The burnt remains of Debra Mootoo’s house.

August 22 2018

A retired head teacher is currently in a critical condition at a city hospital after she and her home were set ablaze by her husband, after she reportedly refused to provide him with $500 to purchase alcohol.

Debra Mootoo, 58, sustained severe burns about her body from her shoulders down while her Mon Repos, East Coast Demerara home was destroyed after the attack, which occurred sometime between Sunday evening and Monday morning.

Mootoo is currently admitted in the Burn Care Unit of the Georgetown Public Hospital (GPH), where her condition is listed as critical.

Commander of ‘C’ Division Leslie James yesterday confirmed to Stabroek News that the suspect, Prakash Ramdeo, was arrested. He remained in custody up to late yesterday afternoon, pending charges.

Marissa Persaud, the injured woman’s only child, told Stabroek News that based on what her mother related to her, Ramdeo, who is an alcoholic, tied her up with a mosquito net before dousing her with kerosene and setting her alight after she refused to provide him with $500.

The fire quickly spread and engulfed the one-bedroom wooden house, located at Lot 209 Block 8 Mon Repos, which Mootoo shared with Ramdeo for the past eight years.

“…She said that he (Ramdeo) start drinking and stuff and he wanted $500 and she seh she ain’t had no money fuh give he and he tie she up with the netting and throw kero on she and light she on fire,” Persaud explained.

Persaud said Mootoo was rescued by alert residents and rushed to the hospital by a community pastor.Persaud said she learnt of what transpired after she received a call from a cousin around 1 am on Monday. “Me cousin call me and seh that me mommy house burn down and she deh in hospital,” she said.

The woman, who resides at La Parfaite Harmonie, West Bank Demerara, said she immediately left for the hospital but took about three hours to get transportation. “….And when I came I found her in the emergency unit,” Persaud added.

She further explained that Ramdeo does not work and has relied on Mootoo to maintain him.

The teary-eyed woman said she cannot say if it was the first instance where Ramdeo harmed her mother, while noting that Mootoo usually keeps to herself. “Normally when he start drinking she would leave and go… every time that he start drinking she would leave and go to she friends them,” Persaud said.

Here we go again and yet druggie screams that only blacks commit crime.

There is a pattern and that is Indos only attack Indos.  Curious phenomenon.

Clearly social pathologies aren't confined to the black and Amerindian communities as some will insist. 

The problem with these women is that they refuse to testify against the abuse of the so called husbands. 

Dave what happening with Mon Repos Bhai? Is this typical macho behaviour?

As a retired head teacher how or why did she stay with this good for nothing unemployed drunky? 

Here we go again and yet druggie screams that only blacks commit crime.

There is a pattern and that is Indos only attack Indos.  Curious phenomenon.

Clearly social pathologies aren't confined to the black and Amerindian communities as some will insist. 

UPDATE: Security guard lodges knife into spurned lover’s neck

DSC_0981
According to the Police, the woman’s body being removed here, was discovered with a knife stuck in the neck

The life of yet another woman was on Wednesday snatched when her lover dealt her a stab to her neck, killing her at their East La Penitence home in which they shared.

Jermaine Bristol also known as Gavin Bristol, 34, stabbed and killed 24-year-old Shanece Lawrence at their Lot 272 Freeman Street, East La Penitence house around 11:30h.

Reports are that the young woman and Bristol, a security guard attached to Guyoil had been separated since Thursday last.

However on Sunday, the couple who shared a 5 years long relationship, described by neighbours as “rocky,” attended church together.

The now dead woman however went back to her mother’s Broad Street, Georgetown house which she had moved to on Thursday.

The couple
The couple during happier times (Facebook Image)

An aunt of Bristol, Yvonne Morris told INews that on Wednesday morning she was visited by Lawrence who enquired of the whereabouts of Bristol.

“I don’t know is what happened, one morning he came and he said that she gone…this morning she come and she ask me for him and I tell her that he was by me and he went home back. She gave me a number to call him but when I call the phone went to voicemail then he called back and he asked where she is and I told him that she left. But I didn’t know that she didn’t gone, my grandchildren told me that she was standing at the corner. I don’t know if he opened the backdoor and he noticed her and she went there but the next thing that I know is that my grandchildren told me that look Jermaine and a van load of Police gone in the yard and is that is when I hear what really happened” the aunt recalled.

Bristol reportedly stabbed Lawrence in the presence of her brother after which he turned himself over to the Police.

DSC_0958
Part of the crowd gathered

When INews visited the scene of the crime, a large crowd had gathered and most of the persons expressed shock at the incident, stating that Bristol was a quiet person.

However, the brother of Lawrence told this online news entity that Bristol would usually attack his sister, alleging that he once cuffed her to her face.

DSC_0952
The grieving mother of Lawrence being consoled

The body of the dead woman was taken to the Lyken Funeral Home amidst loud screams from her grieving mother, siblings and relatives.

Oohh rass, slop can boy find this article but he miss the one Dave posted and these:

Bandits escape with millions after attacking Real Value Supermarket

BANDITS escaped with millions of dollars in cash and other valuables when they attacked and robbed the Real Value Supermarket, Church Street, around 05:00hrs

Dem. Bridge $148M contract award…Teixeira red flags possible political interference in police probe

“I noticed they have informed the Minister of Public Security (Khemraj Ramjattan) of the investigation. I do not know what the reason is for this,” said People’s Progressive Party/Civic’s

Rass bai yuh bad fuh days. Now I can turn over my crime tracker thread to the slop can boy. 

Regarding the highlighted,doan worry child support check in the mail.

No wonder you tek on pnc slop can jab, too many bills to pay. 

Rass bai yuh bad fuh days. Now I can turn over my crime tracker thread to the slop can boy. 

That does happen when men with goady, fantasising about black bigan can't do their job.Somebody got  to step in.

That does happen when men with goady, fantasising about black bigan can do their job.Somebody got  to step in.

I know you like yuh bigan black and big, but to say you who have one foot in the grave step in is hilarious.  Even if lilmohan fluff you up manually, you would still be unable to function in that capacity.

That does happen when men with goady, fantasising about black bigan can do their job.Somebody got  to step in.

I know you like yuh bigan black and big, but to say you who have one foot in the grave step in is hilarious.  Even if lilmohan fluff you up manually, you would still be unable to function in that capacity.

Find out who enjoying the black bigan,due to your short comings.

You should worry about the grave thing,perhaps you may kick the bucket before many here.

That does happen when men with goady, fantasising about black bigan can't do their job.Somebody got  to step in.

WHATTAXXXX! Ta rassss.

Another thread Goads fkd up.

I don't know why the Admins are allowing Drugb to do this?

Perhaps there is accountability all around, including you and django. 

I have been right about me mattie Indians. They love to drink piss night and day. They will kill and burn from harry-wrong to harry-right to drink piss. If I was a woman, I would never marry a piss drinker who is a ticking time bomb. I hope yall see how abee people are behaving? What can they offer to Granger Guyana? Granger wants people who can do something for their country. Send these bums to protect our borders and let them march one mile for breakfast. Read my lips. Coolie people are drunkards, sick and disgraceful. Period! 

Mr Prince, maybe the people that you associate with are such.  This type of generalization does no good for discussion. What about the many other Indians who are are not drunkards and walk the straight and narrow?

Reeper posted:

Mr Prince, maybe the people that you associate with are such.  This type of generalization does no good for discussion. What about the many other Indians who are are not drunkards and walk the straight and narrow?

They are conducting fraud business, shipping cocaine and set up people to kill their wives. When last did you see an Indian walk straight?

Reeper posted:

They are conducting fraud business, shipping cocaine and set up people to kill their wives. When last did you see an Indian walk straight?

The wannabe negro speaks again.

Reeper posted:

I suppose your parents, uncle, aunts, grandparents etc all fall into this category. 

I have been right about me mattie Indians. They love to drink piss night and day. They will kill and burn from harry-wrong to harry-right to drink piss. If I was a woman, I would never marry a piss drinker who is a ticking time bomb. I hope yall see how abee people are behaving? What can they offer to Granger Guyana? Granger wants people who can do something for their country. Send these bums to protect our borders and let them march one mile for breakfast. Read my lips. Coolie people are drunkards, sick and disgraceful. Period! 

At this point I am thoroughly convinced that Princess is just pretending. Nobody is this ignorant. Then again, you never know.

Reeper posted:

Every morning when I wake up. You on the other hand won't ever be "straight".

Reeper posted:

I don't know why the Admins are allowing Drugb to do this?

Perhaps there is accountability all around, including you and django. 

Oye Reeper,show where i have been disrespectful to posters on this forum.

Fighting fire with fire doan count.

I cannot for the life of me believe that this jackass burnt down an entire house and lit afire his wife as well,  all in the name of alcohol. Wtf is wrong with these people? Jeez man, I've said it time and time again. If yuh cant hold yuh liquor, doan drink.

True but alcohol only makes you less inhibited which means you see a person for what they really are when drunk. So there must be something deeper. No matter what it's still hard to believe a man would do this for lil rum.

Reeper posted:

Leave Prince alone.  He is talking about his Circle of family and friends. There are many Guyanese who are decent, respectable, and hardworking people.  But he doesn't associate with those types.  

I've been involved with DV through the Pa lady and TCV.  Apart from getting rich on it, I can tell you, it's a complex issue and there is no magic bullet and simple solution.  It's not only about men, it's about the whole society in general and the values.

The culture of disrespect is pervasive through out the society.  It got to where we are over a generation, it will take just as long to address.

Reeper posted:

Leave Prince alone.  He is talking about his Circle of family and friends. There are many Guyanese who are decent, respectable, and hardworking people.  But he doesn't associate with those types.  

Why you commenting on the man's family and friends?  You were dis-invited from my educated and affluent family in Guyana, Florida, NJ and Canada.  They thought you were ill mannered, ill behaved and general lack of respect and wanted no part of you!  They all ran for the hills!

You are a chip that (hopefully) fell very far from the Block, a fly-ball phoneme.

Reeper posted:

What makes you think that you are one of them? If Anyone would talk about your family and friends you would run to admin like a cry bibi. 

Prince, you have changed your views on certain things which is commendable...you adore Trump which still needs some work there. You see wrongs being done and you speak out regardless of who, what, or religion of the perso, that is fine with me (somehow you miss these features in Trump)

but saying a particular group of people are all drunks etc is just wrong.

Reeper posted:

Why you commenting on the man's family and friends?  You were dis-invited from my educated and affluent family in Guyana, Florida, NJ and Canada.  They thought you were ill mannered, ill behaved and general lack of respect and wanted no part of you!  They all ran for the hills!

You are a chip that (hopefully) fell very far from the Block, a fly-ball phoneme.

Is it ok for him to call me a bastard? Does he really know the true meaning of a "bastard"? What does that say about my mother?

At this point I am thoroughly convinced that Princess is just pretending. Nobody is this ignorant. Then again, you never know.

I think you all misjudge Prince. He is VERY pro Indian and doesn't shy away from calling Indians his "mattie". Instead of blaming the PNC and black people for everything he takes the approach of introspection into the Indian community re social ills; Indian defense re joining the military and even self defense to protect Indian communities. Albeit he does all this crudely, perhaps to gain a reaction. I think he sees the PPP as weak and no good for Indians, particularly Jagdeo.

He doesn't shy away from working together with black people. Sees the nation as belonging to all the races.

I looked at his his older posts in the archives and they were racist and almost comical, not written like he writes now. I'm of the opinion the Prince handle is now being used by a different person entirely. It's definitely not the same guy. Bibi, you might be discussing the wrong fella with your friends.

......I looked at his his older posts in the archives and they were racist and almost comical, not written like he writes now. I'm of the opinion the Prince handle is now being used by a different person entirely. It's definitely not the same guy. Bibi, you might be discussing the wrong fella with your friends.

Totally agree. I felt this way for quite a while when I saw the posts coming from the Prince handle. 

I think you all misjudge Prince. He is VERY pro Indian and doesn't shy away from calling Indians his "mattie". Instead of blaming the PNC and black people for everything he takes the approach of introspection into the Indian community re social ills; Indian defense re joining the military and even self defense to protect Indian communities. Albeit he does all this crudely, perhaps to gain a reaction. I think he sees the PPP as weak and no good for Indians, particularly Jagdeo.

He doesn't shy away from working together with black people. Sees the nation as belonging to all the races.

I looked at his his older posts in the archives and they were racist and almost comical, not written like he writes now. I'm of the opinion the Prince handle is now being used by a different person entirely. It's definitely not the same guy. Bibi, you might be discussing the wrong fella with your friends.

Nah.  Duh izzz the man.  He has several handles here, each to match his different personalities.  One handle hate coolie.  The other handle hate Blackman.  It's a very complicated world over there.

A clear sign of someone with a bipolar disorder. Where is doctor Amber these days?

LMAO!! You're joking! That takes a lot of time and skill. Dunno man. The current Prince seems far more educated than the anti blackman one.