Mike Misir Duvalle served the United States with honor like Frank Singh, Farouk Samaroo and other distinguished men and women. Mike also earned the respect to seek public office for which he ran to fight for a greater good for the people in district 28. However, Mike lost to Ruben Wills, mainly because of the people he surrounded himself with. I wish Mike all the best and warned him to stay away from Vishnu Mahadeo as far as possible if he indented to run for public office again.
Originally posted by Cobra:
Mike Misir Duvalle served the United States with honor like Frank Singh, Farouk Samaroo and other distinguished men and women. Mike also earned the respect to seek public office for which he ran to fight for a greater good for the people in district 28. However, Mike lost to Ruben Wills, mainly because of the people he surrounded himself with. I wish Mike all the best and warned him to stay away from Vishnu Mahadeo as far as possible if he indented to run for public office again.

Dude take your personal axe grinding somewhere else and stop clogging up the thread with your pettiness . Fact of the matter is , Indo Guyanese are the most politically inactive residents of the district , they do not even participate much less het involved with issues unless it directly impacts them then , they expect every swinging dick to rally around them. They do not even get involved in the parent teachers associations of the school district activities. 20 years ago I used to see VM at school district activities , parent teachers meetings and association meetings. I am not my any measure defending him just stating a fact based on my personal eyewitness.

The Indo caribbean community is only active in diwali and phagwah parades , temples , bachannals and of course not to forget anything BOLLYWOOD. In 2002 I mentioned to groups in NY they have to get mandhirs to give them time every Sunday to go and address people who go for Sunday pooja , netwwork through IT to reach younger people and hope that some of them can get involved so as to create a viable association but even here , PPP surrogates hijack these organizations for their own self aggrandizement just as Prem Misir did with the Indo Caribbean Federation of North America which assisted to raise his profile and I can go on naming names of people who have used such platforms for selfish objectives. There is no we and us until sh1t someone in the face. This a reality , this is a fact , this is what it is and to build an organization/association that is viable and effective will take lots and lots of time since members are challenging a backward mindset. Anyone can run for office and win but it takes an affective organization to take them to that mountain top . When Trevor Rupnarian was running he asked my sister to manage his campaign she came to me for advice and after reviewing the candidate and the people he had around him I told her to drop him like a hot potato because he was not serious , not ready and would be an embarrassment to her and the community. These candidates wanna get their on a bicycle when in fact they need a helicopter and when they get to the top they need sherpas to guide around the mountain or they will perish and die. These guys are wasting time running for office without a viable organization backing them .
Hey Kiddie, In spite of what his failings may have been, Trevor Rupnarain was the closest our community in South Queens came to getting someone elected to the City Council in District 28. I'm convinced that if 9/11 hadn't happened and the elections postponed Trevor would have carted off the elections. that election was postponed and the enthusiasm was lost. That day, anecdotally speaking, there car loads of people who were driven to polling boots early that morning. Then the towers were hit, more than likely hitting Trevor's chances.

I gotta tell you this, he had the smarts to conduct his tenure in a way that would have made us proud. And I say that is a non-partisan person. Remember I even tailed away at the end of that campaign too.
Trever lacked the personality require for such an Office. I remember he was not even greeting people and shaking their hands. He had his handlers doing that.
Originally posted by Kari:
Hey Kiddie, In spite of what his failings may have been, Trevor Rupnarain was the closest our community in South Queens came to getting someone elected to the City Council in District 28. I'm convinced that if 9/11 hadn't happened and the elections postponed Trevor would have carted off the elections. that election was postponed and the enthusiasm was lost. That day, anecdotally speaking, there car loads of people who were driven to polling boots early that morning. Then the towers were hit, more than likely hitting Trevor's chances.

I gotta tell you this, he had the smarts to conduct his tenure in a way that would have made us proud. And I say that is a non-partisan person. Remember I even tailed away at the end of that campaign too.
Nehru, I wasn't referring to the optics of the campaign. Trevor's campaign was good in spite of himself and not because of himself - I grant you that. I was talking about his campaign's ground game. The guy had a halo around at that time. Now opinions about his tenure is another matter, and whether you like him or not, he is one of the brightest around. Now don't go getting into a discussion of smart people going on the wrong track.......
I think you misunderstood. I never hold Ed to a higher standard. I simply stated that the Gentleman did many good things for the Community and that we should wait for the Court to make a final decision.
Originally posted by Cobra:
Nehru hold Edul Ahmad highly despite his alleged mortgage frauds and the feds, why the double standard, Pandit? I guess Trevor didn't contribute his wealth to cricket like Ed. Big Grin
Kari, I agree with you totally. I was commenting on his personality only. I know he is a veryintelligent person.
Nehru, I wasn't referring to the optics of the campaign. Trevor's campaign was good in spite of himself and not because of himself - I grant you that. I was talking about his campaign's ground game. The guy had a halo around at that time. Now opinions about his tenure is another matter, and whether you like him or not, he is one of the brightest around. Now don't go getting into a discussion of smart people going on the wrong track.......

Kari,

I got nothing against anyone, I just say it like I see it. In hindsight it proved to be better he was never elected to office or else what followed latter might have embarrassed the entire community and give future runners a hard time to win.

Look we had/have some good guys in our community who have done excellent in their professions and who have contributed to the community in a meaningful way but so many screwed up that it eclipses all the good they have done for the community . This is how people are! do good all your life and make one mistake and all the good is forgotten. Most of these successful indo guyanese in the community were respected and envied so , when they screw up big time the envy others have is translated into 'Good Fuh Dem'.

Listen , I always say if yuh gat jumbie in yuh closet dont run fuh public office. I have never run for public office nor have I sought the spotlight simply because I have my own jumbies. I aint perfect but what I can boast about is my spectacular high business ethics and my honesty.

Trevor could have won because the people running his campaign were the ones running the race not Trevor. I arranged events for the man and he shows up with a cap pull down over his face and dark dark shades people. The man was not socialable . Likeable when you get to know him yes but definitely not socialable .

Now I wish to bring up again as I always do the point about our community lacking in ethics. I really believe this issue or crises as I call it needs to be addressed and dealt with. I have for 30 years tried my best to give people from my community business but they always try fuh scamp yuh. Always yuh gat fuh deal with their cockery and this is a dilema which seems to go ignored.

Now I never followed up on the case with the state vs Trevor on that mortgage fraud case so I cant comment but I do know he sold his real estate company. I have not investigated whether his brokers licensed was revoked . The point is, these boys have to keep above the fray if they choose to be community leaders . I always say immigrants / minorties are always held accountable to a higher bar.
trevor ran a great campainge,his main guys really show their skills and passion for representation if Trevor wins dist28. 09/11. Trevor main guys were doing quite alot to the voters.(promote and motivate).Some of these Guys are Kawal T,Ed A,Derrick B,Leyland R, and some others,As for this recent election Ruben was picking fights with Allen.
Originally posted by creative:
trevor ran a great campainge,his main guys really show their skills and passion for representation if Trevor wins dist28. 09/11. Trevor main guys were doing quite alot to the voters.(promote and motivate).Some of these Guys are Kawal T,Ed A,Derrick B,Leyland R, and some others,As for this recent election Ruben was picking fights with Allen.

Like I said, props to the members of his campaign. I believe if he had followed through with the campaign plan and strategy to the letter and conducted more meeting and greeting he would have won that election . My assessment is that he failed his campaign team. The team did a great job ..no doubt about that !
We need to start preparing someone appropriate for the next Election,with this Guy Ruben we in this part of Dist.28th(R/Hill)would get a couple of BONES thrown to us due to Guilt.The Democrats on the other side of Van Wyck have a Little Puppy (Ruben)to clean up after and a collar to drag around for $$$$ within their ORGANISATION ?????.Something to think about People,how long are we going to sit back and take the CRUMBS,the real left over coming to R/Hill area.All the past candidates example Trevor,Micheal,Robby,Albert,Danpaul,and others,the supporters and organisers,$$$$ contributers to start support a new candidate,4 years of more Left overs.

I like your choice of words Kari.
We had a momentum going at that election in 2001. I worked all day with Trevor campaign moving from polling station to polling stations unfortunately however people voted for the democratic party nominee, plain and simple.
This was pulled from Indo-Caribbean Alliance facebook site

Want to Run for Elected Office? Attend "Candidate College"

Time
Sunday, September 18 · 8:30am - 7:00pm
27 West 23rd Street, 6th Floor (between 5th and 6th Avenues)
New York, NY
Created By
Indo CaribbeanAlliance
More Info
“Candidate College” will be a free, all-day special event, open to the public, aimed at training citizens of all backgrounds, ages and political beliefs how to mount a serious bid for elected office. The event, which will consist of a series of nonpartisan, non-ideological panel discussions focusing on different aspects of campaign craft, is intended to inspire people to get involved in the political process in the most direct w...
See More
Wall

Originally posted by creative:
Mike campainge was left hanging,no one at the poling sites supporting him,did ot see Frank,Vishnu or the candidate Mike.Time to start and prepare a candidate.
According to Mike Misir you are and was not part of his campainge,you purposly got involve with the Police doing their job,you did not expect to be arrested,but you think the police would just warn you,but a shadow would be cast on Mike"s campainge.You choose to do your back stabbing in front of the campainge office,and your GET OUT OF JAIL CARD FAILED.As for Dhanpaul he cannot run for nothing,his group is devided 10% vs 90%.He has no money,and his vbrother ?????? money cannot help him.TWOMURTY.