An artist’s impression of the new bridge.

August 19,2017  Source

The Ministry of Public Infrastructure yesterday announced that it will be soon embarking on the process of pre-qualifying contractors for the construction a new Demerara River Bridge.

According to a statement issued by the ministry yesterday, contractors will be pre-qualified for the finance, design, building, and maintenance components of the new bridge.

It said these works will be procured through public tendering, with a restricted number of bidders.

“The procurement process will be a two-phase one: the current pre-qualification phase and the bidding phase. In the pre-qualification phase, three contractors will be shortlisted and requested to submit designs and offer a fixed price lump sum bid for the design and construction of the bridge and approach roads,” it explained.

It added that the shortlisting of the bidders shall be on the basis of the profile, track record, and financial capacity of the applicants as well as on the merit of the technical, cost and financing proposals presented by applicants in their pre-qualification document.

Furthermore, in order to improve the funding package, it said that applicants for shortlisting are requested to advance proposals for financing the project.

The statement said the “Request for Pre-Qualification Document” will be available for download on the ministry’s website (www.mopi.gov.gy) from August 21, 2017 and contractors must respond by September 4 in order to be considered for participation in the pre-qualification procedure.

The proposed bridge is expected to be approximately 2 kilometres north of the existing floating bridge, spanning from Houston on the eastern bank of the Demerara River to Versailles on the western bank of the Demerara River. The project will see the construction of an approximately 1,500m long fixed bridge with a movable span and two approach roads of a total length of 600m. It is envisaged that the project will commence in 2018 and will be delivered in 2020.

Great move, let's hope they use a better Financing model than what the PPP used for Bbce giving the people of BBce a goady to carry!

This is some of what my AFC friend (Mitwah/Ramjattan fam) in NY was referring to.  PNC have a few tricks up their sleeve to kick-in 2018 to 2020 and try to out maneuver the PPP. I believe they will partially nationalize the BBce bridge, pay off NIS and dramatically reduce the tolls.  This will be done on the run-up to 2020 elections.  The taxes, etc to deal with it will come after 2020!

These PNC/AFC are not all foolish, they have a plan, and it's not rigging as we all think!

ba$eman posted:

These PNC/AFC are not all foolish, they have a plan, and it's not rigging as we all think!

Great observation,them bhais in the PPP camp will be unhappy.

I hope baseman will repeat that when the PPP lose in 2020. and not accuse the Govt of rigging

Pointblank
Pointblank posted:

It should be a four lane . The should make that investment now unless they have a plan to make it in such a way they they can expand to the sides. and it should have an opening span.

4 lane not required considering Guyana's sparse traffic.  If you tell me that Guyana's population is burgeoning then maybe, but so far more people leaving the country faster than the birth rate under jackass Granger's rule. 

Pointblank posted:
ba$eman posted:

Great observation,them bhais in the PPP camp will be unhappy.

I hope baseman will repeat that when the PPP lose in 2020. and not accuse the Govt of rigging

It was just a scenario.  I'm sure those diehards have a plan B if things don't pan out...and it will be old school!!

Pointblank posted:

It should be a four lane . The should make that investment now unless they have a plan to make it in such a way they they can expand to the sides. and it should have an opening span.

4 lane not required considering Guyana's sparse traffic.  If you tell me that Guyana's population is burgeoning then maybe, but so far more people leaving the country faster than the birth rate under jackass Granger's rule. 

They do need a four lane. It is really difficult to cross the bridge in the mornings and afternoons during the working week.

Z
Zed posted:
Pointblank posted:

They do need a four lane. It is really difficult to cross the bridge in the mornings and afternoons during the working week.

Twice a day rush hour traffic does not justify the additional expense. Implementing flexible working hours to spread out driving habits will be a better approach.  Look how the US implemented flexible working hours and it worked wonders in spreading out traffic from 1 hour window to a 4 hour window in the morning and afternoon.  When the traffic match the intensity of holland and lincoln tunnel in NY let us consider this approach. 

Pointblank posted:

Izzo where de boy DrugB deh?  He made the call. He was right!!!!!!

Former Member posted:

Great move, let's hope they use a better Financing model than what the PPP used for Bbce giving the people of BBce a goady to carry!

This is some of what my AFC friend (Mitwah/Ramjattan fam) in NY was referring to.  PNC have a few tricks up their sleeve to kick-in 2018 to 2020 and try to out maneuver the PPP. I believe they will partially nationalize the BBce bridge, pay off NIS and dramatically reduce the tolls.  This will be done on the run-up to 2020 elections.  The taxes, etc to deal with it will come after 2020!

Me hope this former member read Django new thread.  People like talk Piss when they don't know anything.

Former Member posted:

Me hope this former member read Django new thread.  People like talk Piss when they don't know anything.

And you like talk shit as if you know anything.

Former Member posted:

And you like to talk shit when it's ain't "made by the PPP!"

This project is being done in the run up to 2020, which ever form it takes!

Anything that is slated to be built under the current administration that were put in plan from the previous government, is paid for by public funds, and eventually becomes property of the state for public use. However, the coalition government will take credit for its completion which is a normal thing to do in politics. I don't believe Jagdeo or Granger will be working on the project, though. Lol