Ministers/VPs pay hike pegged at over $245M annually

Finance Minister Winston Jordan

… move mean not lean – Amerindian leaders

… Guyanese shocked

By Michael Younge

The 100 per cent pay hike which is being considered by the A Partnership for National Unity+Alliance for Change (APNU+AFC)coalition Government could see the country’s treasury being depleted by $245 million annually sparking shock and outrage among various stakeholders in the country, who have been told that the economy has sputtered to a halt.

The proposed pay hike would now see Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo and First Vice President, earning approximately $2.2 million monthly, inclusive of benefits, while the three other Vice Presidents will earn a total of $5.4 million altogether monthly.

President David Granger

Additionally, the fifteen Ministers in the new Government would earn $1.5 million each bringing their pay package to over $22.5 million altogether monthly.

Junior Ministers are expected to pocket $1.2 million each monthly inclusive of $500,000 in benefits. This means that the 12 Ministers altogether will drain the treasury of $14.4 million.

That aside, all of the Ministers will receive duty allowance, entertainment allowance, a chauffeur and annual vacation allowance which amounts to over $13.5 million.

In short, over $58 million would be expended on a monthly basis to service the payout to Ministers of Government alone.

Finance Minister Winston Jordan had confirmed that Cabinet is actively considering a salary increase for not only Ministers of Government but advisors as well as Members of Parliament.

He would not confirm nor deny the figures that have been floated in the public over the past two days.

On average, an Advisor is paid close to $800,000 per month which means that annually over $9.6 million could be expended on this category of Government staff. President Granger has appointed four Advisors so far; therefore they be paid 38.4 million annually.

The salaries of Members of Parliament would see the overall cost of the figure being significantly increased monthly.

Brian Allicock

This revelation comes as a governmental volte face as President David Granger has been quoted as saying that he wants to lead a “lean” Administration and the only way to achieve this is by cutting away wastage of tax payers’ monies and stopping the exuberance associated with occupying Executive Office and trailing behind a Cadillac lifestyle.

In fact, Granger had exhibited uneasiness about the salaries, pension and uncapped benefits of former Presidents arguing that it was a burden to the treasury. Only two weeks ago, his Government piloted legislation to change the laws allowing for caps to be placed on a former president’s entitlements and benefits.

The new APNU/AFC Government has also terminated the services of over 2000 young Amerindians who earned a mere stipend of $30,000 per month and scores staff from the One Laptop Per Family Project (OLPF).

Amerindian shock

It has moved to scrap the previous Government’s “Because We Care” Cash Grant Programme which saw families being given $10,000 to prepare each child in the public education system for school.

Speaking during an invited comment, Region Nine Regional Chairman Brian Allicock, brother of the Indigenous People’s Affairs Minister and Vice President Sydney Allicock, expressed his disappointment over this development, especially against the backdrop that the APNU/AFC had promised to put the people first.

Aleister Charlie

He expressed shock over the Government decision to fire the young Community Services Officer (CSO) especially given the revelations about a pay hike for Ministers.

“For me, it has been a really sad situation… I think it has gone against the promises that the present administration has made during this campaign that they were going to look after the youths. This was a grand opportunity for them. I think now, dismissing the CSOs in the country, I think it’s terrible and just to make room for those monies to go to the Ministers, I feel really, really saddened. I think they should reconsider the situation,” the Amerindian leader expressed.

Another Amerindian leader Aleister Charlie, a People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) Member of Parliament for Region Nine posited, “Where is the plan for the young people? Those individuals who were on the CSO programme benefited, even though the pay was little, it helped them, and it helped single mothers, particularly in my region, in Region Nine. What are you going to put in place for these young people now? They are now jobless.”

Charlie reasoned that it appears as though the Government just wrote off the 2000 Amerindian youths as “collateral damage” to make way for a massive salary hike for themselves.

Douglas Casimero, former Region Nine Vice Chairman and newly elected Toshao of Aishalton said that it “is unfair to our young people, especially those who are now unemployed. I am fully disappointed and against the decision of the new Government especially in their period of campaigning, they would have focused on employment for youths and to me this is an insult to the Amerindians”.

Mother’s response

“They cancelled the “Because We Care” grant where every child, every child was getting $10,000 to help them go to school. Look how many children we have.

It’s like they taking this money away from the people and giving it to themselves. What about the promises they made to the people? How they expect people to vote back for them. They are just showing us that they are greedy politicians,” said Jasmine Headley, a mother of three from Diamond, East Bank Demerara.

PPP’s response

Meanwhile, the People’s Progressive Party in a statement to the media said it is appalled of recent reports quoting Finance Minister Winston Jordan as saying the Cabinet of David Granger is actively considering pay increases, in some cases more than 100 per cent for its Ministers and Vice Presidents.

The party condemned this act of excessive generosity to the satraps of the Granger Administration.

“As is establishing a bloated is not enough, the Granger Administration is now planning to rub salt in the wounds of Guyanese, by “ fixing up the boys and girls” with big pay increases”, it said Saturday.

The PPP said, “this is the same administration which had claimed there is no money in the treasury to continue the School Uniform Voucher Programme and to give public servants a promised 20 per cent pay increase”.

It reminded that the APNU/AFC, while in opposition, had accused the PPP/C Government of excessive spending.

“Clearly, the Granger Administration is more concerned with living extravagant lifestyles and earning big bucks, while the population suffers, it is meat for the boys and bones for the rest of the nation. Every day, it is becoming clearer that vintage Burnhamism is slowly but surely returning to Guyana once again”, the party said.

Social media

On social media, Guyanese wasted no time in berating the Government for mulling a pay hike for itself of a greater magnitude than what is being offered to the public.

Trudie Daniels-Clarke said “I am hoping this is not true….I would more rather see 100 per cent increase for teachers and Police” while Rehanna A Rahaman suggested that, “Hmmm full them pocket first.. no wonder the school children 10 grand was taken away.. plus the false promises to teachers and others… Smh..”

Another facebook user, Nanda Juman said, “Omg…weren’t they making outrageous minister salaries a big campaign thing? And didn’t they say the economy cant afford to raise the salary of public servants? Whats this now?

And where are all the supporters who blindly justify everything they do and say? How will you justify this now?”

The new saying is that:

Instead of they "Stayed and Fight" is more like they "Stayed and Thief"   This applies to all of them PPP, PNC, APNU, AFC - F-ing bunch of thieves.

Originally Posted by VVP:

The new saying is that:

Instead of they "Stayed and Fight" is more like they "Stayed and Thief"   This applies to all of them PPP, PNC, APNU, AFC - F-ing bunch of thieves.

what exactly has APNU-AFC stolen?

The new saying is that:

Ah DUMB yuh DUMB and there is no hope in sight!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The new saying is that:

Ah DUMB yuh DUMB and there is no hope in sight!!!!!!!!!!!!!

drunk and stupid begging for attention is not a good situation for a ole horing antiman like u

The new saying is that:

Are you getting piece of it?  What did Jagdeo thief??  Guess you cannot make the connection in what I am saying. 

The new saying is that:

Are you getting piece of it?  What did Jagdeo thief??  Guess you cannot make the connection in what I am saying. 

answer my bloody question fool!

u have no clothes, and everbady can see

The new saying is that:

I think everyone can see you have no brains!  Limousine pulling the dankey cart in Guyana.  Instead of the F-ers lowering the salary and benefits to match the economy they are raising it.  F-ing thieves. 

The new saying is that:

I think everyone can see you have no brains!  Limousine pulling the dankey cart in Guyana.

still stumped . . . uh huh

is suh when yuh mouth running in service to an ignoble cause while yuh brain still asleep

The new saying is that:

I think everyone can see you have no brains!  Limousine pulling the dankey cart in Guyana.

still stumped . . . uh huh

is suh when yuh mouth running in service to an ignoble cause while yuh brain still asleep

Yep, again by redux the brilliant jackass 

The new saying is that:

I think everyone can see you have no brains!  Limousine pulling the dankey cart in Guyana.  Instead of the F-ers lowering the salary and benefits to match the economy they are raising it.  F-ing thieves. 

VVP are you saying....

Ravi Dev and De Old PNC jackass

are not Yanking Granger Balls..

on Emancipation Day 2015....

And further

You have joined an alliance with

Dem Ole Black PNC Racist Thug...

aya can today prove....

(1) Carib J is a Decent or Honest Fella..

(2) Moses calling for Increase in His Salary

(3) AFC & APNU

Indian & Non-Black Ministers

are calling for Pay Increase....

(4) And....your source .....

is not coming from the mouth

of any Black Racist PNC Minister....

who trying to stretch Granger Balls...

and Break up the AFC-APNU Partnership.

VVP are you saying....

And further

aya can today prove....

(3) AFC & APNU

Jalil, is this how you separate and elevate yourself above caribj?

by carving out "Indian & Non-Black Ministers" as the decent ones in the coalition, the others as "Ole Black PNC Racist Thug[s]"

by labeling Finance Minister Jordan as a "Black Racist PNC Minister"

and so on . . .

banna, you are not doing Moses Nagamootoo any favors . . . believe me

smfh

It's daylight robbery and it's legal although it is what they campaign against.  It is clear that they lied to the Guyanese people.  Do you believe that crime can be eradicated.  Ask Moses Kakamootoo.

First they past a law allowing the minister to access the Guyanese treasury without approval from the cabinet. Now it is 100% pay raise.  Where are all the jackasses who criticized the PPP before the election.

Last edited by Ramakant-P

The new saying is that:

VVP are you saying....

And further

aya can today prove....

(3) AFC & APNU

The newspaper quoted Jordon as saying that raises are being contemplated.  The amounts could be lies, which we have to wait and see. BUT nothing other than decreases are acceptable in this jackass economy.  What is Moses seying??

The new saying is that:

VVP are you saying....

And further

aya can today prove....

(3) AFC & APNU

The newspaper quoted Jordon as saying that raises are being contemplated.  The amounts could be lies, which we have to wait and see. BUT nothing other than decreases are acceptable in this jackass economy.  What is Moses seying??

Your economy?

Are you anti- Guyanese VVP?

The new saying is that:

VVP are you saying....

And further

aya can today prove....

(3) AFC & APNU

Your economy?

Are you anti- Guyanese VVP?

Isn't dankey and jackass the same?

Redux you and carib J

can spin whatever I say how you want to

I know what I am saying is the truth.

I am saying.....

(1) No Indian

(2) No AFC Minister (Indian, Black or Mixed)  

(3) No Indian, Non Black or Mixed APNU Cabinet Ministers

have not joined with the Old Black PNC Racist Thug

who are Yanking Granger Balls

on Emancipation Day 2015.

Redux since you want to spin what I said

Give us the name of one....Just One...

Indian or Non Black.... AFC - APNU Minister

who is teaming up with the Old PNC Black Racist Thugs

and Yank Granger Balls  about Pay Increase now....

Redux ....Name One....Just One

Redux you and carib J

can spin whatever I say how you want to

I am saying.....

No Indian & Non Black AFC & APNU Cabinet Ministers

who are Yanking Granger Balls on Emancipation Day 2015.

Redux gone to lunch, he stand exposed.  He is a BIG FAT LIAR who is doing Rohee wuk for Bharat.

The PNC is making pay hike a legal corruption. Plus, to have ministries withdraw funds directly from the treasury is very disturbing. I would like to hear what Ramjattan, Moses and Joey has to say about this. Public servants pay raise is on the back burner. Children 10,000 grants was taking away. The treasury supposedly was empty. The coalition was very concerned about taxpayers money, corruption, thievery and wasteful spending. Help me make sense of this.

Redux you and carib J

can spin whatever I say how you want to . . .

this is about me not caribj

how exactly am i "spinning" or misrepresenting what you posted?

here is your post:

"VVP are you saying....

And further

aya can today prove....

(3) AFC & APNU

and Break up the AFC-APNU Partnership."

my response to this was:

by carving out "Indian & Non-Black Ministers" as the decent ones in the coalition, the others as "Ole Black PNC Racist Thug[s]"

and so on . . .

smfh

show me where i am lying on you

Redux you and carib J

here is your post:

"VVP are you saying....

And further

aya can today prove....

(3) AFC & APNU

my response to this was:

and so on . . .

smfh

Redux show us .....what I have said is wrong or not True.

Did Moses Call for Pay Increase?

Did Any AFC Minister Indian, Black or Mixed call for a Pay Increase?

Did any APNU Minister Indian, Black, or Mixed who is not an Ole PNC call for a pay increase?

Are you ashamed to say this is a Call by.....

ONLY A FEW BLACK PNC MINISTERS

who made an Emancipation Call

because they think like J the Black Racist?

Go ahead.....Name Them....let us have the Names.

Did any APNU Minister Indian, Black, or Mixed who is not an Ole PNC call for a pay increase?

Dem bai resur-erected from "heaven's waiting room" for a last hurrah before even horse viagra is rendered useless.  By the time it comes around to "pay the piper" for the "rape", dem bannas long gone limp or stiff!!  Is Back to Back, Belly to Belly, dem don' give a damn, dem done dead aareddy.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3LKTpbw53QE

Time to bury this PPP lie once and for all. 

Ministers getting what everyone else is getting.

END of story.

One good thing about you, you are always "very" predictable!!

Redux you and carib J

here is your post:

"VVP are you saying....

And further

aya can today prove....

(3) AFC & APNU

my response to this was:

and so on . . .

smfh

this is very simple bai

(i) is Minister Jordan a "Black Racist PNC Minister"?

(ii) please name the "few black PNC ministers" who made this "emancipation Call" and define what that particular racist provocation means

(iii) what exactly is the ethical difference between AFC & APNU Indian & Non-Black Ministers (Nagamootoo, Ramjattan, Holder, Roopnarine, Bulkan, Ally, Norton, etc.) [vs] AFC & APNU Black ministers (Patterson, Trotman, Hughes, Harmon, Greenidge, etc) . . . is this the rawan effect you are not-so-slyly pointing to?

thanks

please cc Hon. Moses Nagamootoo with your reply

OK....

while de Ole PNC Jackass

screaming on Monkey Mountain...

and latching on to Granger Balls....

the Rest of Guyana do not have a Problem....

And then there was

the arrival of the Prime Minister,

and the crowd went to a frenzie,

chanting MOSES MOSES MOSES MOSES ...

I hope those people are not hoarse

with all that screaming .... lol

Redux you and carib J

here is your post:

"VVP are you saying....

And further

aya can today prove....

(3) AFC & APNU

my response to this was:

and so on . . .

smfh

this is very simple bai

(ii) please name the "few black PNC ministers" who made this "emancipation Call" and define what that particular racist provocation means

(iii) what exactly is the ethical difference between AFC & APNU Indian & Non-Black Ministers (Nagamootoo, Ramjattan, Holder, Roopnarine, Bulkan, Ally, Norton, etc.) [vs] AFC & APNU Black ministers (Patterson, Trotman, Hughes, Harmon, Greenidge, etc) . . . is this the rawan effect you are not-so-slyly pointing to?

thanks

Does Carib J Racial Garbage make a difference...

Can Carib J change things with his Black Racist lies

Can Carib J run things from Monkey Mountain

CaribJ is on a Different Stage

and CaribJ in the Ole PNC Cage

CaribJ...This is not Monkey Mountain?

Motor Bike cant go there....

Redux you and carib J

here is your post:

"VVP are you saying....

And further

aya can today prove....

(3) AFC & APNU

my response to this was:

and so on . . .

smfh

this is very simple bai

thanks

Redux you and carib J

can spin whatever I say how you want to...

If Redux want to Join CaribJ

and Other Ole PNC Boys

To Grab Granger Balls...

we cannot stop them....

I am saying.....

(1) No Indian

AYA GO AHEAD ....

SQUEEZE DE BALLS GOOD

ON EMANCIPATION DAY... 

The PNC is now distributing the wealth of the Country to the top 30 members of the alliance. caribj must be proud.

Its interesting how dishonest these Indo KKK clowns are.  All yesterday I was condemning this pay increase as being immoral and politically unwise.

Yet now you scream that I must be proud.

What a dishonest man you are!

Redux you and carib J

here is your post:

"VVP are you saying....

And further

aya can today prove....

(3) AFC & APNU

my response to this was:

and so on . . .

smfh

this is very simple bai

thanks

I see Jalil's true racist nature has surfaced as I knew that it would.  So its only the black PNC "racists" who are crying out for an increase in pay.

Yet we have heard not a word from Nagamootoo saying that he wants know part of it.  In fact to be quite honest, we don't hear Nagamootoo saying a single thing.

You know the AFC is a distinct party from APNU, so they do have a right to state their position on these discussions surrounding the pay increase.  Especially as the discussions haven't been finalized.  All they need say is that the matter is being discussed, but that the position of the AFC is that no pay increases are merited at this time, given the myriad of challenges, which have forced the gov't to reduce or withdraw certain social support programs.

So Jalil and Mitah can scream from the mountain top.  It looks like APNU and AFC are chatting about more pay for themselves.  Let us hope that the share shame of this exposure embarrasses them into withdrawing it, until there is greater certainty as to the state of the economy, and of the government's source of revenues.

I see Jalil's true racist nature has surfaced as I knew that it would.  So its only the black PNC "racists" who are crying out for an increase in pay.

Yet we have heard not a word from Nagamootoo saying that he wants know part of it.  In fact to be quite honest, we don't hear Nagamootoo saying a single thing.

You know the AFC is a distinct party from APNU, so they do have a right to state their position on these discussions surrounding the pay increase.  Especially as the discussions haven't been finalized.  All they need say is that the matter is being discussed, but that the position of the AFC is that no pay increases are merited at this time, given the myriad of challenges, which have forced the gov't to reduce or withdraw certain social support programs.

So Jalil and Mitah can scream from the mountain top.  It looks like APNU and AFC are chatting about more pay for themselves.  Let us hope that the share shame of this exposure embarrasses them into withdrawing it, until there is greater certainty as to the state of the economy, and of the government's source of revenues.

Ow Carib J.

Why don't you shut up.  Everything is not about race brother.  CHILL OUT.

OK....

while de Ole PNC Jackass

screaming on Monkey Mountain...

and latching on to Granger Balls....

the Rest of Guyana do not have a Problem....

And then there was

the arrival of the Prime Minister,

and the crowd went to a frenzie,

chanting MOSES MOSES MOSES MOSES ...

I hope those people are not hoarse

with all that screaming .... lol

Guys....Check on CaribJ

Redux you and carib J

here is your post:

"VVP are you saying....

And further

aya can today prove....

(3) AFC & APNU

my response to this was:

and so on . . .

smfh

this is very simple bai

thanks

Redux you and carib J

can spin whatever I say how you want to...

If Redux want to Join CaribJ

and Other Ole PNC Boys

To Grab Granger Balls...

we cannot stop them....

I am saying.....

(1) No Indian

AYA GO AHEAD ....

SQUEEZE DE BALLS GOOD

ON EMANCIPATION DAY...