https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...uyana-as-a-paradise/

Minister of Finance, Winston Jordan, has faced intense criticism for comments he made at a People’s National Congress Reform (PNCR) press conference that Guyanese place a high premium on their labour, compared to those that constitute the immigrant influx.

Minister of Finance, Winston Jordan

Responding to those criticisms in a recent radio interview, the Finance Minister said that his statement was taken out of context.
To add weight to his original remarks, the Minister said that Guyanese, in significant numbers, have been leaving to go to other countries from as early as the 1980s. And in these countries, they are, he said, “working in some of these places for salaries that the natives don’t work for. But we go there and we survive and we make it.”
He attempted to draw a parallel between that and the influx of migrants in present day Guyana.
“Many of the people coming here, they’re also running now, because they see Guyana as a paradise. And they are working in some cases, for salaries, that our people don’t want to work for.”
He said that he went to a mall recently and saw Venezuelan migrants who are working in a salon as hairdressers.
“They are doing hair. I’m not saying we don’t want to do hair, but they are doing hair. How can they get into that business so easily when there are so many hairdressers?” the Minister asked rhetorically.
He said that the idea is for Guyanese to ensure that they are gainfully employed, above all else, even if the wage isn’t as high as they would prefer, “until something else comes along, no matter your qualification.”
He added that he has seen persons with PhDs (Doctorate of Philosophy) who are working at McDonald’s, an American fast food company.
“There’s dignity in every kind of labour.”
“And if the thing that you’re looking for, you can’t get it now, then adapt, because we all have to eat… And there are no handouts; there’s nothing free. Even the air that you breathe is not free.”
In his original comments, he had said “the fact that you can go in a country of a native and get a job, what does it suggest? Many things; for one, the labour cost in that country is very high, because if I am prepared to cut grass for $1,000 but the native wants to cut grass for $1,500 who are you going to employ? Most obviously, the $1,000… and I would go for the $1,000,” the Finance Minister posited.
He had explained that many immigrants are coming to Guyana, and taking up jobs that Guyanese would typically frown on, and being paid less than locals typically would.
Opposition Leader, Bharrat Jagdeo, had responded that it’s shocking that the Minister would imply that Guyanese should lower their wage expectations in order to compete with immigrants for jobs.
The Federation of Independent Trade Unions of Guyana (FITUG) added to the criticism, stating “It is saddening that the Minister, who is a trained economist, is advocating that his fellow countrymen and women must work for lesser pay in order to be employed.
“At a time when the Minister’s Government, through its policies, has engineered the retrenchment of thousands of Guyanese, and at a time where the working-people and their families are having a hard time to make their meager ends meet, the Minister’s contentions can only be seen as a slap in the face of the Guyanese people.”

All a dem is frens. Nobady goin to jail. Dem gat to gee PPP thiefman dem wan pass because dem get wan pass foh tiefin and tekking nuff nuff brive when Hoyte was privatise. Now dem gat foh tief and gee demselves reparation and soh dem will want PPP give dem wan break when dem is out govt. De role foh be in govt is foh tief and den you chill out and cry how yuh mattie det ethnic cleanse when yuh in de opposition. Ask CaribJ and dem PNC bais. Dem was talkin bout gettin ethnic cleanse since Nov 1992...hey hey hey hey...

"He added that he has seen persons with PhDs (Doctorate of Philosophy) who are working at McDonald’s, an American fast food company.
“There’s dignity in every kind of labour.” - Jordan

Which person or persons with a PhD did Jordan SEE working at McDonald's?

"He added that he has seen persons with PhDs (Doctorate of Philosophy) who are working at McDonald’s, an American fast food company.

Gat to be one of dem bais who went to Green Tea or one of dem fuh profit online skool. Dem online skool woss dan de Auguss month skool me went to...hey hey hey hey...

when Indians were brought in as indentured servants to replace negroes it was a big big problem .. it was called racialism by these same Negroes and some of the Scrooge on this site. 

Where is Carib, come see what you massa doing to your own people. 

Not everybady is privilage like we Miss Ivy to go Ivy legs...hey hey hey...

Once upon a time, I employed Guyanese. Dem duz look for a job wth no intentions of wuking.

The Minister is right. If things are tough then a person will work for something. However, Guyanese doan care to work, period, when dey getting free money from overseas relatives.

This was the same minister who said recently “ if Chinese were not brought in to build the Marriot hotel, it would not be finished today by locals” 

and while they were in opposition, these hypocrites  blocked the budget and protest PPP are giving away the jobs to foreigners 

when Indians were brought in as indentured servants to replace negroes it was a big big problem .. it was called racialism by these same Negroes and some of the Scrooge on this site. 

Was not Indos who mek de second general strike fail. Was indenture immigrant peopkle from Africa and West Indies and Portuguese. Dem Indians didnt start become substantial until after 1850. Ayoo muss read dat pot solt papah. He gat de data pon page 18 and 19: https://www.researchgate.net/p...a's_Underdevelopment

Once upon a time, I employed Guyanese. Dem duz look for a job wth no intentions of wuking.

The Minister is right. If things are tough then a person will work for something. However, Guyanese doan care to work, period, when dey getting free money from overseas relatives.

It’s is a fact Guyanese don’t wanna work... but how can we give the minister credit now when  they criticize PPP for the same thing. 

Was not Indos who mek de second general strike fail. Was indenture immigrant peopkle from Africa and West Indies and Portuguese. Dem Indians didnt start become substantial until after 1850. Ayoo muss read dat pot solt papah. He gat de data pon page 18 and 19: https://www.researchgate.net/p...a's_Underdevelopment

Thanks TK

Thanks TK

Yesterday, protesters marched peacefully in front of the closed gates of Marriot Hotel site, Kingston, demanding Guyanese constitutional rights to be employed in the construction of the hotel that is being funded by Guyanese taxpayers.
A sense of patriotism filled the atmosphere as the over 50 demonstrators including politicians, trade unionists and social activists held placards reading: “Stop insulting Guyanese”, “Warning…Our Government is selling us out to China”, “We will not be second class citizens in our own country” and “Ramotar insulting Guyanese”.
Former President, Bharrat Jagdeo, who paved the way for the controversial project and saw its commencement in November 2011, was criticized and accused of being a “traitor who sold out his own people”.
Shanghai Construction Group began works several months ago but only recently it became public that no Guyanese labourers were employed with the project.

https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...icket-marriott-site/

The same people in government insulting Guyanese eh eh  

…tells private sector to seek partners, stop waiting on Govt

Government is urging local businesses to help themselves by building capacity and actively seeking partnerships with international businesses on their own.
This is according to Finance Minister Winston Jordan, who, in his closing address on the budget 2018 debates on Friday, said firms want something out of partnerships, and as such, would not simply partner with local businesses.
“We don’t have the technology, finances, capacity. So how are we going to compete with these (international companies)?” a vehement Finance Minister asked. “All this talk about legislation, legislation, legislation…We have to creep before we walk!”

Finance Minister Winston Jordan

“If Chinese firms are coming and winning bids, what can we do? These firms are bringing a level of technology that we don’t have. A typical example is the Marriott. At what stage would the Marriott have been if it was built by a local company?”he asked  https://guyanatimesgy.com/guya...p-themselves-jordan/

It is like casting for a movie. The director will continue having prospects audition until s/he finds the right fit for that part. The Indians being already adapted to farming was a perfect fit for plantation life. So what Jordan is doing here is dissing people like Cribby who moan and groan over nothing.

Bai dem Indos losing de farmin skills dem ancestor bring from de Ganges delta. Dem people come wid many century know how. Migration from Guyana changin everything. Mr Ravi Dave seh dem Indoes losin dem farmin know how. Dem Haiti peopkle hard wukkin but deh doan have de knowhow foh farm in below sea level coast condition in Guy. De condition deh closer to de Ganges condition...doh is why dem old time Indoes tek to de farmin like duck to wata. 

This attitude was developed during the PNC days of 1964 - 1992 when people did not get work based on their education or skills but rather based on them being associated with the PNC and YSM. People became discouraged, disillusioned and ultimately lazy. The other massive industry developed during those days was bribery. Everything that one needs could only be attained through paying some form of bribery. That bribery industry got Guyanese accustomed to easy and free money and still continue today where people still sit and wait for overseas relatives to send them money and other stuff. These are all proud legacies of the PNC.

Thanks TK

Bai, dis nah TK. Dis is he buddy Labba. TK is de bright wan. 

Yesterday, protesters marched peacefully in front of the closed gates of Marriot Hotel site, Kingston, demanding Guyanese constitutional rights to be employed in the construction of the hotel that is being funded by Guyanese taxpayers.
A sense of patriotism filled the atmosphere as the over 50 demonstrators including politicians, trade unionists and social activists held placards reading: “Stop insulting Guyanese”, “Warning…Our Government is selling us out to China”, “We will not be second class citizens in our own country” and “Ramotar insulting Guyanese”.
Former President, Bharrat Jagdeo, who paved the way for the controversial project and saw its commencement in November 2011, was criticized and accused of being a “traitor who sold out his own people”.
Shanghai Construction Group began works several months ago but only recently it became public that no Guyanese labourers were employed with the project.

https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...icket-marriott-site/

The same people in government insulting Guyanese eh eh  

…tells private sector to seek partners, stop waiting on Govt

Government is urging local businesses to help themselves by building capacity and actively seeking partnerships with international businesses on their own.
This is according to Finance Minister Winston Jordan, who, in his closing address on the budget 2018 debates on Friday, said firms want something out of partnerships, and as such, would not simply partner with local businesses.
“We don’t have the technology, finances, capacity. So how are we going to compete with these (international companies)?” a vehement Finance Minister asked. “All this talk about legislation, legislation, legislation…We have to creep before we walk!”

Finance Minister Winston Jordan

“If Chinese firms are coming and winning bids, what can we do? These firms are bringing a level of technology that we don’t have. A typical example is the Marriott. At what stage would the Marriott have been if it was built by a local company?”he asked  https://guyanatimesgy.com/guya...p-themselves-jordan/ 

And more than 4 years later the hapless Coalition is still creeping.

Bai dem Indos losing de farmin skills dem ancestor bring from de Ganges delta. Dem people come wid many century know how. Migration from Guyana changin everything. Mr Ravi Dave seh dem Indoes losin dem farmin know how. Dem Haiti peopkle hard wukkin but deh doan have de knowhow foh farm in below sea level coast condition in Guy. De condition deh closer to de Ganges condition...doh is why dem old time Indoes tek to de farmin like duck to wata. 

Changing times may render those farming skills of the 19th century unnecessary. Technology and heavy machinery can be easily accessed to make up for the human import back then. And if that fails, everyone can go the Chinese way of manufacturing everything, even eggs. 

Thanks TK

Bai, dis nah TK. Dis is he buddy Labba. TK is de bright wan. 

Bai TK and dem side does play briga pon we side of de family 

Under the Coalition Guyana is comfort for many people from trouble and poor places. The Coalition under the leadership of Cde Granger and Cde Nagamootoo will ensure it continues!

Prashad once saw an accountant who got layed off and a lawyer who could not find work working at McDonald's. Bare in mind they did not work for very long only until they could find other work.

If you want to see PhD struggle to find work then go to Canada. No one hires PhD there. A school principal told Prashad that a PhD teacher salary is equivalent to 4 bachelor of Education teachers. So he will take 4 to 1 any day of the week.

Zara posted:

Under the Coalition Guyana is comfort for many people from trouble and poor places. The Coalition under the leadership of Cde Granger and Cde Nagamootoo will ensure it continues!

What is with you and this Cde

bullsh-t. Yelsin kicked it and Putin killed it off.

Gas prices per gallon this week. Regular $2.20. Super $2.80. 

With all those extra barrels from the Liza well next year, one may reasonably ask, why does God enjoy punishing Guyana so much? Maybe it is not Guyana but rather the PNC.

Zara posted:

Ms Ally, why did Naga betrayed the Whim village.. he promised them, their votes are only for AFC.. and AFC will NEVER join PNC. 

Is this what you called good leadership from Naga. 

Zara posted:

Ms Ally, why did Naga betrayed the Whim village.. he promised them, their votes are only for AFC.. and AFC will NEVER join PNC. 

Cde your thinking on this matter is wrong.  Cde Nagamootoo joined the Coalition not the PNC and he got the votes.  You disrespect the voters Cde.

Zara posted:

Cde your thinking on this matter is wrong.  Cde Nagamootoo joined the Coalition not the PNC and he got the votes.  You disrespect the voters Cde.

You could have apologized on his behalf.... but I guess Naga disease  fall on you. 

A man who has no value for his word.

Since betraying his supporters in his own village of Whim, Naga lose three successive elections in his hometown where the past fifty years he has kept an ongoing relation with.

In the 2015 general elections, the PPP won more votes than the party of which Naga was its prime ministerial candidate in Whim, the birth village of Naga 

The next year, in local government elections (LGE), the PPP won the NDC in Whim. 

Whats your excuse for the above? 

Zara posted:

Ms. Ally, Naga is married to the PNC. He is Grangers and Harmon's bitch. He takes from the top and the bottom both. According to Carib, the bigan man, he is one of those coolie men who loves his big black bigan whole.

Was not Indos who mek de second general strike fail. Was indenture immigrant peopkle from Africa and West Indies and Portuguese.

Dem Indians didnt start become substantial until after 1850. Ayoo muss read dat pot solt papah. He gat de data pon page 18 and 19: https://www.researchgate.net/p...a's_Underdevelopment

That  is true also many East Indians started to move up the ladder in late 1800,after the Land Settlement Schemes was developed.

http://www.guyana.org/features...story/chapter81.html

Most started to get education in the early 1900. My mom and her siblings never live in logies, they were born in one of the Land Settlement Schemes on WCD.

Downloaded the paper, will read later.