Originally Posted by VVP:

Buddy go check your manuals.  One in 10 usually means one in 10 years.  Everybody can make a mistake if you are not up on thing.  BTW me wan PE too, just electrical.  Me just pass the exam and should get the certificate thing in couple weeks.

Again, it can occur with a probability of 10% in any given year.

Buddy what you stated here is in line with what I expected.  This is in line with the "0.1 events per year" I provided in my definition above.  It is very different from what you initially stated which was "probability of 10% to occur at any time of the year."  No hard feelings. 

In the US we built our electric substations to 100 years flood plain levels.  Hurricane Sandy created havoc in New York so we will be designing to the new FEMA 100 years flood plain maps.  This is something people will be hearing a lot about that is driving rate increases.

Just looked at the pictures of the flood in Guyana on SN.  It hurts my heart.  I think the PPP will have to bear the brunt of the blame for this even though the new Order of Roraima guy is definitely responsible also.  This is what you get for not holding local government elections.  The new Minister of Infrastructure has his work cut out for him.  Good thing he has 2 junior ministers.  Guyana needs a rebuilding.

Spent reasonable money to clean up the place and the implement fines or better yet, flogging for littering.

Bannas, GT People have been eating and drinking then dump the rest on the streets for decades. It vis not going to change.

That is the thinking of PPP peeps,AAHHH just live in the filth is no worries, dem in India an Haiti got it mo wuss.

Originally Posted by Brian Teekah:

Dem gat Minister, Minister within and Minista without Laad Ah Mercy

GUYANA GONE FUH CHANNA!!!!!!!!!!

Like how Jagdeo has adviser upon adviser including a failed journalist Mr. Samoroo.

No hard feelings there Brian Teekah.  I have just been in a bad mood lately.

Wally
Last edited by Wally

Buddy go check your manuals.  One in 10 usually means one in 10 years.  Everybody can make a mistake if you are not up on thing.  BTW me wan PE too, just electrical.  Me just pass the exam and should get the certificate thing in couple weeks.

Buddy what you stated here is in line with what I expected.  This is in line with the "0.1 events per year" I provided in my definition above.  It is very different from what you initially stated which was "probability of 10% to occur at any time of the year."  No hard feelings. 

In the US we built our electric substations to 100 years flood plain levels.  Hurricane Sandy created havoc in New York so we will be designing to the new FEMA 100 years flood plain maps.  This is something people will be hearing a lot about that is driving rate increases.

Again, an quite simply ...

1. It has a 10% probability to occur in any given year. That means, it may or may nor occur.

2. Fundamental knowledge and understanding of statistics and probabilities is quite different from rudimentary grasps of same.

1. It has a 10% probability to occur in any given year. That means, it may or may nor occur.

2. Fundamental knowledge and understanding of statistics and probabilities is quite different from rudimentary grasps of same.

Stop using jargon, you don't impress me.

Is 10% probability to occur in any given year the same as probability of 10% to occur at any time of the year?  These are both your language.  Are you saying they are the same thing?  Answer this question.

I am not a probability expert, but they do not seems to mean the same thing to me.

10% probability to occur in any given year seems to me to mean that that the event will probably occur 1 in 10 years or 0.1 event per year.

Probability of 10% to occur at any time of the year seems to me that it is saying that the event could probably occur 36 days in a year....maybe I am wrong here.

Any probability expert here to give an opinion?  Kari could you ask Ayatollah?  I am interested in an explanation.  I am not scared to say I am wrong. 

Oh rass man, give the banna a break yeh, he gonna start get all confused and get heartburn,therby causing some sour tarass shytes in his pants...so please stop it for his sake.

Some people can't say they wrang bai or say that they made a mistake.  I have seen people like that get destroyed under cross examination.

Stop using jargon, you don't impress me.

Is 10% probability to occur in any given year the same as probability of 10% to occur at any time of the year?  These are both your language.  Are you saying they are the same thing?  Answer this question.

I am not a probability expert, but they do not seems to mean the same thing to me.

10% probability to occur in any given year seems to me to mean that that the event will probably occur 1 in 10 years or 0.1 event per year.

Probability of 10% to occur at any time of the year seems to me that it is saying that the event could probably occur 36 days in a year....maybe I am wrong here.

Any probability expert here to give an opinion?  Kari could you ask Ayatollah?  I am interested in an explanation.  I am not scared to say I am wrong. 

I am not a probability expert, but they do not seems to mean the same thing to me. <===>Specific section of VVP post

When you do obtain the knowledge and expertise to deal with the intricacies of statistics and probabilities, you will then grasp the nonsense you are currently spouting on this topic.

[[QUOTE]]

design were based on the probability of about one in ten; which means that the floods have a probability of 10% to occur at any time of the year.

[[UNQUOTE]]

Well I aint doubt you but accarding to you there could be floods 36 days per year??  is this whu yuh sehing??

Exactly -- can be more or less.

Brite bai,

I misread/misinterpreted what you were saying.  When you said  â€œtheir design were based on the probability of about one in ten; which means that the floods have a probability of 10% to occur at any time of the year” I read it to mean you were saying that the floods can occur 10% of the year.  Obviously my interpretation was incorrect. 

However, when I asked you “Well I aint doubt you but accarding to you there could be floods 36 days per year?? is this whu yuh sehing??”  You said “Exactly -- can be more or less.” (see bold above).  So why you said that probability expert??

When I said I am not a probability expert in my post above I meant that I am not an expert that can testify on probability.  I never said that I never did any probability.  I did probability at the graduate level 22 years ago.  However, I never liked probability.

HAHAHA  Task-force upon Task-force.  The sign of incompetence!!!!!!!!!!

Incompetence is after 23 years, that place still has a major flooding problem everytime lil rain fall

Guyana and the former British Guiana had major floods on record since in the early 1800's.

While the seawalls do prevent certain strengths of floods, their design were based on the probability of about one in ten; which means that the floods have a probability of 10% to occur at any time of the year.

A combination of the rain occurrences, the level of water held by the various channels plus the time of releasing the flows can compound the situation for causing floods.

Design based on the probability of about one in ten means it happens once in 10 years in the electric business.

My statement is absolutely clear and correct based on civil engineering procedures in the assessment of floods.

Repeat ....

[[QUOTE]]

design were based on the probability of about one in ten; which means that the floods have a probability of 10% to occur at any time of the year.

[[UNQUOTE]]

Well I aint doubt you but accarding to you there could be floods 36 days per year??  is this whu yuh sehing??

Ole bie DG remember the above conversation?  Is whu yuh said there?

Review carefully and you will then understand my explanations.

This is what Demerara_Guy (YOU in case you forget ) said to the above question

Patterson needs to dust off all the reports done previously and implement them.  Stop the studying and start doing.

One good thing this Coalition govt is doing differently is trucking away the stuff they dig up.  Previous dummies would leave the stuff along the dams/roads to be washed back in.

There is a sense that the new Govt wants to fix things up and that's inspiring. Never mind the rolling heads and lack of diversity in decisions.