, Ramotar giving his son a contract worth 35 million US that he screwed up completely etc etc. And this is not counting the literal give away of a million US to buddy or Prime land to cronies like Ahmad. One Chinese man was alloted more land than all the Amerindian tribes combined! Beharry et al  Oil leases and berbice bridge deal and 25 hectares ( including all of Crab island) to build a harbor. 

If you want to be honorable men and women address this as a case of Guyanese political disease and not as a PNC only problem.

BULLSHIT!! Your way of condoning, supporting CORRUPTION is NOT subtle, we can see right through it and it is shameless on your part!!!

Where is the a statement condoning this? You should be shamed given the rapacious pillaging of the PPP legacy over 23 years and yet you bend the knees to those crooks!

BULLSHIT!! Your way of condoning, supporting CORRUPTION is NOT subtle, we can see right through it and it is shameless on your part!!!

Where is the a statement condoning this? You should be shamed given the rapacious pillaging of the PPP legacy over 23 years and yet you bend the knees to those crooks!

Is this your method of fighting corruption... you should be ashamed of yourself. 

What happed to the promised by APNU/ AFC to eradicate corruption at all levels of government. 

It seems you remove one hair from the paint brush and PPP is the scapegoat of APNU/AFC corruption. Shame on you. 

Bend what knees? I have ALWAYS speak out against all CORRUPTIONS!! Go back and check and I DO NOT try to make excuse for anyone!!!

The PPP's corruption were everywhere during their rule but all I heard from you over the years you have been here is how bad black people will cause it to be if they are in power. You never once was ever critical of the obscenity that is the PPP party.

Is this your method of fighting corruption... you should be ashamed of yourself. 

What happed to the promised by APNU/ AFC to eradicate corruption at all levels of government. 

It seems you remove one hair from the paint brush and PPP is the scapegoat of APNU/AFC corruption. Shame on you. 

Why should I be ashamed? No one ever accused me of stealing anything?  I do not care what happened to promises of any politician. I address their failures. You should try dong the same for a change.  No one has to paint the PPP and I am not in the habit of scapegoating. The PPP's kleptocracy was there for two decades to assess. I comment on the APNU's failure daily.

These are the fellas who justify PNC thiefmen by saying “The only thief lil bit”

Shameless indeed !!!

His best fried was jailed for stealing. Did he share in the loot ?

During the last election campaign i made the point numerous times that the AFC/APNU parties had their doors wide open for corrupted people and extremists (racial elements) to enter.  That was a very bad sign. You cannot allow Kleptos from the old government to be part of your government and have us believe that the problem of corruption will be a thing of the past. People like Kari, Gerard Ramsaroop, Gilly, Mitwah, TK, Stormy, et al were all duped.  The contributed well on this forum but the erred in their judgment.

More explosive revelations…Housing Minister’s husband used CH&PA staffers to witness private contract-one of them is his nephew

Apr 17, 2019 News

The sub-contract between Godfrey Yearwood and Desmond Murphy, signed by CH&PA staffers.

The Housing Minister and Godfrey Yearwood married in August 2017.

https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...-them-is-his-nephew/

Keeping it extremely close within close family circles.

These are the fellas who justify PNC thiefmen by saying “The only thief lil bit”

Shameless indeed !!!

His best fried was jailed for stealing. Did he share in the loot ?

So what is wrong with commenting on the fact the sums being discussed are small? Is that not a contrast from the monumental grift and graft of the PPP? And did your mama tell you the man was my best friend or did you just pull it from the aether as the rest of your nonsense? 

This is not just about corruption.  We have a major problem with this government resorting to Burnham's style of governance by violating the constitution and staying in office illegally. 

they used the process to stymie the law.  Burnham would not care about the law. Both sides only think the constitution is good when it favors them.