Manickchand talks tough at Bath rally ‘We are a peaceful party, but we will not be bullied

By Rebecca Ganesh, May 4, 2015, Source

An enthused Priya Manickchand addressing the thousands at Bath Settlement yesterday

“WE are a peaceful party, but we will not be bullied. Mark your ‘X’ next to the cup, and reject that sort of bullyism,” Senior Member of the People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) Priya Manickchand declared as she urged thousands of persons at Bath Settlement to vote for the PPP/C.

Manickchand told Party supporters that the only party that can give them progress is the PPP/C Government. Referring to the Government, she said, “We live what we say; we practise what we preach. We invest in our young people; we do it tangibly, and you see the results in your own lives.”

The massive show of support at Bath Settlement yesterday

“We put women on the list and we place them in the highest political position in the country…. We are asking you to help elect Elisabeth Harper to Office of the Prime Minister on May 11 and put our women first.”

Roshini Boodhoo, a candidate on the PPP/C list took the stage and explained to the thousands gathered at Bath Tarmac, Bath Settlement that we all want a brighter future but “we can only achieve this under the PPP/C Government.”

She noted that “President Donald Ramotar and Prime Ministerial Candidate for the PPP/C Elisabeth Harper are the only choices to steer our country in the path of peace and progress.” She reiterated that the PPP/C believes in the children of the country and their future. “They are not only telling us, they are showing us in their actions – that is why I am here.”

“Be aware of your of past, you should be aware of happened so that we don’t make the same mistake again,” Boodhoo noted. She said further, “look at our young ministers such as Priya Manickchand, Irfaan Ali, Dr. Ashni Singh and one of the world’s youngest President’s in the world Dr. Bharrat Jagdeo,” pointing out the many achievements of the PPP/C as they continue their investments in the youths of the country.

TEAM OF FUTURE LEADERS
Boodhoo concluded by noting that the PPP/C party has placed much emphasis on the achievements of the women of this country and “come May 11 a woman will take one of the highest offices in the country, Elisabeth Harper will be Prime Minister. Come out in your numbers and vote PPP/C and make this the team of the future leaders of Guyana.”

Region 5 rice farmer, Mohamed Rafeeoodeen said it is a privilege to join with the leadership of the winning party, the PPP/C. “It is my duty to remind all of you of the significance of May 11 and encourage and educate you on how important this election is for all of us.”

Newcomer on the PPP/C list of candidates, Roshini Boodhoo taking to the campaign platform yesterday [Photos by Adrian Narine)

Newcomer on the PPP/C list of candidates, Roshini Boodhoo taking to the campaign platform yesterday (Photos by Adrian Narine)

He related that “we know what took place prior to 1992 – it is important we know what was the condition of our schools and look at what we have now… look at housing all the PPP/C has transformed this sector and have given all Guyanese the opportunity to own their own home… “

“Look at the improvement to our infrastructure,” he stressed,” adding that “we could not have sold rice. I was placed three times in the lock-ups and the PPP/C has created the environment for us to enjoy our country.”

“The only progressive party to go back in power on May 11 is the PPP/C,” he urged all.

Gobin Singh, a senior member of the Progressive Youth Organisation (PYO) in Region 5, echoed the words of his colleagues, noting the achievements of the PPP/C Government. He related that under this government he was able to acquire his own home and “many other young Guyanese in Region 5 and in Guyana have been able to acquire the same.”

He urged young people “to come out on May 11 and vote for the continued empowerment of our young people.”

Peter Ramsaroop, candidate of the PPP/C, called on all persons gathered at Bath Settlement to vote for progress and vote for the PPP/C. He alluded to some of the aspects of the manifesto, noting that the Deep Water Harbour that will be a reality here in Berbice will service many other countries and “our farmers will be beneficiaries of this.”

He said with this project and the many more “we have in store for this country” will create many jobs for our young people. “With President Ramotar and Elisabeth Harper they will take us forward and make this vision a reality – say no way the APNU +AFC (A Partnership for National Unity and the Alliance for Change).”

By Rebecca Ganesh

Rohee tells Bath … ‘We will fight to protect our democracy’ –‘dis time nah lang time’

PPP General Secretary, Clement Rohee addressing thousands yesterday at Bath Settlement

WELCOMING chants of ‘Rohee, Rohee, Rohee’ were sounded as the General Secretary of the People’s Progressive Party (PPP), Clement Rohee, took the platform at Bath Settlement yesterday to urge thousands of supporters to send a message to the Political Opposition: “Dis time nah lang time; we will protect what we have fought for; we will fight them this time; it will be licks like peas.”

He further charged, “Granger and his acolytes never fought for free and fair elections in our country; they fought against free and fair elections, so much so that many of our comrades were imprisoned and some killed…

Today they come as great defenders of what we (the PPP/C) fought for in this country.”According to him, the signs are clear and the alliance of A Partnership for National Unity and the Alliance For Change (APNU+AFC) has been preparing its base of supporters for what it anticipates as a loss.

Rohee cited the destruction of campaign paraphernalia, intimidation of party supporters, disruption of PPP/C public meetings and more recently the ‘dastardly’ act of James Bond, a member of the political Opposition, in posting a declaration of results from Saturday’s Disciplined Services vote.

“We want to warn them that any attempt to subvert the democratic process of this country, we will fight them back….we will not allow these people who over the years rigged elections to deprive our people of their right. We have seen the signs, they are mobilising and they are trying to interfere with the democratic process,” he said.

“Will we allow them to get into office?” Rohee asked, to which he was answered with a resounding no.

He noted that the political Opposition is “double banging” the ruling party because it cannot handle the PPP/C singly.

“They are ganging up on us. They can’t beat us singly, they gang up on us…they double bang us, but we want them to know we are ready…they are so desperate and hungry for power that they are doing anything,” Rohee declared.

The PPP General Secretary stated that the May 11 fight is between President Donald Ramotar and APNU+AFC leader, David Granger. “We will win this fight. Each ballot is a weapon. In these elections it is the builders versus destroyers, we are the builders and they are the destroyers, we want to go forward and they want to go backward,” he said.

CONVINCING WIN
Rohee was emphatic in underscoring the importance of a “convincing win” at the polls. “We don’t want a victory that is narrow. We don’t want a victory that is slim. We want a victory that is so wide, the world can see.”

The PPP General Secretary stressed that the Guyanese people cannot gamble with the future of the country.

“If we want to win we have to be strong…we have to stand up for what we believe in…we have to lay the foundation for making this country prosperous,” he said.

Rohee stated too that there is much work to be done.

“We have a major task ahead of us and the task is to keep the votes we have, bring back those who didn’t vote and win those who are new voters…this is a major task…we need to commit ourselves to working hard every day to win these elections,” he said.

Political maneuverings aside, the PPP General Secretary urged that every supporter must be a “soldier” for the party.

“Everyone must go out there and be a soldier for the PPP…speak to everyone. This elections we cannot lose, too precious to allow ourselves to be thrown back. Come May 11, each ballot will drive a nail in the coffin of the PNC (People’s National Congress – the majority partner of APNU),” he said.

Rohee declared that Guyana must keep moving forward and the Guyanese people must continue to be afforded an improving quality of life and progress.

By Vanessa Narine

Thousands chant ‘Harper for PM’ at Region 5 rally – as President Ramotar’s running mate worked her magic

PPP/C prime ministerial candidate, Elisabeth Harper making the point that May 11 is about making Guyana better

AMIDST loud cheers and approving chants of “Harper for PM”, she took to the stage with customary poise. “Are you ready for another victory to let progress continue?” she asked. Needless to say the response that innocous little query elicited.

Elisabeth Harper greeted several party supporters who turned out at Bath Settlement yesterday [Photos by Adrian Narine)

Elisabeth Harper greeted several party supporters who turned out at Bath Settlement yesterday (Photos by Adrian Narine)

No doubt satisfied that she had the audience’s undivided attention and that they were on the same page, her next volley was, “Who will lead our country for the next five years? Are you ready to make that choice? Will you choose a leader and a Party that have brought so much progress? Are you ready for the Presidency of Donald Ramotar?” And again, the answer was a resounding “Yes!”

Speaking to the thousands of PPP/C supporters before her on the tarmac at Bath Settlement Tarmac, People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) Prime Ministerial Candidate, Elisabeth Harper noted that under the strong leadership of the PPP/C Government, there was an expansion of Guyana’s economy in such key sectors as agriculture, health, education and housing.

She spoke with confidence of the achievements that were made a reality countrywide under the PPP/C Government. “In your community, you have more services in education, health and job opportunities,” she said. “You are now able to build your own homes with the help of the Housing Ministry. The agricultural sector improves even further under this Government.”

Speaking specifically to the young people who will be voting for the first time, she emphasised, “I want you to listen very carefully; soon, you might be standing on this stage and putting forward a vision… I encourage you to work hard and help to build this blessed country…”

BENEFITS FOR THE PEOPLE
The PM candidate spoke on the many aspects of the manifesto and the benefits for the people of Guyana. “Food security is at the top of our agenda, increased production and the diversification of our other crops, we will also continue to partner with the private sector to create more investment projects and jobs creation,” she related.

She also applauded the contribution of the Berbice Chamber of Commerce and the excellent work they have been doing in Berbice.

DEVELOPMENT FUND FOR REGION 5
She noted that through the PPP/C manifesto, the Government will establish a special development fund for Region 5 (Mahaica-Berbice) that will encourage job and health creation activities. Harper told her supporters that education is a priority of this Government as she alluded to the many achievements of this sector. She noted also that with a better education system the country will have enhanced job opportunities by preparing the country for a high educational sector.

EMPOWERING WOMEN
Empowering women is vital, Harper noted, “We will review all the laws that will encourage and promote women’s rights and equality. We must exercise zero tolerance on domestic violence.” She explained that domestic violence destroys who we are and everything we stand for and we as a community should not encourage it. “I encourage our men to participate in this fight also.”

“Single parents will be able to also further their education, training and day care services will be provided, child support will be mandatory by the court,” she pointed out, noting some of the opportunities that will be available to single parents.

She further explained that the PPP/C Government has over the years maintained “the rights of women, our right in all aspects of the country, our right to an education more importantly.”

Harper said further that teenage pregnancy is also a big problem and our manifesto will address these issues also. “If you had to leave school early, you have another chance to continue your education and provide for your family, opportunities will be available to support you.”

With much disappointment she related a recent incident that took place at one of the PPP/C public meetings, noting that such vulgarity was acted out in full view of children. “If as women we cannot respect ourselves how can we expect other people to respect us.”

CREATING JOBS
Harper mentioned also that presently more attention needs to be given to job creation for our young people and in the PPP/C manifesto, “we will make sure jobs are created and more development and a number of new initiatives for job creation opportunities will be embarked upon.”

“With these new initiatives many more people will be able to enjoy a higher standard of living in this country,” she said. “Our manifesto will talk about housing for young people, a vision that is geared to creating a Guyana with a great future, with more interacting and dialogue and facilitate our decision making within this sector,” Harper declared.

Harper also urged persons to “help us to uphold the Code of Conduct which we signed. We, as a party, can conduct ourselves with dignity and respect. This election is about making a great country even better. Let us vote for a resounding victory on May 11.”

By Rebecca Ganesh

Priya really need to lay off the paratha

Perhaps the paratha is causing problems for the PNC cum AFC.

rohee is a donkey and she start looking like a cow,i guess the ppp is a zoo 

DG, The crowd at Bath Settlement giving plenty on GNI shittings.

The AFC rice contracts are fast slipping away

Bellywuk Time.

hey cunumunu...Bath always vote PPP...

Ok Larwa, thanks for the Info Larwa.

Originally Posted by Brian Teekah:

She think she was speaking to the American Ambassador.

The then American Ambassador got what he indeed deserved at that occasion.

True dat!!  Guyana is Independent, the bloody Limeys are gone!!!!!!!!!!

priya was mad because there was not enough food 

PPP politicians don't know what is

diplomacy.

bai you all ppp collie could cuss

better start showing respect to the coalition...cause is abee time now

no aloo and dhaal for Nehru,katahar fuh he

It is indeed again time for the PNC cum AFC to be firmly in their opposition seats.  

hey cunumunu...Bath always vote PPP...

Ever been to Rampur on the Abary. Same thing. Bath settlement never shed Mother India mind set. Vande Mataram is their National Anthem. Stupid People.

By you people postings, types like you two would kneel before the white men and kiss their ass or any part they wish kissed, when you guys want beg. Aint dat something?

It is indeed again time for the PNC cum AFC to be firmly in their opposition seats.  

They will be firmly kissing those seats goodbye, for they will then be on their way to the ruling side. Goodbye PPP and good riddance.