Mariott dream closer to becoming a reality - with today’s sod-turning ceremony

Written by
Sunday, 20 November 2011 05:10
Source - Guyana Chronicle

A new artist’s impression of the Georgetown Marriott Hotel

GUYANA is one step closer to boasting a Marriott-branded hotel with the sod-turning ceremony planned for later today at the proposed Kingston, Georgetown site.

Marriott International Inc. announced last year that it intended to open its first Marriott-branded hotel here in 2013.

After an earlier delay since the announcement, due mainly to financing, Atlantic Hotel Inc (AHI) disclosed on Friday that it was ready to move ahead with the massive investment.

This comes weeks after outgoing President Bharrat Jagdeo announced that the project was still in the pipeline.

The 160-room Georgetown Marriott Hotel is on track to receive LEED® (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certification from the U.S. Green Building Council (USGBC) and is on track to becoming Marriott’s first LEED hotel in the Caribbean & Latin America.

It will operate under a management agreement with AHI, currently owned by the Government of Guyana (GoG) as part of a public-private partnership between the Administration and private sector investors.

Tourism Minister Manniram Prashad says Guyana welcomes this venture wholeheartedly, adding that it translates into added accommodation of an international standard. “We are having a Marriott brand; this will be sold internationally… and with a casino, it will be even better,” an enthused Prashad told the Guyana Chronicle yesterday.

He said that with more and more tourists becoming attracted to this country, a facility of this magnitude will surely fill the void the demand has created. “All the hotels are filled now in Guyana; filled to capacity. The resorts in the interior locations for bird watching are filled until June next year,” the minister said.

Meanwhile, he has revealed that discussions are ongoing with several other investors interested in the hotel industry. While the minister refused to go into detail on the projects, he said one of the hotels would be located on Main Street, another next to the Chinese Embassy opposite the Botanical Gardens and a third at Liliendaal near the Guyana International Conference Centre.

Marriott International, Inc. has nearly 500 locations in 60 countries around the world.

Sod-turning for Marriott Hotel tomorrow

November 19, 2011 | By KNews | Filed Under News
Source - Kaieteur news

An artist’s impression of what the Marriott Hotel would look like.

The sod-turning ceremony for the Marriott-branded hotel in the Kingston, Georgetown area will be held tomorrow.

Last July, President Bharrat Jagdeo said that the government was looking to seal a deal with Zublin Grenada Limited within three months.

Jagdeo said that the project would be financed by the government and the company, with the government putting one-third of the financing and Zublin Grenada investing the other two-thirds.

It was the same Grenada company that was upbraided over a year ago by the government for prematurely disclosing that it was working out a deal to build a Marriott-branded hotel here.

In mid-May 2010, the government reacted angrily when the company, Zublin Grenada, announced that it was seriously considering “a very attractive offer” by the Guyana Government to build the Marriott resort and casino.

In July 2010, the government advertised for interested contractors to make pre-qualification applications for construction of the hotel in the Kingston area next to the Guyana Pegasus Hotel.

Jagdeo said that two bids were received and the government decided to go with Zublin as the lower of the two bidders.

It was noted that the hotel will be operated by Marriott International and be built according to Marriott standards.

The works, it was advertised, would include the construction and erection of a 200,000 square- foot, 160-room hotel facility along with a 75,000 square foot “entertainment complex” outfitted with common services areas/amenities that will house a casino, restaurant, nightclub, and other spaces that will be rented.
Originally posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:
Great! Tourism will provide much need hard currency and jobs for many.
This is about Jagdeo pension plan not about fostering tourism.
Originally posted by TI:
Beach front! Are those cabanas I see there on the beach? Big Grin

I should take down a few jet skis to rent.
The untreated sewage gets washed up in that location...besides the mud that will not be all that clogs up your jets.
Originally posted by Demerara_Guy:
Mariott dream closer to becoming a reality - with today’s sod-turning ceremony

Written by
Sunday, 20 November 2011 05:10
Source - Guyana Chronicle

A new artist’s impression of the Georgetown Marriott Hotel

GUYANA is one step closer to boasting a Marriott-branded hotel with the sod-turning ceremony planned for later today at the proposed Kingston, Georgetown site.

Marriott International Inc. announced last year that it intended to open its first Marriott-branded hotel here in 2013.

After an earlier delay since the announcement, due mainly to financing, Atlantic Hotel Inc (AHI) disclosed on Friday that it was ready to move ahead with the massive investment.

This comes weeks after outgoing President Bharrat Jagdeo announced that the project was still in the pipeline.

The 160-room Georgetown Marriott Hotel is on track to receive LEED® (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certification from the U.S. Green Building Council (USGBC) and is on track to becoming Marriott’s first LEED hotel in the Caribbean & Latin America.

It will operate under a management agreement with AHI, currently owned by the Government of Guyana (GoG) as part of a public-private partnership between the Administration and private sector investors.

Tourism Minister Manniram Prashad says Guyana welcomes this venture wholeheartedly, adding that it translates into added accommodation of an international standard. “We are having a Marriott brand; this will be sold internationally… and with a casino, it will be even better,” an enthused Prashad told the Guyana Chronicle yesterday.

He said that with more and more tourists becoming attracted to this country, a facility of this magnitude will surely fill the void the demand has created. “All the hotels are filled now in Guyana; filled to capacity. The resorts in the interior locations for bird watching are filled until June next year,” the minister said.

Meanwhile, he has revealed that discussions are ongoing with several other investors interested in the hotel industry. While the minister refused to go into detail on the projects, he said one of the hotels would be located on Main Street, another next to the Chinese Embassy opposite the Botanical Gardens and a third at Liliendaal near the Guyana International Conference Centre.

Marriott International, Inc. has nearly 500 locations in 60 countries around the world.

What a great president Jagdeo, with magical powere. He can change a mud beach into a white sandy beach, wid blue water after the Marriott is built. Jagdeo, the reincarnation of Christ

Why will there be tourists. Your other hotels are empty.

Why is it that teh hoteliers say they are empty yet Manniram lies about this? Princess is EMPTY.

I see that white sand beaches there. lol
A Mariott Hotel will bring more competition to the hotel industry. This will benefit tourists who often complains about high cost of rooms and substandard service.

Which tourists? Guyanese who live in teh USA and Canada are NOT tourists. They are GUYANESE.

What other tourists do you get?
A Mariott Hotel will bring more competition to the hotel industry. This will benefit tourists who often complains about high cost of rooms and substandard service.
fool what do you know about tourism,first of all guyana do not have a airline.any other part of the world you can get package deals with airline and hotels.not in guyana.for a guyanese coming to guyana for a holiday its a nightmare with carribbean airline,plus the crime rate in guyana is not helping.unless its a cocain tourism,guyana is the last country a tourist will come to.
Caribj, you made me checked the definition of "tourist". Here is the definition:

a person who travels for pleasure, usually sightseeing and staying in hotels.

It has nothing to do with nationality.

A Guyanese who returns home to see family and take care of personal business might not consider such a trip to be pleasure. It might be an obligation.

Only a certain % of them will stay in an expensive hotel when many other cheaper alternatives are available.

Sorry Marriott hotel guarantees nothing. Surely you know that it will not make those Guyanese who dont return home any more likely to do so.
Originally posted by warrior:
fool what do you know about tourism,first of all guyana do not have a airline..

having an airline has nothing to do with it. name me a Caribbean tourist destination and I will name you an island with no airline of its own. Even Jamaica gave it up.
Caribj,

The Guyanese of today is not the Guyanese of the seventies and eighties --- most strugglng to build a foundation. This is the 21st century and Guyanese in the US have lots of dollars to spend. They are spending their dollars in expensive hotels in other parts of the world including Guyana.

Do you know they're are over a hundred millionaires in Richmond Hill alone??? This is no bullshit. There many deep-pocketed people in this town.
Originally posted by caribj:
Originally posted by TI:
I tried to get a room at Princess and it was all booked up for Easter.

Yes easter. A peak period. Hotels cant survive on 2 months of the year.

I am actually thinking of building a small family hotel there next year. Heard that it is a lucrative business from an American who visited earlier this year.
TI
Caribj, you made me checked the definition of "tourist". Here is the definition:

a person who travels for pleasure, usually sightseeing and staying in hotels.

It has nothing to do with nationality.

A Guyanese who returns home to see family and take care of personal business might not consider such a trip to be pleasure. It might be an obligation.

Only a certain % of them will stay in an expensive hotel when many other cheaper alternatives are available.

Sorry Marriott hotel guarantees nothing. Surely you know that it will not make those Guyanese who dont return home any more likely to do so.

Actually most of the people I know who visit, stay in hotels. Even TK does stay at Pegasus!
TI
Originally posted by TI:
Heard that it is a lucrative business from an American who visited earlier this year.

he is trying to fool you. How many Americans visit Guyana?
Caribj,

The Guyanese of today is not the Guyanese of the seventies and eighties .

The hotels are empty and those who wish to spend go to other countries. Guyanese do travel to other countries you need to know.
Originally posted by TI:
Actually most of the people I know who visit, stay in hotels. Even TK does stay at Pegasus!

So why are the hotels empty?

because Guyanese are freeloaders.. fact!
Originally posted by TI:
I tried to get a room at Princess and it was all booked up for Easter.

Yes easter. A peak period. Hotels cant survive on 2 months of the year.

I am actually thinking of building a small family hotel there next year. Heard that it is a lucrative business from an American who visited earlier this year.
maybe he was trying to ship cocain
fool what do you know about tourism,first of all guyana do not have a airline..

having an airline has nothing to do with it. name me a Caribbean tourist destination and I will name you an island with no airline of its own. Even Jamaica gave it up.
lot of airline service these destination with vacation packages.guyana donot have no hotel with these packages,that is why they need their own airline with cheap flights.regardless of what you say if there is no cheap flights you will not get tourist.
Originally posted by D2:

dis is abput yu to go and get a wuk and eaze the state a little...Guyan on th emove...the investors coming from all over the world to Guyana..stop hating yu low life bumm..PPP all the way....yu KFC done fu good cheers
Originally posted by TI:

who said this??? when last you went to Guyana caribj ?? stop fraffing and go on the ground and see what is going on there...this industry is booming as we speak Mr racist cheers
Originally posted by SuperMike:
Originally posted by D2:

dis is abput yu to go and get a wuk and eaze the state a little...Guyan on th emove...the investors coming from all over the world to Guyana..stop hating yu low life bumm..PPP all the way....yu KFC done fu good cheers

Investors? To the best of my knowledge the taxpayer is paying for the construction of this hotel. And upon completion the government's shares will be sold to an entity that is a proxy for Jagdeo and his thieves.
Originally posted by TI:

Hotels worldwide are not always full on a daily basis.
Originally posted by Rahmah bin Jabr:
Originally posted by D2:

Investors? To the best of my knowledge the taxpayer is paying for the construction of this hotel. And upon completion the government's shares will be sold to an entity that is a proxy for Jagdeo and his thieves.

the best of your knowledge?? OK clever

PPP all the way ....

.. to another majority victory on November 28, 2011.

you know it uncle DG... cheers

The end results after the 2011 elections. Big Grin
lot of airline service these destination with vacation packages.guyana donot have no hotel with these packages,that is why they need their own airline with cheap flights.regardless of what you say if there is no cheap flights you will not get tourist.

If a country has not developed its tourist product, doesnt know how to market itself, and confuses locals returning home to see family and to take care of their affairs with leisure visitors, it doesnt matter whether Guyana has an airline or not.

There is also no evidence that this airline will charge less than the competition, and we know enough to know that they will not necessarily be any better. Look at how many airlines Guyana has had in the last 15 years.

Airlines are expensive to run and 2 plane carriers are doomed to fail. We have seen that the private sector definitely cant do it, and we also know the govt of GY cant.

Limited economies of scale guarantee failure. Even if Guyana were to get back Cat 1 status so that it wouldnt have to wet lease foreign operate carriers, as every airline since GAC has had to do.

Hotels worldwide are not always full on a daily basis.[/QUOTE]

Hotels worldwide arent empty most of the time either. This is Guyana.

http://propagandapress.wordpre...jagdeo-robert-badal/

The leading Guyanese hotelier claims that Guyana had 3X the number of hotel rooms taht it needs. Arrivals are only slightly up since so nothing jhas changed , unless you report mass closures.