Massive developmental works ongoing in Leonora as Region 3 development continues

Georgetown, GINA, January 7, 2011
Source - GINA

A lot of investment has been made in the 10 administrative regions to boost development within and, Region Three, Essequibo Islands/West Demerara has benefitted from this investment as during the 2000 and 2010, more than $15B was spent in the region’s housing sector, creating more than 23,600 houselots and bringing benefits to over 97,700 people.

Some of the areas that have benefitted from development include Zeelugt North and South, Tuschen North and South, Tuschen Phase One and Two, Parfaite Harmonie, Onderneeming, Uitvlugt, Westminster, Recht Door Zee, Belle West, Plantation One and Two, Anna Catherina and Cornelia Ida.

Leonora

In this West Coast Demerara village where an old sugar estate existed, this has been transformed into a housing scheme. Government, however, has tried as far as possible to retain the historical significance of the estate. The sum of $85M was earmarked for the development of approximately 240 house lots in Leonora.

The $293.5M Leonora Secondary School

The Housing Ministry is currently engaged with the Guyana Power and Light Company, to commence work on the electricity network. The cost of installing electricity is estimated to be $14.5M. The water network has already been installed but has to be connected to the mains.

Infrastructure

The area is one that will benefit from the Community Roads Improvement Programme (CRIP) project that will cater for over 200 roads in Regions 3, 4, 5 and 6.

Forty nine roads that amount to 23.36 km are to be upgraded to DVSC or Asphalted Concrete standard in Tuschen/Uitvlugt, Stewartville/Cornelia Ida and Best/Klien-Pouderoyen Neighbourhood Democratic Councils (NDCs). The Region 3 investment under this programme is $639.5M. Additionally, under the road projects last year, $139M was spent.

In the Uitvlugt NDC several roads have been completed at a cost of $125M.

An exterior view of the Leonora Technical Institute

The expansion of the Leonora scheme is expected to put additional pressure on the area’s existing well, however due to the integrated water management system developed over the years, all wells within the area would be interlinked, so that the pressure volume would be spread out and not be loaded on the one system itself. The capacity to supply this area would not be affected.

Leonora is an area that has seen tremendous investment, with a new Technical Institute built at a cost of $427M and a large investment in a new multi-purpose, synthetic athletic track, for which the foundations have already been laid.

A new Diagnostic Centre erected at a cost of more than $110M, a Magistrate’s Court, and the new Leonora Secondary School that costs $293M are all part of the massive developmental works in Region 3.

The Leonora Diagnostic Centre

I witnessed these developments but I could not get anyone to address issues that were shared my many during my visit.

The site for the Leonora Secondary is next to the former Leonora Park Ground.

This was among the finest cricket ground on West Demerara. Will the development include a cricket ground or stadium?

The New Leonora Secondary is about a city block from the St John's Community High School.

Will this New School be a school for excellence, like a QC of West Demerara?

The only other school that seems to be doing some good is the Swami School at Cornelia Ida, but this is a fee based school for Hindus only.

This investment is claiming to create 23,600 house lots bringing benefits to 97,700 people. The Question here is The adjacent plot of Land belongs to Ed Ahmad, will the GG cancel this secret deal ?

The Ahmad land can and should be used to create a shopping center to feed and clothes this NEW Town Center on West Demerara.
Originally posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:
If the government is thiefing all de money can i ask where deh getting the money to build these schools and housing schemes?? It does not appear dem bhais na do nothing fuh de people you know. It looks like doing something with the VAT and other tax revenues.

no! You may not ask..
If the government is thiefing all de money can i ask where deh getting the money to build these schools and housing schemes?? It does not appear dem bhais na do nothing fuh de people you know. It looks like doing something with the VAT and other tax revenues.
once a fool is aways a fool,where you think they getting the money from,the ppp is donating it,sure they build school with loans and tax payers money where is the teachers and the quality of live these teachers are living,thay build court houses what kind of law guyana have,they build hospital where is the nurses and doctors,guyana is the only place people walk in and they end up dead,when any minister get sick you think he is going to this hospital.you can build all the building you want with loan money and want to take credit,but let me see the quality of life these people is living and what they earning
Originally posted by Ramakant_p:
Rama,

Lenora is now a very bright place. The PPP gov't first tried to build a township around the Coldingen area. Unfortunately, the PNC disrupted development in this area by unleashing their dogs from neighoring villages.

They also sabotaged the hydro project.
rama go take a next drink bai