October 11 ,2020

Kaieteur News – Recently circulated documents show that the Minister responsible for Local Government and Regional Development, Nigel Dharamlall, instructed his staff to hire a company that was founded by his son to provide his official portraits.

Minister of Local Government and Regional Development, Nigel Dharamlall

These documents, which were quick to ignite widespread concern, were posted by Opposition Member of Parliament (MP), Ganesh Mahipaul via his Facebook page, yesterday.
According to the September 30 documents, the Local Government Ministry — its office located in De Winkle Building at Fort Street, Georgetown — had received a quotation from private local printery and banner service, Designz Unlimited. This was for the supply of “80 full colour, one side poster board with glossy finish, size 11 x 17”.
These 80 posters, which were all portraits of Minister Dharamlall, were stated to cost $1,000 each—thereby taking the contract’s sum to GY $80,000.

The quotation submitted to the Local Government Ministry by Designz Unlimited

What is extremely alarming is that at the bottom of the quotation submitted by Designz Limited, there is a handwritten note from someone within the Ministry, which states that, “Dear PS, please quotation submitted for purpose of printing 80 portraits of Honourable Minister Nigel [Dharamlall]. Minister has advised that we engage Designz [Unlimited] to do the printing…”
The reader should note that it is illegal and against procurement best practices for a sitting minister to signal his preference to a company, as the minister’s first and foremost duty is to implement decisions on policies. But the concern does not stop there, as Mahipaul’s claimed in his post claimed that Tariq Dharamlall, the son of Minister Dharamlall, was the owner of the company.
Kaieteur News first made contact with young Dharamlall who is a student of the University of Guyana (UG). He indicated that Mahipaul’s claims which stated that the company was owned by him were “completely false and libelous”.
Subsequent contact was made with the manager and owner of Designz Unlimited, Monica Sharma, who told Kaieteur News that it was Tariq who had founded the idea of the company while in high school. Wanting to give credit to this youth for his innovation, she thought it necessary to list him as the company’s founder on their Facebook page. According to Sharma, young Dharamlall is currently employed by the printery company, but on a “support” basis.
When asked about whether the young man held any shareholder interests in the company, Sharma responded in the negative. “I do have proprietary shares/ interests in Designz Unlimited,” she said to Kaieteur News on the phone yesterday, “Tariq Dharamlall has no proprietary interest in Designz Unlimited. Tariq Dharamlall does not benefit from any of the proceeds from Designz Unlimited.”
On the issue of the quotations, Sharma confirmed that her company was requested by the Ministry of Local Government to submit a quotation for a print service and acquiesced. “We have not since been awarded any contract and in fact, have not been informed of any development in relation thereto,” she highlighted as she noted the Designz Unlimited has been a “trusted supplier” to the Ministry over the past four years,
Despite maintaining that she had nothing to hide, Sharma refused to answer whether she shared any relation to Tariq. In fact, she became annoyed with the reporter’s questions and proceeded to abruptly end the call. Meanwhile, Minister Dharamlall has refuted all claims, which assert that he instructed his staff to procure the services of Designz Unlimited. “It’s not my job for me to instruct the Permanent Secretary with the procurement of services and goods,” the Minister commented. “That is not even my handwriting”, he added when asked about the handwritten note on the document.
He confirmed that the business’ founder is his son, but denied that he shared any relation to Monica Sharma. Notably, when the same question was posed to Sharma, she refused to answer.
Designz Unlimited has since demanded that Mahipaul’s post be withdrawn and an apology to be issued within 24 hours, or they will consider legal action. Minister Dharamlall, however, is emphatic that Mahipaul, who is currently employed under the Local Government Ministry, will be hearing from lawyers for what he labels as “unfounded allegations”, “defamatory, injurious and malicious” statements on the side of the opposition MP.

Mahipaul should fight his battle in Parliament not on a fakebook page. He is accusing the Minister of nepotism which the PPP is totally against. Whenever Mahipaul should have the guts to present his case in Parliament, the President will have to authorize an investigation and if Datamlall is found to be guilty, then he should be removed from his portfolio.

We have not since been awarded any contract and in fact, have not been informed of any development in relation thereto,” she highlighted as she noted the Designz Unlimited has been a “trusted supplier” to the Ministry over the past four years,

They were good to supply the PNC government, so why not the PPP.

Just looking for dirt.

@kp posted:

We have not since been awarded any contract and in fact, have not been informed of any development in relation thereto,” she highlighted as she noted the Designz Unlimited has been a “trusted supplier” to the Ministry over the past four years,

They were good to supply the PNC government, so why not the PPP.

Just looking for dirt.

https://www.kaieteurnewsonline.com/images/2020/10/D.-Limited.jpeg

What's glaring is the written instruction by Dharamlall to the Permanent Secretary.

That's the dirtiness.

@Totaram posted:

Here we go....Dharamlall must go!

Because of fake news found on Facebook.  He must fight his battle in parliament if he has the guts. If there is an investigation and he is found guilty, only then can the President remove him.    You know as well as I do, that there is not going to be that investigation you hope for.   

We have to try all PNC criminals first for trying to steal the 2020 Election.

@Ramakant-P posted:

What should be done to the Ballot Box Stuffing criminals ,unearthed by 2020 Election Recount ?

@Django posted:

What should be done to the Ballot Box Stuffing criminals ,unearthed by 2020 Election Recount ?

What should be done? Ask the Former President he was in charge. He authorized MINGO and LOWENFIELD to steal 20,000 votes from the PPP and added them to the Coalition tally.   The PNC had the ballot boxes in their possession.  They stopped counting when it seemed that the PPP was winning. You know that. You posted it.

@Ramakant-P posted:

Because of fake news found on Facebook.  He must fight his battle in parliament if he has the guts. If there is an investigation and he is found guilty, only then can the President remove him.    You know as well as I do, that there is not going to be that investigation you hope for.   

You are trying very hard to change the discussion on PPP's nepotism. They wrote the book.

@Django posted:

What's glaring is the written instruction by Dharamlall to the Permanent Secretary.

That's the dirtiness.

This is what the topic is about. PPP's nepotism. Not about the election and ballot boxes. The PPP grunts will try to distract.

@Mitwah posted:

You are trying very hard to change the discussion on PPP's nepotism. They wrote the book.

No, I am not.   I said my piece on Nepotism.  When Burnham hired his son-in-law to be Minister of Health, that wasn't nepotism.  Burnham hired his cousin and his Son-in-law's father.   Dharamlall's son was not hired by the PPP.

@Ramakant-P posted:

No, I am not.   I said my piece on Nepotism.  When Burnham hired his son-in-law to be Minister of Health, that wasn't nepotism.  Burnham hired his cousin and his Son-in-law's father.   Dharamlall's son was not hired by the PPP.

Yuh playing schupid now. Schupidness nah gat cure.

@Mitwah posted:

Are that stupid or you are making a special effort today?

You just don't have the knowledge to make a constructive argument. As always you are so vain and naive that makes me think that you don't have what it takes to be sane.

@Django posted:

@Ramakant-P posted:

What should be done?

Ask the Former President he was in charge. He authorized MINGO and LOWENFIELD to steal 20,000 votes from the PPP and added them to the Coalition tally.   The PNC had the ballot boxes in their possession.  They stopped counting when it seemed that the PPP was winning. You know that. You posted it.

Actually the post was for your opinion .

@Django posted:

That's the dirtiness.

That is a woman's handwriting there.  I don't know any man that does write so nicely.

Ramaji, this is not about me. You like to go off at a tangent eh!  It's about your padna Nigel Dharamlall and nepotism.

Recently circulated documents show that the Minister responsible for Local Government and Regional Development, Nigel Dharamlall, instructed his staff to hire a company that was founded by his son to provide his official portraits.

@Mitwah posted:

Ramaji, this is not about me. You like to go off at a tangent eh!  It's about your padna Nigel Dharamlall and nepotism.

Recently circulated documents show that the Minister responsible for Local Government and Regional Development, Nigel Dharamlall, instructed his staff to hire a company that was founded by his son to provide his official portraits.

It was a continuation of a previous contract with the PNC  government.  Read carefully,  they were doing work for the past FOUR years so what is the problem  NOW, thy must stop and why. Deal with the millions that the PNC stole it's all a  distraction from the progress.

@kp posted:

It was a continuation of a previous contract with the PNC  government.  Read carefully,  they were doing work for the past FOUR years so what is the problem  NOW, thy must stop and why. Deal with the millions that the PNC stole it's all a  distraction from the progress.

Readers are getting a kick out of your stupidity.

MP Dharamlall sets record straight
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on google
Share on whatsapp

Dear editor

IN an article published on October 11, 2020 in the Kaieteur News, headlined: “Minister Dharamlall instructs staff to contract company founded by son,” I wish to state in unequivocal terms:

1. The headline is totally misleading and malicious, since no instruction was ever given by me to any staff to use any particular company to print 80 posters. Moreover, I was totally unaware that portrait posters were being procured.

2. Since the note was brought to my attention last week, I took action to halt the procurement process and a memo to this effect was sent to the office of the PS.

3. It is evident, therefore, that this nefarious act to impugn my integrity was contrived by known APNU+AFC elements still on the payroll of the ministry.

4. For this matter to now be put in the public domain by member of staff and APNU+AFC activist, Ganesh Mahipaul, whose employment has been under scrutiny, points to his intent aimed at besmirching my character.

5. Our policy at the ministry is to ensure that all processes are followed and can withstand public scrutiny.

Yours faithfully,

Nigel Dharamlall M.P.

SHARE THIS ARTICLE :

Minister Dharamlall halts process to hire company founded by son

– Local Govt. Permanent Secretary sacked

Oct 12, 2020 News, Source - Kaieteur News Online - https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...pany-founded-by-son/

Kaieteur News – The Minister of Local Government and Regional Development, Nigel Dharamlall, has halted a procurement order for portrait posters.

The transaction has caused widespread concerns.

https://www.kaieteurnewsonline.com/images/2020/10/Nigel-Dharamlall.jpg

Minister of Local Governance and Regional Development, Nigel Dharamlall

https://www.kaieteurnewsonline.com/images/2020/10/Emil-McGarrell.jpg

Sacked Permanent Secretary, Emil McGarrell

The minister’s decision came after Kaieteur News on Sunday reported that he had instructed his staff to hire a company that was discovered to be founded by his son.

In a statement to the press yesterday, Dharamlall was keen to indicate that he gave no instruction to his staff to use any particular company to print 80 posters—which attracted the price of $80,000.

“Moreover, I was totally unaware that portrait posters were being procured,” the minister wrote in his statement.

“Since the note was brought to my attention last week, I took action to halt the procurement process and a memo to this effect was sent to the office of the PS… Our policy at the ministry is to ensure that all processes are followed and can withstand public scrutiny.”

It was Opposition Member of Parliament (MP), Ganesh Mahipaul, who on Saturday released documents highlighting the damning revelations.

In those September 30th documents, the Local Government Ministry — its office located at De Winkle Building at Fort Street, Georgetown — had received a quotation from private local printery and banner service, Designz Unlimited, for the supply of “80 full color, one side poster board with glossy finish, size 11 x 17”.

What is extremely alarming is that at the bottom of the quotation submitted by Designz Limited, there is a handwritten note from someone within the ministry, which emphatically states that, “Dear PS, please see quotation submitted for purpose of printing 80 portraits of Honorable Minister Nigel [Dharamlall]. Minister has advised that we engage Designz [Unlimited] to do the printing…”

The reader should note that it is illegal and against procurement best practices for a sitting minister to signal his preference to a company, as the minister’s first and foremost duty is to implement decisions on policies.

https://www.kaieteurnewsonline.com/images/2020/10/D-Limited.jpg

The quotation submitted to the Local Govt. Ministry by Designz Limited.

Minister Dharamlall has since refuted all of the claims made against him by Mahipaul, as he is convinced that this “nefarious act” is aimed at impugning his integrity and “was contrived by known APNU+AFC elements still on the payroll of the [Local Government and Regional Development Ministry].”

“For this matter”, the minister wrote, “to now be put in the public domain by a member of staff and APNU+AFC activist Ganesh Mahipaul, whose employment has been under scrutiny, points to his intent aimed at besmirching my character.”

It was confirmed in a number of quarters that Designz has been tendering and awarded contracts in a number of government ministries.
Meanwhile, it is now being confirmed that Permanent Secretary, Emil McGarrell, was on Friday sacked from his post in the ministry.

The PS reportedly received a letter from Minister Dharamlall, directing him to proceed on his accumulated leave with effect from October 12, 2020 until the contract comes to an end on January 12, 2020.

McGarrell was requested to “immediately” return any property and records of the Government of Guyana, which may still be in his custody.

@Ramakant-P posted:

Mitwah and Totaram are malicious.  They hate Indians especially those that are members of the PPP.  Dharamlall is an innocent bystander while the AFC goons make up stories about the man.

I don't hate Indians.  I like Dhoni, Ganguly, et al.  I believe that the PPP is a crooked organization and that its leaders are crooks.  Some of their supporters are plain stupid and others are opportunistic.  Dharamlall is a big mouth fool.  He should be sacked.

@Totaram posted:

I don't hate Indians.  I like Dhoni, Ganguly, et al.  I believe that the PPP is a crooked organization and that its leaders are crooks.  Some of their supporters are plain stupid and others are opportunistic.  Dharamlall is a big mouth fool.  He should be sacked.

You lie!

Dharamlall was keen to indicate that he gave no instruction to his staff to use any particular company to print 80 posters—which attracted the price of $80,000.

@Ramakant-P posted:

You lie!

Dharamlall was keen to indicate that he gave no instruction to his staff to use any particular company to print 80 posters—which attracted the price of $80,000.

How the printing of his business cards? Yuh playing schupid eh!