Tola posted:

Berbice have some big Krek-a-teh .

Afta hard day pulling grass in de rice field,   some nice dhall and rice with fry  Krek-a-teh, at home.  

You eve sit on a pole and mash rice with four cows  going round and round ? In Berbice  lime/suga  wata in ice  and salt biscuits. 

Yep as kid done that ,also enjoyed lime/sugar wata and salt biscuits with lil butter.

We use to scoop the flesh out of the shells and cook them with butter,  garlic and fine leaf thyme and/or fudina. In Montreal, I learned of the name, escargot. 

I  visit Tortola. BVI  often where they have  a large Guyanese mandir at Sea Cow Bay and a cricket club. When I walk along  the beach I see hundreds of sea shells  like the ones  fish seller blow in Guyana. But they all have holes on the sides where  the  conch was removed. 

Tola posted:

We use to scoop the flesh out of the shells and cook them with butter,  garlic and fine leaf thyme and/or fudina. In Montreal, I learned of the name, escargot. 

I  visit Tortola. BVI  often where they have  a large Guyanese mandir at Sea Cow Bay and a cricket club. When I walk along  the beach I see hundreds of sea shells  like the ones  fish seller blow in Guyana. But they all have holes on the sides where  the  conch was removed. 

I had the meat in the Bahamas as hors d'oeuvre. 

I had what they call Scorched conch in the Bahamas, dam thing was like eating pencil erasure. Tried it curried his time at Rams roti shop in T.O same thing, couldnt eat it.

MIne was rubbery but chewable, very salty though.

I don't like it either, but the tray of lobster was delicious.  I have  a close Guyanese business man friend  in Tortola, who owns  a high rise office building in Roadtown.  Good nature guy and  open to receive visitors. 

Tola posted:

I had what they call Scorched conch in the Bahamas, dam thing was like eating pencil erasure. Tried it curried his time at Rams roti shop in T.O same thing, couldnt eat it.

Rams roti shop selling conch, dat don't sound rite. 

They are Trini, the shop lasted one year in that location but they have one in the westend somewhere by your family dem and one somewhere around Pickering area. That ain't all. 

Another time I stopped in and picked up some roti and I picked up a couple bags of mitthai, they called it by another name I think it was korma, anyway I told the guy at the counter we knew it as mitthai in Guyana and asked if it was callet korma in Trinidad, the banna told me he didnt know, he and the other fellow there were from India. Dem guys had the whole United Nations working there. Maybe that's why they closed, food wasn't up to par, too many cooks.

Sorry to hear. You need to try Viagra!  Me hear it stiffens things!  Ask Cain!

Bai, like yuh meck Miss Nigeria run away with a smile. Who is the new Bini? 

Tola posted:

Afta hard day pulling grass in de rice field,   some nice dhall and rice with fry  Krek-a-teh, at home.  

You eve sit on a pole and mash rice with four cows  going round and round ? In Berbice  lime/suga  wata in ice  and salt biscuits. 

Yep as kid done that ,also enjoyed lime/sugar wata and salt biscuits with lil butter.

Me big buddy always hesitate to allow me to go pee. He would  say I should pee before climbing de pole  and dem had to stop de cows fa me to  climb  down. He also used to say if me pee on de paddy, me gun get a good  cut rass.  Man, it was torture.

Was it a glue-berry branch fork pole ? The glue-berry was also used to make kite.  Was the glue-berry called Gamagerry ?  

Tola posted:

Me big buddy always hesitate to allow me to go pee. He would  say I should pee before climbing de pole  and dem had to stop de cows fa me to  climb  down. He also used to say if me pee on de paddy, me gun get a good  cut rass.  Man, it was torture.

Was it a glue-berry branch fork pole ? The glue-berry was also used to make kite.  Was the glue-berry called Gamagerry ?  

Actually  my bad ,wasn't sitting directly on the pole. When paddy mashing under the "marai" grass roofed shed ,at the top of post ,small hammock was attached from post to rafter ,above the bulls ,so it's comfy with the long whip.

When mashing out side , we  walked behind the bulls ,after a while ,you get eye tun.

Tola posted:

Actually  my bad ,wasn't sitting directly on the pole. When paddy mashing under the "marai" grass roofed shed ,at the top of post ,small hammock was attached from post to rafter ,above the bulls ,so it's comfy with the long whip.

When mashing out side , we  walked behind the bulls ,after a while ,you get eye tun.

Neva used de hammock, but rememba de eye tun from a straight pole and walking behind de cows. Mashing  rice  outside : Use shovel to remove grass, sometimes spread  a large tarp or bare ground and plant a pole in de middle.