Police and suspect shot during  Leopold Steet fracas

September 21, 2021

In the process of arresting suspected robbers, a police officer and a suspect were both shot in their thighs on Tuesday morning after a scuffle ensued between the two and the suspect grabbed the officer’s gun.

The incident took place at Leopold Street, Werk-en-Rust, Georgetown at about 10:35 hours. A video that has been circulating on social shows the suspect that was shot in the leg being placed in a car for transport to the hospital. It also showed irate residents of Leopold Street confronting the police officer directly involved.

According to a release from the police, policemen were in the area responding to an alleged robbery under arms committed on a 68-year-old man. The suspects, one 20-years-old and the other 24-years-old, stole an artificial hand band and one gold chain. It was stated that one of the males was armed with a handgun.

β€œIn the process of arresting the suspects for the said alleged offence, a scuffle ensued between the suspects and the rank. One of the suspects held on to the policeman’s firearm trying to disarm him. The firearm dislodged and the policeman was shot in his left thigh and one of the suspects also received a gunshot wound to his left thigh,” the police reported.

Both injured persons were escorted to the Georgetown Public Hospital Corporation (GPHC) and are receiving medical attention, while the other suspect is in custody. Additional investigation is in progress.

Guyana does not have a Welfare system.  How come these people are not at work?  What do they do the complete day? Lime? How do they get money to survive?

the uitvlugt university graduate promised at the last election to create 50,000 jobs. maybe you should check how that's going before yuh "wash yuh mouth pon black people"

there is huge tension in the society. guyana is at a crossroad. hell is at the door. those with power know they can step back. i hope good sense prevail

there is an undeclared war going on between the police and the black community. not sure where this will all end

for the sake of the guyanese people and the country as a whole, i do hope we pull back from the brink

@cain posted:

Cuba doan have a Blue barrel program.

Don't knock the opportunities. My wife exports several blue barrels every month to my son that are filled with treats for remigrants who miss the odd snack from England. It's a growing business. The only downside is that my son's mother in law is collecting the empty barrels instead of them getting sold on. They are apparently very good for storing food stuff away from mice etc. and also good for holding water.

@Spugum posted:

the uitvlugt university graduate promised at the last election to create 50,000 jobs. maybe you should check how that's going before yuh "wash yuh mouth pon black people"

there is huge tension in the society. guyana is at a crossroad. hell is at the door. those with power know they can step back. i hope good sense prevail

there is an undeclared war going on between the police and the black community. not sure where this will all end

for the sake of the guyanese people and the country as a whole, i do hope we pull back from the brink

Jobs are not easily created as the way the Fake President speaks of it.