Patients forced to share beds in maternity ward

Sectoral Committee finds

…paediatric unit lacks sufficient ventilation

A visit by a parliamentary delegation to the Georgetown Public Hospital (GPHC) has revealed less than ideal conditions for new mothers, at both the maternity and paediatric wards.
Back in May, a visit and review of the hospital by the Parliamentary Sectoral Committee on Social Services found that the Maternity Ward sees and treats more patients than beds can accommodate. As a result, new mothers continue to have to double up in the beds in order to accommodate each other.

The new Maternity Ward

The Committee, which was led by Member of Parliament, Dr Vindhya Persaud, was debriefed by department head Denise Marks, who reported that there are 23 beds in the pre-natal unit; nine beds with four monitors in the labour room and six beds with six monitors in the delivery room. All of this is overseen by a staff complement of 51 midwives.
This was juxtaposed with the fact that the ward not only caters for pregnant mothers from Region Four (Demerara-Mahaica), but also from regional hospitals around the country. The Committee related that Marks informed them of the need for the hospital to have a ward catering to Region Four mothers only.
“In response to an inquiry on whether the staff complement was adequate, Ms Marks stated that there was a need for more midwives. She suggested a total of 102 was adequate. In addressing constraints faced by the department, she stated that there was a need for the Maternity Ward to have its own Electrocardiogram (ECG) machine, ultrasound machine and about 15 monitors in total,” the committee recorded.
In its recommendations for the maternity unit, the Committee advised that the ward should have no less that 102 midwives. It also urged that the ward be outfitted with an ECG machine, 15 monitors and an ultrasound machine.
The Maternity Ward is not the only department experiencing issues with overcrowding. On the same visit to the GPHC, the parliamentary team found that the Accident and Emergency Unit (A&E) of the hospital was also grappling with cramped space. It also had issues with shortages of staff and drugs, along with the poor maintenance of equipment.
According to a report from that visit, Head of A&E, Dr Zulficar Bux revealed that the Unit has 18 beds and a staff of 16 doctors assisted by nurses. These beds, the reports noted, are expected to cater for 60 to 100 patients.
The doctor had also revealed that these 16 doctors see between 100 to 200 patients per day, including referrals. There have been cases, the report revealed, where elective surgeries we’re cancelled due to overcrowding.

Paediatric Ward
The Paediatric Ward, where the new born babies are kept, monitored and given post-natal care, was also highlighted in the report. While they observed that the ward was clean and child friendly, the Committee was informed that it lacked fundamental equipment like air conditioning units and sufficient fans.
Dr Seepersaud, head of the unit, informed the parliamentary delegation that this causes the ward to be humid, which is detrimental to both staff and patients. The Committee was also informed of other issues including malfunctioning equipment, prolonged repair time and shortages of medication and equipment.
Even though the ward is the only one in the hospital that performs Paediatric Cardiology, it was noted that it has been operating without its full complement of staff, especially those who work as specialists.
“(Seepersaud) stated that there is need for nurses to be specialised in nursing care, specifically related to paediatric care. However, she noted that there is a baby care foundation programme that aids the department in achieving its mandate.”
The parliamentary committee recommended a number of changes to the Paediatric Unit. These include the installation of air conditioning units in the ward and for technicians to be trained and in place to maintain the equipment.
It noted the importance of clear policies to be developed for the department, as well as for the nurses to be trained in paediatric care. The committee also recommended that a cardiac unit be established for children cardiology.
“The quality of equipment, machinery and instruments should be taken into consideration when making purchases for the department,” the Committee also urged. “The issues of drug and staff shortages and other medical supplies should be addressed urgently.”
Earlier this year, the new Maternity Ward was opened to the public. In consideration of instances when two mothers were made to share one bed, the multimillion-dollar unit was supposed to help alleviate this issue.

http://guyanatimesgy.com/patie...s-in-maternity-ward/

Lilmohan and his underling djangy are hypocrites along with mars and the rest of those who peddle pnc slop(ie slop can carriers). They only will post and discuss favorable articles about the performance of the pnc/afc.

yuji22, dem boys gon seh: sharing beds in Georgetown Hospital is TRADITIONAL. 

Seriously, Granger has other priorities. Just follow his government's spending trail. Perhaps, our efficient database manager Django can share the details with you. Just ask Him and ye shall receive. 

Yugi was born in a cow pen and Derick in a dankey pound.

This new Maternity Ward was recently commissioned by the Coalition. I am not  surprised by the overcrowding since new mothers would rush here given the record of deaths of babies and mothers at other hospitals and health facilities. Also a high volume of referrals would impact on the delivery of effective patient care and overcrowding.

Politicians and friends and the upper class are able to have their babies born in the USA and Canada and even able to fly out for treatment like belly wuck.

The New Amsterdam hospital will soon be able to accommodate 50 beds for maternity purposes. The construction of the first phase of the unit at a cost of $23.064 million was approved. The contract was awarded to Caston Engineering Services.

Remodelling Work is being done to make the Leonora Cottage Hospital  maternity ward  functional again.

I understand there is a shortage of Mid-Wives and qualified nurses.  

Seriously, Granger has other priorities. Just follow his government's spending trail. Perhaps, our efficient database manager Django can share the details with you. Just ask Him and ye shall receive. 

Looks like the man does a nightly backup of his databases.

According to a report from that visit, Head of A&E, Dr Zulficar Bux revealed that the Unit has 18 beds and a staff of 16 doctors assisted by nurses. These beds, the reports noted, are expected to cater for 60 to 100 patients.

Is something wrong here?

This is typical PNC style of governing, nothing has changed including their rigging habits.

Bai, Gilly is curious to know how many petabytes of storage Django has hoarded on Guyana politics. De man like a digital pack-rat. 

I was thinking more like gigabytes or terabytes. I doubt whether Djangy can afford petabytes. I might be wrong. Come in Djangy bai.

HAHAHA  namakaram Crabdaag CHANGE::  From the Frying Pan directly into the FIRE" Cain, Djange and Caribj version of Progress.

Meh Neighba seh stupidee people were born that way. Al yuh go easy on them.

Mitwah looks very foolish defending this clueless PNC administration.

Is that your best comeback. 

After 23 years of negligence, progress is slow. I am in no way tooting the horn for the PNC. I think they should commission part off the Bhariot as a rehab centre. 

Shameless Coolie boy still defending the incompetent PNC government, they can have 50% RAISE, take $20 Million US bribe. He even went to strike a deal with Jagdeo in Toronto, but after No deal he started to cuss down the President. Somebody is feeding him misleading news about Guyana and he peddles the lie on GNI all for NO Money.His chance of getting a job in Guyana is gone, the Indians are being replaced, PNC don't need the Rumjaat and *****motto for 2020 election, Patterson will secure their victory.

This gov't does less for the people than the previous government.  The economy has slowed and the problem of corruption has worsened.  If you recall these people in government presently promised to weed out corruption and re-channel the dollars to the economy. This has not happened. The nation is shocked to learn of huge pay hikes for Party hacks in government working as advisers and minsters.  

Why should the independent-minded Guyanese who crossed party lines and voted for the coalition tolerate this nonsense?  These voters now pose a serious threat to incumbent parties. So serious that the Granger administration have resorted to Burnhamist trick of rigging elections to stay in power. The people of Guyana will fight back if elections are rigged. We in North America will give our support to those fighting to restore  democracy.  

Is that your best comeback. 

After 23 years of negligence, progress is slow. I am in no way tooting the horn for the PNC. I think they should commission part off the Bhariot as a rehab centre. 

Hai bai, is the Bhariot not the prime location for the PNC parties nowadays?  How dem go turn in into a rehab centre.  Wha wraaang wid you?

I was thinking more like gigabytes or terabytes. I doubt whether Djangy can afford petabytes. I might be wrong. Come in Djangy bai.

Bhai,hard drives are cheap,1 petabyte = 1000 terabyte,me thinks i can afford that,my current database don't need that amount of storage,i can compress the data to save on storage.

I have notice the crew having a field day with the article from the PPP Guyana Times,looks Guyana on the move with all the new births,that's is good increase the population,alyuh better check if that increased births are Indo Guyanese otherwise in the future PPP cork duck.

It's just a matter of time before the digital pack-rat will be awarded with the Cacique's Crown of Honour for his service to the PNC.  Gilly you better buy a nice suit in case he invite you to the award ceremony!

PNC has to polish up their image using digital pack-rat. A new trend in Guyana's politics. A term coined by Gilly in advance of the 2020 election.

Banna don't copy Gilly,find out what's digital pack-rat.

It's just a matter of time before the digital pack-rat will be awarded with the Cacique's Crown of Honour for his service to the PNC.  Gilly you better buy a nice suit in case he invite you to the award ceremony!

No way. Me learn me lesson. Dem people toxic.

You always on stupidness,Django don't look for accolades.

No way. Me learn me lesson. Dem people toxic.

Careful deh bhai,is the politicians or generally ?

Bibi can you explain the population explosion that is happening? I wonder how many here were born at home. The midwife in my village, we used to call her "Neh Neh". 

All of my siblings and myself,the midwife was called Red Nurse from Anna Catherina.

Shameless Coolie boy still defending the incompetent PNC government, they can have 50% RAISE, take $20 Million US bribe. He even went to strike a deal with Jagdeo in Toronto, but after No deal he started to cuss down the President. Somebody is feeding him misleading news about Guyana and he peddles the lie on GNI all for NO Money.His chance of getting a job in Guyana is gone, the Indians are being replaced, PNC don't need the Rumjaat and *****motto for 2020 election, Patterson will secure their victory.

Koolie Puss, you are very sour today. Forgot to take your meds again?

Mitwah is now parroting Moses in becoming the Biggest Cussing Bird. He learnt well from Moses.

Where did I cuss?

Good question. His Excellency is mixing up Mitwah with Gilbakka the Biggest Cussing Bird. 

Mitwah is now parroting Moses in becoming the Biggest Cussing Bird. He learnt well from Moses.

Where did I cuss?

That bhai,need to focus,i mentioned attacking Moses and Ramjattan is not the solution to solve Guyana's "devided" [Quote from Jagdeo Placard] race based politics.

Where did I cuss?

That bhai,need to focus,i mentioned attacking Moses and Ramjattan is not the solution to solve Guyana's "devided" [Quote from Jagdeo Placard] race based politics.

Some angry posters will end up cussing you today. How on earth the two liars and conmen Moses and Ramjattan good for Guyana's race based politics ?

Prove to us how they are useful.What have the done for their Base in Canada which broke ties with them ?

How are their actions of endorsing the liar Patterson good for Guyana's race based politics ?

How about their big fat pay increases when they promised to fight for pay increases for workers ?

Where are they when crimes are escalating out of control ?

How about people in Berbice people protesting against them everywhere that they show up ?

This list can go on and on.

Get real man.

Where did I cuss?

Some angry posters will end up cussing you today. How on earth the two liars and conmen Moses and Ramjattan good for Guyana's race based politics ?

Prove to us how they are useful.What have the done for their Base in Canada which broke ties with them ?

How are their actions of endorsing the liar Patterson good for Guyana's race based politics ?

How about their big fat pay increases when they promised to fight for pay increases for workers ?

Where are they when crimes are escalating out of control ?

How about people in Berbice people protesting against them everywhere that they show up ?

This list can go on and on.

Get real man.

Bhai,anger don't cut the mustard,you have to be calm and cool.

Check out this big fat pay raise under the PPP.

Ok. Now show us the actual dollar figure. Please show us. 

Let us compare that to the actual dollar figure since the PNC took over.

Add the 20 Million U.S dollar bribe that the PNC took for signing the oil contract.

Remember your God Father Granger might now be very upset at you for posting the actual dollar figures.

You are trying to sell PNC Snake oil. You what, you are worse than the filth that you carry daily here at GNI in the PNC posey.

Yugi seems to forget what Guyanese got from the PPP after 23 years.

• Failed education system with illiteracy on the rise;
  • Broken health care system;
  • Highest infant/mother mortality rate in the region;
  • Poorest country in the hemisphere;
  • Most corrupt country in the region;
  • Increased racial divisiveness within the last 23 years - state   sponsored;
  • Broken transportation system;
  • Broken electricity system - random and prolonged black outs;
  • Broken road works & bridges - crippling the movement of goods and people;
  • Broken water and sewage system - no and sometimes unsafe piped water;
  • Country in state of dictatorship with the closure of parliament;
  • Rolling back of press freedoms with media being threatened;
  • Extra judicial killings and disappearances on the rise;
  • State sponsored demoralizing of armed services;

Add the 20 Million U.S dollar bribe that the PNC took for signing the oil contract.

Remember your God Father Granger might now be very upset at you for posting the actual dollar figures.

You are trying to sell PNC Snake oil. You what, you are worse than the filth that you carry daily here at GNI in the PNC posey.

Please take it light,when confronted you all get nasty,typical PPPites.

I am on GNI to expose the bigots.

When PNC was in office:

Rape and Murder was everywhere.

Kick down the door bandits were everywhere

ALL elections Rigged were Elections.

Those who opposed the PNC were jailed or murdered - They Killed Rodney.

There were shortages for food - People had to line up for Gas

Newspapers were muzzled - PPP and WPA had only one page of printed paper

No TV's were allowed

Only PNC led Radio stations existed

Only PNC controlled Newspapers existed

Indos were treated like dogs - Only PNC card carrying members had jobs

Schools were broken and no toilet and water facilities were at schools

Roads were impassable across Guyana

Burnham destroyed the hundreds of Tata Buses for public transportation - It was if they ate out the hundreds of buses.

People had to line up for food

People had to line up for Jobs

People had to line up for Diesel

People had no drinking water, some people had to boil water to drink

People had to line up for Gasoline

The rice industry was dead

There was no drainage and irrigation

No one dared challenge the PNC.

Public protests were not allowed.

No gas for cooking were available

The country had no foreign currency

The country had the highest debt ratio

The country was bankrupt

There was no cooking oil, flour, shall, salt, toilet paper, soap, onion, garlic etc etc

Blackout for months

Berbicians had to wait up to two days to cross the Berbice River

Criminals roamed places Berbice and acted as if they were invincible  - Yes, every Berbician knows this.

People were murdered for defending their rights to vote

Yuji and thousands of Guyanese abroad had to fight for free and fair elections.

Other Guyanese can add to the list.

It is such a shame that the dirty Indian Mitwah is trying to white wash the PNC's record.

And the list above lasted for 28 years.

You sir are the biggest Bigot.

You sir are a biggest Bigot.

Unfortunately your assessment is poor.

Sir my assessment is 1000 percent accurate. I know why you defend the PNC and I knew about the soup. I just don't want to get dirty today associating with filthy people like you.

Yugi seems to forget what Guyanese got from the PPP after 23 years.

• Failed education system with illiteracy on the rise;
  • Broken health care system;
  • Highest infant/mother mortality rate in the region;
  • Poorest country in the hemisphere;
  • Most corrupt country in the region;
  • Increased racial divisiveness within the last 23 years - state   sponsored;
  • Broken transportation system;
  • Broken electricity system - random and prolonged black outs;
  • Broken road works & bridges - crippling the movement of goods and people;
  • Broken water and sewage system - no and sometimes unsafe piped water;
  • Country in state of dictatorship with the closure of parliament;
  • Rolling back of press freedoms with media being threatened;
  • Extra judicial killings and disappearances on the rise;
  • State sponsored demoralizing of armed services;

Mitwah is cool! Look how Yugi22 is non compos mentis.