Minister Patterson to propose taskforce to examine city drainage

Minister Patterson with Civil Engineer, Walter Willis

THE Government of Guyana will be looking to immediately establish a multiparty task force including Civil Society to examine in the first instance the drainage of Georgetown and secondly the restoration of the city.This proposal will be formally made to Cabinet in the coming days by Public Infrastructure Minister, Honourable David Patterson who made the announcement during a press conference on Sunday evening while addressing the issue of flash flooding in several parts of the country. The press conference was held in television studios National Communications Network Inc.

A worker from a private company uses a hose to clear the outfall of the Church Street sluice

During the press conference the minister noted that one of the issue that contributed to the flooding of the city and coastland had to do with β€œtoo many bosses” amounting to some six different agencies which have responsibility for drainage in Guyana and who in most cases are very territorial much to the detriment of the country.

Minister Patterson told reporters that he today he will be speaking with the Finance Minister, Winston Jordon to see if any emergency funding can be accessed to effect emergency works.

Once that funding is available then the Ministry with the other agencies would be clearing clogged canals, desilting outfalls, and carrying out works on the pumps which are nonfunctional. Those pumps the media was told all fall under the supervision of City Hall. The Government has committed to offering its full support to the council to ensure that it carries out its mandate to reduce the instances of flooding in the city.

On Sunday several parts of the country experienced flooding laid solely at the feet of inoperable pumps, clogged canals and sluices which needed desilting, these causes were confirmed by the minister and made even more evident on Monday when the minister took the media on a tour of the facilities around Georgetown and its environs.

Minister Patterson related on Sunday that Georgetown and the coastland experienced 5 inches of water within four to five hours of rainfall. He also pointed out that Georgetown which was the worst affected area only has the capacity to drain a small amount of water, to be precise 1 Β½ inches of water every twenty four hours.

A portable pump is being used to assist draining the water over the Sussex Street sluice

On Sunday, Minister Paterson, Agriculture Minister Noel Holder and Mayor Hamilton Green and teams from their respective agencies visited several of the areas which were under water accessing the discomfort that residents were experiencing. Sunday’s visit also found that out of a total of thirteen sluices in Georgetown only two were functional while two of out six pumps were operable.

By yesterday most of the water had drained off the land but there was still a considerable amount of water in main drains and canals which peak their banks while some roads within the city still had sections of it in sheets of water. The draining of the land took place more rapidly in areas outside of Georgetown as was evident by midmorning yesterday Monday.

Yesterday, Monday, Minister Patterson was accompanied by Civil Engineer within the Ministry of Public Infrastructure, Walter Willis where they were able to get a better look at sluices, pumps and outfalls as they were not at the level of water present on the land as on the previous day.

One of the appalling discoveries yesterday was a sluice on Water Street that drains Lamaha Street that has been inoperable for years to the extent that it was estimated to have approximately fourteen feet of slit to be cleared coupled with other works to make it functioning.

Had that sluice been operating many of the flood waters which have been affecting the Kingston area over the past years would have been able to drain off the land even faster than it drained whenever the community was affected by floods.

The Minister and Walter Willis at the sluice in Kingston which has been inoperable for several years now

Among the areas visited yesterday included Kingston, Water Street, Meadow Bank, Ruimveldt and Agricola.

On Sunday the media was also informed that as of 17.00 hrs that day, the water in the East Demerara Water Conservancy was at 58 GD while the maximum is normally 60 GD it was pointed out that should the water continue to rise then the water would have to be released through the Lama Sluice and in a worst case scenario the Mahaica area would have to be used to drain the water.

DSC_9413

An outfall channel at Agricola that is in need of desilting

There will be no releasing of water in the Hope Canal since the water has no way of getting into the Atlantic Ocean at this time and although the NDIA last week said that once the conservancy gets at that critical stage the Hope Canal will be tested, the Public Infrastructure Minister reported that the position has been revisited.

By Leroy Smith

HAHAHA  Task-force upon Task-force.  The sign of incompetence!!!!!!!!!!

WAke up you bloody idiot. The PPP and their 23 year corrupt neglect is not easily solved. All this time and billions spent to this end and we are still hopelessly unable to protect our capital city. The new maxim should be if you need to solve a problem don't give it to a coolie or a black man...make sure you have both of them with their heads together working like a right brain left brain system. Otherwise they screw it up. Otherwise give it to someone else.

OK *******!!!!

Incompetence is after 23 years, that place still has a major flooding problem everytime lil rain fall

Guyana and the former British Guiana had major floods on record since in the early 1800's.

While the seawalls do prevent certain strengths of floods, their design were based on the probability of about one in ten; which means that the floods have a probability of 10% to occur at any time of the year.

A combination of the rain occurrences, the level of water held by the various channels plus the time of releasing the flows can compound the situation for causing floods.

Incompetence is after 23 years, that place still has a major flooding problem everytime lil rain fall

Guyana and the former British Guiana had major floods on record since in the early 1800's.

While the seawalls do prevent certain strengths of floods, their design were based on the probability of about one in ten; which means that the floods have a probability of 10% to occur at any time of the year.

A combination of the rain occurrences, the level of water held by the various channels plus the time of releasing the flows can compound the situation for causing floods.

Design based on the probability of about one in ten means it happens once in 10 years in the electric business.

Originally Posted by VVP:

Design based on the probability of about one in ten means it happens once in 10 years in the electric business.

My statement is absolutely clear and correct based on civil engineering procedures in the assessment of floods.

Repeat ....

[[QUOTE]]

design were based on the probability of about one in ten; which means that the floods have a probability of 10% to occur at any time of the year.

[[UNQUOTE]]

My statement is absolutely clear and correct based on civil engineering procedures in the assessment of floods.

Repeat ....

[[QUOTE]]

design were based on the probability of about one in ten; which means that the floods have a probability of 10% to occur at any time of the year.

[[UNQUOTE]]

Well I aint doubt you but accarding to you there could be floods 36 days per year??  is this whu yuh sehing??

Repeat ....

[[QUOTE]]

[[UNQUOTE]]

Well I aint doubt you but accarding to you there could be floods 36 days per year??  is this whu yuh sehing??

Exactly -- can be more or less.

Repeat ....

[[QUOTE]]

[[UNQUOTE]]

Well franlkly bai I don't think yuh know wha yuh talking bout.  Somedaby designing to dat would be fired.

Repeat ....

[[QUOTE]]

[[UNQUOTE]]

Well franlkly bai I don't think yuh know wha yuh talking bout.  Somedaby designing to dat would be fired.

As an Executive Officer engaged with civil engineering, water resources management and hydroelectric development projects in Canada, Guyana, Europe and other parts of the world, I provide relevant and succinct comments on issues; as they occur on GNI.

Guyana's coast land is about 5-7 feet below sea level.

If one were to design the sea walls to withstand floods, for example one in fifty years, one in one hundred years, one in five hundred years occurences, etc; the height of the sea walls would be about four times the current ones.

Even in those situations, there will still be occasional over-toppings.

Repeat ....

[[QUOTE]]

[[UNQUOTE]]

As an Executive Officer engaged with civil engineering, water resources management and hydroelectric development projects in Canada, Guyana, Europe and other parts of the world, I provide relevant and succinct comments on issues; as they occur on GNI.

Guyana's coast land is about 5-7 feet below sea level.

If one were to design the sea walls to withstand floods, for example one in fifty years, one in one hundred years, one in five hundred years occurences, etc; the height of the sea walls would be about four times the current ones.

Even in those situations, there will still be occasional over-toppings.

Bro if you are an Executive Officer that doesn't make you a civil engineer.  Many of my electrical engineers do not know what one in 10 means.  A lat of people do not know.  To say that you design to have floods 36 days a year is just common sense outrageous.  Show me your one in ten definition in an official quote. 

I am a Registered Professional Engineer.

It is your choice to undertake personal review and research on matters.

I am under no obligation to provide definitions for anyone.

Let's say that I agree with that you are not obligated to do so. However, you stated that ..."design were based on the probability of about one in ten; which means that the floods have a probability of 10% to occur at any time of the year". VVP is asking that you back that statement with a definition. Simple. You should have that info.

Who wants to be flooded out 3 times a month? If that is the case then don't you think the system should have compensated a long time so no flood would occur?

Originally Posted by Sparky:

I am under no obligation to provide definitions for anyone.

Let's say that I agree with that you are not obligated to do so. However, you stated that ..."design were based on the probability of about one in ten; which means that the floods have a probability of 10% to occur at any time of the year". VVP is asking that you back that statement with a definition. Simple. You should have that info.

This is why you need a Minister of Public Infrastructure that knows his stuff.  You cannot believe the amount of jargon that is used in the engineering businees sometimes.

Immaterial.

Anybody on GNI knows who you are?  If not, you can claim to be a PhD also.  Your definition does not make sense!  Point me to your definition used in the industry.

He is an engineer and obviously not a good one if he think what we have  is good enough. Holland have areas averaging 23 feet below sea level and they do not flood with such frequency. New Orleans is in a depression some 10 feet below sea level and only suffered that one catastrophic flood in our generation. We must secure the city or advise people leave.

Who wants to be flooded out 3 times a month? If that is the case then don't you think the system should have compensated a long time so no flood would occur?

Unfortunately, flooding will always occur on the coast land of Guyana.

One of the major concerns; which I have provided information a few times a while ago on the same topic; is the unfortunate effects of the outflows of the Amazon and Orinoco rivers which cause erratic cyclic erosion along the cost lands of Guyana.

Information on these unique issues are well documented in the engineering publications by Prof. Ven Te Chow.

One of the major concerns; which I have provided information a few times a while ago on the same topic; is the unfortunate effects of the outflows of the Amazon and Orinoco rivers which cause erratic cyclic erosion along the cost lands of Guyana.

Information on these unique issues are well documented in the engineering publications by Prof. Ven Te Chow.

Buddy go check your manuals.  One in 10 usually means one in 10 years.  Everybody can make a mistake if you are not up on thing.  BTW me wan PE too, just electrical.  Me just pass the exam and should get the certificate thing in couple weeks.

1959 publication? that's outdated and not of relevance.

the sea dam behind our land is almost half a mile long and was never washed out as long as I have known it. Flooding comes from the accumulation of water and inability to move it out quickly. Holland is tiny compared to us and they have almost their entire nation under sea level and they manage. We can manage our agriculture areas and our cities if we put our mind to it

Buddy go check your manuals.  One in 10 usually means one in 10 years.  Everybody can make a mistake if you are not up on thing.  BTW me wan PE too, just electrical.  Me just pass the exam and should get the certificate thing in couple weeks.

Again, it can occur with a probability of 10% in any given year.

the sea dam behind our land is almost half a mile long and was never washed out as long as I have known it. Flooding comes from the accumulation of water and inability to move it out quickly. Holland is tiny compared to us and they have almost their entire nation under sea level and they manage. We can manage our agriculture areas and our cities if we put our mind to it

The sea defense structures in Guyana were designed by the experts from Holland.