Marriott is denying the public access to the Kingston jetty

August 3, 2015 | By | Filed Under Letters 

DEAR EDITOR, Ever since the construction of the Marriott Hotel started in late 2011 I have sounded multiple warnings that upon its completion, the working class and poorer Guyanese would be denied access to the Kingston jetty and the natural sand beach located there. Since the days of slavery, our fore parents have used the jetty to catch fish and shrimp and they used the beach to engage in spiritual and religious rituals. For decades Guyanese have driven cars onto the beach and to the jetty. It was the only section of the Georgetown coastline that folks could drive their vehicles on and safely engage in fishing. Today in 2015 the Marriott Hotel has stolen that piece of public real estate, is denying people access to the jetty, use of the natural beach, and has effectively put a stop to centuries old Guyanese cultural practices. This is total eye pass of Guyanese people by an entity that cost tax payers US$60M to build a US$30M structure and which the PPP cabal had planned to sell to itself for US$8M. From theft of public funds to theft of public real estate, that is the story of the Marriott. They were allowed to destroy the natural vegetation that was vital to sea defence and to create an artificial white sand “beach” that adjoins the back of the Marriott. Not wanting to offend the eyes of its super rich guests, the hotel has to keep away eyesores such as ordinary Guyanese driving to the jetty or doing puja in the water. This is very much similar to Pradoville 2 where the cabal took over a high spot on the shore line at Sparendam and made it into an exclusive area for the mega wealthy brown nosers only. The Marriott has blocked access to the jetty by placing boulders across the path to the water. I am calling on the pertinent authority to have the Marriot remove those boulders so that Guyanese can access the jetty and natural shell and sand beach located there. I am also calling for the criminal prosecution of the Marriott for the destruction of the natural vegetation that formed an integral part of the sea defence in that area. And off course all Guyanese want in investigation into the public financing of the Marriott for the benefit of a criminal cabal. Malcolm Harripaul

Marriott is denying the public access to the Kingston jetty

August 3, 2015 | By | Filed Under Letters 

DEAR EDITOR, Ever since the construction of the Marriott Hotel started in late 2011 I have sounded multiple warnings that upon its completion, the working class and poorer Guyanese would be denied access to the Kingston jetty and the natural sand beach located there. Since the days of slavery, our fore parents have used the jetty to catch fish and shrimp and they used the beach to engage in spiritual and religious rituals. For decades Guyanese have driven cars onto the beach and to the jetty. It was the only section of the Georgetown coastline that folks could drive their vehicles on and safely engage in fishing. Today in 2015 the Marriott Hotel has stolen that piece of public real estate, is denying people access to the jetty, use of the natural beach, and has effectively put a stop to centuries old Guyanese cultural practices. This is total eye pass of Guyanese people by an entity that cost tax payers US$60M to build a US$30M structure and which the PPP cabal had planned to sell to itself for US$8M. From theft of public funds to theft of public real estate, that is the story of the Marriott. They were allowed to destroy the natural vegetation that was vital to sea defence and to create an artificial white sand “beach” that adjoins the back of the Marriott. . Malcolm Harripaul

Bray jackass.  Go back and live in the conditions of your foreparents, logee and all.  In every country I ever visited, hotels have control over the beach front for ecstatic and safety reasons for their guests.

Public Trust Doctrine and the Wet Sand Beach
....The public trust doctrine has its roots in Roman laws that required that the seas and tidal land remain open to all for fishing and navigation. As history tells, in A.D. 530, the Roman Emperor Justinian asked his legal scholars to codify the empire’s laws; the resulting Institutes of Justinian included the provision that “by the law of nature these things are common to all mankind; the air, running water, the sea and consequently the shores of the sea.” Thus was born the idea of a public trust seashore.20 The idea has been passed down through the legal systems of many other nations.....

Fast forward .......Pradoville 2  cabal took over a high spot on the shore line at Sparendam and made it into an exclusive area for the mega wealthy brown nosers only....

Originally Posted by sachin_05:

....The public trust doctrine has its roots in Roman laws that required that the seas and tidal land remain open to all for fishing and navigation. As history tells, in A.D. 530, the Roman Emperor Justinian asked his legal scholars to codify the empire’s laws; the resulting Institutes of Justinian included the provision that “by the law of nature these things are common to all mankind; the air, running water, the sea and consequently the shores of the sea.” Thus was born the idea of a public trust seashore.20 The idea has been passed down through the legal systems of many other nations.....

Fast forward .......Pradoville 2  cabal took over a high spot on the shore line at Sparendam and made it into an exclusive area for the mega wealthy brown nosers only....

Guyana ain't part of the Roman empire and besides, back in the day (530 A. D.), word is dem bannas was screwing sheep under the trees!!

Have you visited Saratoga beach? Who controls it?

Yuh need to wake up to reality - Yuh PPP lose, abee na pan tap no moh, dem Maharaja ain't run things..dem get boot out...unless the new administration bring back the Kabaka system we are stuck with parliamentary democracy system which has its roots in the roman empire....

The contract and realities were different.   With them tiefman in GT, them tourist will have to even chain their briefs and bathing suits to their bodies.  I support controlled access to the beachfront given the Guyana reality.  I-man plan on going with my kids in the not too far future, I don't want no dutty-skin locals coming and spoiling my pristine quarters.

Yuh need to wake up to reality - Yuh PPP lose, abee na pan tap no moh, dem Maharaja ain't run things..dem get boot out...unless the new administration bring back the Kabaka system we are stuck with parliamentary democracy system which has its roots in the roman empire....

Mi know bai, olatunde and babatunde pon tap, ahwe dayzz now!!  Kadaka seh suh!!

The contract and realities were different.   With them tiefman in GT, them tourist will have to even chain their briefs and bathing suits to their bodies.  I support controlled access to the beachfront given the Guyana reality.  I-man plan on going with my kids in the not too far future, I don't want no dutty-skin locals coming and spoiling my pristine quarters.

I attended a wedding on the Hampton Beach, LI. It's right in your back yard and it's one of the best 10 beaches.

How did know that the PPP planned to sell the hotel to themselves for only US8Million?

Just like Belfield House that Burnham bought for only 7000 dollars.

Malcolm didn't say anything like that. Bloody liar.   

Last edited by Ramakant-P

I attended a wedding on the Hampton Beach, LI. It's right in your back yard and it's one of the best 10 beaches.

Tell dem rass deh bai, and why would you want to pay big bucks at Marriot just to have mangy, rustic dutty-skin locals spoiling you pristine environment.  Hampton Beach ain't gat no lagu-bagu tiefing you bucta!!

Originally Posted by Brian Teekah:

The beach is mine.  I can bath anytime.  Despite what they say, I am going to bath anyway!

Correct bai, and why would a banna of your pedigree want some smelly dutty-skin local screwing it up.  You pay yuh big bucks, you deserve RESPECT!!

Marriot was under the impression that they bought the beach. The grand jury should be out on this one.

Here is one clue.  The Government loaned (I think) US$60 million to build a hotel that costs only US$30 million.  There is no paper trail where the extra U$30 Million went.  Ramjattan over to you.

Marriot was under the impression that they bought the beach. The grand jury should be out on this one.

Here is one clue.  The Government loaned (I think) US$60 million to build a hotel that costs only US$30 million.  There is no paper trail where the extra U$30 Million went.  Ramjattan over to you.

I read the deal, they are afforded exclusive access/control as part of the deal.

Ramjattan not the right person!

I read the deal, they are afforded exclusive access/control as part of the deal.

Who is?

Who is?

Likely Raphael, but surely not Ramjattan.  It's a commercial issue, not criminal!!

....and probably continued to this day in Guyana.