Henry apologises for any inconvenience from PPP/C walkout
5 Shares

Minister within the Ministry of Education Nicolette Henry today apologised for any inconvenience or distress caused by the incident where the opposition PPP/C walked out of the jubilee flag-raising event on Wednesday night because seats could not be found.

In a statement Henry said the PPP/C delegation arrived later than had been agreed and used the incorrect entrance. She said that by the time other invited persons had been asked to give up their seats to ensure that the opposition members were seated, the PPP/C members had walked out.

There was no specific apology by Henry to the PPP/C over the incident.

Henry’s statement follows:

Statement by the Hon. Nicolette Henry, MP
Nicolette HenryNicolette Henry

Minister within the Ministry of Education

Flag Raising -Opposition Walk Out

Background – The Parliamentary Opposition was invited to all state events and confirmed their attendance to the Flag Raising ceremony. After accepting the invitation the opposition was briefed orally by Minister Henry on Tuesday 24 May, 2016 on the following:

Time of Arrival – All members were requested to be seated by 9:45 pm
Entrance to be used – North Western (Homestretch /Vlissengen Road)
Seating Arrangements – Opposition Leader will be seated in Presidential Section with all other past Presidents and Prime Ministers. All other PPP members will be seated in the other VIP section.

Questions Arising:

Was the President Speaking?

Response – No

Who will be speaking?

Response – No keynote speakers, the announcement for National awards will be done by Col. Abraham.

Where will the Opposition Leader be seated?

Response – In the Presidential Section.

How many persons could be admitted with a ticket?

Response – Maximum of two.

Opposition Leader could not find his invitation.

Response – The Opposition Leader will be admitted without his invitation. All protocols and courtesies befitting his office will be extended.

What Happened on the night of May 25.

Time of Arrival – 9. 55
Entrance Used – The Opposition approached the South Western entrance (Hadfield Street)

Had it not been for the police insistence on using the North Western entrance this would have resulted in the Opposition and President arriving on the tarmac at the same time?

Seating Arrangements – a. The following Persons proceeded to the Presidential Section:

 Hon. Bharrat Jagdeo, MP

 Mr. Irfaan Ali, MP

 Mr. Anil Nandlall, MP

 Juan Edghill,, MP

 Mr. Clement Rohee,MP

The remaining members remained standing in the passage as Ms. Manickchand indicated they will only sit when they can be assigned seats together. (This was told to the usher)

c. Upon my arriving in the Presidential Section the Opposition Leader indicated they were concerns with the seating. I assured him I will address this immediately, so I proceeded by personally asking other invited persons to give up their seats to ensure the Opposition members were all seated together.

As soon as the persons began to give up their seats. The Opposition walked out.

In the circumstances I wish to state that as the organizer of this event I apologize for any inconvenience, embarrassment or distress this incident may have caused.

Related
Guyana turns 50

In "Local News"
PPP/C MPs leave flag raising after `disrespected’

The PPP/C today said that its MPs left last night’s flag raising ceremony after being “disrespected”. A statement by the party follows: The People’s Progressive Party /Civic (PPP/C) had publicly expressed its desire to celebrate and participate in the 50th Independence Anniversary Flag Raising Ceremony, as this is a very…

In "Local News"
Presidential inauguration expenses and openness

At Thursday’s sitting of Parliament, questions by PPP/C MP Dr Frank Anthony on spending for the inauguration of President David Granger were answered in writing by Minister in the Ministry of Education, Nicolette Henry. Answered would be a charitable way to refer to the responses as Minister Henry made no…

In "Editorial"
By
Staff Editor
May 27, 2016
39 mins ago
Today's Frontpage »
Frontpage
Stay updated! Follow Stabroek News on Facebook or Twitter.
Get the day's headlines from SN in your inbox every morning:
More in Local News
Juan Gonzalez
Senior US envoy holds energy talks with President
President David Granger conferring Prime Minister of Barbados, Freundel Stuart with the Order of Roraima. (Ministry of the Presidency photo)
President confers Order of Roraima on Barbados PM
Roxanne Mitchell
Woman returning from flag-raising killed in Peters Hall crash
Karamchand Singh
Mon Repos biker dies in crash
default placeholder
Guyanese woman, daughter found strangled in Suriname
Part of the large crowd at D’Urban Park yesterday to witness the jubilee float parade. (Keno George photo)
‘Patriotic’ jubilee parade attracts thousands despite heat, delays
default placeholder
City will only find spots for registered vendors -Mayor
The policewoman being taken for treatment
Policewoman hospitalised after attacked in J’ouvert ruckus
default placeholder
City inks deal for parking meters
Comments

About these comments
The comments section is intended to provide a forum for reasoned and reasonable debate on the newspaper's content and is an extension of the newspaper and what it has become well known for over its history: accuracy, balance and fairness. We reserve the right to edit or delete comments which contain attacks on other users, slander, coarse language and profanity, and gratuitous and incendiary references to race and ethnicity.

5 Shares

Minister within the Ministry of Education Nicolette Henry today apologised for any inconvenience or distress caused by the incident where the opposition PPP/C walked out of the jubilee flag-raising event on Wednesday night because seats could not be found.

In a statement Henry said the PPP/C delegation arrived later than had been agreed and used the incorrect entrance.

So the PPP plays wrong and strong, by arriving late, and causing problems for those trying to ensure that the event went smoothly.

It is tempting to believe that this was a deliberate attempt by Jagdeo to be disruptive, and a refusal to admit that he isn't the Emperor of Guyana.

In a statement Henry said the PPP/C delegation arrived later than had been agreed and used the incorrect entrance.

Seating Arrangements – a. The following Persons proceeded to the Presidential Section:

 Hon. Bharrat Jagdeo, MP

 Mr. Irfaan Ali, MP

 Mr. Anil Nandlall, MP

 Juan Edghill,, MP

 Mr. Clement Rohee,MP

The remaining members remained standing in the passage as Ms. Manickchand indicated they will only sit when they can be assigned seats together. (This was told to the usher)

c. Upon my arriving in the Presidential Section the Opposition Leader indicated they were concerns with the seating. I assured him I will address this immediately, so I proceeded by personally asking other invited persons to give up their seats to ensure the Opposition members were all seated together.

5 Shares

So the PPP plays wrong and strong, by arriving late, and causing problems for those trying to ensure that the event went smoothly.

It is tempting to believe that this was a deliberate attempt by Jagdeo to be disruptive, and a refusal to admit that he isn't the Emperor of Guyana.

Now, this is a knuckleheaded response from a person who is much smarter than most people here. Take a look at the Minister's response. Its a matter of "political courtesy" and "decency". 

Call it a blunder and move on...

Now, this is a knuckleheaded response from a person who is much smarter than most people here. Take a look at the Minister's response. Its a matter of "political courtesy" and "decency". 

Call it a blunder and move on...

Yes the PPP arrived late. The Minister extended the courtesy of having other people change seats to accommodate them.

The PPP was discourteous to both her, and to those who inconvenienced themselves by having to move, even though they arrived on time, by storming out.

As a leader of a country known for its indiscipline Jagdeo should have arrived when he was told to do so.  But instead he comes late. plays bully, and then behaves like a child who is refused a candy.

The minister showed that she was the bigger person by apologizing, when clearly what happened wasn't her fault. 

At an event like this one should arrive on time. To arrive late creates a problem.

It should have been the PPP which should have apologized for arriving late. The PPP should in fact have thanked both the minister, and those who had to give up their seats.

But no, piggy behavior is more the PPP style when they cannot get their way.

By Lenno Crai

About the Jagdeo walkout

Now here is what really happened, Jagdeo, Nandalall, Edghill and Hinds arrived ahead of starting time however the others arrived together in a 30 seater bus, they arrived more than an hour late, timed to perfection to ensure that they arrived after the President and PM (and the presidential salute) walked in together as a group, there could not have been 30 ushers for each of them (and spouse) so naturally they had to wait together at the back for the ushers to go and come several times until all are seated.

Jagdeo then demanded that all of them must be seated together and he pressured the ordinary working class ushers to rearrange the entire pavilion to ensure that all 31 PPP parliamentarians sit together. This introduced unnecessary confusion into the arrangement as you can see in the pic, the organizers never contemplated segregation, they planned that everyone sit together no matter which party you from. So naturally some people will have consecutive seats while others will not. Jagdeo created an artificial crisis and stage managed the walk out.

Jagdeo is a very divisive person who thrives on seizing any little moment to divide this country and its people. He wanted to avoid this nation calling on him to replicate the embrace between Forbes and Cheddie. He knew he wanted to avoid an embrace with Granger at all cost.

Jagdeo is bad news for Guyana, he and his seemingly senseless followers staged the whole episode, I ask the people of Guyana not to be fooled by their theatrics.

Look at that pic, does it seem to you that the government wish to discriminate against any one? For example a serving Attorney General accepts a seat behind a former AG.

Look at the 2nd pic Minister Broomes (in white outfit) waiting to be seated also, so too is APNU-AFC parliamentarian Michael Carrington (next to Broomes in yellow shirt), as you can see several others among them some Caucasian persons (more likely foreign diplomats).

Where is the discrimination?

Now this was Jagdeo's statement to the world, “on arrival at the VIP area tonight there were no seats set aside for the Opposition MPs, except for the two Former Presidents, Dr. Jagdeo and Mr. Sam Hinds and two other MPs. The majority of the MPs were left standing.”

The pics puts his statement in the realm of fiction and theatrics.

Champion of division.

Images (2)
Keith

My man Carib has a new reason for why the Opposition left. His assumed reason is now replaced by Minister Henry's explanation which could end up being a made up explanation.

What reason do you have?

1. The PPP arrived late, after people were seated.

2. The woman was trying to help them out, despite their late arrival.

3. She managed to get some people to change their seats to accommodate their request to segregate themselves from others.

4.  The thanks that she got was the PPP storming out.

5.  She was gracious enough to apologize, even though she has nothing to apologize for.

And all this I got from her letter!

I understand that you have a racial loyalty to excuse the PPPs piggy behavior. They didn't want to be part of the event, but realized that it would look bad if they weren't. 

So they seized the first opportunity to be disruptive by screaming that APNU didn't accommodate them. Where is the proof that APNU didn't accommodate them?

5 Shares

In a statement Henry said the PPP/C delegation arrived later than had been agreed and used the incorrect entrance. She said that by the time other invited persons had been asked to give up their seats to ensure that the opposition members were seated, the PPP/C members had walked out.

In the circumstances I wish to state that as the organizer of this event I apologize for any inconvenience, embarrassment or distress this incident may have caused.

Related
Guyana turns 50

In "Local News"

Piggy PPP arrived late.   Minister tries to accommodate their request to sit together, and she gets people to switch seats.

PPP storms out.

Vish.  What part of this are you missing?

Immaterial on the time the specific individuals arrived at the ceremony.

Even if one arrives late, the seats are reserved and must be available for each individual.

In this specific situation, two identified groups groups -- government and opposition members -- are well known and appropriate arrangements are imperative.

Bottom line ... the government failed miserably for this special and important occasion.

Even if one arrives late, the seats are reserved and must be available for each individual.

In this specific situation, two identified groups groups -- government and opposition members -- are well known and appropriate arrangements are imperative.

Bottom line ... the government failed miserably for this special and important occasion.

The seats were not reserved in a block for the opposition. There were a specific number of seats reserved for all the invited VIP guests and you were seated as you arrived in whatever seats were available. The PPP showed up late and then demanded that they all sit together. While the minister was trying to accommodate their request by shifting people around, they chose to walk out.

The most prominent groups for this occasion are the Government and the Opposition.

Hence, apt arrangements must be made and confirmed well ahead of the occasion.

RiffRaff posted:

It was a screw up by the organizing people...period

It was bound to happen when you have so many egos and people don't want to cooperate

It would have been a success had it been a Goat Race or Mud fight!!!!!!!!!!!

RiffRaff posted:

It was bound to happen when you have so many egos and people don't want to cooperate

What exactly did the organizing people screw up? There were enough seats for everyone but they did not plan to seat everyone in the PPP together. When that request was made by the late arriving PPP members, the minister tried to accommodate them by moving people around. The PPP chose to make it into a political poppy show and walked out.  

RiffRaff posted:

What exactly did the organizing people screw up? There were enough seats for everyone but they did not plan to seat everyone in the PPP together. When that request was made by the late arriving PPP members, the minister tried to accommodate them by moving people around. The PPP chose to make it into a political poppy show and walked out.  

In great nations where they have systems functioning, each seat is pre-allocated before hand.  You Jagdeo will seat at seat A-11 because you are a former President.

You Gail and all the other opposition MPs will be at C-16 - through to D-22 because you are designated as opposition MP.

You Sam Hinds will be at A-13 because you were a former President and so forth.

So shut to poke hole Mars, you have no case. 

NO AMRAL, THE FACTS ARE THERE TO SEE BUT GOATS WILL BE GOATS.  THERE ARE A FEW GOATS HERE ON GNI.

Listen here you Portugeese poison drinker is it some type of kick you get by ruling Africans and going to their events because clearly they don't want us koolies around. It is like giving your money to the portugeese so that he can kick your koolie tail.

Brian Teekah posted:
RiffRaff posted:

In great nations where they have systems functioning, each seat is pre-allocated before hand.  You Jagdeo will seat at seat A-11 because you are a former President.

You Gail and all the other opposition MPs will be at C-16 - through to D-22 because you are designated as opposition MP.

There are many events where seats are not assigned individually to an invitee. I've seen that happen even in the great USA. The seats were not assigned in that manner and the minister gracefully tried to accommodate the rude, late arriving PPP members by trying to reassign guests who were already seated in other seats. That the PPP chose to make a political fiasco out of a situation that could have been easily remedied, is their own choice.

Brian Teekah posted:
RiffRaff posted:

There are many events where seats are not assigned individually to an invitee. I've seen that happen even in the great USA. The seats were not assigned in that manner and the minister gracefully tried to accommodate the rude, late arriving PPP members by trying to reassign guests who were already seated in other seats. That the PPP chose to make a political fiasco out of a situation that could have been easily remedied, is their own choice.

Ever say how the Presidential swearing in is done in USA?  LOL  I explained it above.

Brian Teekah posted:
RiffRaff posted:

Ever say how the Presidential swearing in is done in USA?  LOL  I explained it above.

Was this the Presidential Swearing In Ceremony in the USA? I thought it was a Flag Raising Ceremony in Guyana to celebrate the Independence Anniversary.

If you go to see a play in a civilized country, and arrive late, they will not seat you, even though your seats are reserved.  In this case the ticket allowed access to a seat in the VIP section. NOT a reservation to a particular seat.

Try going to the Presidential inauguration, showing up late and then creating a scene because you don't like where other people decided to sit.  The security will escort you out of the premises, with CNN filming this happening.

The PPP should have apologized for arriving after they were supposed and should have thanked this woman for helping them out.

Face it.  The PPP took this as another opportunity to act like a truculent child who was deprived of his sweetie! 

Why the shock when the PPP insists that it must have a man child at its helm instead of finding new and progressive leadership.

Brian Teekah posted:

Look let us be big men.  The Minister apologise for screwing up and that is fine.  Time to move on!

The Minister didn't apologize for screwing up.  She said that the PPP arrived late and through the wrong entrance.

Her apologies were to a screaming child in order to get them to shut up.  At no point did she suggest that there was any wrong doing on her part, or that of the organizers at the event.

She knows full well that she is dealing with people who will quickly blame her for the Wismar event and scream that she wants to murder Indians, so headed it off by taking the blame on herself.

clearly they don't want us koolies around..

And here we go.  It is specifically this kind of infantile behavior which is why the Minister apologized.  She is too classy a lady to get into a public brawl with the brown KKK.

Brian Teekah posted:

In great nations when you show up to an event LATE, you lose access to those assigned seats.  They either don't seat you, or they place you by the DOOR.

Great nations don't tolerate insignificant people arriving late.  You think that the inauguration ceremonies of the president will be disrupted because Congressman So and So doesn't have a watch?

Listen here you Portugeese poison drinker is it some type of kick you get by ruling Africans and going to their events because clearly they don't want us koolies around. It is like giving your money to the portugeese so that he can kick your koolie tail.

So haul your tail to India if being around Afro Guyanese is so offensive to you. 

Note that some where in your wife's family tree is an Afro Guyanese.

RiffRaff posted:

This is just another incidence of PPP piggy behavior, reminiscent of when they were invited by the US Ambassador to an event to commemorate the USA, and proceeded to cuss down that nation.

Mediocre people with an outsized notion of their importance.

NO AMRAL, THE FACTS ARE THERE TO SEE BUT GOATS WILL BE GOATS.  THERE ARE A FEW GOATS HERE ON GNI.

Ow Bai Prashad, you tell dem nah fuh go and dem still go. Who you go blame for dem rass getting kicked . PPP nah listen to anybody - dem still tekking people for granted. AND why was Ramoutar still sitting there throughout the whole ceremony - Me tell ayuh that the Danald duck is a PNC man who the PPP and Jagdeo annoint as the PPP candidate for President. He is a damn sell out - another Neemakharam!

Dondadda posted:

Ow Bai Prashad, you tell dem nah fuh go and dem still go. Who you go blame for dem rass getting kicked . PPP nah listen to anybody - dem still tekking people for granted. AND why was Ramoutar still sitting there throughout the whole ceremony - Me tell ayuh that the Danald duck is a PNC man who the PPP and Jagdeo annoint as the PPP candidate for President. He is a damn sell out -another Neemakharam!

One more added to the list from the 40's to date that list getting longer,pretty soon the book will full.